DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This action is responsive to continuing application filed 08/17/2023 as a continuation of PCT/JP2022/008463, filed 02/28/2022. Original claims 1-8 are currently pending and under examination herein.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . However, in the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 12/05/2023, 01/31/2024, 03/14/2024, 01/16/2025, 04/17/2025, 08/28/2025 and 10/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, and therefore the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. Initialed copies of the IDS are included with the mailing/transmittal of this Office action.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections – Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/013,081 (reference application; published as US 2025/0145816 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 recites numerical ranges for contents of hexafluoropropylene and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and for value of MFR, which respectively overlap the ranges recited for the corresponding parameters in pending claim 1. Further, it is noted that the features of pending claim 1 regarding the total number of -CF2H, carbonyl group-containing terminal groups, -CF=F2, and -CH2OH groups are recited in overlapping ranges in copending claims 5-6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount/value within the ranges of the copending claims including those falling within the overlapping portions of the ranges claimed herein and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in cases where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/452,126 (reference application; published as US 2023/0391928 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 recites numerical ranges for contents of hexafluoropropylene and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and for value of MFR, which respectively overlap the ranges recited for the corresponding parameters in pending claim 1. Further, copending claim 1 also recites the features of pending claim 1 regarding the total number of -CF2H, carbonyl group-containing terminal groups, -CF=F2, and -CH2OH groups in overlapping ranges with that pending claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount/value within the ranges of the copending claims including those falling within the overlapping portions of the ranges claimed herein and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in cases where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 4-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-8 of copending Application No. 18/451,921 (reference application; published as US 2023/0399435 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 recites numerical ranges for contents of hexafluoropropylene and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), and for value of MFR, which respectively abut the ranges recited for the corresponding parameters in pending claim 1. Copending claim 1 also recites the feature of pending claim 1 regarding the total number of carbonyl group-containing terminal groups, -CF=F2, and -CH2OH groups as a range that is subsumed by the range recited in pending claim 1. Further, it is noted that the feature of pending claim 1 regarding the total number of -CF2H is recited in an overlapping range in copending claim 5.
Given the close proximity in mutually recited ranges between the pending and copending claims, one skilled in the art would have reasonably expected the respective inventions to possess similar properties. See Titanium Metals v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed range and the prior art range do not overlap but are close enough such that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount/value proximate the ranges of the copending claims, including those falling within the ranges claimed herein and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Common Ownership Notice
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga et al (EP 1260526 A1) (‘Hiraga’) in view of Isaka et al (US 2017/0008966 A1) (‘Isaka’).
Regarding Claims 1-4, reference to Hiraga discloses a fluorine containing polymer for coating an electric wire or cable, wherein the fluorine containing polymer comprises tetrafluoroethylene, hexafluoropropylene and perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, having a melt flow rate at 372°C in a range of 0.1 to 100, wherein the polymer may comprise 5 to 25% by weight of hexafluoropropylene and 0 to 20% by weight of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, and wherein the perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether may be a perfluoropropyl vinyl ether (i.e. a fluorine -containing copolymer, comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit, hexafluoropropylene unit and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether unit), wherein: the copolymer has a content of hexafluoropropylene unit overlapping claimed range of 11.5 to 12.5% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units; a content of perfluroro(propyl vinyl ether) unit overlapping claimed ranges of 0 to 0.5% by mass and 0 to 0.1% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units; and a melt flow rate at 372oC overlapping claimed ranges of 0.8 to 4.0 g/10 min and 1.0 to 3.2 g/10 min; and a coated electric wire comprising a coating layer comprising the fluorine-containing copolymer (wherein the formed article is an electric wire) (see [0011]-[0015], [0023] and claims 1-6) .
Each of the disclosed ranges substantially overlaps the range recited in present claims 1-3 for the corresponding parameter, and it has consistently been held that even a slight overlap in ranges establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amount/value within the disclosed ranges including those falling within the respective ranges claimed herein and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Further with respect to total number of terminal groups, Hiraga discloses that the number of unstable end groups such as -CF=CF2 and -COF should be at most 20 per 10⁶ carbon atoms of the polymer (i.e., 50 or less per 10⁶ main-chain carbon atoms) (Hiraga [0022]). Hiraga does not directly disclose a limitation on -CF2H, carbonyl group-containing terminal groups, or CH2OH.
However, in the same technical field, Isaka discloses a tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer and teaches that the sum of the numbers of -CF2H and unstable end groups such as -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH₂, or CH2OH should be 120 or less per 10⁶ main-chain carbon atoms to prevent lump formation (i.e., overlapping claimed range of 50 or less per 10⁶ main-chain carbon atoms) (see [0057]-[0061]); wherein the -COOH, -COOCH3 and -CONH₂ end groups are specific species of “carbonyl group-containing terminal groups” according to the present invention (cf., Spec., [0028]).
Accordingly, at the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art to limit the total number of -CF2H and -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH₂ groups (corresponding in aggregate to claimed “carbonyl group-containing terminal groups”) and -CH2OH groups as
taught by Isaka in order to prevent lump formation and would thereby arrive at the claimed amount of the -CF2H groups, carbonyl group-containing terminal groups, and -CH2OH groups.
Regarding Claims 5-6, while Hiraga does not disclose “extrusion formed” or “transfer molded” as claimed, it is noted that these features are product-by-process limitations of claims drawn to articles. It is well settled that product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.” (MPEP 2113, quoting In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). Therefore, absent probative evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed “extrusion formed” or “transfer molded” feature and given that Hiraga meets the requirements of the claimed articles, Hiraga clearly fulfills the requirements of said claims.
Regarding Claims 7-8, Hiraga discloses that the coating may be for an electric wire (i.e., an article) (Abs.).
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected. No claims are in condition for allowance at this time.
Correspondence
/FRED M TESKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/FMTeskin/03-29-26