DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to the request for continued examination of 07/29/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-19, as originally filed 07/29/2026, are pending and have been examined on the merits (claims 1, 18, and 19 being independent). Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 18-19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicants assert that the pending claims fully comply with the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument and amendments have been considered and are not persuasive. The rejections under 35 USC 101 have been maintained and clarified in view of the USPTO MPEP 2106.
Applicant’s arguments (see Applicant’s remark, pages 18-23):
(1) Applicant’s arguments that “It would be apparent to an artisan that amended claims 1, 18, and 1 9 provide several specific technical improvements that necessarily result from the claimed features and from their combination. One such technical improvement is resource efficiency through condition-based selective execution.” (see page 19), are not found persuasive.
In response (1): For example, as amended in claim 1, “after said registering, determining, by the controller, whether the automatic electronic payment function is in an active or inactive state; starting, via the electronic payment system on the server, the automatic electronic payment process to automatically purchase the digital currency for the user account without user intervention whenever and only when said monitoring detects an occurrence of a payment event, in response to detecting that the automatic electronic payment function is in the inactive state, the electronic payment system on the server ceasing said monitoring” (see page 19), Applicant argues that these claimed methods provide a technical improvement from the claimed features and from their combination. However, the cited limitations above, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of a method of organizing human activity, but for the recitation of the generic computer components. Further, none of the limitations recite technological implementations details for any of the steps but, instead, only recite broad functional language being performed by the generic use of at least a computer. Providing an option to select one of multiple payment types based on a payment condition using digital money for purchasing products and services is a fundamental economic practice long prevalent in commerce systems. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a fundamental economic principle or practice but for the general linking to a technological environment, then it falls within the organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
(2) Applicant’s arguments that “The claims, including the above feature in combination with the features mentioned above, do not merely provide an instruction to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. Instead, the claims necessarily provide a defined, server-side computation of an automatic electronic payment. This limitation further provides a concrete technical implementation that demonstrates integration of the asserted abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two.” (see page 20), are not found persuasive.
In response (2): In the instant application, Examiner considers the instant claims do not integrate the exception into a practical application because additional elements: 1) “by at least one processor”, “server”, “over the network”, and “user electronic device” amount to simply applying the abstract idea to a computer component and/or a computer network. (e.g. “apply it”) 2) “graphic user interface” also amounts to simply applying the abstract idea to a generic computer component and client combination, or generically over the internet. (e.g. “apply it” or the equivalent) do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception (i.e. generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use - see MPEP 2106.05(h) or apply it with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The instant recited claims including additional elements (i.e. processor, electronic payment process, communication unit, controller, program, computer, graphic user interface, server, over the network, the user electronic device) do not improve the functioning of the computer or improve another technology or technical field nor do they recite meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
(3) Applicant’s arguments that “Regarding Step 2B of the Patent Office's Guidelines, the amended claims, when considered as a whole, provide a server-side, state-based automation configuration that amounts to significantly more than the asserted abstract ideas.” (see page 22), are not found persuasive.
In response (3): In the instant application, Examiner considers the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements (Claims: e.g., processor, electronic payment process, communication unit, controller, program, computer, graphic user interface, server, over the network, the user electronic device) amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exactly using a generic computer component and/ a computer network. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered but are moot as a new ground of rejection has been added and Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Applicant is arguing newly amended claim language. Further as noted in the citation above the prior art and the amendments are addressed by the rejections cited under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “different currency” in the claims 1, 18,and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “different currency” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim limitation “different currency” in claims 1, 18, and 19 is unclear because what is a different currency from multiple currencies in real-world currencies.
Dependent claims (3-17) stand rejected also, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, (1) it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, (2a) it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so (2b), it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. (2014).
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In the instant case, the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Step (1): In the instant case, the claims are directed towards to a method for providing an option to select one of multiple payment types using digital money for purchasing products and services which contains the steps of providing, receiving, registering, and starting. The claim recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process. The claims do fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 is direct to a method, claim 18 is direct to a system, and claim 19 is direct to a non-transitory computer readable medium, i.e. machines programmed to carrying out process steps, Step 1-yes.
Step (2A) Prong 1: A method for providing an option to select one of multiple payment types using digital money for purchasing products and services is akin to the abstract idea subject matter grouping of: Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity as fundamental economic principles or practices and/or commercial or legal interactions. As such, the claims include an abstract idea.
The specific limitations of the invention are (a) identified to encompass the abstract idea include fundamental economic principles or practices and/or commercial or legal interactions: { providing, …. a plurality of different payment types for a common digital currency … the plurality of different payment types comprising a manual payment type for a one-time purchase of the common digital currency….; receiving, …., selection information for selecting a specific automatic payment type among the plurality of different automatic payment types for the common digital currency, …..; providing, …., an updated charging registration page in the user environment ….. to allow input of a payment condition corresponding to the specific automatic payment type to initiate an automatic electronic payment process…..; receiving an input payment condition …. from the user by the user interacting with the updated charging registration page …. corresponding to the selected specific payment type; registering, …. the payment condition corresponding to the specific automatic payment type to the user account by using the received selection information and the input payment condition; receiving, …., a selection of an active or inactive state of an automatic electronic payment function corresponding to the registered payment condition; determining, ……, whether the automatic electronic payment function is in an active or inactive state; in response to determining the active state and without user intervention, immediately and continuously monitoring, ……, whether the payment event which satisfies the registered payment condition has occurred at the user account; starting, …., the automatic electronic payment process to automatically purchase the digital currency for the user account without user intervention whenever and only when said monitoring detects an occurrence of a payment event satisfying the registered payment condition at the user account,…..; in response to detecting that the automatic electronic payment function is in the inactive state, ….. ceasing said monitoring: supplying an additional amount of digital currency to the user account based on a count of the number of times that the automatic electronic payment process, but not the one-time purchase according to the manual payment type, has been completed.}
As stated above, this abstract idea falls into the (b) subject matter grouping of: Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity as fundamental economic principles or practices and commercial or legal interactions as providing an option to select one of payment types using digital money for purchasing products and services such as listening to music or video contents viewing.
Step (2A) Prong 2: The instant claims do not integrate the exception into a practical application because additional elements: 1) “by at least one processor”, “server”, “over the network”, and “user electronic device” amount to simply applying the abstract idea to a computer component (e.g. “apply it”) 2) “graphic user interface” also amounts to simply applying the abstract idea to a generic computer component and client combination, or generically over the internet. (e.g. “apply it” or the equivalent) do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception (i.e. generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use - see MPEP 2106.05(h) or apply it with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The instant recited claims including additional elements (i.e. processor, electronic payment process, communication unit, controller, program, computer, graphic user interface, server, over the network, the user electronic device) do not improve the functioning of the computer or improve another technology or technical field nor do they recite meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The limitations merely use a generic computing technology (Specification paragraphs [0093-0096], a communication unit, a storage unit, a controller, electronic device (e.g., a portable phone, a smart phone, a notebook computer, a desktop computer, a wearable device), wireless communications, contents server, contents database) as generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use - see MPEP 2106.05(h) or apply it with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea
Step (2B): The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements (Claims: e.g., processor, electronic payment process, communication unit, controller, program, computer, graphic user interface, server, over the network, the user electronic device) amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exactly using generic computer component. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea over.
The computer is merely a platform on which the abstract idea is implemented. Simply executing an abstract concept on a computer does not render a computer “specialized,” nor does it transform a patent-ineligible claim into a patent-eligible one. See Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can., 687 F.3d 1266, 1280 (Fed. Cir. 2012). There are no improvements to another technology or technical field, no improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing or any other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment as a result of performing the claimed method. Also, the addition of merely novel or non-routine components to the claimed idea does not necessarily turn an abstraction into something concrete (See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, _ F.3d_, 2014 WL 5904902, (Fed. Cir. Nov. 14, 2014). Hence, the claims do not recite significantly more than an abstract idea. In conclusion, merely “linking/applying” the exception using generic computer components does not constitute ‘significantly more’ than the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05 (f)(h)). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Dependent claims 3-17 when analyzed as a whole and in an ordered combination are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea, as detailed below. The additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the abstract idea.
For instance, in claim 3, the step of “… receiving amount information to specify a purchase amount of the digital currency, with respect to the user account, wherein in the starting of the automatic electronic payment process,….” (i.e., receiving a purchase amount), in claim 4, the step of “… supplying the digital currency as much as the specified purchase amount to the user account, based on completion of the automatic electronic payment process, ...” (i.e., buying digital currency), in claim 5, the step of “… wherein the additional amount of the digital currency supplied to the user account….” (i.e., buying additional digital currency), in claim 6, the step of “… checking a payment history related to the user account based on completion of the automatic electronic payment process,…..” (i.e., checking payment history), in claim 7, the step of “… counting the number of times of completion of the automatic electronic payment process based on an occurrence of the payment event,….” (i.e., counting a number of payments), in claim 8, the step of “… storing a payment history including the number of times that the automatic electronic payment process has been completed at the user account, based on reception of a request to stop a purchase function of the digital currency….” (i.e., storing payment history), in claim 9, the step of “… wherein the automatic electronic payment process is not started even when the payment event which satisfies the payment condition occurs at the user account, after a time period from when the stop of the purchase function is requested.” (i.e., determining payment process), in claim 10, the step of “… releasing the stop of the purchase function with respect to the user account, after a preset time period from the time when the stop of the purchase function is requested,….” (i.e., determining on purchase function), in claim 11, the step of “… wherein the payment condition is differently set according to the specific payment type,...” (i.e., setting payment condition), in claim 12, the step of “… wherein a first payment type among the plurality of different automatic payment types is a payment type where the payment event occurs on a basis of an amount of digital currency already retained at the user account,….” (i.e., providing payment types), in claim 13, the step of “… wherein in a case where the specific payment type is the first automatic payment type, the registered payment condition is related to the minimum amount of the digital currency ….” (i.e., determining payment condition), in claim 14, the step of “… wherein in a case where the specific payment type is the second automatic payment type, the registered payment condition is related to a date preset in connection with the user account,,,,.” (i.e., determining payment condition), in claim 15, the step of “… wherein the registered payment condition is changed based on a request from the user account, and wherein in a case where the registered payment condition is changed,….” (i.e., updating payment condition), in claim 16, the step of “… wherein the contents include at least one episode, and wherein each of the at least one episode has one of a charged product type which can be viewed through a payment of the digital currency….” (i.e., payment on product types), and in claim 17, the step of “… wherein a charged product type of a specific episode, among the at least one episode is converted into a free product type ...” (i.e., payment on product types) are all processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of a fundamental economic practice but for the recitation of a generic computer component. Providing a payment based on purchasing a product or service is a most fundamental commercial process.
This is an abstract concept with nothing more and is also considered mere instructions to apply an exception akin to a commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd.; Gottschalk and Versata Dev. Group, Inc.; see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
In dependent claims 3-17, the step claimed are rejected under the same analysis and rationale as the independent claims 1, 8, and 19 above. Merely claiming the same process using a digital currency (e.g., a token) as a payment method in order to obtain a product or a service does not change the abstract idea without an inventive concept or significantly more. Clearly, the additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Therefore, claims 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the rejections below, where claims are currently amended, this is indicated by underlining.
Claims 1, 3, 11-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea et al. (hereinafter Shea), US Publication Number 2007/0215690 A1 in view of Takahashi Hiroshi et al. (hereinafter Takahashi), Publication Number JP 2019-74983 A in further view of Schmidt et al. (hereinafter Schmidt), US Publication Number 2020/0118133 A1.
Regarding claim 1:
Shea discloses the following:
An electronic payment method, performed by at least one processor, for purchase of digital currency used to view contents in a user environment on a user electronic device, comprising: (Shea: See abstract and paragraph [0014] “the present invention include, but are not limited to, the creation of an economy of digital currency and/or tokens hosted on a server accessible via a wide area network such as the Internet. These digital tokens may be used by end users to acquire licenses to access a given media content, e.g., a game, without having to purchase consumption rights for the media content out right”, and see also [0059-0066])
providing, by a controller of an electronic payment system on a server, a plurality of different payment types (reads on “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account” and “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”) for a common digital currency over a network for display in the user environment via a graphic user interface of the user electronic device, the plurality of different payment types comprising a manual payment type for a one-time purchase (reads on “One Time Purchase: The user pays SF dollars to received G digital tokens in their account”) of the common digital currency and a plurality of different automatic payment types for an automatic purchase of the common digital currency, the plurality of different automatic payment types (reads on “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account” and “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”) being displayed on a charging registration page in the user environment of the user electronic device as respectively [………………………], each of the plurality of different automatic payment types being for an automatic payment method; (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0043], and see also [0059-0064], and Notes: The recited claim “automatic payment method” reads on “Recurring Payment” and “On Demand” as payment types or methods, and the recited claim “via a graphic user interface of the user electronic device” is discloses in paragraphs [0059-0064].)
receiving, via the network, selection information for selecting a specific automatic payment type (reads on “providing end users with digital tokens using the “Recurring Payment” and “On Demand” payment schemes listed above in addition to others.’) among the plurality of different automatic payment types (reads on “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account” and “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”) for the common digital currency (reads on “digital tokens”), in relation to a user account, wherein receiving selection information comprises receiving a selection by a user of one of […………………….] in the user environment on the user electronic device; (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0043], and see also [0059-0064])
providing, via the network, an updated charging registration page in the user environment on the user electronic device to allow input of a payment condition corresponding to the specific automatic payment type to initiate an automatic electronic payment process, wherein the payment condition includes at least one of a minimum amount of the common digital currency required (reads on “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”) to initiate the automatic electronic payment process and a date required (reads on “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account”) to initiate the automatic electronic payment process; (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0043], and see also [0059-0064], and Notes: Examiner considers that Shea discloses the graphical user interface to manage the digital token account or otherwise replenish their digital tokens, but not explicitly discloses “an updated charging registration page”. However, in view of Takahashi below, the mended claim “an updated charging registration page” is further disclosed in page 13.)
registering (reads on “the present invention including providing end users with digital tokens using the “Recurring Payment” and “On Demand” payment schemes listed above in addition to others”), in a storage in the electronic payment system on the server associated with the user account, the payment condition corresponding to the specific automatic payment type to the user account by using the received selection information and the input payment condition; (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0043], and Notes: the end users may select one of the payment method received as the selection information and the payment condition)
in response to determining the active state and without user intervention, immediately and continuously monitoring, by the electronic payment system on the server, whether the payment event which satisfies the registered payment condition has occurred at the user account; (Shea: See paragraph [0036] “client side module 215 may further determine whether the amount of digital tokens cached on end user device 201 has fallen below a predetermined threshold. If the amount of digital tokens cached on end user device 201 is determined to have fallen below the predetermined threshold, client side module 215 may send a pre-request to server side module 209 of license server 203 to pre-check out an amount of the user's digital tokens from digital currency server 205, and re-fill the digital token cache on end user device 201.”)
starting, via the electronic payment system on the server, the automatic electronic payment process to automatically purchase the digital currency for the user account without user intervention whenever and only when said monitoring detects an occurrence of a payment event satisfying the registered payment condition at the user account, (Shea: See paragraph [0044] “Watchdog 301 may query digital currency server 303 for all accounts that require processing. In response, digital currency server 303 may respond with a list of all Such accounts. This list may be created by determining if any of the accounts stored within digital currency server 303 satisfy an account condition. For example, in regards to user accounts identified as recurring payment accounts, the condition to be satisfied may be that the current date is a predetermined date or that a pre-determined amount of time has passed since the most recent processing (such as, for example, between 1 and 40 days, especially 30 days). In embodiments, for accounts identified as on-demand accounts the condition to be satisfied may be that token balances have fallen below a predetermined threshold level.”, and see also [0045])
said starting the automatic payment process comprising the controller controlling a communication unit of the server to communicate with a financial institution server to request a financial institution to pay a price, in a different currency, corresponding to a specific purchase amount of the common digital currency by an electronic payment to the electronic payment system, (Shea: See paragraph [0045] “Once digital currency server watchdog 301 has the list of accounts that require processing, it may, in turn, send a request to payment gateway 305 to charge each user associated with each of the listed user accounts for payment of a certain amount of real-world currency in exchange for the digital tokens.”, and Notes: the amended claim “in a different currency” is not described or supported by specification and it is read on “a certain amount of real-world currency” as cited above.)
wherein the automatic electronic payment process is completed upon a paid state of the price to the electronic payment system, wherein the user environment is provided with the contents over the network from a contents server controlled by the electronic payment system, (Shea: See paragraph [0031] “the spending of digital tokens for consumption of various titles of content may be tracked, and the user may be given credit towards a reduction of the purchase price of a title, proportional to or based at least in part on the amount of digital tokens previously spent for consuming the title.”)
wherein the occurrence of the payment event is detected by the controller of the electronic payment system on the server by continuously monitoring, without a request from the user, whether the payment event which satisfies the registered payment condition occurs at the user account when the automatic electronic payment function is in the active state; (Shea: See paragraph [0036] “client side module 215 may be further equipped to monitor to determine whether end user device 201 is online. On determining that it is, client side module 215 may further determine whether the amount of digital tokens cached on end user device 201 has fallen below a predetermined threshold. If the amount of digital tokens cached on end user device 201 is determined to have fallen below the predetermined threshold, client side module 215 may send a pre-request to server side module 209 of license server 203 to pre-check out an amount of the user's digital tokens from digital currency server 205, and re-fill the digital token cache on end user device 201.”, and see also [0039-0043])
Shea does not explicitly disclose the following, however Takahashi further teaches:
Examiner notes: Shea provides one more buttons to select on a user graphical user interface and the button that takes a user to a different set of end user interfaces to manage the digital token account as interacting with the graphic objects by a user, and further provides different payment types (i.e., “recurring payment”, “on demand”, and “on time purchase”) to the end users for purchasing a digital currency to access the content (see paragraphs [0039-0043] and [0059-0064]). But, Shea does not explicitly disclose “selectable graphic objects in a graphic user interface” for the payment type. Takahashi further teaches.
receiving an input payment condition via the network from the user by the user interacting with the updated charging registration page on the user electronic device corresponding to the selected specific payment type; (Takahashi: see page 14, lines 29-36 “The auto charge setting screen 700 is a screen for performing an auto charge setting for the electronic money selected on the electronic money selection screen 660 (see FIG. 19) described above. The auto charge setting screen 700 sets a setting area 701 for setting an auto charge amount from salary, a setting area 702 for setting an upper limit number of times of auto charge from salary, and an auto charge amount from bonus setting area 704, a setting area 705 for setting the upper limit number of times of auto charging from a bonus, and a confirmation button 710”, and see also the pages 5 and 13 disclose the mended claim “updated charging registration page”. For example, it reads on “The change content confirmation screen 620 is a screen for confirming the estimated charge amount after the change set on the above described auto charge setting screen 600 (see FIG. 16). In the example of FIG. 17, the planned charging amount for “electronic money A” is changed from 10000 yen to 30000 yen. With this change, the total amount deducted from salary has also been changed from 45,000 yen to 65,000 yen”)
further comprising the controller automatically supplying an additional amount of digital currency to the user account based on a count of the number of times that the automatic electronic payment process, but not the one-time purchase according to the manual payment type, has been completed. (Takahashi: see page 14, lines 31-36: ‘The auto charge setting screen 700 is a screen for performing an auto charge setting for the electronic money selected on the electronic money selection screen 660 (see FIG. 19) described above. The auto charge setting screen 700 sets a setting area 701 for setting an auto charge amount from salary, a setting area 702 for setting an upper limit number of times of auto charge from salary, and an auto charge amount from bonus Setting area 704, a setting area 705 for setting the upper limit number of times of auto charging from a bonus, and a confirmation button 710.”)
“selectable graphic objects in the graphic user interface”, “the displayed graphic objects by the user interacting with the selectable graphic objects”, and “an updated charging registration page” (Takahashi: see page 14, lines 29-36 “The auto charge setting screen 700 is a screen for performing an auto charge setting for the electronic money selected on the electronic money selection screen 660 (see FIG. 19) described above. The auto charge setting screen 700 sets a setting area 701 for setting an auto charge amount from salary, a setting area 702 for setting an upper limit number of times of auto charge from salary, and an auto charge amount from bonus setting area 704, a setting area 705 for setting the upper limit number of times of auto charging from a bonus, and a confirmation button 710”, and Examiner considers that Shea discloses the graphical user interface to manage the digital token account or otherwise replenish their digital tokens, but not explicitly discloses “an updated charging registration page”. However, in view of Takahashi, the amended claim “an updated charging registration page” is further disclosed in page 13, and see also figs. 19-21)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include selecting one of displayed graphic objects in the graphic user interface by a user, as taught by Takahashi, in order to provide easier interface to the user. (Takahashi: See pages 11-14)
Shea and Takahashi do not explicitly disclose the following, however Schmidt further teaches:
receiving, via the network, a selection of an active or inactive state of an automatic electronic payment function corresponding to the registered payment condition via the plurality of graphic objects in the graphic user interface; (Schmidt: See paragraph [0058] “a user may activate an element (e.g., 332) to indicate that the user desires to change the current status of authorization for all payment transactions with the merchant to "active." On the other hand, a user may activate an element (e.g., 336) to indicate that the user desires to change the current status of authorization for all payment transactions with the merchant to "paused.", and see also [0055])
after said registering, determining, by the controller, whether the automatic electronic payment function is in an active or inactive state; and (Schmidt: See paragraph [0020] “the financial service provider or associated payment processor may further determine whether the requested recurrent payment transaction is user authorized and currently active.”)
further comprising, in response to detecting that the automatic electronic payment function is in the inactive state, the electronic payment system on the server ceasing said monitoring: (Schmidt: See paragraph [0053] “On the other hand, a status of "blocked" ( element 323) may indicate that the merchant is not trusted, and all (recurring) payment transactions using the payment account and/or method are permanently disabled or declared unusable for the merchant.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include determining whether the requested recurrent payment transaction is active or not, as taught by Schmidt, in order to protect a fraudulent activity. (Schmidt, see [0002-0003])
Regarding claim 3:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving amount information to specify a purchase amount of the digital currency, with respect to the user account, wherein in the starting of the automatic electronic payment process, whenever the payment event occurs, a price corresponding to the amount information is specified as a payment object price to be paid through the automatic electronic payment process, by using the amount information. (Shea: See paragraphs [0040] “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account” and [0041] “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”, and see also [0039])
Regarding claim 11:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 1, wherein the payment condition is differently set according to the specific payment type, among the plurality of different automatic payment types. (Shea: See paragraphs [0040] “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account”, [0041] “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”, and [0042] “One Time Purchase: The user pays $F dollars to received G digital tokens in their account.”, and see also [0039])
Regarding claim 12:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 11, wherein a first automatic payment type (reads on “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”) among the plurality of different automatic payment types is a payment type where the payment event occurs on a basis of an amount of digital currency already retained at the user account, and wherein a second automatic payment type (reads on “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account”) among the plurality of different automatic payment types, different from the first payment type, is a payment type where the payment event occurs on a basis of the date. (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0044])
Regarding claim 13:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 12, wherein in a case where the specific payment type is the first automatic payment type (reads on “On Demand: When a user's account is below a threshold of digital tokens, they are automatically charged $A dollars to receive B digital tokens in their account.”), the registered payment condition is related to the minimum amount of the digital currency required to initiate the automatic electronic payment process from the input payment condition, and wherein in the monitoring of the payment event, it is determined that the payment event has occurred when an amount of the digital currency retained at the user account does not satisfy the minimum amount of the digital currency required to initiate the automatic electronic payment process. (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0044])
Regarding claim 14:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 12, wherein in a case where the specific payment type is the second automatic payment type (reads on “Recurring Payment: Every X days (e.g., 30 days), the user is charged $Y dollars to received Z digital tokens in their account”), the registered payment condition is related to the date preset in connection with the user account from the input payment condition, and wherein in the monitoring of the payment event, it is determined that the payment event has occurred in a case where a current date when the monitoring is being performed corresponds to the preset date. (Shea: See paragraphs [0039-0044])
Regarding claim 15:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 1, wherein the registered payment condition is changed based on a request from the user account, and wherein in a case where the registered payment condition is changed, in the monitoring of the payment event, it is monitored whether a payment event which satisfies the changed payment condition occurs at the user account. (Shea: See paragraph [0044] “Watchdog 301 may query digital currency server 303 for all accounts that require processing. In response, digital currency server 303 may respond with a list of all such accounts. This list may be created by determining if any of the accounts stored within digital currency server 303 satisfy an account condition. For example, in regards to user accounts identified as recurring payment accounts, the condition to be satisfied may be that the current date is a predetermined date or that a pre-determined amount of time has passed since the most recent processing (such as, for example, between 1 and 40 days, especially 30 days). In embodiments, for accounts identified as on-demand accounts the condition to be satisfied may be that token balances have fallen below a predetermined threshold level. In other embodiments, other conditions may be used and the scope of this disclosure is not meant to be limited in any way by these two example conditions.”, and see also [0056])
Regarding claim 16:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 1, wherein the contents include at least one episode, and wherein each of the at least one episode has one of a charged product type which can be viewed through a payment of the digital currency, and (Shea: See paragraph [0032] “The user may alternatively choose to pay for the session with their tokens and bypass the display of advertisements before, during and/or after the session of play.”)
a free product type which can be viewed without a payment of the digital currency. (Shea: See paragraph [0032] “game launcher 109 may offer the user a choice of viewing advertising prior to gameplay. If the user chooses to view an advertisement, this may be in lieu of payment of tokens from the user's account.”)
Regarding claims 18 and 19: it is similar scope to claim 1, and thus it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea in view of Takahashi in view of Schmidt in further view of Kodera Nobuhiro (hereinafter Kodera), Publication Number JP 2011022791 A.
Regarding claim 4:
Shea, Takahashi, and Schmidt do not explicitly disclose the following, however Kodera further teaches:
The method of claim 3, further comprising supplying the digital currency as much as the specified purchase amount to the user account, based on completion of the automatic electronic payment process, wherein in the supplying of the digital currency, an additional amount of the digital currency besides the specified purchase amount is supplied based on the number of times that the automatic electronic payment process has been completed. (Kodera: See page 8, lines 14-19: “When the entire purchase history data is updated, it is confirmed whether the total purchase history of each customer's vending machine group 12 has reached the predetermined number of times, and a gift for the entire purchase history is given to the customer who has reached the predetermined number of times. Points that can be exchanged are given, recorded as point information for the entire purchase history in the recording device 43, and the process ends (steps S16 to S18). In addition, a privilege may be sent by mail such as a prize instead of a point, or the next time a product is purchased at any of the vending machines 11 in the vending machine group 12, a discount is given according to the points. Etc. may be provided.”, and Notes: Examiner consider that he combination of Shea and Kodera teach the recited claim above as modifying for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition of Shea to include providing extra points (i.e. “additional amount” as recited) when the total purchase history data reaches a predetermined number of times, as taught by Kodera.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include giving points as a privilege when the total purchase history data purchased by the recorded customers for the entire vending machine group reaches a predetermined number of times, as taught by Kodera, in order to provide more options to obtain a benefit. (Kodera: See page 8)
Regarding claim 5:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 4, wherein the additional amount of the digital currency supplied to the user account becomes different according to a degree of the specified purchase amount. (Shea: See paragraph [0049] “An advertiser may give an end user digital tokens after he/she watches a given ad. An advertiser may give the user a chance to win digital tokens.”, and see also [0050-0051], and Notes: Examiner consider that the recited claim above do not require to suggest awarding currency when a payment event is automatically detected by a server and an automatic payment process is started as argued.)
Regarding claim 6:
Shea, Takahashi, and Schmidt do not explicitly disclose the following, however Kodera further teaches:
The method of claim 4, further comprising checking a payment history related to the user account based on completion of the automatic electronic payment process, wherein when the number of times that the automatic electronic payment process has been completed at the user account is one as a check result of the payment history, the additional amount of the digital currency is supplied to the user account. (Kodera: See page 8, lines 14-19: “When the entire purchase history data is updated, it is confirmed whether the total purchase history of each customer's vending machine group 12 has reached the predetermined number of times, and a gift for the entire purchase history is given to the customer who has reached the predetermined number of times. Points that can be exchanged are given, recorded as point information for the entire purchase history in the recording device 43, and the process ends (steps S16 to S18). In addition, a privilege may be sent by mail such as a prize instead of a point, or the next time a product is purchased at any of the vending machines 11 in the vending machine group 12, a discount is given according to the points. Etc. may be provided.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include giving points as a privilege when the total purchase history data purchased by the recorded customers for the entire vending machine group reaches a predetermined number of times, as taught by Kodera, in order to provide more options to obtain a benefit. (Kodera: See page 8)
Regarding claim 7:
Shea, Takahashi, and Schmidt do not explicitly disclose the following, however Kodera further teaches:
The method of claim 4, further comprising counting the number of times of completion of the automatic electronic payment process based on an occurrence of the payment event, wherein the additional amount of the digital currency is supplied at every preset specific number of times based on a result of the counting. (Kodera: See page 9, lines 1-11: “Upon receiving the latest individual purchase history data from the vending machine 11, the management center 13 updates the individual purchase history data and updates the entire purchase history data based on the individual purchase history data (steps S22 and S23). Furthermore, it is confirmed whether the updated total purchase history data has reached a predetermined number of times set in advance (step S24), and if it is the predetermined number of times, points that can be exchanged as a privilege for the entire purchase history are given Then, it is recorded in the recording device 43 as point information for the entire purchase history, and the process ends (steps S25 and S26).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include giving points as a privilege when the total purchase history data purchased by the recorded customers for the entire vending machine group reaches a predetermined number of times, as taught by Kodera, in order to provide more options to obtain a benefit. (Kodera: See page 8)
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea in view of Takahashi in view of Schmidt in view of Kodera in further view of Asada Junji (hereinafter Asada), Publication Number JP 2014074968 A.
Regarding claim 8:
Shea, Takahashi, Schmidt, and Kodera do not explicitly disclose the following, however Asada further teaches:
The method of claim 7, further comprising storing a payment history including the number of times that the automatic electronic payment process has been completed at the user account, based on reception of a request to stop a purchase function of the digital currency, the function for starting the automatic electronic payment process according to the payment event for the user account. (Asada: See page 10, lines 24-28: “When the charge execution unit 24 is requested to stop the charge process from the user device, the charge execution unit 24 stops the charge process for the user device. In addition, when the stop period is specified together with the stop request, the charge execution unit 24 stops the charge process for the user device only during the stop period. When the charge processing is stopped, if the service provision amount is larger than the balance and the service cannot be provided without charging, the charge processing is executed only when the user is instructed and an instruction to cancel the suspension is issued.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include stopping the charge process for the user device only during the stop period based on a user’s request, as taught by Asada, in order to provide more options for a payment process. (Asada: See page 10)
Regarding claim 9:
Shea, Takahashi, Schmidt, and Kodera do not explicitly disclose the following, however Asada further teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the automatic electronic payment process is not started even when the payment event which satisfies the payment condition occurs at the user account, after a time period from when the stop of the purchase function is requested. (Asada: See page 10, lines 24-26: “When the charge execution unit 24 is requested to stop the charge process from the user device, the charge execution unit 24 stops the charge process for the user device. In addition, when the stop period is specified together with the stop request, the charge execution unit 24 stops the charge process for the user device only during the stop period.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include stopping the charge process for the user device only during the stop period based on a user’s request, as taught by Asada, in order to provide more options for a payment process. (Asada: See page 10)
Regarding claim 10:
Shea discloses the following:
The method of claim 8, further comprising releasing the stop of the purchase function with respect to the user account, after a preset time period from the time when the stop of the purchase function is requested, wherein in the monitoring of the payment event, it is monitored whether a payment event which satisfies the payment condition has occurred at the user account after the stop of the purchase function is released. (Shea: See paragraphs [0044] “Watchdog 301 may query digital currency server 303 for all accounts that require processing. In response, digital currency server 303 may respond with a list of all such accounts. This list may be created by determining if any of the accounts stored within digital currency server 303 satisfy an account condition. For example, in regards to user accounts identified as recurring payment accounts, the condition to be satisfied may be that the current date is a predetermined date or that a pre-determined amount of time has passed since the most recent processing (such as, for example, between 1 and 40 days, especially 30 days).)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea in view of Takahashi in view of Schmidt in further view of Watanabe Yoichiro (hereinafter Watanabe), Publication Number JP 2016126408 A.
Regarding claim 17:
Shea, Takahashi, and Schmidt do not explicitly disclose the following, however Watanabe further teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein a charged product type of a specific episode, among the at least one episode is converted into a free product type based on lapse of a preset time. (Watanabe: See page 3, lines 17-19: “The profit setting unit 32 sets a larger profit amount in the period set by the period setting unit 30 in the period closer to the content release time point. For example, when three periods are set as in the above example, 10 yen is set for the first period, 5 yen is set for the second period, and 0 yen is set for the third period.”, and see also page 11, lines 19-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for automatically crediting a user account associated with a user by a certain number of digital tokens if the user account satisfies a condition upon querying the user account of Shea to include a larger profit amount in the period set by the period setting unit in the period closer to the content release time point, as taught by Watanabe, in order to provide more options for accessing a content. (Watanabe: See pages 3 and 11)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon herein but pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure is listed in the enclosed PTO-892.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YONGSIK PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3694
September 23, 2026
/BENNETT M SIGMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3694