DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on November 24, 2025, in which claims 1, 8-11, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US 2025/0048407) in view of Reddy et al. (US 2023/0276401).
Regarding to claim 1, Yue teaches a method for selecting a synchronization reference for sidelink positioning, comprising: transmitting, to a plurality of wireless devices, an anchor selection request for a sidelink positioning procedure for a target user equipment device (UE) (i.e., transmitting a positioning request to one or more anchor UEs via a sidelink communication ([0004], [0018], [0026]). At step 1201, a serving anchor UE can send a request to the target UE. The target UE first sends the request to other coordinating anchor UEs at step 1203. The coordinating anchor UEs can then participate and transmit the SL Pos-RS to the target UE at step 1205. The target UE can perform a positioning measurement [0208]); receiving, from one or more wireless devices of the plurality of wireless devices, an anchor selection response (i.e., Upon receiving a request, an anchor UE responds with position information [0018], [0182]); and selecting based, at least in part, on the anchor selection responses, one or more anchor devices from the one or more wireless devices (i.e., The selection may be based on certain criteria. To achieve a certain positioning reliability, the synchronization (sync) source of the anchor UE 901 may be important. A UE may have certain requirements on sync source or position accuracy allowing a UE to indicate whether the UE can be an anchor UE 901… At step 2201, the target UE selects one or more anchor UEs. In an example, the one or more anchor UEs are selected based on a UE anchor indication and UE anchor levels. For example, the UE anchor indication may indicate whether a corresponding UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the corresponding UE is allowed to act as an anchor UE [0197], [0377]).
Yue clearly teaches Anchor UE(s) can indicate each UE's willingness and capabilities to act as an anchor UE via signaling. The target UE can select one more anchor UEs. But Yue does not specifically teach information indicative of synchronization reference characteristics associated with each wireless device of the one or more wireless devices.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Reddy teaches Direct communication between the one or more other mobile devices 145 and mobile device 105 may comprise sidelink and/or similar Device-to-Device (D2D) communication technologies ([0043]). selecting the synchronization reference anchor from the group of RF positioning anchors based at least in part on the metric information. As described in the embodiments herein, the selection may be based on a combined value of weighted metric information. As described herein with respect to determining a CC value, a distance (e.g., number of hops) and/or a number of nodes may also be used. Other embodiments, selecting the synchronization reference anchor may be further based at least in part on information regarding a cost metric (CM) for each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors ([0094]). The apparatus, wherein selecting the synchronization reference anchor is based at least in part on information regarding a cost metric (CM) for each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors ([0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Reddy within the system of Yue in order to transmit information indicative of the selected synchronization reference anchor to each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors.
Regarding to claim 2, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches transmitting the anchor selection request comprises broadcasting the anchor selection request to the plurality of wireless devices (i.e., Anchor UEs may independently reserve resources and send their location information to other UEs via unicast, groupcast, or broadcast. The location information can be multiplexed with SL Pos-RS transmission [0217]… The location information of the anchor UEs can also be broadcast to every UE either multiplexed with SL Pos-RS transmission or in a separate transmission. With broadcast of SL Pos-RS and anchor UEs' location information, UEs within the range of these anchor UEs benefit the positioning information [0290]).
Regarding to claim 3, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the anchor selection request is transmitted via a physical layer in sidelink control information (SCI), via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or via a higher layer using a sidelink long Term Evolution (LTE) positioning
protocol (LPP) (i.e., SCI or MAC-CE can be used as the container of the positioning request and can carry more bits [0072], [0199], [0204]-[0205]).
Regarding to claim 4, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the anchor selection request includes a preferred sidelink positioning type that includes at least one or more of: time difference of arrival (TDoA); round trip time (RTT); sidelink Angle of Arrival (SL-AoA); sidelink Angle of Departure (SL-AoD); and/or sidelink enhanced cell identifier (SL e-CID) ([0313], [0358], [0359]).
Regarding to claim 5, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the anchor selection response is received via a physical layer control channel ([0165], [0205], [0271]).
Regarding to claim 6, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the control channel comprises a control channel dedicated for positioning control (i.e., Resources in a resource pool 200 are configured for different channels including control channels ([0069]). Each PRB may be allocated to combinations of a control channel (CCH) [0071], [0165]).
Regarding to claim 7, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the control channel comprises a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) that includes a dedicated slot for positioning for a sidelink positioning reference signal (i.e., PSCCH may be allowed to signal overlapped resources for SL Pos-RS transmission without multiplexing with data [0310]).
Regarding to claim 8, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the UE synchronization type includes at least one or more of: Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) based synchronization; synchronization signal block (SSB) based synchronization including an SSB identifier; sidelink SSB including a sidelink SSB identifier; and/or UE based synchronization (i.e., The SL synchronization can be achieved via S-SSB. Since S-SSB is sent periodically, a UE can indicate that it can be an anchor UE 801 or its availability for positioning as an anchor UE 801 via one or more reserved bits in a SL-MIB carried in a PSBCH transmitted in a S-SSB [0191], [0260]).
Regarding to claim 9, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the anchor selection response includes a sidelink positioning type, and wherein the sidelink positioning type includes at least one or more of: time difference of arrival (TDoA); round trip time (RTT); sidelink Angle of Arrival (SL-AoA); sidelink Angle of Departure (SL-AoD); and/or sidelink enhanced cell identifier (SL e-CID) ([0313], [0358], [0359]).
Regarding to claim 10, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches the anchor selection response includes a capability associated with synchronization switching, and wherein the capability associated with synchronization switching indicates whether a wireless device is open to switching synchronization sources (i.e., Anchor UE(s) can indicate each UE's willingness and capabilities to act as an anchor UE via signaling. The target UE can then select one or more anchor UEs. The target UE and the anchor UE can reserve time and frequency communication resources for signaling via opportunistic mechanisms or via assignment by a 5G network [0004], [0018], [0261]-[0268], [0315], [0357]).
Regarding to claim 11, Yue teaches an apparatus, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor in communication with the memory and configured to: generate instructions to transmit, to a plurality of wireless devices, an anchor selection request for a sidelink positioning procedure for a target user equipment device (UE) (i.e., transmitting a positioning request to one or more anchor UEs via a sidelink communication ([0004], [0018], [0026]). At step 1201, a serving anchor UE can send a request to the target UE. The target UE first sends the request to other coordinating anchor UEs at step 1203. The coordinating anchor UEs can then participate and transmit the SL Pos-RS to the target UE at step 1205. The target UE can perform a positioning measurement [0208]); receive, from one or more wireless devices of the plurality of wireless devices, an anchor selection (i.e., Upon receiving a request, an anchor UE responds with position information [0018], [0182]); and selecting based, at least in part, on the anchor selection responses, one or more anchor devices from the one or more wireless devices (i.e., The selection may be based on certain criteria. To achieve a certain positioning reliability, the synchronization (sync) source of the anchor UE 901 may be important. A UE may have certain requirements on sync source or position accuracy allowing a UE to indicate whether the UE can be an anchor UE 901… At step 2201, the target UE selects one or more anchor UEs. In an example, the one or more anchor UEs are selected based on a UE anchor indication and UE anchor levels. For example, the UE anchor indication may indicate whether a corresponding UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the corresponding UE is allowed to act as an anchor UE [0197], [0377]).
Yue clearly teaches Anchor UE(s) can indicate each UE's willingness and capabilities to act as an anchor UE via signaling. The target UE can select one more anchor UEs. But Yue does not specifically teach information indicative of synchronization reference characteristics associated with each wireless device of the one or more wireless devices.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Reddy teaches Direct communication between the one or more other mobile devices 145 and mobile device 105 may comprise sidelink and/or similar Device-to-Device (D2D) communication technologies ([0043]). selecting the synchronization reference anchor from the group of RF positioning anchors based at least in part on the metric information. As described in the embodiments herein, the selection may be based on a combined value of weighted metric information. As described herein with respect to determining a CC value, a distance (e.g., number of hops) and/or a number of nodes may also be used. Other embodiments, selecting the synchronization reference anchor may be further based at least in part on information regarding a cost metric (CM) for each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors ([0094]). The apparatus, wherein selecting the synchronization reference anchor is based at least in part on information regarding a cost metric (CM) for each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors ([0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Reddy within the system of Yue in order to transmit information indicative of the selected synchronization reference anchor to each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors.
Regarding to claim 12, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. In combination with anchor selection response taught by Reddy, Yue further teaches the anchor selection response includes a location availability indication, and wherein the location availability indication indicates whether a wireless device has a location and an indication of quality of location (i.e., As shown in FIG. 9, when the target UE performs positioning or measurement, the target UE 903 may send an explicit request 905 for positioning and SL Pos-RS to the anchor UEs 901. With the indication of the presence of anchor UE 901, the target UE 903 may know the availability of anchor UEs 901 and select a set of UEs as the anchor UEs 901 for the target UE's 903 positioning request [0193], [0197], [0200], [0205], [0207]).
Regarding to claim 13, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. In combination with anchor selection response taught by Reddy, Yue further teaches wherein the quality of location indicates one or more of: whether the location is based on a positioning reference unit (PRU), a base station, or a high capability UE; and/or whether the wireless device is moving at a speed relative to the target UE (i.e., For transmission of the location information, the retransmission may not be needed as the location could change during the retransmission. The retransmission may be dropped or disabled based on the quality of location information, for example if the change of location is above a threshold or the speed of the UE is above a threshold [0300]-[0307]).
Regarding to claim 14, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. In combination with anchor selection response taught by Reddy, Yue further teaches wherein, to select based, at least in part, on the anchor selection responses, the one or more anchor devices from the one or more wireless devices, the at least one processor is further configured to select the one or more anchor devices based on one or more of: UE synchronization type; relative position of an anchor UE to the target UE; and/or signal quality ([0261]-[0267], [0314]-[0316]).
Regarding to claim 15, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. In combination with anchor selection response taught by Reddy, Yue further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to only select wireless devices with a common synchronization reference as anchor devices ([0385]).
Regarding to claim 16, Yue teaches device, comprising: a memory; at least one network interface; and one or more processors, in communication with the memory and the at least one network interface, configured to cause the device to: transmit, to a plurality of wireless devices, an anchor selection request for a sidelink positioning procedure for a target user equipment device (UE) (i.e., transmitting a positioning request to one or more anchor UEs via a sidelink communication ([0004], [0018], [0026]). At step 1201, a serving anchor UE can send a request to the target UE. The target UE first sends the request to other coordinating anchor UEs at step 1203. The coordinating anchor UEs can then participate and transmit the SL Pos-RS to the target UE at step 1205. The target UE can perform a positioning measurement [0208]); receive, from one or more wireless devices of the plurality of wireless devices, an anchor selection (i.e., Upon receiving a request, an anchor UE responds with position information [0018], [0182]); and selecting based, at least in part, on the anchor selection responses, one or more anchor devices from the one or more wireless devices (i.e., The selection may be based on certain criteria. To achieve a certain positioning reliability, the synchronization (sync) source of the anchor UE 901 may be important. A UE may have certain requirements on sync source or position accuracy allowing a UE to indicate whether the UE can be an anchor UE 901… At step 2201, the target UE selects one or more anchor UEs. In an example, the one or more anchor UEs are selected based on a UE anchor indication and UE anchor levels. For example, the UE anchor indication may indicate whether a corresponding UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the corresponding UE is allowed to act as an anchor UE [0197], [0377]).
Yue clearly teaches Anchor UE(s) can indicate each UE's willingness and capabilities to act as an anchor UE via signaling. The target UE can select one more anchor UEs. But Yue does not specifically teach information indicative of synchronization reference characteristics associated with each wireless device of the one or more wireless devices.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Reddy teaches Direct communication between the one or more other mobile devices 145 and mobile device 105 may comprise sidelink and/or similar Device-to-Device (D2D) communication technologies ([0043]). selecting the synchronization reference anchor from the group of RF positioning anchors based at least in part on the metric information. As described in the embodiments herein, the selection may be based on a combined value of weighted metric information. As described herein with respect to determining a CC value, a distance (e.g., number of hops) and/or a number of nodes may also be used. Other embodiments, selecting the synchronization reference anchor may be further based at least in part on information regarding a cost metric (CM) for each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors ([0094]). The apparatus, wherein selecting the synchronization reference anchor is based at least in part on information regarding a cost metric (CM) for each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors ([0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Reddy within the system of Yue in order to transmit information indicative of the selected synchronization reference anchor to each RF positioning anchor of the group of RF positioning anchors.
Regarding to claim 17, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches determine that at least one wireless device of the one or more wireless devices has a different synchronization reference than at least one other wireless device of the one or more wireless devices; and request that the at least one wireless device switch synchronization references prior to selecting the at least one wireless device as an anchor device (i.e., A resource pool 200 is a set of resources that can be used for sidelink communication. Resources in a resource pool 200 are configured for different channels including control channels, shared channels, feedback channels, synchronization signals, reference signals, broadcast channels (e.g. master information block), and so on [0069], [0175]-[0177]).
Regarding to claim 18, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches determine that at least one anchor device of the one or more anchor devices has a different synchronization reference than at least one other anchor device of the one or more anchor devices; and request a synchronization delta estimate for the one or more anchor devices, wherein received synchronization delta estimates are used to correct for any synchronization differences amongst the one or more anchor devices ([0181], [0191], [0314], [0318]).
Regarding to claim 19, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches determine that at least one anchor device of the one or more anchor devices has a different synchronization reference than at least one other anchor device of the one or more anchor devices; and modify the sidelink positioning procedure to accommodate differing synchronization references amongst the one or more anchor devices ([0175], [0181], [0244]-[0245]).
Regarding to claim 20, Yue in view of Reddy teaches all the limitations above. Yue further teaches send, to the one or more anchor devices, a selection indication, wherein the selection indication is transmitted via a physical layer, via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or via a higher layer using a sidelink Long Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP); and receive, from the one or more anchor devices, an acknowledgement, wherein the acknowledgment is received via a physical layer or via a higher layer using a sidelink Long Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) ([0203]-[0205], [0254]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643