Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract is objected to because it contains an incomplete sentence “a diode-clamped multi-level inverter and a processor.” which begins with a lowercase letter. The abstract also recites that the processor “connects … and control,” rather than “connects … and controls.” A corrected abstract presenting a complete and grammatically coherent summary is required.
¶[0003] recites that “the second set of switches is controller to control,” which should read “is controlled to control.” ¶[0010] recites, “In another exemplary embodiment, a system for charging a battery of a vehicle,” which is an incomplete sentence. ¶’s[0012] and [0019] recite that the processor is “configured provide a carrier signal,” which should read “configured to provide a carrier signal.”
¶[0011] is objected to because it states that the processor controls the second current by controlling a second switching cycle for the “first set of switches of the second leg.” The first set of switches was previously associated with the first leg, whereas the second set of switches is associated with the second leg. ¶[0011] should refer to the “second set of switches of the second leg,” consistent with ¶’s[0004] and [0018].
The specification is further objected to because the switch configurations stated in ¶’s[0008], [0015], and [0022] are inconsistent with the detailed embodiment of ¶[0057]. The summary states that the processor may place all four switches of the third leg in a closed configuration or close the first, second, and fourth switches while opening the third switch. ¶[0057], however, describes placing switches X9, X10, X11, and X12 in the OFF position or placing X9, X10, and X12 in the OFF position while placing X11 in the ON position. It is unclear whether the “closed’ switching position discussed in the summary refers to the “OFF” position discussed in ¶[0057].
¶’s[0050], [0052], and [0058] contain inconsistent reference numerals for the electric motor. ¶[0050] initially identifies the electric motor as element 208 but subsequently refers to “electric motor 302,” and ¶’s[0052] and [0058] continue using reference numeral 302. Applicant should consistently identify the electric motor by the reference numeral shown in the drawings.
¶[0054] is objected to because it describes X4 as the “third switch,” although the switches are identified sequentially as X1, X2, X3, and X4. ¶[0054] also states that both comparators 414 and 416 receive the first carrier signal T1, but then states that the first carrier signal is shifted by 180 degrees from a “second carrier signal” that has not been identified in that paragraph. Applicant should identify the correct switch and clarify whether comparator 416 receives T1 or a distinct second carrier signal.
Additional grammatical corrections are required in ¶[0049], which recites “to selectively implement of the second channel”; ¶[0056], which recites “a second current the second leg”; and ¶’s[0033] and [0061], which recite “FIG. 9 is diagram.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because it recites “the second set of switches to control a second current”. It is unclear whether all the second set of switches or at least one of the second set of switches are used to control a second current.
Claim 9 and 10 are objected to because it recites “a second switching cycle for the first set of switches of the second leg”. It is unclear whether it is referring to the first set of switches associated with the first leg or the second set of switches associated with the second leg.
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to because of minor informalities. They recite “processor configured to” instead of “a processor configured to”.
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to because of minor informalities. They recite “the processor is further configured provide a carrier signal” instead of “the processor is further configured to provide a carrier signal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description. The claims require opening a switch of the third leg to isolate one of the first and second battery half-packs for individual charging. The specification discloses battery half-packs 206a and 206b connected in series with neutral point O in between, and third control block 408 controlling switches X9-X12 of third leg 322 (¶’s [0051-0053]).
However, neither FIG. 5 nor the accompanying description clearly shows how opening a switch X9-X12 electrically isolates one battery half-pack from the other. FIG. 5 shows third control block 408 controlling the third-leg switches, but does not show control block 408 or a third-leg switch connected between half-packs 206a and 206b to perform the claimed isolation. ¶[0057] states that certain switches of third leg 322 are turned OFF and that charging bus 304 can connect to neutral point O through X11, and then concludes that only first half-pack 206a is charged, but does not explain the actual isolation mechanism or provide the corresponding circuit configuration for individually charging second half-pack 206b, stating only that a “similar configuration” may be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as indefinite because the limitation “open a switch of the third leg to isolate one of the first battery half-pack and the second battery half-pack for individual charging” does not clearly define which third-leg switch performs the isolation or what electrical connection is being isolated.
The third leg contains switches X9-X12, while the battery half-packs 206a and 206b are connected in series at neutral point O. Neither the claims, FIG. 5, nor ¶[0057] identifies which of X9-X12 constitutes the claimed isolation switch or explains how opening that switch electrically separates one half-pack from the other. Accordingly, the scope of the claimed “isolate … for individual charging” limitation cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Chen (CN 114670685 A).
Independent Claim 1, Chen teaches the following:
A method of charging a battery of an electric vehicle (¶’s [1, 5, 6] mentions a single-phase vehicle-mounted integrated three-level NPC charging power supply module), comprising:
coupling a charging station (power grid Ug in ¶[6]) to an electric motor (three-phase permanent magnet synchronous motor in ¶[6]) of the electric vehicle (¶[3]);
wherein the electric motor is coupled to the battery by a diode-clamped multi-level inverter (¶’s[6,7] discloses a three-level NPC converter, being connected in sequence with a motor and an energy storage DC battery, that includes three parallel bridge arms composed of IGBTs, three diode bridges composed of diodes);
a first leg having a first set of switches and a first alternating current (AC) terminal coupled to the electric motor, a second leg having a second set of switches and a second AC terminal coupled to the electric motor and a third leg having a third set of switches and a third AC terminal coupled to the electric motor (Fig. 1 – bridge arms A, B, C; ¶[7, 8] disclose the midpoints A {third leg}, B {first leg} and C {second leg} of the bridge arm form the AC terminals and are connected to the a-phase inductance La, b-phase inductance Lb and c-phase inductance Lc of the stator of the three-phase synchronous motor, respectively. In ¶[10], it is mentioned that each of the three bridge arms includes four IGBT-type switching transistors connected in series in the same direction, namely Sa1-Sa4, Sb1-Sb4, and Sc1-Sc4);
connecting the third AC terminal of the third leg to the charging station (Fig. [1 and 3] - the midpoint A of the bridge arm {interpreted as third AC terminal of the third leg} is connected to one end of the power grid Ug; during charging mode, when the charging switch K1 is closed and discharging switch K2 is disconnected, and the AC power from the grid is converted into DC power and transmitted into the DC battery ¶[6, 35, 37])
and controlling at least one of the first set of switches to control a first current through the first AC terminal of the first leg (the current from the power grid Ug flows into phase a of the motor and exits through phase b and c. The b-phase current through midpoint B and inductance Lb is controlled by IGBTs, namely Sb1, Sb2, Sb3 and Sb4 of the b-phase NPC bridge arm {first AC terminal of the first leg}, ¶’s[8-10])
the second set of switches to control a second current through the second AC terminal of the second leg (the c-phase current through midpoint C and inductance Lc is controlled by IGBTs, namely Sc1, Sc2, Sc3 and Sc4 of the c-phase NPC bridge arm {second AC terminal of the second leg}, ¶’s[8-10])
to charge the battery via the charging station through the electric motor (fig. 3; with K1 closed and K2 disconnected, the AC power from grid Ug passes through the motor inductances and transmits into the DC battery ¶[6, 35, 37]).
Independent Claim 8, Chen teaches the following:
A system for charging a battery of a vehicle (¶’s [1, 5, 6] mentions a single-phase vehicle-mounted integrated three-level NPC charging power supply module), comprising:
an electric motor (three-phase permanent magnet synchronous motor in ¶[6]) configured to couple to a charging station (power grid Ug in ¶[6]);
a diode-clamped multi-level inverter (¶’s[6,7] discloses a three-level NPC converter that includes three parallel bridge arms composed of IGBTs, three diode bridges composed of diodes) that includes
a first leg having a first set of switches and a first alternating current (AC) terminal coupled to the electric motor, a second leg having a second set of switches and a second AC terminal coupled to the electric motor and a third leg having a third set of switches and a third AC terminal coupled to the electric motor (Fig. 1 – bridge arms A, B, C; ¶[7, 8] disclose the midpoints A {third leg}, B {first leg} and C {second leg} of the bridge arm form the AC terminals and are connected to the a-phase inductance La, b-phase inductance Lb and c-phase inductance Lc of the stator of the three-phase synchronous motor, respectively. In ¶[10], it is mentioned that each of the three bridge arms includes four IGBT-type switching transistors connected in series in the same direction, namely Sa1-Sa4, Sb1-Sb4, and Sc1-Sc4);
wherein the diode-clamped multi-level inverter is configured to couple the electric motor to the battery (¶’s[6,7] discloses a three-level NPC converter, being connected in sequence with a motor and an energy storage DC battery);
a processor (Fig. 4 – SVPWM controller, ¶’s[44, 78, 79]) configured to:
connect the third AC terminal of the third leg to the charging station (Fig. [1 and 3] - the midpoint A of the bridge arm {interpreted as third AC terminal of the third leg} is connected to one end of the power grid Ug; during charging mode, when the charging switch K1 is closed and discharging switch K2 is disconnected, and the AC power from the grid is converted into DC power and transmitted into the DC battery ¶[6, 35, 37]);
and control at least one of the first set of switches to control a first current through the first AC terminal of the first leg (the current from the power grid Ug flows into phase a of the motor and exits through phase b and c. The b-phase current through midpoint B and inductance Lb is controlled by IGBTs, namely Sb1, Sb2, Sb3 and Sb4 of the b-phase NPC bridge arm {first AC terminal of the first leg}, ¶’s[8-10])
the second set of switches to control a second current through the second AC terminal of the second leg (the c-phase current through midpoint C and inductance Lc is controlled by IGBTs, namely Sc1, Sc2, Sc3 and Sc4 of the c-phase NPC bridge arm {second AC terminal of the second leg}, ¶’s[8-10])
to charge the battery via the charging station through the electric motor (fig. 3; with K1 closed and K2 disconnected, the AC power from grid Ug passes through the motor inductances and transmits into the DC battery ¶[6, 35, 37]).
Independent Claim 15, Chen teaches the following:
A vehicle comprising: a battery (¶’s [1, 5, 6] mentions a single-phase vehicle-mounted integrated three-level NPC charging power supply module);
an electric motor (three-phase permanent magnet synchronous motor in ¶[6]) configured to couple to a charging station (power grid Ug in ¶[6]);
a diode-clamped multi-level inverter (¶’s[6,7] discloses a three-level NPC converter that includes three parallel bridge arms composed of IGBTs, three diode bridges composed of diodes) that includes
a first leg having a first set of switches and a first alternating current (AC) terminal coupled to the electric motor, a second leg having a second set of switches and a second AC terminal coupled to the electric motor and a third leg having a third set of switches and a third AC terminal coupled to the electric motor (Fig. 1 – bridge arms A, B, C; ¶[7, 8] disclose the midpoints A {third leg}, B {first leg} and C {second leg} of the bridge arm form the AC terminals and are connected to the a-phase inductance La, b-phase inductance Lb and c-phase inductance Lc of the stator of the three-phase synchronous motor, respectively. In ¶[10], it is mentioned that each of the three bridge arms includes four IGBT-type switching transistors connected in series in the same direction, namely Sa1-Sa4, Sb1-Sb4, and Sc1-Sc4);
wherein the diode-clamped multi-level inverter is configured to couple the electric motor to the battery (¶’s[6,7] discloses a three-level NPC converter, being connected in sequence with a motor and an energy storage DC battery);
a processor (Fig. 4 – SVPWM controller, ¶’s[44, 78, 79]) configured to:
connect the third AC terminal of the third leg to the charging station (Fig. [1 and 3] - the midpoint A of the bridge arm {interpreted as third AC terminal of the third leg} is connected to one end of the power grid Ug; during charging mode, when the charging switch K1 is closed and discharging switch K2 is disconnected, and the AC power from the grid is converted into DC power and transmitted into the DC battery ¶[6, 35, 37]);
and control at least one of the first set of switches to control a first current through the first AC terminal of the first leg (the current from the power grid Ug flows into phase a of the motor and exits through phase b and c. The b-phase current through midpoint B and inductance Lb is controlled by IGBTs, namely Sb1, Sb2, Sb3 and Sb4 of the b-phase NPC bridge arm {first AC terminal of the first leg}, ¶’s[8-10])
the second set of switches to control a second current through the second AC terminal of the second leg (the c-phase current through midpoint C and inductance Lc is controlled by IGBTs, namely Sc1, Sc2, Sc3 and Sc4 of the c-phase NPC bridge arm {second AC terminal of the second leg}, ¶’s[8-10])
to charge the battery via the charging station through the electric motor (fig. 3; with K1 closed and K2 disconnected, the AC power from grid Ug passes through the motor inductances and transmits into the DC battery ¶[6, 35, 37]).
Dependent Claims 2, 9 and 16, Chen teaches of controlling the first current and the second current {b-phase current and c-phase current, respectively, in ¶’s[8, 39, 77, 79]}
which comprise controlling a first switching cycle (U{BA} switching-state sequence during one switching cycle Ts, where Ts = Ta + Tb, with Ta and Tb being the on-times of adjacent voltage vectors Ua and Ub, respectively ¶’s[46, 47]. ¶[44] discloses that switching of the NPC converter is controlled so that the voltage U{BA}, which includes midpoint B of the b-phase leg, follows the commanded voltage U{BA}* in each switching cycle. In operating mode (b) with the duty cycle D < 0.5, U{BA} sequence is set to 0 → Uc2 → 0 → Uc1 → 0 → Uc1 → 0 → Uc2 → 0, with corresponding duty-cycle portions ¶’s[57, 58] {this sequence is being interpreted as first switching cycle})
and a second switching cycle (U{CA} switching-state sequence during the same switching period Ts. In the same operating-mode (b), the U{CA} sequence is set as Uc2 → 0 → Uc1 → 0 → 0 → 0 → Uc1 → 0 → Uc2 ¶’s[57, 58]. This sequence is produced by switching the c-phase leg switches Sc1-Sc4 {and therefore corresponds to the second switching cycle})
for the first set of switches of the first leg and the second set of switches of the second leg respectively (The b-phase and c-phase current flowing through midpoint B and C and inductance Lb and Lc, respectively, are controlled by IGBTs, namely Sb1, Sb2, Sb3 and Sb4 {first set of switches} of the b-phase NPC bridge arm {first leg} and Sc1, Sc2, Sc3 and Sc4 {second set of switches} of the c-phase NPC bridge arm {second leg}, ¶’s[8-10]).
Dependent Claims 4, 11 and 18, Chen teaches controlling a first magnitude of the first current and a second magnitude of the second current to generate a net zero torque at the electric motor for any angular location of a rotor of the electric motor (¶[45] discloses of controlling current through b-phase and c-phase to achieve zero torque of the motor).
Dependent Claims 13 and 20, Chen teaches a third leg including a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch in series (Fig. [1-3] – bridge arm A including switches Sa1, Sa2, Sa3 and Sa4) between a positive DC voltage bus and a negative DC voltage bus (Fig. [1-3] – Ubat). Chen further teaches of a processor being configured to perform one of: (i) placing all switches of the third leg in a closed configuration; and (ii) closing the first switch, second switch and fourth switch in a closed position and placing the third switch in an open position (in Fig. [1-3] all four switches are capable of being turned on together, and can be controlled separately to be put in other configurations mentioned in ¶’s[41-45], thus they are configurable to be placed in a closed configuration or for only the third switch to be placed in an open position while the first, second and forth switch are placed in a closed position.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 114670685 A) in view of Nishimura (JP 2022160202 A).
Dependent Claims 3, 10 and 17, Chen teaches that during each switching cycle, the currents in phases b and c are controlled to be equal in magnitude and 180° out of phase in the time domain ¶’s[9, 40].
Chen is silent to having switch pairs.
Nishimura teaches a NPC-type multi-level inverter with multiple pairs of switches where the phase of one pair of switches is shifted by 180 degrees from the phase of the other pair of switches ¶[43]. Nishimura teaches that shifting the phase of the received inputs in this way reduces current fluctuations ¶[43].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Chen with Nishimura, to incorporate a switch pair so as to reduce current fluctuations.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 114670685 A) in view of Hao et al. (U.S. 20210242691)
Dependent Claims 5, 12 and 19, Chen is silent to the method of claim 1, wherein the battery includes a first battery half-pack and a second battery half-pack, the method further comprising opening a switch of the third leg to isolate one of the first battery half-pack and the second battery half-pack for individual charging.
Hao discloses of a battery system wherein the battery includes a first battery half-pack and a second battery half-pack (Fig. [2A and 2B – first battery pack 24A, second battery pack 24B) where the method comprises of opening a switch (set of switches 25 – S1, S2 and S3) to isolate one of the first battery half-pack and the second battery half-pack for individual charging (¶’s[30, 50] explicitly discloses single-port charging is enabled to initially charge the first battery pack 24A, by opening the first and third switches S1 and S3 and closing the second switch S2. The second battery pack 24B is charged by opening the second and third switches S2 and S3 and closing the first switch S1 {interpreted as individual charging}).
Hao doesn’t explicitly teach the switch being on the third leg. But given that, Hao teaches of opening a switch to individually charge first and second battery half-packs, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate that arrangement in the third leg of the multi-level inverter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Chen with Hao, to incorporate such a battery system. The reason for performing the modification would have been to allow for individual charging of the first and second battery half-packs which can independently power multiple drive systems e.g. front and rear wheel drive systems, while also more rapidly charging using either of the low or high charging voltages via DC fast charging ¶[4].
Claims 6, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 114670685 A) in view of Kobayashi (U.S. 12630037).
Dependent Claims 6, Chen teaches a third leg including a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch in series (Fig. [1-3] – bridge arm A including switches Sa1, Sa2, Sa3 and Sa4) between a positive DC voltage bus and a negative DC voltage bus (Fig. [1-3] – Ubat).
Chen is silent to the third leg of the inverter configured to performing one of: (i) placing all switches of the third leg in a closed configuration; and (ii) closing the first switch, second switch and fourth switch in a closed position and placing the third switch in an open position.
Kobayashi teaches of a multilevel NPC inverter (abstract) with three legs (Fig. 2 – legs 61, 62, 63) including a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch in series between a positive and negative DC voltage bus, (Fig. 2 – Q1, Q2, Q3 and Q4 connected in series between battery 4; Col. 5, lines 30-39), each of the switches being independently driven between opened and closed states. Kobayashi further teaches in (Col. 6, lines 18-42) of selectively operating the leg in a plurality of predetermined switching configurations, including a configuration in which the first and second switches Q1 and Q2 are ON while the third and fourth switches Q3 and Q4 are OFF. Kobayashi additionally teaches configurations in which all four switches are turned OFF. Kobayashi discloses that the controller switches between such configurations of different phases to generate multiple output voltage levels (Col. 6, lines 43-47). Adjusting the switching cycles allows the battery to receive a planned current or a voltage value (Col. 7, lines 63-67), thus, contributing to battery charging efficiency and longevity as mentioned in Col. 9, lines 1- 21.
When Q1 and Q2 are turned ON and Q3 is turned OFF, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to alternatively place Q4 in the ON state. Kobayashi expressly teaches that Q3 and Q4 are connected in series in the lower arm; therefore, with Q3 turned OFF, the direct conductive path through the lower arm between the output line and the second potential point would remain interrupted irrespective of whether Q4 is selected to be ON or OFF and the leg output remains coupled to the positive DC voltage bus in either condition. Thus, once Q1, Q2, and Q3 are fixed in the states taught by Kobayashi, selecting the ON state for Q4 would have constituted selection of one of a finite number of predictable switching configurations (either ON or OFF state), while isolating open switch Q3 when Q1 and Q2 remain closed. Such a modification would have predictably resulted in the claimed configuration in which the first, second, and fourth switches are closed and the third switch is open without changing function of the leg or yielding unexpected result.
It would have been obvious to try for one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Chen with Kobayashi, so as to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions by incorporating such switching cycle configurations, so as to obtain a better charging efficiency through a more regulated charging cycle (Col. 7, lines 63-67; Col. 9, lines 1- 21).
Dependent Claims 7 and 14, Chen teaches the second and third legs being connected to the charging station (Fig. [1 and 3] - the midpoint A of the bridge arm is connected to one end of the power grid Ug; the midpoint C of the bridge arm is connected to motor inductance Lc ¶’s[7-10])
Chen is silent to the second and third legs being connected using switches that are operated to multiplex connections of the second leg and the third leg to the charging station.
Kobayashi teaches a diode-clamped NPC multilevel inverter having a power acquirer 7 connected to a charging station (Fig. 1 - external charging equipment 80) and multiple connections (charging power lines 71 and 72). The power lines transmit electric power to each leg 61, 62 and 63 (Fig. 2) {interpreted as second and third leg}. Each leg an upper clamp switch Q5 and a lower clamp switch Q6 (Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 3). The upper switching clamp 613 containing Q5 and lower switching clamp 614 containing Q6 perform switching operation when coupled with power lines at their respective connection points (Col. 9, lines 1- 21), {thus establishing multiplex connections}.
With regards to Claim 7 and 14, Chen as modified by Kobayashi teaches of connecting the second and third leg to the charging station to establish multiplex connections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haussmann et al. (U.S. 20220032798) teaches a circuit arrangement of a motor vehicle with a high-voltage battery which includes a three-stage converter having a first switch unit with multiple switches connected in series, each having multiple IGBTs that connect to line of a charging connection to provide electrical energy for charging the high-voltage battery (abstract).
Conlon (U.S. 20190255953) discloses a DC charging circuit with a pair of switches and a battery pack, and a power inverter module (PIM). The pair of switches connects/disconnects the battery pack to/from the PIM. An electric machine has phase windings sharing a motor neutral terminal. The phase windings are electrically connected to respective switching pair of the PIM. A controller executes a method that establishes a boost mode of the PIM when the maximum voltage capacity exceeds the maximum charging voltage (abstract).
Liu et al. (U.S. 20240072562) discloses a motor control circuit including a first switch module, a three-phase inverter, and a control module where a power supply module, the first switch module, the three-phase inverter, and a three-phase alternating current motor form a current loop; midpoints of three phase legs of the three-phase inverter are respectively connected to three phase coils of the three-phase alternating current motor; which is configured to input or output a current. The control module is configured to control the three-phase inverter to enable the motor control circuit to receive a voltage of the power supply module and output a direct current, and to boost a voltage of the power supply module (abstract).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAWHID PRANTO whose telephone number is (571)270-3205. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 9am-6pm (often working later), M-F, ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JULIAN HUFFMAN can be reached on (571)272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAWHID M PRANTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859