DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4 and 24 (claim 24 is directed to the non-elected embodiments of Species III shown in Fig. 9 and Species IV shown in Fig. 10) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/24/2025.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/17/2025. These drawings are approved by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, and Rubel 2020/0340638.
In regard to claim 5, Shi et al. disclose a mosquito killer lamp, comprising: a power supplying module (K1, solar panel 101), configured to output a power supplying signal (see Figs. 2, 3, 8); a boost module (T1, C4), electrically connected to the power supplying module (see Fig. 8) and configured to receive the power supplying signal and output a boost driving signal (see Fig. 8); a mosquito killer unit (207), wherein the mosquito killer unit is electrically connected to the boost module (see Fig. 8) and is configured to receive the driving signal, so that the mosquito killer unit kills mosquitoes; a first light-emitting unit (lamp post 206 with LED2 which is a purple light emitting diode), electrically connected to the power supplying module and configured to receive the power supplying signal (see Fig. 8), wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises an LED lamp (lamp post 206 is provided with an LED2 lamp); and the LED lamp is configured to emit light luring mosquitoes (device is a solar mosquito killer lamp); a mounting shell (100,200,300), and the mounting shell is connected to the first light-emitting unit (lamp post 206 provided with an LED lamp is a part of 200); and a second light emitting unit (LED1 is a white light emitting diode) comprises a single LED, but does not disclose wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises an LED tube. Studer et al. disclose wherein the light-emitting unit (lamp 20) comprises an LED tube (translucent sleeve 22; LED array 50 with eleven LEDs 51-61, wherein first set of LEDs 52,55,57,60 having wavelength of 315-400 nm, second set of LEDs 54,58 having wavelength of 400-700 nm, and third set of LEDs 51,53,56,59,61 having wavelength in range of 510-600 nm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first light-emitting unit of Shi et al. such that it comprises an LED tube in view of Studer et al. in order to provide a modular light source that has a plurality of LEDs within a single enclosure that can produce light of various wavelengths to which mosquitoes may be especially visually attracted to the trap and which can be easily replaced as a single unit for purposes of replacement or repair. Shi et al. and Studer et al. do not disclose a second light emitting unit comprises a plurality of LEDs disposed around an outside of the mounting shell; the mounting shell is further provided with an annular transparent cover body disposed between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit; the transparent cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, the transparent cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell and covers the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, and the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit are configured to emit light passing through the transparent cover body and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit for lighting. Sabic et al. disclose a power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121); a mosquito killer unit (generally 141); a first light emitting unit (115); a second light emitting unit (lighting lamp 170 illuminates the surrounding environment; see para. 0055) comprises a plurality of LEDs (one or more lighting LED lamps 171) disposed around an outside of the mounting shell (side wall of housing 121); the mounting shell is further provided with an annular cover body (lamp shell 124 arranged on side wall of housing 121 and is opened on the side wall) disposed between the power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121) and the mosquito killer unit (generally 141; see Figs. 2-4); the cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170), the cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell (at 121) and covers the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170), and the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170) are configured to emit light passing through the cover body (light emitted by the lighting LED lamp 171 may provide illumination through the housing 121, that is, illuminating the surrounding environment through the lamp shell 124 arranged on the side wall of the housing 121 and since the lamp shell 124 is opened on the side wall, the lighting LED lamp 171 may be arranged on the outer periphery of the main circuit board 161 and optionally a reflector plate is provided on the inner surface of the main circuit board 161 adjacent to the housing 121 to improve the lighting efficiency; see end of para. 0055) and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards (the LED lamp 171 arranged on outer periphery of main circuit board 161 has its light being emitted around the circumference of the housing 121 and a radially outward direction through 121 & 124) between the power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121) and the mosquito killer unit (generally 141; see Figs. 2-4) for lighting. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Studer et al. such that it has a second light emitting unit that comprises a plurality of LEDs disposed around an outside of the mounting shell; the mounting shell is further provided with an annular cover body disposed between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit; the cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, the cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell and covers the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, and the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit are configured to emit light passing through the cover body and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit for lighting in view of Sabic et al. in order to provide a secondary light source that illuminates the general area about the mosquito killer lamp so that the user is able to view the surrounding area during low light conditions. Shi et al., Studer et al., and Sabic et al. do not disclose the mounting shell is further provided with a transparent cover body. Rubel discloses first (UV light sources 52 to attract insects) and second (flickering light portion 42 simulates the appearance of a flickering flame and the LEDs 42A may provide sufficient light to allow users to see the area around the lamp and eliminates the need for additional lighting; see para. 0044) light-emitting elements, wherein the transparent cover body (shade 40 is transparent) covers the plurality of LEDs (42A1, 42A2) of the second light emitting unit (42) and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards (42A1-A2 face outwardly radially from 42 so as to emit light radially and outwards therefrom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular cover body of Shi et al., Studer et al., and Sabic et al. such that it is transparent in view of Rubel in order to provide structure which protects the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit from potential damage yet still allows illuminating light to shine through the cover body as necessary.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, and Rubel 2020/0340638 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960.
In regard to claim 6, Shi et al. disclose wherein the power supplying module comprises a first main control chip (IC1) and a charging circuit (see Fig. 8); the charging circuit is electrically connected to a battery (401), and is configured to receive at least one of an external supply voltage (from 101) and a battery voltage (from 401); the charging circuit is electrically connected to the first main control chip (at 402; see Fig. 8); a second output end of the charging circuit is configured to output a battery charging signal (101 charges battery 401); and the first main control chip (IC1) charges the mosquito killer lamp according to the external power supply charging signal (at 402) or the battery charging signal (from 401, 400, K2 in Fig. 8), but does not disclose a first control end of the charging circuit is configured to output a charging control signal or the first main control chip charges the mosquito killer lamp according to the received charging control signal. Sasaki et al. disclose a second output end of the charging circuit (charge controller 304/504) is configured to output a battery charging signal (the control manager can compare the battery voltage to the solar panel and when the battery voltage is greater than the solar panel, the panel can turn on; the charge controller 304/504 can limit power from the solar panel 302/502 from overcharging and damaging the battery 306/506; see para. 0046); a first control end of the charging circuit is configured to output a charging control signal (the control manager can compare the battery voltage to the solar panel and when the battery voltage is greater than the solar panel, the panel can turn on; the charge controller 304/504 can limit power from the solar panel 302/502 from overcharging and damaging the battery 306/506; see para. 0046); and the first main control chip (microprocessor 508) charges the mosquito killer lamp (106/312/512) according to the received charging control signal (see para. 0046) and the external power supply charging signal (via solar panel 102/302/502) or the battery charging signal (via battery 105/306/506). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shi et al. such that a first control end of the charging circuit is configured to output a charging control signal and the first main control chip charges the mosquito killer lamp according to the received charging control signal in view of Sasaki et al. in order to provide a mechanism by which the battery is prevented from overcharging and becoming damaged by regulating the appropriate amount of power delivered to the battery. Shi et al. and Sasaki et al. do not disclose a first output end of the charging circuit is configured to output an external power supply charging signal. Zhu discloses a first output end of the charging circuit (storage battery charging module) is configured to output an external power supply charging signal (charging indicator lamp 116 is indicator light of power supply interface 115 and the solar panel 121 when the power supply interface 115 is connected with AC 220V power supply adapter or solar panel works). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shi et al. and Sasaki et al. such that it has a first output end of the charging circuit is configured to output an external power supply charging signal in view of Zhu in order to provide system information to the user in the form of an indication to the user as to whether the battery is being charged or not.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, and Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of CN 203058147 to Shen.
In regard to claim 7, Shi et al. and Sasaki et al. disclose wherein the power supplying module comprises a switching circuit (charge controller 304/504 of Sasaki et al.); the switching circuit is electrically connected to the charging circuit and the first main control chip (IC1 of Shi et al.; microprocessor 508 of Sasaki et al.); the switching circuit is configured to receive the external supply voltage (101 of Shi et al.; solar panel 102/302/502 of Sasaki et al.) and the battery voltage (401 of Shi et al.; battery 105/306/506 of Sasaki et al.) and output a supply voltage (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.; see para. 0046); the first main control chip is configured to receive the supply voltage (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.); and when the charging circuit receives the external supply voltage, but does not disclose the switching circuit switches off inputting of the battery voltage of the charging circuit, so that when the external power supply performs charging, the battery stops supplying power. Shen discloses that when the charging circuit (intelligent charging circuit 7) receives the external supply voltage (from solar battery 1 via battery charging current sampling circuit), the switching circuit (single chip IC5 control switching) switches off inputting of the battery voltage of the charging circuit (single chip IC5 is also a storage battery voltage sampling circuit 705 monitors battery 3 voltage, when the battery 3 voltage is less than 10.8V, entering a charging mode, an external circuit stops supplying power; when the battery 3 voltage is between 10.8V and 13.2V, enters a large current charging mode, and external power supply; when the battery 3 voltage is between 13.2V to 14.5V, the constant voltage charging mode, and external power supply, battery 3 voltage is between 14.5V to 15V, rice with trickle charge mode and external power supply; The battery 3 voltage is higher than 15V, to stop the storage battery 3 is charged, and external power supply), so that when the external power supply performs charging (via solar power generation system 1), the battery stops supplying power (single chip IC5 is also a storage battery voltage sampling circuit 705 monitors battery 3 voltage, when the battery 3 voltage is less than 10.8V, entering a charging mode, an external circuit stops supplying power). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shi et al. and Sasaki et al. such that the switching circuit switches off inputting of the battery voltage of the charging circuit, so that when the external power supply performs charging, the battery stops supplying power in view of Shen in order to only operate the device when the battery has sufficient charge to power the device in a fully operational state so as to effectively attract and destroy the insects.
In regard to claim 8, Shi et al., Sasaki et al., and Shen disclose wherein the power supplying module comprises a solar circuit (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.) and a solar panel (101 of Shi et al.; solar panel 102/302/502 of Sasaki et al.) electrically connected to the solar circuit; the solar panel is configured to absorb solar rays and convert the solar rays into electric energy through the solar circuit; the solar circuit is electrically connected to the first main control chip (at 402 of Shi et al.) and the battery (401 of Shi et al.; battery 105/306/506 of Sasaki et al.) to output a solar charging signal to the first main control chip and charge the battery (as taught by Sasaki et al., and Shen; and after the battery is fully charged, the first main control chip outputs a stop signal to control the solar circuit to stop charging (see para. 0046 of Sasaki et al.; Shen discloses that battery 3 voltage is higher than 15V, to stop storage battery 3 is charged, and external power supply).
In regard to claim 9, Shi et al., Sabic et al., and Rubel disclose wherein the mosquito killer lamp further comprises a second light-emitting unit (LED1 of Shi et al.; 170 of Sabic et al.; 42 of Rubel); the second light-emitting unit comprises a second light-emitting driving circuit (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.); the second light-emitting driving circuit is electrically connected to the first main control chip (at 404 of Shi et al.) to receive a working voltage and second control signal output by the first main control chip (IC1 of Shi et al.); and the second light-emitting unit is configured to achieve lighting.
In regard to claim 10, Shi et al. disclose wherein the power supplying module further comprises a load switch circuit (Q2, R1-3); the load switch circuit is electrically connected to the boost module (T1, C4), the first light-emitting unit (LED1), and the first main control chip (IC1); the load switch circuit is configured to receive a turn-on signal of the first main control chip (via 404) and output a power supplying signal to the first light-emitting unit and the boost module respectively.
In regard to claim 11, Shi et al. and Studer et al. disclose wherein the first light-emitting unit (LED1 of Shi et al.) comprises a first light-emitting driving circuit (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.); the first light-emitting driving circuit is electrically connected to the LED tube (22, 50 of Studer et al.); and the first light-emitting driving circuit is electrically connected to the load switch circuit (Q2, R1-3 of Shi et al.) and the first main control chip (IC1 of Shi et al.) to receive the power supplying signal input by the load switch circuit and the first control signal input by the first main control chip and output a driving signal to drive the LED to emit light.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, and CN 203058147 to Shen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of CN 203692266 to Zhu.
In regard to claim 12, Shi et al., Sasaki et al., and Shen disclose an input protection circuit (see para. 0046 of Sasaki et.; Shen disclose single chip IC5 is also a storage battery voltage sampling circuit 705 monitors battery 3 voltage, when the battery 3 voltage is less than 10.8V, entering a charging mode, an external circuit stops supplying power; when the battery 3 voltage is between 10.8V and 13.2V, enters a large current charging mode, and external power supply; when the battery 3 voltage is between 13.2V to 14.5V, the constant voltage charging mode, and external power supply, battery 3 voltage is between 14.5V to 15V, rice with trickle charge mode and external power supply; The battery 3 voltage is higher than 15V, to stop the storage battery 3 is charged, and external power supply), wherein the input protection circuit is electrically connected to the external power supply and the charging circuit, and is configured to output the external supply voltage to the charging circuit; the input protection circuit is configured to protect the charging circuit, but do not disclose the charging circuit further comprises an indicator lamp module; and the indicator lamp module is electrically connected to the first main control chip and is configured to receive the working voltage of the first main control chip and display whether the charging circuit is in a normal working state. Zhu discloses the charging circuit further comprises an indicator lamp module (116 of Zhu); and the indicator lamp module is electrically connected to the first main control chip (circuit board not shown) and is configured to receive the working voltage of the first main control chip and display whether the charging circuit is in a normal working state (charging indicator light 116 is indicator light of power supply interface 115 and light-controlling switching and the solar panel 121 when the power supply interface 115 is connected with AC 220V power supply adapter or solar panel works, the charge indicator light 116 to light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Sasaki et al., and Shen such that the charging circuit further comprises an indicator lamp module; and the indicator lamp module is electrically connected to the first main control chip and is configured to receive the working voltage of the first main control chip and display whether the charging circuit is in a normal working state in view of Zhu in order to provide a means of informing the user that the charging circuit is operating properly.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, and CN 203058147 to Shen as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of CN 203692266 to Zhu and Marucci et al. 2023/0309538.
In regard to claim 13, Shi et al., Sasaki et al., and Shen do not disclose a stepless adjustment circuit, wherein the stepless adjustment circuit comprises a stepless adjustment device; the stepless adjustment device is configured to perform a user operation to generate a brightness adjustment signal within a preset adjustment range and is configured to receive the brightness adjustment signal and output an adjustment signal to the first main control chip, so that the first main control chip outputs a second control signal according to the adjustment signal, and the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit emit light within the preset adjustment range. Zhu disclose a stepless adjustment circuit, wherein the stepless adjustment circuit comprises a stepless adjustment device (multi-level dimming switch 113 of Zhu); the stepless adjustment device is configured to perform a user operation to generate a brightness adjustment signal within a preset adjustment range and is configured to receive the brightness adjustment signal and output an adjustment signal to the first main control chip, so that the first main control chip outputs a second control signal according to the adjustment signal, and the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit (LED lamp 140, spiral lamp 141, UV lamp 131 of Zhu) emit light within the preset adjustment range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Sasaki et al., Shen such that it comprises a stepless adjustment circuit, wherein the stepless adjustment circuit comprises a stepless adjustment device; the stepless adjustment device is configured to perform a user operation to generate a brightness adjustment signal within a preset adjustment range and is configured to receive the brightness adjustment signal and output an adjustment signal to the first main control chip, so that the first main control chip outputs a second control signal according to the adjustment signal, and the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit emit light within the preset adjustment range in view of Zhu in order to provide the user with a mechanism to adjust the brightness of the first and second light emitting units according to a preset adjustment range. Shi et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, and Zhu do not disclose wherein the stepless adjustment circuit comprises a second main control chip; the stepless adjustment device is electrically connected to the second main control chip, and the second main control chip is electrically connected to the first main control chip; the stepless adjustment device is configured to perform a user operation to generate a wavelength adjustment signal within a preset adjustment range; and the second main control chip is configured to receive the wavelength adjustment signal and output an adjustment signal to the first main control chip, so that the first main control chip outputs a first control signal according to the adjustment signal. Marucci et al. disclose wherein the stepless adjustment circuit comprises a second main control chip (switch 24 mounted to PCB 23 and coupled to a programmable logic controller/PLC about PCB 23); the stepless adjustment device is electrically connected to the second main control chip (PLC), and the second main control chip is electrically connected to the first main control chip (PCB 23); the stepless adjustment device is configured to perform a user operation to generate a wavelength adjustment signal (see para. 0034) and a brightness adjustment signal (see para. 0046) within a preset adjustment range; and the second main control chip is configured to receive the wavelength adjustment signal and output an adjustment signal to the first main control chip, so that the first main control chip outputs a first control signal according to the adjustment signal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shi et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, and Zhu such that the stepless adjustment circuit comprises a second main control chip; the stepless adjustment device is electrically connected to the second main control chip, and the second main control chip is electrically connected to the first main control chip; the stepless adjustment device is configured to perform a user operation to generate a wavelength adjustment signal within a preset adjustment range; and the second main control chip is configured to receive the wavelength adjustment signal and output an adjustment signal to the first main control chip, so that the first main control chip outputs a first control signal according to the adjustment signal in view of Marucci et al. in order to provide a mechanism by which the wavelengths of light being emitted by the first and second light-emitting units may be adjusted by the user so as to maximize the insect attracting capability without having to physically replace the LEDs in order to achieve the same effect so as to save time and effort on the part of the user.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, and CN 203058147 to Shen as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of CN 111357724 to Zhang et al.
In regard to claim 14, Shi et al., Sasaki et al., Shen disclose the first main control chip (IC1 of Shi et al.) receives the detection signal and controls the mosquito killer lamp to be turned on, but do not disclose wherein the light detection module comprises a photoresistor and a resistance switch; the photoresistor is electrically connected to the first main control chip; the photoresistor is configured to receive a power signal output by the first main control chip, and the resistance switch is electrically connected to the second main control chip; when the resistance switch is turned on and the photoresistor detects corresponding light changes and reaches a preset resistance value, the photoresistor outputs a detection signal. Zhang et al. disclose a light detection module (17-19), wherein the light detection module comprises a photoresistor (17) and a resistance switch (light-operated switch circuit 19); the photoresistor is electrically connected to the first main control chip (control electric appliance box 5 with IC3); the photoresistor is configured to receive a power signal output by the first main control chip, and the resistance switch is electrically connected to the second main control chip; when the resistance switch is turned on and the photoresistor detects corresponding light changes and reaches a preset resistance value, the photoresistor outputs a detection signal; and the first main control chip receives the detection signal and controls the mosquito killer lamp to be turned on. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light detection module of Shi et al., Sasaki et al., and Shen such that it comprises wherein the light detection module comprises a photoresistor and a resistance switch; the photoresistor is electrically connected to the first main control chip; the photoresistor is configured to receive a power signal output by the first main control chip, and the resistance switch is electrically connected to the second main control chip; when the resistance switch is turned on and the photoresistor detects corresponding light changes and reaches a preset resistance value, the photoresistor outputs a detection signal in view of Zhang et al. in order to provide an art recognized light detection module configuration that will reliably control the operation of the device when ambient light levels are low so as to target insects when they are most active.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, CN 203058147 to Shen, and CN 111357724 to Zhang et al. as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of CN 203692266 to Zhu.
In regard to claim 15, Shi et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, and Zhang disclose wherein the mosquito killer unit comprises a high-voltage power grid (207 of Shi et al.); the high-voltage power grid is configured to kill, under a high voltage, mosquitoes lured by the first light-emitting unit (LED2 of Shi et al.); the mosquito killer unit further comprises the first main control chip (IC1 of Shi et al.), the charging circuit (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.), the first light-emitting driving circuit (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.), the switching circuit (as taught by CN 203058147 to Shen), the load switch circuit (Q2, R1-3 of Shi et al.), the solar circuit (see Fig. 8 of Shi et al.), the input protection circuit (see para. 0046 of Sasaki et.; as taught by CN 203058147 to Shen), the stepless adjustment circuit (as taught by Zhu and Marucci et al.), and the light detection module (as taught by Zhu and Zhang et al.) are all installed on the circuit board; the mosquito killer lamp further comprises a mounting shell (201 of Shi et al.); and the mounting shell is connected to the high-voltage power grid (207), the battery (401 of Shi et al.), the LED tube (LED1,LED2 of Shi et al.; 140 of Zhu as shown in Fig. 2), but does not disclose the mosquito killer unit comprises a circuit board. Zhu discloses a circuit board (not shown) provided with a power switch 111, lighting and killing insect conversion switch 112, multi-level dimming switch 113, a USB interface 114, a power interface 115, a charging lamp indicator 116, a work indicator lamp 117, killing indicator light 118 and light-controlling switching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, and Zhang such that it comprises a circuit board upon which the multiple circuits are mounted upon in order to provide a modular design for the circuitry of the device so as to facilitate assembly and repair thereof by placing all of the circuits on a single component.
In regard to claim 16, Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., and Zhu disclose wherein the LED tube (20 of Studer et al.) comprises a lamp panel (mounting panel 36 of Studer et al.); the circuit board is provided with several LEDs (50-61 of Studer et al.); one end of the first circuit board is connected with an electrifying device (38 of Studer et al.); the electrifying device is connected with a first end cover (24 of Studer et al.); a pin (31,32 of Studer et al.) is mounted on the first end cover (24 of Studer et al.); the pin is electrically connected to the electrifying device (38 of Studer et al.); and the other end of the first circuit board is connected with a second end cover (26 of Studer et al.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, CN 203058147 to Shen, CN 111357724 to Zhang et al., and CN 203692266 to Zhu as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Dryden et al. 5,231,790.
In regard to claim 17, Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., and Zhu disclose the LED tube (22,151 of Studer et al.) further comprises a scattering structure and a transparent tube body (see paras. 0019, 0046 of Studer et al.); one end of the scattering structure is connected to the first end cover; the other end of the scattering structure is connected to the second end cover; one end of the transparent tube body (22, 151 of Studer et al.) is connected to the first end cover (24 of Studer et al.); the other end of the transparent tube body is connected to the second end cover (26 of Studer et al.); the several LEDs are irregularly arranged on the circuit board (see Fig. 2 of Studer et al. wherein lightest colored LEDs 51,54,58 are arranged irregularly with respect to the medium colored LEDs 53,56,59,61 and darker colored LEDs 52,55,57,60); and the LEDs adopt LEDs with a wavelength of 365 nm to 380 nm and LEDs with a wavelength of 380 to 400 nm (see para. 0038 of Studer et al.), but do not disclose wherein the LED tube further comprises a scattering structure; one end of the scattering structure is connected to the first end cover, the other end of the scattering structure is connected to the second end cover. Dryden et al. disclose wherein the light tube (16) further comprises a scattering structure (44) and a transparent tube body (38); one end of the scattering structure (upper end of 44) is connected to the first end cover (first end cover 20 via 24); the other end of the scattering structure (lower end of 44) is connected to the second end cover (second end cover 18 via 22); one end of the transparent tube body (upper end of 38) is connected to the first end cover (20); the other end of the transparent tube body (lower end of 38) is connected to the second end cover (18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED tube of Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., and Zhu such that it further comprises a scattering structure; one end of the scattering structure is connected to the first end cover, the other end of the scattering structure is connected to the second end cover in view of Dryden et al. in order to provide a mechanism for more evenly distributing the insect attracting light with a light diffusing means so as to reach potential insects over a greater area of attraction.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, CN 203058147 to Shen, CN 111357724 to Zhang et al., CN 203692266 to Zhu, and Dryden et al. 5,231,790 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of KR 20-0146016 to Kim.
In regard to claim 18, Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., Zhu and Dryden et al. disclose wherein the LED tube (22,151 of Studer et al.) is detachably connected to the mounting shell (see Figs. 1, 4); the mounting shell comprises an upper shell (two unlabeled horizontal plates in Fig. 4 upon which the bottom of the lamp cover 100 rests and that are at the top of 201 & 205 from which 206 is suspended) and a base (202 of Shi et al.); a mounting hole (holes receiving pins 33-35 of Studer et al.); the pin (pins 33-35 of Studer et al.) is detachably plugged into the mounting hole; the first end cover (24 of Studer et al.) and a second end cover (26 of Studer et al.), but does not disclose wherein the upper shell is provided with a first clamping slot and a first fixing member; the first fixing member is provided with a mounting hole; the pin is detachably plugged into the mounting hole; the first end cover is detachably plugged into the first clamping slot; the base is provided with a second clamping slot and a second fixing member; and the second end cover is detachably plugged into the second clamping slot through the second fixing member. Kim discloses wherein the upper shell (horizontal portion from which 104 depends in Fig. 2) is provided with a first clamping slot (slot within 104) and a first fixing member (inner periphery of 104 engaging outer periphery of 103 in Fig. 2); the first fixing member is provided with a mounting hole (see where pins of bulbs enter mounting hole in Fig. 2 or 4); the pin (see pin of 103 inserted into socket in Fig. 2) is detachably plugged into the mounting hole; the first end cover (cover at upper end of 103 in Fig. 2) is detachably plugged into the first clamping slot (slot within 104); the base (see base in Fig. 2 at bottom) is provided with a second clamping slot (9 in Figs. 4-5) and a second fixing member (10 in Figs. 4-5); and the second end of the light tube/second end cover (see lower end of 103 in Figs. 2, 4 or also see Fig. 1 which shows the second end cover at lower end of bulb in Fig. 1 received in 102’) is detachably plugged into the second clamping slot (9 or slot in 102’) through the second fixing member (10 or 102’). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., Zhu, and Dryden et al. such that the upper shell is provided with a first clamping slot and a first fixing member; the first fixing member is provided with a mounting hole; the pin is detachably plugged into the mounting hole; the first end cover is detachably plugged into the first clamping slot; the base is provided with a second clamping slot and a second fixing member; and the second end cover is detachably plugged into the second clamping slot through the second fixing member in view of Kim in order to provide a detachable electrical connection for the pin of the LED tube such that it is suspended within the device and also to provide means for engaging the LED tube such that its alignment is maintained with respect to the high-voltage power grid so as not to potentially contact the grid resulting in either the grid or the LED tube becoming damaged.
In regard to claim 19, Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., Zhu, Dryden et al., and Kim disclose a lampshade (201 of Shi et al.), wherein an upper end of the lampshade is connected to a bottom of the upper shell (see Fig. 4 of Shi et al.), and a lower end is connected to a top of the base (202 of Shi et al.); the LED tube (206 of Shi et al.; 22,151 of Studer et al.) and the high-voltage power grid (207 of Shi et al.) are both arranged in the lampshade (see Fig. 4 of Shi et al.); the high-voltage power grid is arranged around the LED tube (see Fig. 4 of Shi et al.); one end of the high-voltage power grid is connected to the upper shell (see electrode 4 in Fig. 2 or 4 of Kim), and the other end of the high-voltage power grid is connected to the base (see electrode 4 in Fig. 2 or 4 of Kim); the base (202 of Shi et al.) is provided with a killed mosquito opening (opening at top of 202 of Shi et al.) and a bottom cover (208 of Shi et al.); the bottom cover (208 of Shi et al.) is detachably connected to the base (202 of Shi et al.; see Fig. 4); when the high-voltage power grid kills mosquitoes, the mosquitoes killed by the high-voltage power grid enter and fall onto the bottom cover through the killed mosquito opening (208 of Shi et al. is removed to clean dead mosquitos off of it).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, Sasaki et al. 2017/0094960, CN 203058147 to Shen, CN 111357724 to Zhang et al., CN 203692266 to Zhu, Dryden et al. 5,231,790, and KR 20-0146016 to Kim as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Rocha 2014/0165452.
In regard to claim 20, Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., Zhu, Dryden et al., and Kim disclose wherein an upper end surface of the mounting shell (100 of 100,200,300) is provided with a first solar panel (101); the first solar panel (101) is electrically connected to the circuit board (K1 of Shi et al.; Zhu discloses a circuit board with power interface 115); the mosquito killer lamp further comprises a handle portion (110 of Shi et al.; 180 of Sabic et al.); the handle portion is rotatably connected to the mounting shell (180 attached to top of main body 120 of Sabic et al.); and the handle portion is configured to carry the mosquito killer lamp, but do not disclose the mounting shell is provided with a cover body; the cover body is rotatably connected to the mounting shell; the cover body is provided with a second solar panel; the second solar panel is electrically connected to the circuit board. Rocha discloses wherein the at least one solar panel (solar cells 86, two roof planes/panels 114) comprises a first solar panel (86 on lower left occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) and a second solar panel (86 on upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2); the mounting shell (generally roof 12, housing 14, trap/cage 16) is provided with a cover body (upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2); the cover body (upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) is connected to the mounting shell (upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2 is connected to frame 122 of 12); the cover body (upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) is provided with the second solar panel (86 on upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2); and the second solar panel (86 on upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) is electrically connected to the rechargeable battery (144) via solar panel plug (152), roof socket (154), and electrical wire (142); wherein the one or more solar panels can be positioned at a desired angle to catch the maximum amount of sun rays (see para. 0016). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Studer et al., Sasaki et al., Shen, Zhang et al., Zhu, Dryden et al., and Kim such that it comprises a second solar panel, the mounting shell is provided with a cover body, the cover body is connected to the mounting shell, the cover body is provided with the second solar panel, and the second solar panel is electrically connected to the second circuit board in view of Rocha in order to provide additional charging capacity in the form of the second solar panel and to provide first and second solar panels that can be positioned at a desired angle to catch the maximum amount of sun rays so as to more efficiently charge the battery.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Furner et al. 2021/0105991 or Freudenberg et al. 2016/0345569, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, and Rubel 2020/0340638.
In regard to claim 21, Shi et al. disclose a mosquito killer lamp, comprising: a power supplying module (K1, solar panel 101), configured to output a power supplying signal (see Figs. 2, 3, 8); a boost module (T1, C4), electrically connected to the power supplying module (see Fig. 8) and configured to receive the power supplying signal and output a boost driving signal (see Fig. 8); a mosquito killer unit (207), wherein the mosquito killer unit is electrically connected to the boost module (see Fig. 8) and is configured to receive the driving signal, so that the mosquito killer unit kills mosquitoes; a first light-emitting unit (lamp post 206 with LED2 which is a purple light emitting diode), electrically connected to the power supplying module and configured to receive the power supplying signal (see Fig. 8), wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises an LED lamp (lamp post 206 is provided with an LED2 lamp); and the LED lamp is configured to emit light luring mosquitoes (device is a solar mosquito killer lamp); a mounting shell (100,200,300), and the mounting shell is connected to the first light-emitting unit (lamp post 206 provided with an LED lamp is a part of 200); and a second light emitting unit (LED1 is a white light emitting diode) comprises a single LED, but does not disclose wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises an LED tube which is configured to emit light with wavelengths ranging from 365 to 400 nm for luring mosquitos. Studer et al. disclose wherein the light-emitting unit (lamp 20) comprises an LED tube (translucent sleeve 22; LED array 50 with eleven LEDs 51-61, wherein first set of LEDs 52,55,57,60 having wavelength of 315-400 nm, second set of LEDs 54,58 having wavelength of 400-700 nm, and third set of LEDs 51,53,56,59,61 having wavelength in range of 510-600 nm), wherein the light emitted is for attracting mosquitos (see para. 0052). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first light-emitting unit of Shi et al. such that it comprises an LED tube which is configured to emit light with wavelengths ranging from 365 to 400 nm for luring mosquitos in view of Studer et al. in order to provide a modular light source that has a plurality of LEDs within a single enclosure that can produce light of various wavelengths to which mosquitoes may be especially visually attracted to the trap and which can be easily replaced as a single unit for purposes of replacement or repair. Shi et al. and Studer et al. disclose the LED tube comprises a scattering structure being a translucent material structure (translucent sleeve 22 of Studer et al.), but do not disclose a scattering structure being a frosted material structure or a frosted glass material structure. Furner et al. and Freudenberg et al. disclose a scattering structure being a frosted material structure or a frosted glass material structure (LEDs 184 can emit light onto lens 104 which re-directs light outside of base 102 and lens which is at least partially transparent but may include a frosted or other finish along one or more surfaces; see para. 0061 OR Example 12 the NEXTERN bulb differs from the EXCEED bulb in that the NEXTERN bulb has a frosted cover; see para. 0110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scattering structure of Shi et al. and Studer et al. such that it is a frosted material structure or a frosted glass material structure in view of Furner et al. or Freudenberg et al. in order to diffuse the light from the first-light emitting unit such that there is a more even distribution of light therefrom. Shi et al. and Studer et al. and Furner et al. and Freudenberg et al. do not disclose a second light emitting unit comprises a plurality of LEDs disposed around an outside of the mounting shell; the mounting shell is further provided with an annular transparent cover body disposed between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit; the transparent cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, the transparent cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell and covers the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, and the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit are configured to emit light passing through the transparent cover body for lighting and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit for lighting. Sabic et al. disclose a power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121); a mosquito killer unit (generally 141); a first light emitting unit (115); a second light emitting unit (lighting lamp 170 illuminates the surrounding environment; see para. 0055) comprises a plurality of LEDs (one or more lighting LED lamps 171) disposed on the mounting shell (side wall of housing 121); the mounting shell is further provided with an annular cover body (lamp shell 124 arranged on side wall of housing 121 and is opened on the side wall) disposed between the power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121) and the mosquito killer unit (generally 141; see Figs. 2-4); the cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170), the cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell (at 121) and covers the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170), and the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170) are configured to emit light passing through the cover body for lighting (light emitted by the lighting LED lamp 171 may provide illumination through the housing 121, that is, illuminating the surrounding environment through the lamp shell 124 arranged on the side wall of the housing 121 and since the lamp shell 124 is opened on the side wall, the lighting LED lamp 171 may be arranged on the outer periphery of the main circuit board 161 and optionally a reflector plate is provided on the inner surface of the main circuit board 161 adjacent to the housing 121 to improve the lighting efficiency; see end of para. 0055) and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards (the LED lamp 171 arranged on outer periphery of main circuit board 161 has its light being emitted around the circumference of the housing 121 and a radially outward direction through 121 & 124) between the power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121) and the mosquito killer unit (generally 141; see Figs. 2-4) for lighting. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Studer et al. and Furner et al. and Freudenberg et al. such that it has a second light emitting unit that comprises a plurality of LEDs disposed around an outside of the mounting shell; the mounting shell is further provided with an annular cover body disposed between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit; the cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, the cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell and covers the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, and the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit are configured to emit light passing through the cover body for lighting and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit for lighting in view of Sabic et al. in order to provide a secondary light source that illuminates the general area about the mosquito killer lamp so that the user is able to view the surrounding area during low light conditions. Shi et al., Studer et al., Furner et al. and Freudenberg et al., and Sabic et al. do not disclose the mounting shell is further provided with a transparent cover body. Rubel discloses first (UV light sources 52 to attract insects) and second (flickering light portion 42 simulates the appearance of a flickering flame and the LEDs 42A may provide sufficient light to allow users to see the area around the lamp and eliminates the need for additional lighting; see para. 0044) light-emitting elements, wherein the transparent cover body (shade 40 is transparent) covers the plurality of LEDs (42A1, 42A2) of the second light emitting unit (42), and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards (42A1-A2 face outwardly radially from 42 so as to emit light radially and outwards therefrom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular cover body of Shi et al., Studer et al., Furner et al. and Freudenberg et al., and Sabic et al. such that it is transparent in view of Rubel in order to provide structure which protects the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit from potential damage yet still allows illuminating light to shine through the cover body as necessary.
In regard to claim 22, Shi et al. and Studer et al. disclose the LED tube (22, 50 of Studer et al.) comprises a plurality of first LEDs emitting light with wavelengths ranging from 365 to 380 nm (52, 57 of Studer et al. having wavelength of 315-400 nm) and a plurality of second LEDs emitting light with wavelengths ranging from 380 to 400 nm (55, 60 of Studer et al. having wavelength of 315-400 nm).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213639391 to Shi et al. in view of Studer et al. 2022/0022442, Sabic et al. 2022/0110308, Rubel 2020/0340638, and Rocha 2014/0165452.
In regard to claim 23, Shi et al. disclose a mosquito killer lamp, comprising: a power supplying module (K1, solar panel 101), configured to output a power supplying signal (see Figs. 2, 3, 8); a boost module (T1, C4), electrically connected to the power supplying module (see Fig. 8) and configured to receive the power supplying signal and output a boost driving signal (see Fig. 8); a mosquito killer unit (207), wherein the mosquito killer unit is electrically connected to the boost module (see Fig. 8) and is configured to receive the driving signal, so that the mosquito killer unit kills mosquitoes; a first light-emitting unit (lamp post 206 with LED2 which is a purple light emitting diode), electrically connected to the power supplying module and configured to receive the power supplying signal (see Fig. 8), wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises an LED lamp (lamp post 206 is provided with an LED2 lamp); and the LED lamp is configured to emit light luring mosquitoes (device is a solar mosquito killer lamp); a mounting shell (100,200,300), and the mounting shell is connected to the first light-emitting unit (lamp post 206 provided with an LED lamp is a part of 200); and a second light emitting unit (LED1 is a white light emitting diode) comprises a single LED, but does not disclose wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises an LED tube. Studer et al. disclose wherein the light-emitting unit (lamp 20) comprises an LED tube (translucent sleeve 22; LED array 50 with eleven LEDs 51-61, wherein first set of LEDs 52,55,57,60 having wavelength of 315-400 nm, second set of LEDs 54,58 having wavelength of 400-700 nm, and third set of LEDs 51,53,56,59,61 having wavelength in range of 510-600 nm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first light-emitting unit of Shi et al. such that it comprises an LED tube in view of Studer et al. in order to provide a modular light source that has a plurality of LEDs within a single enclosure that can produce light of various wavelengths to which mosquitoes may be especially visually attracted to the trap and which can be easily replaced as a single unit for purposes of replacement or repair. Shi et al. and Studer et al. do not disclose a second light emitting unit comprises a plurality of LEDs disposed around an outside of the mounting shell; the mounting shell is further provided with an annular transparent cover body; the transparent cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, the transparent cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell and covers the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, and the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit are configured to emit light passing through the transparent cover body. Sabic et al. disclose a power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121); a mosquito killer unit (generally 141); a first light emitting unit (115); a second light emitting unit (lighting lamp 170 illuminates the surrounding environment; see para. 0055) comprises a plurality of LEDs (one or more lighting LED lamps 171) disposed around an outside of the mounting shell (side wall of housing 121); the mounting shell is further provided with an annular cover body (lamp shell 124 arranged on side wall of housing 121 and is opened on the side wall) disposed between the power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121) and the mosquito killer unit (generally 141; see Figs. 2-4); the cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170), the cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell (at 121) and covers the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170), and the plurality of LEDs (171) of the second light emitting unit (170) are configured to emit light passing through the cover body (light emitted by the lighting LED lamp 171 may provide illumination through the housing 121, that is, illuminating the surrounding environment through the lamp shell 124 arranged on the side wall of the housing 121 and since the lamp shell 124 is opened on the side wall, the lighting LED lamp 171 may be arranged on the outer periphery of the main circuit board 161 and optionally a reflector plate is provided on the inner surface of the main circuit board 161 adjacent to the housing 121 to improve the lighting efficiency; see end of para. 0055) and thereby form an annular light emitting area emitting light radially and outwards (the LED lamp 171 arranged on outer periphery of main circuit board 161 has its light being emitted around the circumference of the housing 121 and a radially outward direction through 121 & 124) between the power supplying module (mosquito killer switch 151 & lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121) and the mosquito killer unit (generally 141; see Figs. 2-4) for lighting. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mosquito killer lamp of Shi et al., Studer et al. such that it has a second light emitting unit that comprises a plurality of LEDs disposed around an outside of the mounting shell; the mounting shell is further provided with an annular cover body; the cover body is arranged around an outside of the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, the cover body is connected to a part of the mounting shell and covers the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit, and the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit are configured to emit light passing through the cover body in view of Sabic et al. in order to provide a secondary light source that illuminates the general area about the mosquito killer lamp so that the user is able to view the surrounding area during low light conditions. Shi et al., Studer et al., and Sabic et al. do not disclose the mounting shell is further provided with a transparent cover body. Rubel discloses first (UV light sources 52 to attract insects) and second (flickering light portion 42 simulates the appearance of a flickering flame and the LEDs 42A may provide sufficient light to allow users to see the area around the lamp and eliminates the need for additional lighting; see para. 0044) light-emitting elements, wherein the transparent cover body (shade 40 is transparent) covers the plurality of LEDs (42A1, 42A2) of the second light emitting unit (42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular cover body of Shi et al., Studer et al., and Sabic et al. such that it is transparent in view of Rubel in order to provide structure which protects the plurality of LEDs of the second light emitting unit from potential damage yet still allows illuminating light to shine through the cover body as necessary. Shi et al., Studer et al., Sabic et al., and Rubel disclose wherein the power supplying module (K1, 101 of Shi et al.; solar panel 18 of Rubel) comprises a first solar panel (101 of Shi et al.; 18 of Rubel), the first solar panel (101 of Shi et al.; 18 of Rubel) is mounted on the upper end surface of the mounting shell (upper end surface of 100 of Shi et al.; upper end surface of top portion 16 of Rubel), but do not disclose an edge of an upper end surface of the mounting shell is provided with a cover body rotatably connected to the mounting shell, the second solar panel is mounted on the cover body, and the cover body and the second solar panel are capable of exposing and covering the first solar panel by rotation of the cover body. Rocha discloses wherein the power supplying module comprises a first solar panel (86 on lower left occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) and a second solar panel (86 on upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2), an edge (126 with 134) of an upper end surface of the mounting shell (124,130) is provided with a cover body (114 with 128 of upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) rotatably connected to the mounting shell (at 134), the first solar panel (86 on lower left occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) is mounted on the upper end surface of the mounting shell (124,130), the second solar panel (86 on upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) is mounted on the cover body (114 with 128 of upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2), and the cover body (114 with 128 of upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) and the second solar panel (86 on upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) are capable of exposing (when the right occurrence of 114 is moved to a downwardly slanted position it will expose the left occurrence of 114; see Fig. 1) and covering (when the right occurrence of 114 is moved to an upwardly slanted position causing it to be co-planar with the left occurrence of 114, then it partially covers the left occurrence of 114 since light rays from the right in Fig. 2 will be prevented from reaching the left occurrence of 114; the particular structure of the cover body and the second solar panel are not being recited with any particular level of detail that overcomes the Examiner’s broad yet reasonable interpretation of Rocha) the first solar panel (86 on lower left occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2) by rotation of the cover body (rotation of 114 with 128 of upper right occurrence of 114 in Fig. 2 occurs at hinge joint 134). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supplying module and the upper end surface of the mounting shell of Shi et al., Studer et al., Sabic et al., and Rubel such that an edge of an upper end surface of the mounting shell is provided with a cover body rotatably connected to the mounting shell, the second solar panel is mounted on the cover body, and the cover body and the second solar panel are capable of exposing and covering the first solar panel by rotation of the cover body in view of Rocha in order to provide additional charging capacity in the form of the second solar panel and to provide first and second solar panels that can be positioned at a desired angle to catch the maximum amount of sun rays so as to more efficiently charge the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to applicant’s argument that “However, in the specific disclosure of Sabic, the power supply module thereof seems to be the USB port (117), and the mosquito killer unit thereof seems to be the high-voltage mesh wire (141), but the lighting lamp (170) is disposed above both the USB port (117) and the high-voltage mesh wire (141)…rather than between the USB port (117) and the high-voltage mesh wire (141)”, the Examiner contends that the USB port 117 of Sabic does not comprise the entirety of the power supply module as alleged by the applicant and that the mosquito killer switch 151 and lighting switch 152 on top 122 of housing 121 comprise a part of the power supply module in that these switches are used by the user to supply power to the mosquito killing unit and the first and second light emitting units of Sabic when they are activated by the user, and therefore Sabic does disclose the annular cover body 124 disposed between the power supplying module 151-152 and the mosquito killer unit 141 as claimed by applicant.
In regard to applicant’s argument that “Sabic further shows that the LEDs (171) are oriented downwards, rather than radially outwards…and neither discloses nor teaches that the LEDs (171) can form an annular light emitting area emitting radially and outwards,” the Examiner contends that the light emitted from the circularly arranged pattern of LEDs 171 of Sabic mounted upon the main circuit board 161 is emitted through openings defined through the upper portion of housing 121 of Sabic and results in a pattern of emitted light that is directed radially outwards with respect to the housing 121 and that Sabic in paragraph 0055 specifically states “Light emitted by the lighting LED lamp 171 may provide illumination through the housing 121, that is, illuminating the surrounding environment through the lamp shell 124” and therefore the intention of the second light emitting unit of Sabic is to illuminate the surrounding area in a radially outward direction with respect to the device of Sabic. Also since the lamp shell 124 is disposed radially outward from the LEDs 171, then the light emitted from the LEDs 171 will be directed outwardly and not downwardly as alleged by the applicant since the opening at the upper portion of the lamp shell 124 is for allowing the light to escape therethrough for illuminating the surrounding area.
In regard to applicant’s argument that “In the specific disclosure of Rubel, the power supply module thereof seems to be the solar panel (18), and the mosquito killer unit thereof seems to be the conducting grid (30); however, the shade (40) is sleeved in the conducting grid (30)…rather than disposed between the solar panel (18) and the conducting grid (30),” the Examiner contends that Rubel was merely relied upon as a modifying reference to teach the feature of the annular cover body being specifically transparent and not for the aspect of the annular cover body being disposed between the power supplying module and the mosquito killer unit.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647
DWA