DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn; claims 1-14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 14 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under Purcell and Wallace have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Purcell and Wallace.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purcell et al (U.S. 2019/0216601). Purcell discloses (Figures 3-6) an elongate element (suture 74); a needle (sharpened distal end 32) comprising a curve, the needle disposed at a distal end of the elongate element; and at least one radiopaque marker element (80) comprising a coil (par. 057) coupled to at least a portion of an outer surface of the elongate element.
Regarding claim 2, Purcell discloses (Figures 3-6) the elongate element is a suture (74).
Regarding claim 4, Purcell discloses (Figures 3-6) the at least one radiopaque marker element includes a helical coil (406).
Regarding claim 5, Purcell discloses (Figure 3) the helical coil is wrapped around the elongate element.
Regarding claim 14, Purcell discloses (par. 0056) the at least one radiopaque marker element includes a plurality of connected radiopaque marker elements (“The suture may additionally carry one or two or more radiopaque markers 82 spaced apart from the hub 57, and may extend proximally through the proximal connector and a central lumen in the rotational driver.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purcell et al (U.S. 2019/0216601) in view of Wallace et al (U.S. 7,695,484). Purcell discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one radiopaque marker includes portions having different radiopacities. Wallace, however, discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) a helically coiled radiopaque device that varies its pitch from open to closed along its length in order to provide variable thickness and density.
Wallace and Purcell both disclose systems for providing helically coiled radiopaque elements in an implanted device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Purcell’s needle system with Wallace’s varying winding along the length of the elongate element in order to provide variable shape and flexibility for stability in placement of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the helical coil includes portions having different winding densities, and wherein the different winding densities have different radiopacities.
Regarding claim 7, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the helical coil includes a plurality of high-density winding portions that are spaced apart along at least a portion of the elongate element.
Regarding claim 8, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the plurality of high-density winding portions are unconnected.
Regarding claim 9, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the helical coil includes a plurality of high-density winding portions that are separated by low-density winding portions along at least a portion of the elongate element.
Regarding claim 10, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the plurality of high-density winding portions comprise different radiopacities.
Regarding claim 11, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the high-density winding portions and the low-density winding portion create a pattern of radiopacity.
Regarding claim 12, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the pattern of radiopacity repeats along the elongate element.
Regarding claim 13, Wallace discloses (col. 6, lines 4-59) the at least one radiopaque marker element is configured for varying tactile and visual feedback via modifications of a coil density of the helical coil.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792