DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 18-21 and 95-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 is rejected because the specification, as originally filed, fails to support the open ended MxM matrix size (e.g. where M is any number greater than 3) as now claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14, 18-21 and 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2528283 to Kimpe in view of NPL “Image Based Transfer Functions Design for Data Exploration in Volume Visualization” to Fang et al. “Fang” and U.S. Publication No. 2015/0105283 to Weiss et al. “Weiss”.
With respect to Claims 1-4 and 13, Kimpe discloses a method of visualizing and characterizing a feature in an image (e.g. CT, PET, ultrasound, MRI image) comprising steps of receiving an image, applying a non-linear discontinuous transfer function to the first image to produce a second image that is separate and distinct from the first image (Abstract; Page 2, Lines 1-33; Page 9, Lines 25-33, Page 10, Lines 1-30, Page 13, Lines 19-30). Examiner notes that the color look up table applied to the image based on the non-linear discontinuous trajectory though the color space would read on one or more non-linear discontinuous transfer functions as claimed and that by applying the non-linear, discontinuous transfer function as described above, Kimpe is considered to read on applying a “local micro-contrast convergence algorithm” in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner notes that by applying the non-linear, discontinuous transfer function as described above, Kimpe is considered to read on applying a “local micro-contrast convergence algorithm” in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, the use of the aforementioned transformation would result in neighboring pixels aggregating into predefined color and luminosity patterns in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
However, it is not clear if Kimpe repeats this process to create additional images (e.g. sequential set of intermediate images) as claimed. Kimpe also does not appear to apply an MxM filter (where M is 3 or more) as part of an iterative sequence.
Fang teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to image processing where transfer functions are applied iteratively to provide better and more meaningful visualization results (Abstract; Fig.1 and corresponding descriptions) and makes the search and navigation of the transfer function space more user friendly and initiative (Page 2, Left Column).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have repeated Kimpe’s transformations any number of times to create a sequence of intermediate images in order to provide better and more meaningful visualization results according to the user’s preference as described by Fang. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Regarding the filter, Weiss teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to biological imaging diagnosis systems and methods (Abstract) and particularly with respect to transforming images into different color spaces (Paragraph [0216]) where a convolution filter (e.g. 3x3 matrix) is used to sharpen the image (Paragraph [0213]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have further modified the iterative color transform algorithm described by Kimpe and Fang to use a convolution filter as described by Weiss in order to give output images a crisper appearance with sharper edges and more visible fine details (Weiss-Paragraph [0213]). Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable result (MPEP 2143).
As for Claims 6-12, Kimpe discloses where the transformation may include a grey scale or color scale (Pages 27-28).
Regarding Claims 14, Kimpe explains that the color transformations may be used to quantify a concentration of a molecule, tracer, substance, target molecule, molecular activity, stiffness of a material, strength of a material, characteristics of a material, biomarker value, etc. (Page 6).
With respect to Claims 18-21, Examiner notes that the claim limitations fail to impose any additional steps on the method and thus, the aforementioned transfer functions would appear to result in the claimed false positive/negative rates in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claim 95, Kimpe discloses a method of visualizing and characterizing at least one feature in an image by applying color lookup tables to at least one image and where the color look up tables may include only points of a primary color (Page 6).
Claim(s) 14, 18-21 and 95-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpe, Fang and Weiss as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NPL “APVS Research Indicates that BCDxTM Breast Cancer Detection Technology Routinely Diagnoses Ductal Carcinoma in Situ” to Ramsay.
As for Claims 14 and 95-99, while Kimpe, Fang and Weiss disclose for visualizing and characterizing a features in an image as described above. Kimpe discloses visualizing and characterizing at least one feature in an image by applying color lookup tables to at least one image and where the color look up tables may include only points of a primary color (Page 6). While Kimpe explains that the image processing steps described above can aid in detect cancer, Kimpe and Fang does not specify the type of cancer.
Ramsay teaches from within a similar field of endeavor where image transformations are applied to a mammogram image generate enhanced observations of the underlying breast tissue such that subtle changes at the cellular level are exposed thereby rendering conditions such as Atypical Hyperplasia and DCIS visible to the human eye (Page 2). Ramsay explains that the color mapping algorithm results in displaying areas appearing as islands outlined in green showing the structure and growth pattern of cancer (Pages 3-4). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have utilized the image transformations described by Kimpe, Fang and Weiss on mammograms as described by Ramsay in order to enhance the visualization of features in anatomical images.
With respect to Claims 18-21, Examiner notes that the claim limitations fail to impose any additional steps on the method and thus, the aforementioned transfer functions would appear to result in the claimed false positive/negative rates in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 18-21 and 95-99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,734,911. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of visualizing and characterizing features in images including a step of applying a first local micro-contrast convergence algorithm to produce multiple images. The presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented method(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. New 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections necessitated by amendment. Double Patenting Rejections have been maintained because the terminal disclaimer has not been reviewed at the time of mailing this office action. Examiner will address Applicant’s arguments which may still pertain to the current rejection. For example, Applicant argues “repeating a pointwise function does not transform it into a neighborhood based spatial algorithm” (REMARKS, Page 2). Examiner notes the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim as the claim fails to disclose a neighborhood based spatial algorithm. The functional language of “to cause relationships among neighboring pixel groups to aggregate into predefined color and luminosity patterns” is the result of iteratively applying a micro-contrast conversion algorithm and an MxM filter which is taught by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 7,574,335 to Estrada which teaches iteratively applying transfer functions to an image to adjust color information in the image (Column 4, Lines 25-45; Claims 1 and 16 for example).
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797