DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Election/Restriction response filed on 08/28/2025. Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 9, 13, and 14 are independent. Claims 14-19 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 08/28/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that art applicable to if the Examiner finds the delivery system of Group I in the art, there is more than likely a disclosure of a method of manufacturing it as described in Group II. This is not found persuasive because there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; (b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; (c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different groups/subgroups or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); (d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention. The product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process, such that the electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system can be made by dipping the proximal and/or distal coils into an electrical insulation material or spraying an electrical insulation material on the proximal and/or distal coils to form a covering on the proximal and/or distal coils, and/or sliding the core wire in a distal direction through the distal coil. Therefore, the prior art applicable to Group I may not be applicable to Group II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a) Claim 7, the limitation “the first and second polyethylene terephthalate materials are identical or different” should be amended to --the first and second polyethylene terephthalate materials are either identical or different--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace (US Pub. No.: 2002/0002382) in view of Ramzipoor (US Pub. No.: 2007/0073334) with evidence from Sharrow et al. (US Pub. No.: 2004/0167437)
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Wallace discloses an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising: a core wire (310, Fig. 5D), the core wire having a proximal end, an opposite distal end and an outer surface extending therebetween (Fig. 5D and Paras. [0079]-[0081]) ; a distal coil (320, Fig. 5D) having a proximal end and an opposite distal end with an outer surface extending therebetween (Fig. 5D), the distal coil disposed about the outer surface of the coil wire (Fig. 5D); a distal adhesive coating (Paras. [0053]-[0055], the exterior covering formed by polymer fibers, similar to 108 as shown in Fig. 1G or 1H, is attached to the coil by adhesive, Para. [0055]) on at least a portion of the outer surface of the distal coil; a distal electrical insulation covering (the exterior covering formed by wrapping of polymer fibers similar to 108, Fig. 5D. Also see Fig. 1G and 1G) made of a first polyethylene terephthalate material (Para. [0052]) adhered to the outer surface of the distal coil via the distal adhesive coating disposed therebetween (Paras. [0053]-[0055]); the distal electrical insulation covering having a proximal end and an opposite distal end (Fig. 5D, also see Fig. 1G or 1H); the proximal end of the distal electrical insulation covering extending in an axial direction proximally of the proximal end of the distal coil and the distal end of the distal electrical insulation covering extending in the axial direction distally of the distal end of the distal coil (Fig. 5D, also see Fig. 1G or 1H); wherein the outer surface of the core wire has an exposed section representing a detachment zone (the exposed region of 310, Fig. 5D and Para. [0080]) that is located in the axial direction proximally of the proximal end of the distal electrical insulation covering. However, Wallace does not disclose that the core wire is made of a nickel-titanium-cobalt alloy.
Ramzipoor teaches, in the same field of endeavor (an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system), a core wire (120, Fig. 3) made of a nickel-titanium-cobalt alloy (Para. [0034], e.g. MP35-N. As disclosed in Para. [0033] of Sharrow, MP35-N is a nickel-titanium-cobalt alloy).
Before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the core wire of Wallace to be made of a nickel-titanium-cobalt alloy as taught by Ramzipoor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a know material on the basis of its suitability. See MPEP 2144.07
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance on claims 1-6 and 9-12: the prior art fails to teach or render obvious an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising, inter alia, the proximal end of the proximal electrical insulation covering extending in the axial direction proximally of the proximal end of the proximal coil and the distal end of the proximal electrical insulation covering being flush with the distal end of the proximal coil; and a distal glue joint having a distal end and an opposite proximal end abutting in direct physical contact with both the distal end of the proximal coil and the distal end of the proximal electrical insulation covering; wherein the outer surface of the core wire has an exposed section representing a detachment zone that is located in the axial direction distally of the distal end of the glue joint.
Claim 7 is objected, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20040002733 A1 Teoh, Clifford discloses an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising a proximal coil, a distal coil, and a detachment zone.
US 20040034378 A1 Monstadt, Hermann et al. discloses an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising a core wire, a proximal coil, a distal coil, and a detachment zone.
US 20060135986 A1 Wallace; Michael P. et al. discloses an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising a core wire, a proximal coil covered by an insulation sleeve, a distal coil, and a detachment zone.
US 20120209310 A1 CHEN; Hancun et al. discloses an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising a core wire, a proximal coil, a distal coil, and a detachment zone.
US 5891128 A Gia; Son et al. discloses an electrolytically detachable intravascular delivery system comprising a core wire, a proximal coil, a distal coil, and a detachment zone.
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771