Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eldem (US 2022/0378149).
Regarding Claim 1, Eldem discloses a sole structure (Figures 1-2B) for an article of footwear (Figure 1), the sole structure comprising: a heel region (16);a forefoot region (12); a fluid-filled chamber (106, Para. 5) extending from a posterior end (162) in the heel region to an anterior end (160) in the forefoot region (Figures 1-2B), the fluid-filled chamber including a first surface (forefoot region surface) and an opposing second surface (opposing heel region surface); and a midsole (182 & 184) including a first projection (168a-h) contacting the fluid-filled chamber at a first contact region along the first surface inboard of the anterior end of the fluid-filled chamber in the forefoot region (Figures 2A, 2B & 11-16) along a longitudinal axis of the sole structure and a second projection (206a-c & 176a&b) contacting the fluid-filled chamber at a second contact region along the opposing second surface inboard of the posterior end of the fluid-filled chamber in the heel region (Figures 2A, 2B & 11-16) along a longitudinal axis of the sole structure, the first projection being spaced apart and separated from the second projection (Figures 2a & 2b).
Regarding Claim 2, Eldem discloses the first projection includes a distal end (end of one of 168a-h) defining a first engagement region in contact with the first contact region and the second projection includes a distal end (end of one of 206a-c or 176 a & b) defining a second engagement region in contact with the second contact region, the first engagement region and the second engagement region being smaller than a width of the fluid-filled chamber defined between a medial side of the fluid-filled chamber and a lateral side of the fluid-filled chamber (Figures 11-16).
Regarding Claim 3, Eldem discloses a gap (Figure 2b, spaces between projections, especially between the forefoot and heel regions) is defined between the first projection and the second projection, the gap extending from a medial side of the sole structure to a lateral side of the sole structure (Figures 2b, in the arch region).
Regarding Claim 4, Eldem discloses the midsole includes a first substrate (184) extending from between the heel region to and the forefoot region and including a first surface and a second surface disposed on an opposite side of the first substrate than the first surface (Figures 2b & 11-16) and a second substrate (182) extending between the heel region and the forefoot region and including a third surface and a fourth surface disposed on an opposite side of the second substrate than the third surface (Figures 2b & 11-16), the first projection extending from one of the first surface and the second surface (Figures 2b & 11-16) and the second projection extending from one of the third surface and the fourth surface (Figures 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 5, Eldem discloses an outsole defining a ground-engaging surface (104), the outsole attached to the other of the third surface and the second fourth surface of the second substrate (Via 106, Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 6, Eldem discloses a footbed operable to receive a foot of a wearer (186), the other of the second first surface and the second surface of the first substrate opposing the footbed (Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 7, Eldem discloses the fluid-filled chamber includes a first end in contact with the midsole proximate to an anterior end of the sole structure (Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 8, Eldem discloses the fluid-filled chamber includes a second end spaced apart from the midsole proximate to a posterior end of the sole structure (Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 9, Eldem discloses a gap extending from a medial side of the sole structure to a lateral side of the sole structure between the first projection and an anterior end of the sole structure (Figures 2b, in the arch region).
Regarding Claim 10, Eldem discloses an article of footwear incorporating the sole structure of Claim 1 (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Eldem discloses a sole structure (Figures 1-2B) for an article of footwear (Figure 1), the sole structure comprising: a heel region (16); a forefoot region (12); a fluid-filled chamber (106, Para. 5) extending from a posterior end (162) the heel region to an anterior end (160) in the forefoot region (Figures 1-2B), the fluid-filled chamber including a first surface (forefoot region surface) and an opposing second surface (opposing heel region surface) and a midsole (182 & 184) including a first projection (168a-h) extending from the midsole in a first direction and contacting the fluid-filled chamber at a first contact region along the first surface inboard of the anterior end of the fluid-filled chamber in the forefoot region (Figures 2A, 2B & 11-16) and a second projection (206a-c & 176a&b) extending from the midsole in a second direction opposite the first direction and contacting the fluid-filled chamber at a second contact region along the opposing second surface inboard of the posterior end of the fluid-filled chamber in the heel region (Figures 11-16, opposite in that the projections alternate).
Regarding Claim 12, Eldem discloses the first projection includes a distal end (end of one of 168a-h) defining a first engagement region in contact with the first contact region and the second projection includes a distal end (end of one of 206a-c or 176 a & b) defining a second engagement region in contact with the second contact region, the first engagement region and the second engagement region being smaller than a width of the fluid-filled chamber defined between a medial side of the fluid-filled chamber and a lateral side of the fluid-filled chamber (Figures 11-16).
Regarding Claim 13, Eldem discloses a gap (Figure 2b, spaces between projections, especially between the forefoot and heel regions) is defined between the first projection and the second projection, the gap extending from a medial side of the sole structure to a lateral side of the sole structure (Figures 2b, in the arch region).
Regarding Claim 14, Eldem discloses the midsole includes a first substrate (184) extending from the forefoot region to the heel region and including a first surface and a second surface disposed on an opposite side of the first substrate than the first surface (Figures 2b & 11-16) and a second substrate (182) extending from the heel region to a midfoot region and including a third surface and a fourth surface disposed on an opposite side of the second substrate than the fourth surface (Figures 2b & 11-16), the first projection extending from the second surface in a direction toward a ground-engaging surface of the sole structure (Figures 2b & 11-16) and the second projection extending from the third surface in a direction away from the ground engaging surface (Figures 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 15, Eldem discloses an outsole defining a ground-engaging surface (104), the outsole attached to the other of the third surface and the second fourth surface of the second substrate (Via 106, Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 16, Eldem discloses a footbed operable to receive a foot of a wearer (186), the first surface of the first substrate opposing the footbed (Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 17, Eldem discloses the fluid-filled chamber includes a first end in contact with the midsole proximate to an anterior end of the sole structure (Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 18, Eldem discloses the fluid-filled chamber includes a second end spaced apart from the midsole proximate to a posterior end of the sole structure (Figure 2b & 11-16).
Regarding Claim 19, Eldem discloses a gap extending from a medial side of the sole structure to a lateral side of the sole structure between the first projection and an anterior end of the sole structure (Figures 2b, in the arch region).
Regarding Claim 20, Eldem discloses an article of footwear incorporating the sole structure of Claim 1 (Figure 1).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
It is suggested applicant clarify what is meant by “opposing”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732