DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4 June 2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brownlee (8,568,380).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deerin (7,322,966) in view of Brownlee (8,568,380).
With respect to claim 1, Deerin discloses a durable absorbent pant 10, as shown in figure 1, adapted to accommodate a removable absorbent insert AP, as shown in figure 3. The pant comprises front and rear waist portions 20 with front and rear waist edges W and left and right leg opening edges L1 and L2, and left and right hip side portions joining the front and rear waist portions to form a waist opening and left and right leg openings, as shown in figure 1. A crotch portion 30 comprises a gusset having a forward portion and a rearward portion, as shown in figure 3. The pant including the front and rear waist portions and gusset comprise a woven material, as disclosed in column 3, lines 34-35. The gusset comprises a durable absorbent panel comprising a wearer-facing, liquid permeable top layer 40, a durable absorbent layer 140 subjacent to the top layer, and a liquid impermeable barrier layer OBF subjacent to the absorbent layer, as shown in figure 3. The top layer 40 and absorbent layer 140 form an enveloping structure having a closed end 110 and an open end 120 adapted to receive the absorbent insert AP in a position subjacent to the top layer, as shown in figure 3. The removable inserts AP are receivable and removable from the enveloping structure, as disclosed in column 3, lines 59-62.
Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the removable inserts comprising a first removable insert having a first capacity and a second removable insert having a second capacity different from the first capacity, the inserts having substantially the same length and width. Brownlee discloses an absorbent system, as shown in figure 3, comprising an absorbent pant and a removable absorbent insert 70 comprising an absorbent pad 75, as shown in figure 5. Brownlee teaches that the absorbent capacity of the insert can be altered by adjusting the thickness or the amount or type of superabsorbent polymer of the pad, as disclosed in column 7, lines 15-25. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent system of Deerin with a first removable insert having a first capacity and a second removable insert having a second capacity different from the first capacity, as taught by Brownlee, to achieve the predictable result of giving a user choices of absorbent inserts to use in different situations, and further would have been obvious for the inserts to have substantially the same length and width to achieve the predictable result of inserts that all fit within the enveloping structure of Deerin.
With respect to claim 9, Deerin discloses a durable absorbent pant 10, as shown in figure 1, comprising front and rear waist portions 20 with front and rear waist edges W and left and right leg opening edges L1 and L2, and left and right hip side portions joining the front and rear waist portions to form a waist opening and left and right leg openings, as shown in figure 1. A crotch portion 30 comprises a gusset having a forward portion and a rearward portion, as shown in figure 3. The pant including the front and rear waist portions and gusset comprise a woven material, as disclosed in column 3, lines 34-35. The gusset comprises a durable absorbent panel comprising a wearer-facing, liquid permeable top layer 40, a durable absorbent layer 140 subjacent to the top layer, and a liquid impermeable barrier layer OBF subjacent to the absorbent layer, as shown in figure 3. The top layer 40 and absorbent layer 140 form an enveloping structure having a closed end 110 and an open end 120 adapted to receive the absorbent insert AP in a position subjacent to the top layer, as shown in figure 3.
Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a first package comprising the absorbent pant, a second package comprising a first removable insert having a first capacity, and a third package comprising a second removable insert having a second capacity different from the first capacity, the inserts having substantially the same length and width. Brownlee discloses an absorbent system, as shown in figure 3, comprising an absorbent pant and a removable absorbent insert 70 comprising an absorbent pad 75, as shown in figure 5. Brownlee teaches that the absorbent capacity of the insert can be altered by adjusting the thickness or the amount or type of superabsorbent polymer of the pad, as disclosed in column 7, lines 15-25. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent system of Deerin with a first removable insert having a first capacity and a second removable insert having a second capacity different from the first capacity, as taught by Brownlee, to achieve the predictable result of giving a user choices of absorbent inserts to use in different situations, and further would have been obvious for the inserts to have substantially the same length and width to achieve the predictable result of inserts that all fit within the enveloping structure of Deerin. Brownlee further teaches that the absorbent pant and the absorbent inserts are packaged separately, as disclosed in column 6, lines 40-53. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Deerin with a first package comprising the absorbent pant, a second package comprising the first insert, and a third package comprising the second insert, as taught by Brownlee, to achieve the predictable result of protecting the pant and inserts prior to use and to allow the user to separately select inserts.
With respect to claim 20, Deerin discloses a durable absorbent pant 10, as shown in figure 1, adapted to accommodate a removable absorbent insert AP, as shown in figure 3. The pant comprises front and rear waist portions 20 with front and rear waist edges W and left and right leg opening edges L1 and L2, and left and right hip side portions joining the front and rear waist portions to form a waist opening and left and right leg openings, as shown in figure 1. A crotch portion 30 comprises a gusset having a forward portion and a rearward portion, as shown in figure 3. The pant including the front and rear waist portions and gusset comprise a woven material, as disclosed in column 3, lines 34-35. The gusset comprises a durable panel comprising a wearer-facing, liquid permeable top layer 40 and a liquid impermeable barrier layer OBF beneath to the top layer, as shown in figure 3. The top layer 40 and barrier layer OBF form an enveloping structure having a closed end 110 and an open end 120 adapted to receive the absorbent insert AP in a position subjacent to the top layer, as shown in figure 3. The removable inserts AP are receivable and removable from the enveloping structure, as disclosed in column 3, lines 59-62.
Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the removable inserts comprising a first removable insert having a first capacity and a second removable insert having a second capacity different from the first capacity, the inserts having substantially the same length and width. Brownlee discloses an absorbent system, as shown in figure 3, comprising an absorbent pant and a removable absorbent insert 70 comprising an absorbent pad 75, as shown in figure 5. Brownlee teaches that the absorbent capacity of the insert can be altered by adjusting the thickness or the amount or type of superabsorbent polymer of the pad, as disclosed in column 7, lines 15-25. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent system of Deerin with a first removable insert having a first capacity and a second removable insert having a second capacity different from the first capacity, as taught by Brownlee, to achieve the predictable result of giving a user choices of absorbent inserts to use in different situations, and further would have been obvious for the inserts to have substantially the same length and width to achieve the predictable result of inserts that all fit within the enveloping structure of Deerin.
Claim(s) 2-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deerin (7,322,966) in view of Brownlee (8,568,380), and further in view of Dunbar et al. (2014/0039432).
With respect to claim 2, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of each absorbent insert comprising an insert liquid impermeable backsheet and an insert absorbent core. Deerin discloses an absorbent core AP, as shown in figure 3, with a backsheet attached thereto, but remains silent as to the backsheet being liquid impermeable. Dunbar discloses an absorbent insert for use with an absorbent pant, and teaches providing the insert with a liquid impermeable backsheet, as disclosed in paragraph [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with an insert liquid impermeable backsheet, as taught by Dunbar, to combine known prior art elements to achieve the predictable result of preventing leakage of liquid from the insert.
With respect to claim 3, the insert absorbent core AP of Deerin is positioned subjacent to the top layer 40, as shown in figure 3.
With respect to claim 4, Dunbar further teaches providing the absorbent insert with an insert liquid permeable topsheet, as disclosed in paragraph [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with an insert liquid permeable topsheet, as taught by Dunbar, to combine known prior art elements to achieve the predictable result of containing the absorbent material within the insert.
With respect to claim 5, the insert of Deerin is positioned subjacent to the top layer 40, as shown in figure 3, and therefore when modified to include the insert topsheet of Dunbar, the insert topsheet will also be positioned subjacent to the top layer.
With respect to claim 6, both Deerin and Dunbar do not disclose adhesive on the outward-facing surface of the insert backsheets, and therefore they are substantially free of adhesive.
With respect to claim 7, Deerin discloses the insert comprises a pull tab T, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 8, the pull tab T of Deerin is part of the backsheet, as shown in figure 3, which is modified by Dunbar to be liquid impermeable, or hydrophobic.
With respect to claim 17, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent insert having a caliper of about 0.5-7 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with a caliper of about 0.5-7 mm to achieve the predictable result of an insert that is thin and not bulky for a more comfortable fit for the wearer.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deerin (7,322,966) in view of Brownlee (8,568,380), and further in view of LaVon et al. (2003/0199844).
With respect to claim 10, modified Deering discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of first and second absorbent inserts positioned subjacent to each other. LaVon teaches providing a two absorbent inserts subjacent to one another, as shown in figure 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pant of Deerin with two subjacent absorbent inserts, as taught by LaVon, to achieve the predictable result of being able to remove insert sequentially as they are soiled without having to replace the pant.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deerin (7,322,966) in view of Brownlee (8,568,380), and further in view of Labit et al. (8,062,276).
With respect to claim 11, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the open end comprising a slit in the wearer-facing top layer. Labit discloses a durable pant 210 for use with an absorbent insert 206, as shown in figure 7, wherein the pant has a wearer-facing top layer 260 having a slit 204 therein to allow access to a pocket for insertion of the insert, as disclosed in column 10, lines 12-15. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the open end of Deerin comprise a slit in the wearer-facing top layer, as taught by Labit, to achieve the predictable result of simple substitution of one known prior art element for another.
With respect to claim 12, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the slit being reinforced. Labit is silent as to the structure of the slit. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the slit of modified Deerin reinforced to achieve the predictable result of an opening that maintains its structure during use of the article.
With respect to claim 13, Deerin, when modified by Labit to have the open end be a slit in the top layer, anticipates the structure of an open end being inboard of the perimeter seal of the enveloping structure.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deerin (7,322,966) in view of Brownlee (8,568,380) and Dunbar et al. (2014/0039432), and further in view of Wang et al. (2014/0257229).
With respect to claim 14, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent insert having a bending stiffness in the MD of about 10-100 N/m2. Wang discloses an absorbent insert for use with a durable pant, as shown in figure 1M, and teaches a bending stiffness of about 100 N/m2 achieves a comfortable insert, as disclosed in paragraph [0240]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with a bending stiffness of about 100 N/m2, as taught by Wang, to achieve an insert that has structural integrity but still is comfortable to wear.
With respect to claim 15, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent insert having a bending stiffness in the CD of about 10-100 N/m2. Wang discloses an absorbent insert for use with a durable pant, as shown in figure 1M, and teaches a bending stiffness of about 100 N/m2 achieves a comfortable insert, as disclosed in paragraph [0240]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with a bending stiffness of about 100 N/m2, as taught by Wang, to achieve an insert that has structural integrity but still is comfortable to wear.
With respect to claim 16, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent insert having a capacity of about 2-100 g. Wang teaches a providing the absorbent insert with a larger capacity to allow for longer usage periods such as at night, as disclosed in paragraph [0287]. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with a capacity of about 2-100 g to achieve the predictable result of an insert than can be worn for longer periods of time, as taught by Wang.
With respect to claim 18, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent insert having a kinetic coefficient of friction of about 0.1-0.9. Wang teaches that materials with a coefficient of friction of 0.5 are preferred in absorbent inserts. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with a coefficient of friction of 0.5, as taught by Wang, to achieve the predictable result of an insert that stays in place within the gusset during wear.
With respect to claim 19, modified Deerin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent insert having a kinetic coefficient of friction of about 0.1-0.9. Wang teaches that materials with a coefficient of friction of 0.5 are preferred in absorbent inserts. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent insert of Deerin with a coefficient of friction of 0.5, as taught by Wang, to achieve the predictable result of an insert that stays in place within the gusset during wear.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781