DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and species A comprising Claims 1-4 and 9-11 in the reply filed on 04/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-22 are pending in the application. Claims 5-8 and 12-22 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are considered on merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (Langmuir, 2019, IDS) (Xue).
Regarding claim 1, Xue discloses a chemically-cleavable surfactant comprising: a) hydrophilic head, b) a hydrophobic tail, and c) a cleavable disulfide bond covalently linking the hydrophilic head and hydrophobic tail, where the cleavable disulfide bond is able to release the hydrophilic head, release the hydrophobic tail, and/or break apart upon exposure to a reducing agent (Fig. 2, page 4321, par 6 & 9).
Regarding claim 2, Xue discloses that wherein the reducing agent is selected
from the group consisting of tris(2-carboxyethyl)phosphine (TCEP), dithiothreitol (OTT), beta mercaptoethanol (BM E), dithiobutylamine (DTBA), [N, N'-dimethyl-N, N'-bis(mercaptoacetyl) hydrazine (DMH), glutathione (GSH), borane dimethylsulfide (BMS), cysteine-HCI, 2-mercaptoethylamine-HCI, and combinations thereof (page 4321, par 6).
Regarding claim 3, Xue discloses that wherein the chemically-cleavable
surfactant has the formula:
wherein R1 is a hydrophilic moiety and R2 is a hydrophobic moiety, and n is an integer selected from 1 to 6 (Fig. 2, page 4321, par 9).
Regarding claim 4, Xue discloses that wherein R1 comprises one or more
branched or unbranched monosaccharides, disaccharides, polysaccharides, or combinations thereof (Fig. 2, page 4321, par 9).
Regarding claim 9, Xue discloses that wherein R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, or aryl group having between 2 and 16 carbon atoms (Fig. 2, page 4321, par 9).
Regarding claim 10, Xue discloses that wherein R2 is an alkyl group the
formula:
where n is an integer selected from 1-30 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Xue discloses that where the chemically-cleavable
surfactant of the method has the formula (Fig. 2, page 4321, par 9):
Conclusion
/XIAOYUN R XU, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797