DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-14, 18-21 and 95-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is rejected because it is unclear if “a sequence of transfer functions” (line 15) is the same as the non-linear discontinuous transfer functions previously set forth in Claim 1. Claim 4 is rejected because it is unclear if the “the original, first image” is the same as the first image set forth in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14, 18-21 and 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2528283 to Kimpe in view of NPL “Image Based Transfer Functions Design for Data Exploration in Volume Visualization” to Fang et al. “Fang”.
With respect to Claims 1-4 and 13, Kimpe discloses a method of visualizing and characterizing a feature in an image (e.g. CT, PET, ultrasound, MRI image) comprising steps of receiving an image, applying a non-linear discontinuous transfer function to the first image to produce a second image that is separate and distinct from the first image (Abstract; Page 2, Lines 1-33; Page 9, Lines 25-33, Page 10, Lines 1-30, Page 13, Lines 19-30). Examiner notes that the color look up table applied to the image based on the non-linear discontinuous trajectory though the color space would read on one or more non-linear discontinuous transfer functions as claimed and that by applying the non-linear, discontinuous transfer function as described above, Kimpe is considered to read on applying a “local micro-contrast convergence algorithm” in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner notes that by applying the non-linear, discontinuous transfer function as described above, Kimpe is considered to read on applying a “local micro-contrast convergence algorithm” in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, the use of the aforementioned transformation would result in neighboring pixels aggregating into predefined color and luminosity patterns in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
However, it is not clear if Kimpe repeats this process to create additional images (e.g. sequential set of intermediate images) as claimed.
Fang teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to image processing where transfer functions are applied iteratively to provide better and more meaningful visualization results (Abstract; Fig.1 and corresponding descriptions) and makes the search and navigation of the transfer function space more user friendly and initiative (Page 2, Left Column).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have repeated Kimpe’s transformations any number of times to create a sequence of intermediate images in order to provide better and more meaningful visualization results according to the user’s preference as described by Fang. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable result (MPEP 2143).
As for Claims 6-12, Kimpe discloses where the transformation may include a grey scale or color scale (Pages 27-28).
Regarding Claims 14, Kimpe explains that the color transformations may be used to quantify a concentration of a molecule, tracer, substance, target molecule, molecular activity, stiffness of a material, strength of a material, characteristics of a material, biomarker value, etc. (Page 6).
With respect to Claims 18-21, Examiner notes that the claim limitations fail to impose any additional steps on the method and thus, the aforementioned transfer functions would appear to result in the claimed false positive/negative rates in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claim 95, Kimpe discloses a method of visualizing and characterizing at least one feature in an image by applying color lookup tables to at least one image and where the color look up tables may include only points of a primary color (Page 6).
Claim(s) 14, 18-21 and 95-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpe and Fang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NPL “APVS Research Indicates that BCDxTM Breast Cancer Detection Technology Routinely Diagnoses Ductal Carcinoma in Situ” to Ramsay.
As for Claims 14 and 95-99, while Kimpe and Fang disclose for visualizing and characterizing a features in an image as described above. Kimpe discloses visualizing and characterizing at least one feature in an image by applying color lookup tables to at least one image and where the color look up tables may include only points of a primary color (Page 6). While Kimpe explains that the image processing steps described above can aid in detect cancer, Kimpe and Fang does not specify the type of cancer.
Ramsay teaches from within a similar field of endeavor where image transformations are applied to a mammogram image generate enhanced observations of the underlying breast tissue such that subtle changes at the cellular level are exposed thereby rendering conditions such as Atypical Hyperplasia and DCIS visible to the human eye (Page 2). Ramsay explains that the color mapping algorithm results in displaying areas appearing as islands outlined in green showing the structure and growth pattern of cancer (Pages 3-4). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have utilized the image transformations described by Kimpe and Fang on mammograms as described by Ramsay in order to enhance the visualization of features in anatomical images.
With respect to Claims 18-21, Examiner notes that the claim limitations fail to impose any additional steps on the method and thus, the aforementioned transfer functions would appear to result in the claimed false positive/negative rates in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 18-21 and 95-99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,734,911. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of visualizing and characterizing features in images including a step of applying a first local micro-contrast convergence algorithm to produce multiple images. The presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented method(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections remain because Applicant has failed to address them all in the 11/21/2025 remarks. Double Patenting rejections remain regarding U.S. Patent No. 11,734,911 because the terminal disclaimer approved on 10/25/2024 only includes U.S. Patent No. 10,873,681 and Applicant did not address this rejection in the 11/21/2025 remarks.
With respect to the maintained 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, Applicant argues Fang does not fairly suggest iterative application of transfer functions because they are not applied to a sequential and intermediate images generated from processing of preceding images and instead are applied to a stack of different images and not iteratively (REMARKS, Pages 1-2). Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the rejection and notes, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner notes the primary reference Kimpe discloses a method of visualizing and characterizing a feature in an image (e.g. CT, PET, ultrasound, MRI image) comprising steps of receiving an image, applying a non-linear discontinuous transfer function to the first image to produce a second image (e.g. final image) that is separate and distinct from the first image (Abstract; Page 2, Lines 1-33; Page 9, Lines 25-33, Page 10, Lines 1-30, Page 13, Lines 19-30). Examiner notes that the color look up table applied to the image based on the non-linear discontinuous trajectory though the color space would read on one or more non-linear discontinuous transfer functions as claimed and that by applying the non-linear, discontinuous transfer function as described above, Kimpe is considered to read on applying a “local micro-contrast convergence algorithm” in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner notes that by applying the non-linear, discontinuous transfer function as described above, Kimpe is considered to read on applying a “local micro-contrast convergence algorithm” in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, the use of the aforementioned transformation would result in neighboring pixels aggregating into predefined color and luminosity patterns in its broadest reasonable interpretation. However, it is not clear if the aforementioned steps are repeated to create intermediate images, each intermediate image generated by non-linear discontinuous transfer functions as claimed.
Fang teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to image processing where transfer functions are applied iteratively to provide better and more meaningful visualization results (Abstract; Fig.1 and corresponding descriptions). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have repeated Kimpe’s transformations any number of times to create a sequence of intermediate images in order to provide better and more meaningful visualization results according to the user’s preference as described by Fang. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable result (MPEP 2143). In response to the proposed modification, Applicant argues the Examiner provides no explanation of how the 3D image processing procedures utilized in Fang would be utilized in connection with the transformations of the 2D images per Kimpe (REMARKS, Pages 2-3). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the rejection above, Fang explains that iterative transfer function techniques improve data visualization by allowing users to adjust a set of parameters to achieve their visualization goals to ultimately provide “better and more meaningful visualization results” (Fang-Abstract). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have repeated Kimpe’s technique several times to provide iterative intermediate images until the user is satisfied with the resulting visualization. Such a modification merely involves repeating Kimpe’s steps and combining known techniques described by Fang to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143). The rejection above provides rational underpinning to support the conclusion of obviousness and not mere conclusory statements as the motivation to combine comes directly from Fang (e.g. better and more meaningful visualization results and allows users to achieve their subjective visualization goals; Abstract).
Thus, the rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 7,574,335 to Estrada which teaches iteratively applying transfer functions to an image to adjust color information in the image (Column 4, Lines 25-45; Claims 1 and 16 for example).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797