DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The response filed on 08/29/2025 has been correspondingly accepted and considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/29/2025 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (also representative of claims 18 and 19) state that
“Disch does not disclose any feature of the signal synthesizer as already acknowledged by the Examiner. Regarding the signal synthesizer, the Examiner points to Neuendorfer.... Neuendorfer is only used for performing, based on the detected spectral tilt, certain kind of envelope data, and this is the reason why the spectral tilt detector 12 in Fig. 3 controls the envelope data calculator. However, any pulses are never weighted using weights as now defined in amended claim 1.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the art rejection(s) of the remainder of dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103, in case said claims are correspondingly discussed and/or argued for at least the same rationale presented in Remarks filed 08/29/2025, Examiner respectfully notes as follows. For completeness, should the mentioned claims be likewise traversed for similar reasons to independent claims 1, 18 and 19 correspondingly, Examiner respectfully directs Applicant to the same previous supra reasons provided in the response directed towards claims 1, 18 and 19 correspondingly discussed above. For at least the same supra provided reasons, Examiner likewise respectfully disagrees, and Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 is referring to itself ( for examination purposes it has been interpreted as depending on claim 5 as per version of claims filed 01/20/2025). Claim 7 is rejected as it dependent on a rejected claim 6. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
envelope determiner in claims 1-4, 11, 17;
analyzer in claims 1, 5, 11, 16;
signal synthesizer in claims 1, 8-10, 12-13, 16-17;
combiner in claims 1, 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truman et. al. US Patent 9,548,060 in view of Disch, et. al., US PgPub 2007/0081597 in view of Neuendorf et. al., US PgPub 2011/0099018 (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Truman teaches an audio processor for generating a frequency enhanced audio signal from a source audio signal, comprising: an envelope determiner configured for determining a temporal envelope of at least a portion of the source audio signal (see Truman, Fig. 2, 720, col 5 lines 17-19, A spectral envelope estimator 720 obtains an estimate of the input signal's spectral envelope.); an analyzer configured for analyzing the temporal envelope to determine temporal values of certain features of the temporal envelope (see Truman, Fig. 2, 722, col 5 lines 19-22, A spectral analyzer 722 analyzes the estimated spectral envelope to determine noise-blending parameters for the signal.; interpreted as analyzing the envelope to determine certain features of the envelope); a signal synthesizer configured for generating a band of a synthesis signal, the band of the synthesis signal being not comprised in the source audio signal (see Truman, Fig. 9, output of 722 to 225, col 15 lines 37-43; see also Truman, Fig. 11 ), wherein the signal synthesizer is configured for deriving weights from amplitudes of the temporal envelope, the amplitudes being related to the temporal values of the certain features(see Truman, col 8 lines 6-12 discusses calculating noise component to be added based on the spectral envelope ( weights)), for placing pulses in relation to the temporal values of the certain features in the portion of the source audio signal, for weighting, the pulses placed in the portion of the source audio signal the weights to obtain a weighted signal comprising the placed and weighted pulses (see Truman, col 15 lines 43-53, signal formatter provides the output signal by assembling a representation of the flattened baseband signal, the estimated temporal envelopes of the baseband signal and the higher-frequency subband signal, the estimated spectral envelope, and the one or more noise-blending parameters into the output signal (weighted signal)) or wherein the signal synthesizer is configured for deriving weights from amplitudes of the temporal envelope related to the temporal values of the certain features, for weighting the pulses using the weights to obtain weighted pulses(see Truman, col 8 lines 6-12 discusses calculating noise component to be added based on the spectral envelope ( weights)), for placing the weighted pulses in relation to the temporal values of the certain features in the portion of the source audio signal to obtain a weighted signal comprising the placed and weighted pulses (see Truman, col 15 lines 43-53, signal formatter provides the output signal by assembling a representation of the flattened baseband signal, the estimated temporal envelopes of the baseband signal and the higher-frequency subband signal, the estimated spectral envelope, and the one or more noise-blending parameters into the output signal (weighted signal)); a combiner configured for combining the band of the synthesis signal and the source audio signal to acquire the frequency enhanced audio signal(see Truman, col 8 lines 62-67 A signal formatter 725 combines the estimated spectral envelope information, the noise-blending parameters, and the baseband signal into an output signal).
However, Truman fails to teach for high pass filtering or bandpass filtering the weighted signal in acquiring the band of the synthesis signal.
However, Disch teaches, for high pass filtering or bandpass filtering the weighted signal in acquiring the band of the synthesis signal (see Disch [0018] the envelope shaped diffuse signal is again high-pass filtered by a high-pass filter 29 to guarantee that no artefacts of lower frequency bands are contained in the envelope shaped diffuse signal. );
Truman and Disch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they relate to audio bandwidth extension processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Truman on extracting temporal envelope information and spectral components of the baseband portion with time domain temporal shaping teachings of Disch to improve the proper re-production of multi-channel signals with a very wide sound image. ( see Disch [0006, 0016-0018]).
Truman in view of Disch teach a combiner configured for combining the band of the synthesis signal and the source audio signal to acquire the frequency enhanced audio signal to further compact prosecution, Neuendorf further teaches, a combiner configured for combining the band of the synthesis signal and the source audio signal to acquire the frequency enhanced audio signal (see Neuendorf, [0033, 0035] teaches a combiner, which combines the frequency domain signal 10532 with the second frequency band 105b before it will be transformed into the time domain and before it will be output as the audio signal 105. Optionally, the combiner may output the audio signal 105 in the frequency domain. In addition, the SBR tool 430a may reconstruct missing harmonics or perform an inverse filtering step. The SBR tool 430a may implement known spectral band replication methods to be used on the QMF spectral data output of the patch generator 410. The patching algorithm used in the frequency domain could, for example, employ the simple mirroring or copying of the spectral data within the frequency subband domain).
Truman, Disch and Neuendorf are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they relate to audio bandwidth extension processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Truman in view of Disch on extracting temporal envelope information and spectral components of the baseband portion with time domain temporal shaping with the energy shift detection teachings of Neuendorf to save processing resources and processing delays ( see Neuendorf [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the envelope determiner is configured to decompose the source audio signal into a plurality of subband signals, to calculate a selected temporal envelope of a selected subband signal of the plurality of subband signals, the selected temporal envelope being the temporal envelope of at least the portion of the source audio signal, or to calculate at least two temporal envelopes from at least two subband signals of the plurality of subband signals and to combine the at least two subband signals to acquire a combined temporal envelope as the temporal envelope of at least the portion of the source audio signal (see Truman, col 7 lines 42-50 describes the method of spectral band estimator 720 estimates a signal's spectral envelope by dividing the signal's spectrum into frequency bands with bandwidths approximating the human ear's critical bands, and extracting information regarding the signal magnitude in each band; Truman, col 7 line 65-col 8 line 2, one implementation of just two bands).
Regarding claim 3, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 2. Truman further teaches wherein the envelope determiner is configured to normalize or filter the selected subband signals or the temporal envelopes before combining, or wherein the combining comprises an averaging operation, or wherein the envelope determiner is configured to calculate temporal envelopes from all subband signals of the plurality of subband signals, or wherein the envelope determiner is configured to determine a single broadband temporal envelope of the source audio signal as the temporal envelope ( see Truman, col 8 lines 5-25 The spectral analyzer 722 analyzes the estimated spectral envelope received from the spectral envelope estimator 720 and information from the baseband signal analyzer 710, to determine the parameters for the spectral components).
Regarding claim 4, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the envelope determiner is configured for determining the temporal envelope by using an envelope follower configured for rectifying a waveform and low pass filtering the rectified waveform(see Truman, col 7 lines 54-56), or calculating absolute values or powers of absolute values of a digital waveform and subsequently low pass filtering a result(see Truman, col7 lines 54-56), or using the calculation of an instantaneous root mean square value of the waveform through a sliding window with a defined window width, or determining a piece-wise linear approximation of the waveform, wherein the temporal envelope is determined by finding and connecting peaks of the waveform in a sliding window moving through a result of the piece-wise linear approximation, or using a Hilbert transform for generating an analytic signal for the waveform and calculating the envelope from the source audio signal and the analytic signal using squaring operations, adding operations and square root operations.
Regarding claim 5, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the analyzer is configured to determine initial temporal values of the certain features(see Truman, Fig. 2, 722, col 5 lines 19-22, A spectral analyzer 722 analyzes the estimated spectral envelope to determine noise-blending parameters for the signal), and to derive, from the initial temporal values, the temporal values using an optimization function, or using side information associated with the source audio signal, or selecting or manipulating the temporal values in accordance with a processing rule(see Truman, col 8 lines 6-25 discusses different methods for computing the temporal values based on a processing rule.).
Regarding claim 8, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the signal synthesizer is configured to place only positive or only negative pulses in the portion of the source audio signal to acquire a pulse train (see Truman, col 9, lines 1-5 the formatter 725 multiplexes the individual signals into a serial bit stream with appropriate synchronization patterns ), and to subsequently weight the pulses in the pulse train to obtain the weighted signal comprising the placed and weighted pulses(see Truman, col 15 lines 43-53, signal formatter provides the output signal by assembling a representation of the flattened baseband signal, the estimated temporal envelopes of the baseband signal and the higher-frequency subband signal, the estimated spectral envelope, and the one or more noise-blending parameters into the output signal (weighted signal)), or to weight only negative or only positive pulses using the corresponding weightings associated with the temporal values of the pulses in a pulse train, and to place the weighted pulses in the portion of the source audio signal at the respective temporal values to acquire the weighted signal comprising the placed and weighted pulses(see Truman, col 8 lines 6-12 discusses calculating noise component to be added based on the spectral envelope ( weights); Truman, col 15 lines 43-53, signal formatter provides the output signal by assembling a representation of the flattened baseband signal, the estimated temporal envelopes of the baseband signal and the higher-frequency subband signal, the estimated spectral envelope, and the one or more noise-blending parameters into the output signal (weighted signal)).
Regarding claim 9, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Neuendorf further teaches wherein the signal synthesizer is configured to derive the weights from the amplitudes using a compression function, the compression function being a function from the group of functions comprising: a power function with a power lower than 1, a log function, a square root function, and a non-linear function configured for reducing higher values and increasing lower values (see Neuendorf, Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 10, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the signal synthesizer is configured to perform a post processing function in acquiring the band of the synthesis signal, the post processing function comprising at least one of the group of functions comprising noise addition, addition of a missing harmonic, inverse filtering, and envelope adjustment (see Truman, col 9 65-col 10 line 3 The spectral component regenerator 810 regenerates missing spectral components by copying or translating all or at least some of the spectral components of the baseband signal to the locations of the missing components of the signal; col 9 lines 31-36; Truman, col 11 lines 55-62).
Regarding claim 11, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the envelope determiner is configured to decompose the temporal envelope into a low frequency portion and a high frequency portion, wherein the analyzer is configured to use the low frequency portion of the temporal envelope for analyzing (see Truman, col 4 lines 51-58).
Regarding claim 12, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the signal synthesizer is configured to generate energy adjusted noise, and to add the energy adjusted noise to the portion of the source audio signal having placed the or to the weighted signal comprising the placed and weighted pulses in acquiring the band of (see Truman, col 13 lines 7-33 discusses the gain adjuster to generate the spectral energy of synthesized signal).
Regarding claim 13, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the signal synthesizer is configured to perform a spectral envelope adjustment with the band of the synthesis signal, or wherein the spectral envelope adjustment is performed using envelope adjustment values derived from side information associated with the source audio signal or using envelope adjustment values derived from the source audio signal or in accordance with a predetermined envelope adjustment function (see Truman, col 13 lines 7-33 discusses the gain adjuster to generate the spectral envelope as indicated in Fig. 6A & B).
Regarding claim 14, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the source audio signal is a time domain audio signal (see Truman, col 5 lines 27-30), wherein the at least band of the synthesis signal is a time domain audio signal (see Truman, col 14 lines 27-31 ), and wherein the combiner is configured to perform a time domain combination using a sample-by-sample addition of samples of the at least one band of the synthesis signal and corresponding samples of the source audio signal (see Truman, col 15 lines 44-53 discusses the signal formatter 225; col 8 line 68- col 9 line 10 ).
Regarding claim 15, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Neuendorf further teaches wherein the source audio signal is an excitation signal in an LPC (LPC = Linear Prediction Coding) domain, wherein the at least one band of the synthesis signal is an excitation signal in the LPC domain(see Neuendorf, [0057] FIG. 3 illustrates the spectral tilt detector 12 in the context of an SBR encoder system. Specifically, the spectral tilt detector 12 controls the envelope data calculator and other SBR-related modules in order to apply a start time instant of a frame of SBR-related parameter data. FIG. 3 illustrates the analysis QMF bank 320 for decomposing the second frequency band, which is advantageously the high band, into a certain number of sub-bands such as 32 sub-bands in order to perform a sub-band-wise calculation of the SBR parametric data. Advantageously, the spectral tilt detector performs a simple LPC analysis to retrieve only the first order LPC coefficient as discussed in the context of FIG. 2c.), wherein the combiner is configured to combine the source audio signal and the at least one band by a sample-by-sample addition in the LPC domain, wherein the combiner is configured to filter a result of the sample-by-sample addition using an LPC synthesis filter to acquire the frequency enhanced audio signal (see Neuendorf, [0058] In other embodiments, the spectral tilt detector is configured to not only calculate the first order LPC coefficients but to calculate several low order LPC coefficients such as LPC coefficients until the order of 3 or 4. In such an embodiment, the spectral tilt is calculated to such an high accuracy that one can not only signal a new frame when the slope changes from negative to positive, but it is also advantageous to trigger a new frame, when the spectral tilt changes from a high magnitude with a negative sign for a very tonal signal to a low magnitude (absolute value) with the same sign), and wherein the LPC synthesis filter is controlled by LPC data associated with the source audio signal as side information, and wherein the LPC synthesis filter is additionally controlled by envelope information for the at least one band of the synthesis signal (see Neuendorf, [0060] As discussed in the context of FIGS. 3 and 4, the bandwidth extension parameter calculator 10 is configured to calculate the spectral envelope parameters. In other embodiments, however, it is advantageous that the bandwidth extension parameter calculator additionally calculates noise floor parameters, inverse filtering parameters and/or missing harmonic parameters as known from the bandwidth extension portion of MPEG 4).
Regarding claim 16, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the analyzer, the signal synthesizer and the combiner operate in a time domain or an LPC time domain (see Truman, Fig. 9 and 10 which operate using time-domain techniques ).
Regarding claim 17, Truman in view Disch further in view of Neuendorf teach the audio processor of claim 1. Truman further teaches wherein the envelope determiner is configured to apply a spectral conversion to extract a plurality of bandpass signals for a sequence of frames (see Truman, abstract, The method includes extracting temporal envelope information and spectral components of the baseband portion.), wherein the signal synthesizer is configured to apply a spectral conversion, to extract the at least one band of the synthesis signal, and to perform an envelope adjustment to the at least one band (see Truman, Fig. 4, 810, 818, 820; col 9 lines 20-40 ), and wherein the combiner is configured to combine in the spectral domain and to apply a conversion into a time domain to acquire the frequency-enhanced audio signal (see Truman, col 9 lines 20-40).
Regarding claim 18, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the system claim presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, is directed to a non-transitory digital readable medium claim corresponding to the system claim presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 1.
Potential Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are potentially allowable subject matter and as it dependent upon a rejected base claim, however would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if amended to overcome the preceding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Claim 6 is potentially allowable subject matter because the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the processing rule or the optimization function is implemented so that temporal values are placed in a raster with a raster spacing, wherein the raster spacing and a position of the raster within the temporal envelope is so that a deviation value between the temporal values and the initial temporal values comprises a predetermined characteristic, in combination with all of the elements of claim 5 from which it is dependent. The closet prior art of record, Truman teaches the method of claim 5 and also teaches the analyzer is configured to determine initial temporal values of the certain features, and to derive, from the initial temporal values, the temporal values using an optimization function, or using side information associated with the source audio signal, or selecting or manipulating the temporal values in accordance with a processing rule. Additionally, Ritcher et.al (U.S. PgPub. 2017/0007833 ) teaches generating pulses based on the temporal values for different frequency bins based on processing rules of power probability vs phase probability. However, Truman in view of Disch further in view Neuendorf further in in view of Ritcher fails to reasonably teach or suggest “wherein the processing rule or the optimization function is implemented so that temporal values are placed in a raster with a raster spacing, wherein the raster spacing and a position of the raster within the temporal envelope is so that a deviation value between the temporal values and the initial temporal values comprises a predetermined characteristic;” as currently claimed.
Claim 7 is potentially allowable subject matter to due to its dependence on claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Disch et. al., US PgPub 2015/0332707( referred to as Disch ‘707) teaches a frequency enhancement signal, including an enhancement frequency range not included in the core signal, wherein a time portion of the enhancement signal includes subband signals for a plurality of subbands and a synthesis filterbank for generating the frequency enhanced signal using the enhancement signal, wherein the signal generator is configured for performing an energy limitation (see Disch ‘707, Abstract).
Nagel et. al., US PgPub 2011/0054885 teaches audio signal spreader using decimators, filters, envelope information and combiner (see Nagel, Fig. 1, 2A).
C. Neukam, et. al, "A MDCT based harmonic spectral bandwidth extension method," 2013 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing, Vancouver, BC, Canada, 2013, pp. 566-570 discusses Harmonic Spectral Bandwidth Extension (HSBE) method uses arbitrary frequency shifts for modulating the replicated spectrum in a way that the harmonic structure of the signal is preserved(see Neukam, abstract).
/NANDINI SUBRAMANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2656
/BHAVESH M MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2656