DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vialen et al. US Patent No.: 6,577,868 B1, hereinafter, ‘Vialen’ in view of Loviekar et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2021/0360495, hereinafter, ‘Loviekar’.
Claims 1, and as applied to the device 15 (e.g., see figure 3 structure) and 20(NTCRM-see figure 3 structure), Vialen teaches a method of determining a route of a mobile terminal from data relating to a plurality of network events involving the mobile terminal (based on BRI, a network event this would be met best on at least the changes in QoS, connection parameters, signal to noise ratio, fading, etc. In other words, events affecting the signal quality and/ or strength – col. 2 lines 52-55- now consider the context QoS changes- col. 5 lines 56-58), the route comprising at least one route segment of a transport network (i.e., a mobile station in motion- cell border between adjacent col. 1 lines 23-24), the method comprising: determining at least one candidate route during which it is determined (i.e., this is met based on the list of candidate base stations routing the mobility of the wireless transport – col. 2 lines 13-15, col2 2 lines 33-50), for at least one first network event from the plurality of network events: a probability of connection of the mobile terminal to a first base station involved in the first network event(i.e., 0 probability = cannot connect to above 0 probability being “likely” to certain), knowing that the mobile terminal is located, at a time t1 at which the first network event occurred, on a first candidate route segment located in a coverage area of the first base station, and/or a probability of transition, at a time t2 at which a second network event in which a second base station is involved has occurred(i.e., the BS knows the current speed and likely direction – col. 4 lines 12-17), of the terminal to at least one second candidate route segment located in a coverage area of the second base station, knowing that the mobile terminal is on the first candidate route segment at time t1; and selecting the route of the mobile terminal from the set of candidate routes, taking account of the connection probabilities and transition probabilities determined for the plurality of network events (i.e., this is met based on the figures and 6 and 7 where based on changes in network events such as QoS, multipath fading which directly relates to the probability of a mobile station in motion will connect or even lose an existing connection a candidate list of spatially located base stations is created. This is turn directly relates to a transport route).
However, Vialen does not specifically teach selecting the geographical route of the mobile terminal from the set of candidate geographical routes, taking account of the connection probabilities and transition probabilities determined for the plurality of network events.
In analogous art, Loviekar teaches in at least 0083 “the cellular base station may select one or more additional conditional handover sets for the wireless device. For example, as previously noted, in some scenarios, there may be multiple possible known/predicted routes that may be travelled from a certain location, and the network may not be aware of in which direction the wireless device will travel. In such a case, it may be beneficial to provide the wireless device with multiple conditional handover sets, e.g., with each associated with a possible known/predicted route from the current location of the wireless device.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Vialen to include teach selecting the geographical route of the mobile terminal from the set of candidate geographical routes, taking account of the connection probabilities and transition probabilities determined for the plurality of network events for the purpose to help improve cellular service retention, again particularly in high speed/high mobility scenarios in which rapidly changing channel conditions can make cell re-selection more challenging.
Consider claims 2 and 16, Vialen teaches wherein the selected route is the one for which a product of the set of connection probabilities with the set of transition probabilities determined for the plurality of network events considered is the highest (i.e., QoS is best col. 5 lines 56-58).
Consider Claim 7, Vialen teaches wherein the connection probability is weighted according to a deviation of a direction of the first candidate route segment from a reference direction (i.e., this is met based on the creation of the candidate cell list of figure 5 likelihood of connectivity based on current location and direction of travel - the BS knows the current speed and likely direction – col. 4 lines 12-17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowable. The prior art of record does not teach wherein the connection probability for a given network event is determined according to the formula. n which A represents the first base station involved in the first event, Si represents the first candidate route segment located within the coverage area of the first base station, p; represents a pixel of a likelihood map representing a probability of connection of the mobile terminal to the first base station when the terminal is located on a pixel of the likelihood map, and n represents the number of pixels of the likelihood map of non-null weight crossed by the first candidate route segment Si
Claims 3-6, 8-13, and 17-19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the formulation outlined in claims 3 and 17 which include the formulaic parameters such as pixel representation of a likelihood map which if/when incorporated with the independent claim would produce or render obvious the same output. Claims 4-6, 12-14 and 18-19 depend from claims 3 and 17 and would therefore be allowable if incorporated therein for the reason stated above.
The closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the formulation outlined in claim 8, 10 and 11 which include the formulaic parameters which if/when incorporated with the independent claim would produce or render obvious the same output.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646