DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 21, 31, 33, 34 and 40 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Kazmi does not disclose at least a UE that “transmit[s] a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE,” as recited in independent claim 1, [Remarks, pages 12-13].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Kazmi discloses transmit a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmit a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfying a threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)].
Regarding transmitting a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE, Kazmi discloses in paragraphs 0099 and 0100
[0105] According to another example embodiment, a method in a network node is disclosed. …. In certain embodiments, the network node may obtain the UE's capability related to its ability to adapt SRS carrier-based switching to minimize, avoid, or reduce the impact of SRS switching on the UE measurement procedure. The network node determines that the UE is to adaptively perform SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources (R1). The network node uses a result of the adaptive SRS carrier based switching for one or more operational tasks.
[0106] According to another example embodiment, a method in a network node is disclosed. The network node determines that a UE is to perform one or more radio measurements using a first set of reference time resource (R1) on at least a first cell (cell1) operating on a first carrier frequency (F1). In certain embodiments, the network node obtains the UE's capability related to its ability to adapt SRS carrier-based switching to minimize, avoid, or reduce the impact of SRS switching on the UE measurement procedure. The network node configures the UE to adaptively perform SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources (R1). The network node uses a result of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching for one or more operational tasks.
[0156] Step 2: Adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources (R1).
In certain embodiments, the UE may signal to another node (e.g., a network node or another UE) the first node's capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements. The capability may be signaled in any suitable manner. For example, in certain embodiments the capability may be signaled upon a request from another node or upon a triggering condition or event or receiving a certain message from another node.
[0251] Step 3: Using a result of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching for one or more operational tasks. In certain embodiments, the network node may obtain the UE's capability related to its ability to adapt SRS carrier based switching to minimize, avoid, or reduce the impact of SRS switching on the UE measurement procedure. The network node may obtain the UE's capability based on, for example, receiving a message from the UE or another node, monitoring UE behavior, etc.
[0257] UE's capability to adapt SRS carrier based switching to avoid or minimize the interruption on resources used for doing measurements; [0258] Type of measurement performed by the UE while the UE performs SRS switching;
[0262] In this step, the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching for one or more operational tasks. Examples of adaptation include, but are not limited to: [0263] Adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE, … [0265] Adapting scheduling of signals in the uplink and/or in the downlink, … [0267] Adapting SRS configuration e.g. periodicity and/or bandwidth of the SRS …
[0325] FIG. 8 is a flow diagram of a method in a network node, in accordance with certain embodiments. The method begins at step 804, where the network node determines that a UE is to perform one or more radio measurements using a first set of reference time resources (R1) on at least a first cell (cell1) operating on a first carrier frequency (F1). In certain embodiments, the network node may obtain the UE's capability related to its ability to adapt SRS carrier-based switching to minimize, avoid, or reduce the impact of SRS switching on the UE measurement procedure.
In other words, Kazmi discloses transmitting the UE's capability related to its ability to adapt SRS carrier based switching for adapting SRS configuration e.g. periodicity and/or bandwidth of the SRS.
Therefore, given that Kazmi discloses wherein the UE signals to the network node related to UEs ability for adapting SRS carrier based switching to avoid or minimize the interruption on resources used for doing measurements (e.g., adapting SRS configuration e.g. periodicity and/or bandwidth of the SRS), then Kazmi clearly discloses transmitting a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE.
Regarding the rejection of claims 21, 31, and 40, claims 21, 31, and 40 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 21, 31, and 40, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-10, 22-30, and 32-39, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazmi et al., (hereinafter Kazmi), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0260487.
As per claim 1, Kazmi discloses a user equipment (UE) [Abstract, fig. 3, 9, paragraphs 0067, 0112, 0328, a user equipment (wireless device 110 may also be referred to as UE)], comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE [fig. 9, paragraphs 0328-0330, one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (processor 920 executes instructions to provide some or all of the functionality described above as being provided by wireless device 110, and memory 930 stores the instructions executed by processor 920)] to:
receive control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0010, 0011, 0013, 0022, 0063, 0064, 0120, 0131, 0143, 0292, receive control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications (a CC (aggregated carrier), PCC or SCC is configured at the UE by the network node using higher layer signaling; a UE may be capable of aggregating more than one unlicensed carriers; the CA combinations can be Time Division Duplex, TDD-TDD and/or Frequency Division Duplex, FDD-TDD)];
monitor one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE [paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0120, 0168, 0285, monitor one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE (the UE may perform the measurements on the cells on the primary component carrier (PCC) as well as on the cells on one or more secondary component carriers (SCCs))];
transmit a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmit a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
communicate, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions according to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0013, 0104-0107, 0156, 0180, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, 0267, communicate, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions according to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message (the UE is to adaptively perform SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2); the SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on cell2 belonging to F2 may be performed by the UE based on one or more of the following mechanisms: autonomously, based on the assistance data from another node (e.g., from a network node or from another UE))].
As per claim 2, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to monitor the one or more performance metrics, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor the one or more performance metrics in accordance with a monitoring periodicity that is based at least in part on a coherence time associated with the UE [paragraphs 0068, 0160-0166, 0180, 0232, 0233, monitor the one or more performance metrics in accordance with a monitoring periodicity that is based at least in part on a coherence time associated with the UE (timer in the first node indicating that the SRS carrier based switching needs to be performed (e.g., for periodic or scheduled measurements); performing the measurement may be based on one or more of the following mechanism: periodicity of signals to be measured)].
As per claim 3, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0155-0156, 0217-0220, detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)]; and
communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to the configured periodicity based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0217-0220, communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to the configured periodicity based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)].
As per claim 4, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0155-0156, 0217-0220, detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized))];
transmit a second UE assistance information message indicating a second request to update the periodicity of the SRS transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmit a second UE assistance information message indicating a second request to update the periodicity of the SRS transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to a second periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the second UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0217-0220, communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to a second periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the second UE assistance information message (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)].
As per claim 5, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 4,
wherein the second periodicity is the same as the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0131, 0160-0166, 0177, 0267, wherein the second periodicity is the same as the configured periodicity (UE may further determine a second set of time resources (R2) used for doing another measurement on another cell (e.g., cell3) on F1. Examples of R2 are the same as described above for R1; Adapting SRS configuration e.g. periodicity and/or bandwidth of the SRS)].
As per claim 6, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, in response to transmitting the UE assistance information message, a control message indicating the periodicity [paragraphs 0015, 0161-0166, 0196-0202, 0262-0268, receive, in response to transmitting the UE assistance information message, a control message indicating the periodicity (UE may adapt any one or more of the SRS carrier based switching configuration parameters; the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching; adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE)]; and
update the configured periodicity to the periodicity based at least in part on receiving the control message [paragraphs 0015, 0161-0166, 0196-0202, 0262-0268, update the configured periodicity to the periodicity based at least in part on receiving the control message (UE may adapt any one or more of the SRS carrier based switching configuration parameters; the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching; adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE)].
As per claim 7, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more performance metrics comprise at least one of an uplink buffer size at the UE, a rate at which the uplink buffer size at the UE increases, a block error rate associated with uplink communications at the UE, a path loss associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a downlink channel estimation obtained by the UE, a rank associated with downlink communications at the UE, a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof [paragraphs 0051, 0126, 0270, 0271, the one or more performance metrics comprise at least one of a downlink channel estimation obtained by the UE, a rank associated with downlink communications at the UE, a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof (measurements include, but are not limited to: Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), received interference power (RIP), block error rate (BLER); UE shall estimate the downlink radio link quality and compare it to the thresholds for the purpose of monitoring downlink radio link quality)], and
the threshold value comprises at least one of a threshold uplink buffer size, a threshold rate at which the uplink buffer size at the UE increases, a threshold block error rate associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a threshold path loss value associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a threshold downlink channel estimation value, a threshold rank value associated with the UE, a threshold signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof [paragraphs 0051, 0126, 0270, 0271, the threshold value comprises at least one of a threshold downlink channel estimation value, a threshold rank value associated with the UE, a threshold signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof (measurements include, but are not limited to: Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), received interference power (RIP), block error rate (BLER); UE shall estimate the downlink radio link quality and compare it to the thresholds for the purpose of monitoring downlink radio link quality)].
As per claim 8, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 1,
wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises an indication of the periodicity [paragraphs 0146, 0155, 0156, 0231-0234, 0260, wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises an indication of the periodicity (a configuration sent to the UE (e.g., request for adapting the SRS based carrier switching while performing the measurement))].
As per claim 9, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 1,
wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises a request to decrease the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0161, 0162, 0212-0220, 0257-0260, 0357, wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises a request to decrease the configured periodicity (a configuration sent to the UE (e.g., request for adapting the SRS based carrier switching while performing the measurement); measurement period (T1) over which the measurement is performed belonging to M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2; Periodicity of signals to be measured: measurement sample periodicity)].
As per claim 10, Kazmi discloses the UE of claim 1,
wherein the periodicity is less than the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0103, 0104, 0155, 0212-0220, 0257, wherein the periodicity is less than the configured periodicity (measurement period (T1) over which the measurement is performed belonging to M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2))].
As per claim 21, Kazmi discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) [Abstract, fig. 3, 9, paragraphs 0067, 0112, 0328, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (a method in a user equipment; wireless device 110 may also be referred to as UE)], comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0010, 0011, 0013, 0022, 0063, 0064, 0120, 0131, 0143, 0292, receiving control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications (a CC (aggregated carrier), PCC or SCC is configured at the UE by the network node using higher layer signaling; a UE may be capable of aggregating more than one unlicensed carriers; the CA combinations can be Time Division Duplex, TDD-TDD and/or Frequency Division Duplex, FDD-TDD)];
monitoring one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE [paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0120, 0168, 0285, monitoring one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE (the UE may perform the measurements on the cells on the primary component carrier (PCC) as well as on the cells on one or more secondary component carriers (SCCs))];
transmitting a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmitting a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
communicating, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions according to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0013, 0104-0107, 0156, 0180, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, 0267, communicating, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions accord to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message (the UE is to adaptively perform SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2); the SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on cell2 belonging to F2 may be performed by the UE based on one or more of the following mechanisms: autonomously, based on the assistance data from another node (e.g., from a network node or from another UE))].
As per claim 22, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 21, wherein monitoring the one or more performance metrics comprises:
monitoring the one or more performance metrics in accordance with a monitoring periodicity that is based at least in part on a coherence time associated with the UE [paragraphs 0068, 0160-0166, 0180, 0232, 0233, monitoring the one or more performance metrics in accordance with a monitoring periodicity that is based at least in part on a coherence time associated with the UE (timer in the first node indicating that the SRS carrier based switching needs to be performed (e.g., for periodic or scheduled measurements); performing the measurement may be based on one or more of the following mechanism: periodicity of signals to be measured)].
As per claim 23, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 22, further comprising:
detecting, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0155-0156, 0217-0220, detecting, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)]; and
communicating, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to the configured periodicity based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0217-0220, communicating, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions accord to the configured periodicity based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)].
As per claim 24, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 22, further comprising:
detecting, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0155-0156, 0217-0220, detecting, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized))];
transmitting a second UE assistance information message indicating a second request to update the periodicity of the SRS transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmitting a second UE assistance information message indicating a second request to update the periodicity of the SRS transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
communicating, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to a second periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the second UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0217-0220, communicating, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions accord to a second periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the second UE assistance information message (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)].
As per claim 25, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 24,
wherein the second periodicity is the same as the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0131, 0160-0166, 0177, 0267, wherein the second periodicity is the same as the configured periodicity (UE may further determine a second set of time resources (R2) used for doing another measurement on another cell (e.g., cell3) on F1. Examples of R2 are the same as described above for R1; Adapting SRS configuration e.g. periodicity and/or bandwidth of the SRS)].
As per claim 26, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising:
receiving, in response to transmitting the UE assistance information message, a control message indicating the periodicity [paragraphs 0015, 0161-0166, 0196-0202, 0262-0268, receiving, in response to transmitting the UE assistance information message, a control message indicating the periodicity (UE may adapt any one or more of the SRS carrier based switching configuration parameters; the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching; adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE)]; and
updating the configured periodicity to the periodicity based at least in part on receiving the control message [paragraphs 0015, 0161-0166, 0196-0202, 0262-0268, updating the configured periodicity to the periodicity based at least in part on receiving the control message (UE may adapt any one or more of the SRS carrier based switching configuration parameters; the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching; adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE)].
As per claim 27, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 21, wherein:
the one or more performance metrics comprise at least one of an uplink buffer size at the UE, a rate at which the uplink buffer size at the UE increases, a block error rate associated with uplink communications at the UE, a path loss associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a downlink channel estimation obtained by the UE, a rank associated with downlink communications at the UE, a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof [paragraphs 0051, 0126, 0270, 0271, the one or more performance metrics comprise at least one of a downlink channel estimation obtained by the UE, a rank associated with downlink communications at the UE, a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof (measurements include, but are not limited to: Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), received interference power (RIP), block error rate (BLER); UE shall estimate the downlink radio link quality and compare it to the thresholds for the purpose of monitoring downlink radio link quality)], and
the threshold value comprises at least one of a threshold uplink buffer size, a threshold rate at which the uplink buffer size at the UE increases, a threshold block error rate associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a threshold path loss value associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a threshold downlink channel estimation value, a threshold rank value associated with the UE, a threshold signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof [paragraphs 0051, 0126, 0270, 0271, the threshold value comprises at least one of a threshold downlink channel estimation value, a threshold rank value associated with the UE, a threshold signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof (measurements include, but are not limited to: Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), received interference power (RIP), block error rate (BLER); UE shall estimate the downlink radio link quality and compare it to the thresholds for the purpose of monitoring downlink radio link quality)].
As per claim 28, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises an indication of the periodicity [paragraphs 0146, 0155, 0156, 0231-0234, 0260, wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises an indication of the periodicity (a configuration sent to the UE (e.g., request for adapting the SRS based carrier switching while performing the measurement))].
As per claim 29, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises a request to decrease the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0161, 0162, 0212-0220, 0257-0260, 0357, wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises a request to decrease the configured periodicity (a configuration sent to the UE (e.g., request for adapting the SRS based carrier switching while performing the measurement); measurement period (T1) over which the measurement is performed belonging to M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2; Periodicity of signals to be measured: measurement sample periodicity)].
As per claim 30, Kazmi discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the periodicity is less than the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0103, 0104, 0155, 0212-0220, 0257, wherein the periodicity is less than the configured periodicity (measurement period (T1) over which the measurement is performed belonging to M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2))].
As per claim 31, Kazmi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors [fig. 9, paragraphs 0328-0330, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors (processor 920 executes instructions to provide some or all of the functionality described above as being provided by wireless device 110, and memory 930 stores the instructions executed by processor 920)], cause a user equipment (UE) to:
receive control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0010, 0011, 0013, 0022, 0063, 0064, 0120, 0131, 0143, 0292, receive control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications (a CC (aggregated carrier), PCC or SCC is configured at the UE by the network node using higher layer signaling; a UE may be capable of aggregating more than one unlicensed carriers; the CA combinations can be Time Division Duplex, TDD-TDD and/or Frequency Division Duplex, FDD-TDD)];
monitor one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE [paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0120, 0168, 0285, monitor one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE (the UE may perform the measurements on the cells on the primary component carrier (PCC) as well as on the cells on one or more secondary component carriers (SCCs))];
transmit a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmit a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
communicate, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions according to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0013, 0104-0107, 0156, 0180, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, 0267, communicate, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions according to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message (the UE is to adaptively perform SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2); the SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on cell2 belonging to F2 may be performed by the UE based on one or more of the following mechanisms: autonomously, based on the assistance data from another node (e.g., from a network node or from another UE))].
As per claim 32, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein, to monitor the one or more performance metrics, the code further comprises instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to:
monitor the one or more performance metrics in accordance with a monitoring periodicity that is based at least in part on a coherence time associated with the UE [paragraphs 0068, 0160-0166, 0180, 0232, 0233, monitor the one or more performance metrics in accordance with a monitoring periodicity that is based at least in part on a coherence time associated with the UE (timer in the first node indicating that the SRS carrier based switching needs to be performed (e.g., for periodic or scheduled measurements); performing the measurement may be based on one or more of the following mechanism: periodicity of signals to be measured)].
As per claim 33, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 32, wherein the code further comprises instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to:
detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0155-0156, 0217-0220, detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)]; and
communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to the configured periodicity based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0217-0220, communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to the configured periodicity based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)].
As per claim 34, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 32, wherein the code further comprises instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to:
detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0155-0156, 0217-0220, detect, after updating the periodicity and based at least in part on the monitoring, that at least one performance metric of the one or more performance metrics fails to satisfy the threshold value (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized))];
transmit a second UE assistance information message indicating a second request to update the periodicity of the SRS transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, transmit a second UE assistance information message indicating a second request to update the periodicity of the SRS transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on the at least one performance metric failing to satisfy the threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to a second periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the second UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0142, 0217-0220, communicate, via the secondary carrier, a second one or more SRS transmissions according to a second periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the second UE assistance information message (a UE adapts an SRS carrier-based switching configuration in order to minimize or avoid interruption in subframes containing critical signals; M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2 (i.e., T2>T1); Performing the measurement so that the impact of the SRS carrier based switching is reduced, minimized)].
As per claim 35, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 34,
wherein the second periodicity is the same as the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0131, 0160-0166, 0177, 0267, wherein the second periodicity is the same as the configured periodicity (UE may further determine a second set of time resources (R2) used for doing another measurement on another cell (e.g., cell3) on F1. Examples of R2 are the same as described above for R1; Adapting SRS configuration e.g. periodicity and/or bandwidth of the SRS)].
As per claim 36, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the code further comprises instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to:
receive, in response to transmitting the UE assistance information message, a control message indicating the periodicity [paragraphs 0015, 0161-0166, 0196-0202, 0262-0268, receive, in response to transmitting the UE assistance information message, a control message indicating the periodicity (UE may adapt any one or more of the SRS carrier based switching configuration parameters; the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching; adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE)]; and
update the configured periodicity to the periodicity based at least in part on receiving the control message [paragraphs 0015, 0161-0166, 0196-0202, 0262-0268, update the configured periodicity to the periodicity based at least in part on receiving the control message (UE may adapt any one or more of the SRS carrier based switching configuration parameters; the network node uses one or more results of the adaptive SRS carrier-based switching; adapting the measurement configuration and transmitting the adapted measurement configuration to the UE)].
As per claim 37, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein:
the one or more performance metrics comprise at least one of an uplink buffer size at the UE a rate at which the uplink buffer size at the UE increases, a block error rate associated with uplink communications at the UE, a path loss associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a downlink channel estimation obtained by the UE, a rank associated with downlink communications at the UE, a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof, and
the threshold value comprises at least one of a threshold uplink buffer size, a threshold rate at which the uplink buffer size at the UE increases, a threshold block error rate associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a threshold path loss value associated with the uplink communications at the UE, a threshold downlink channel estimation value, a threshold rank value associated with the UE, a threshold signal-to-noise ratio associated with the UE, or a combination thereof.
As per claim 38, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31,
wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises an indication of the periodicity [paragraphs 0146, 0155, 0156, 0231-0234, 0260, wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises an indication of the periodicity (a configuration sent to the UE (e.g., request for adapting the SRS based carrier switching while performing the measurement))].
As per claim 39, Kazmi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31,
wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises a request to decrease the configured periodicity [paragraphs 0161, 0162, 0212-0220, 0257-0260, 0357, wherein the request to modify the configured periodicity comprises a request to decrease the configured periodicity (a configuration sent to the UE (e.g., request for adapting the SRS based carrier switching while performing the measurement); measurement period (T1) over which the measurement is performed belonging to M1 is shorter than the measurement period (T2) belonging to M2; Periodicity of signals to be measured: measurement sample periodicity)].
As per claim 40, Kazmi discloses a user equipment (UE) [Abstract, fig. 3, 9, paragraphs 0067, 0112, 0328, a user equipment (wireless device 110 may also be referred to as UE)],, comprising:
means for receiving control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0010, 0011, 0013, 0022, 0063, 0064, 0120, 0131, 0143, 0292, means for receiving control signaling indicating a carrier aggregation configuration for a set of component carriers, the set of component carriers including at least a primary carrier configured for frequency domain duplexed communications and a secondary carrier configured for time domain duplexed communications (a CC (aggregated carrier), PCC or SCC is configured at the UE by the network node using higher layer signaling; a UE may be capable of aggregating more than one unlicensed carriers; the CA combinations can be Time Division Duplex, TDD-TDD and/or Frequency Division Duplex, FDD-TDD)];
means for monitoring one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE [paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0120, 0168, 0285, means for monitoring one or more performance metrics associated with communications at the UE (the UE may perform the measurements on the cells on the primary component carrier (PCC) as well as on the cells on one or more secondary component carriers (SCCs))];
means for transmitting a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value [paragraphs 0104-0107, 0156, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, means for transmitting a UE assistance information message indicating a request to modify a configured periodicity of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE via the secondary carrier based at least in part on detecting that a performance metric of the one or more performance metrics satisfies a threshold value (capability related to the UE's ability to adapt SRS switching in order to reduce, minimize or avoid interruption on critical signals used for performing measurements; adaptively performing SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2) based on the determined first set of reference time resources)]; and
means for communicating, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions according to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message [paragraphs 0013, 0104-0107, 0156, 0180, 0208-0220, 0235-0238, 0267, means for communicating, via the secondary carrier, one or more SRS transmissions accord to a periodicity that is updated based at least in part on transmitting the UE assistance information message (the UE is to adaptively perform SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on a second cell (cell2) operating on a second carrier frequency (F2); the SRS carrier-based switching for transmitting SRS on cell2 belonging to F2 may be performed by the UE based on one or more of the following mechanisms: autonomously, based on the assistance data from another node (e.g., from a network node or from another UE))].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeda et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0165908 discloses notifying a network of the SRS switching operation (capability information) matching capability of the user terminal.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469