DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding the amendment filed 06/17/2026: Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Maier et al (DE 102013008628 A1, cited in IDS, using attached translation, heretofore referred to as Maier) in view of Gaskin et al (US 2020/0197584 A1, heretofore referred to as Gaskin) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new rejection has been formed for claims 1-17 in view of Bellina et al (US 2021/0372842, cited in IDS, heretofore referred to as Bellina).
Rejection Under 35 USC 112
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Maier in view of Bellina.
Regarding claim 1, Maier teaches a system (Maier; Fig 1, Element 10 and Par 0047), comprising: a housing structure (Maier; Fig 1, Element 12 and Par 0047) to receive a feed air stream (Maier; Fig 1, Element 20 and Par 0049; Maier teaches a suction motor to create an input flow) into an internal chamber thereof (Maier; Fig 1, Element 15 and Par 0047); an electrode coupled to the housing structure (Maier; Fig 1, Element 50 and Par 0074; Maier teaches that the electrode may be embedded in the housing); a sensor to generate a value representative of the electrode (Maier; Fig 1, Element 42 and Par 0091-0095; Maier teaches that the capacitance of the electrode is measured with respect to ground) while the while the feed air stream is received into the internal chamber of the housing structure to aerate any particulate therein (Maier; Par 0036-0038 and Par 0072; Maier teaches that when the fill sensor detects a maximum level it shuts off the suction motor, i.e. it is measuring while the vacuum is operating which would aerate the particles); and a logic circuit (Maier; Fig 1, Element 41 and Par 0091) to determine a value representative of quantity of particulate present within the internal chamber of the housing structure at least partially based on the value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode (Maier; Par 0089-0092; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines the fill level of the particulate that is measured) and determine a state of the feed air stream at least partially based on a value representative of the electrode (Maier; Par 0054-0056; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines if the motor is on and may shut it off if the required).
Maier is silent on a value representative of the electrode being a value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode and a first value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode at a first time and a second value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode at a second time, determine a first quantity of particulate present within the internal chamber of the housing structure at least partially based on the first value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode and determine a second quantity of particulate present within the internal chamber of the housing structure at least partially based on the second value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode and a difference between the first quantity and the second quantity being used for a determination.
Bellina teaches a value representative of the electrode being a value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode (Bellini; Par 0041; Bellini teaches using self-capacitance of an electrode) and a first value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode at a first time (Bellini; Par 0046; Bellini teaches a first coupling capacitance) and a second value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode at a second time (Bellini; Par 0046; Bellini teaches a second coupling capacitance), determine a first quantity of particulate present within the internal chamber of the housing structure at least partially based on the first value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode (Bellini; Fig 1C, Element 126 and Par 0046; Bellini teaches a first level) and determine a second quantity of particulate present within the internal chamber of the housing structure at least partially based on the second value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode (Bellini; Fig 1C, Element 128 and Par 0046; Bellini teaches a second level) and a difference between the first quantity and the second quantity being used for a determination (Bellini; Par 0047; Bellini teaches a differential value used to determine a quantity).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Maier with the self-capacitance, first and second capacitances, and differential capacitance of Bellini in order to better reduce the influence of noise on the signal (Bellini; Par 0090).
Regarding claim 2, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the logic circuit to determine the first quantity and second quantity of particulate while the housing structure is receiving the feed air stream into the internal chamber (Maier; Par 0089-0092; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines the fill level of the particulate that may be measured while the pressure is high, i.e. the system is active).
Regarding claim 3, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the logic circuit to determine first quantity and second quantity of particulate while at least a portion of particulate within the internal chamber of the housing structure is at least partially aerated by the feed air stream (Maier; Par 0089-0092; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines the fill level of the particulate that may be measured while the pressure is high, i.e. the system is active and the feed stream is active, i.e. moving the particles).
Regarding claim 4, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the logic circuit to determine the first quantity and second quantity of particulate while the feed air stream is received into the internal chamber of the housing structure (Maier; Par 0089-0092; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines the fill level of the particulate that may be measured while the pressure is high, i.e. the system is active).
Regarding claim 5, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor to generate the first value and second value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode while aerated particulate is present in the internal chamber of the housing structure (Maier; Par 0089-0092; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines the fill level of the particulate that may be measured while the pressure is high, i.e. the system is active and the feed stream is active, i.e. moving the particles).
Regarding claim 6, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor to generate the first value and second value representative of self-capacitance of the electrode while the feed air stream is received into the internal chamber of the housing structure (Maier; Par 0089-0092; Maier teaches the evaluation device determines the fill level of the particulate that may be measured while the pressure is high, i.e. the system is active).
Regarding claim 7, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrode is affixed to an external surface of the housing (Maier; Fig 1, Element 47 and Par 0074; Maier teaches that the electrode may be embedded in the housing which is an external surface).
Regarding claim 8, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrode is positioned to orient a longest length of the electrode in a direction parallel to a height of the housing structure (Maier; Fig 2, Element 49 and Par 0057; Maier teaches the electrode may be along the sidewall of the housing, i.e. parallel).
Regarding claim 9, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrode is positioned to orient a longest length of the electrode in a direction perpendicular to a height of the housing structure (Maier; Fig 2, Element 47 and Par 0057; Maier teaches the electrode may be along the base of the housing, i.e. perpendicular to the sidewall of the housing).
Regarding claim 10, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrode is positioned to orient a longest length of the electrode in a direction at an angle with respect to height or width of the housing structure (Maier; Fig 2, Element 47 and Par 0057; Maier teaches the electrode may be along the base of the housing, i.e. at an angle of 90 degrees to the sidewall of the housing).
Regarding claim 11, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the internal chamber of the housing defines a volume having a cylindrical geometry (Maier; Fig 1, Element 17 and Par 0051; Maier teaches a cylindrical suction inlet defined by the internal chamber of the housing).
Regarding claim 12, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the internal chamber of the housing defines a volume having a rectangular geometry (Maier; Fig 1, Element 47 and Par 0074; Maier teaches that the dirt collecting chamber is a rectangle).
Regarding claim 13, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a particulate material of the particulate is non-uniform (Maier; Par 0047; Maier teaches that no filter bag may be used which would result in non-uniform particulate).
Regarding claim 14, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a particulate material of the particulate is uniform (Maier; Par 0047; Maier teaches that a filter bag may be used before the electrode senses which would result in a uniform particulate).
Regarding claim 15, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises: an acquisition circuit (Maier; Fig 3, Element 59 and Par 0065; Maier teaches a signal is acquired at an A/D converter) to generate an internal voltage indicative of a capacitance of the electrode responsive to a capacitive measurement process (Maier; Par 0065; Maier teaches measuring a voltage based on the capacitance); and a measurement circuit to generate the first value and second value of self-capacitance of the electrode at least partially responsive to the internal voltage (Maier; Fig 3, Element 57 and Par 0065-Par 0070; Maier teaches the controller determines a capacitance of the electrode).
Regarding claim 16, Maier teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises: a first port to receive the feed air stream into the internal chamber (Maier; Fig 1, Element 17 and Par 0051; Maier teaches a suction inlet), and a second port to expel exhausted air stream (Maier; Fig 2, Element 37 and Par 0049; Maier teaches a fan with an output area).
Regarding claim 17, Maier teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the internal chamber configured to circulate the feed air stream therein (Maier; Par 0048-Par 0050; Maier teaches the suction flow enters into the internal chamber).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In claim 18, the specific limitations of “… capacitively determine, via the capacitive voltage divider process utilizing the single electrode, a second value representing a quantity of particulate present in the internal chamber of the housing structure at a second time while the housing structure receives the feed air stream to the internal chamber and the feed air stream aerates the particulate in the internal chamber; and determine a state of the feed air stream at least partially based on a difference between the first value and the second value.” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 19-22 are allowed for depending from allowable claim 18.
In claim 23, the specific limitations of “… capacitively determining, via the capacitive voltage divider process utilizing the single electrode, a second value representing a quantity of particulate present in the internal chamber of the housing structure at a second time while the housing structure receives the feed air stream to the internal chamber and the feed air stream aerates the particulate in the internal chamber; determining a state of the feed air stream at least partially based on a difference between the first value and the second value; and providing a value representing a measured quantity of particulate.” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 24-30 are allowed for depending from allowable claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Totoki et al teaches determining particulate amounts with a pair of electrodes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858