DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/08/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claim and specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1-9 remain pending in this application. They are treated as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20100016998 A.
Regarding claim 1, KR’ 998 discloses, a heavy-duty probe card (1) transfer and loading device (60), comprising:
a main body (61) that moves along a set travel route (It can be seen in Fig. 1);
a loading arm assembly (80) comprising an up-down unit (82) coupled to the main body (61) and configured to perform a lifting and lowering operation (See attached annotated Fig), a first arm drive unit rotatably coupled to the up-down unit (See attached annotated Fig), and a second arm drive unit rotatably coupled to the other end of the first arm drive unit (See attached annotated Fig); and
a gripper unit rotatably coupled to the second arm drive part (See attached annotated Fig) to grip a heavy-duty probe card (1) and place the same on the main body (it can be seen in Fig. 16-20),
wherein the main body includes a loading top plate configured to support the heavy-duty probe card (See attached annotated Fig), the loading top plate including at least one mounting member (See attached annotated Fig) having a mounting jaw (See attached annotated Fig) to fix the heavy-duty probe card (1) to prevent position deviation due to vibration and/or impact during autonomous driving (KR ‘998 is discloses all the required structure of the claim fix the heavy-duty probe card (1) to prevent position deviation due to vibration and/or impact during autonomous driving, See MPEP section 2111.04 and 2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20100016998 A in view of US20210347060 A1 (Byl et al.), and further in view of US20200118864 A1 (Zhang et al.).
Regarding claim 2, KR’ 998 discloses all the limitations of the claim 1. It explicitly fails to disclose the main body comprises: a transfer body including a transfer means for moving along the travel route; a control main body including a driving control unit for controlling driving of the probe card transfer and loading device, and a battery built therein, wherein the loading arm assembly is mounted to the control main body; a loading top plate coupled to an upper portion of the control main body and supporting the probe card so that the probe card can be seated in position; a mounting sensor configured on the loading top plate and sensing whether or not the probe card is seated and transmitting the sensed result to a drive control unit; and a charging unit formed on the control main body unit and configured to allow electrical connection of the battery and the docking device.
US ‘060 teaches wherein the main body (see attached annotated Fig.3, element 16) comprises: a transfer body (see attached annotated Fig.3, element 10) including a transfer means for moving along the travel route (paragraph [0051] line 32-34);
a control main body (see attached annotated Fig.3, element 16) including a driving control unit (see attached annotated Fig.3, element 11) for controlling driving of the probe card transfer and loading device (paragraph [0056]),
and a battery built (Fig.4 element 801) therein, wherein the loading arm assembly is mounted to the control main body (Fig.3);
and a charging unit formed on the control main body unit and configured to allow electrical connection of the battery and the docking device (Fig. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify a main body of KR ‘998 by incorporating a transfer body including a transfer means for moving along the travel route; a control main body including a driving control unit for controlling driving of the probe card transfer and loading device and a battery built therein, wherein the loading arm assembly is mounted to the control main body in view of US ‘060 in order to achieve the automatic transfer of the probe card transfer device.
Combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 do not explicitly teach a loading top plate coupled to an upper portion of the control main body and supporting the probe card so that the probe card can be seated in position; a mounting sensor configured on the loading top plate and sensing whether or not the probe card is seated and transmitting the sensed result to a drive control unit.
However, US ‘864 teaches a loading top plate (Fig. 4, element 20) coupled to an upper portion of the control main body (Fig. 4) and supporting the probe card so that the probe card can be seated in position (Fig.4 element 11, paragraph [0065]);
a mounting sensor configured on the loading top plate and sensing whether or not the probe card is seated and transmitting the sensed result to a drive control unit (paragraph [0070], lines 10-15);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 by incorporating a loading top plate coupled to an upper portion of the control main body and supporting the probe card so that the probe card can be seated in position; and a mounting sensor configured on the loading top plate and sensing whether or not the probe card is seated and transmitting the sensed result to a drive control unit further in view of US ‘864 to prevent the unsecure mounting of probe card.
Regarding claim 3, KR ‘998 does not disclose the control main body comprises: a safety laser sensor that recognizes an obstacle and allows the driving to be performed while avoiding the recognized obstacle; and a load arm motion search unit that senses whether the load arm assembly is operated or not so that an operating state of the load arm assembly can be determined.
US ‘060 teaches the control main body (see attached annotated Fig.3, element 16) comprises: a safety laser sensor that recognizes an obstacle and allows the driving to be performed while avoiding the recognized obstacle (See Fig. 22, Paragraph [0109] line 1-6, Paragraph [0055] line 61-64, it also discloses the different sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify KR ‘998 by incorporating the control main body comprises: a safety laser sensor that recognizes an obstacle and allows the driving to be performed while avoiding the recognized obstacle in view of US ‘060 in order to allow smart logistics and provide unsupervised end-to end logistics solution (See ¶0109 lines 11-13).
Combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 fails to teach a load arm motion search unit that senses whether the load arm assembly is operated or not so that an operating state of the load arm assembly can be determined.
However, US ‘864 teaches a load arm motion search unit that senses whether the load arm assembly is operated or not so that an operating state of the load arm assembly can be determined (paragraph [0061] line 44-49, The gripper may be provided with a sensor for controlling the rotation (motion sensor) of the support platform by detecting (senses) whether an occupation status of the first loading station 405 (load arm assembly is operated or not so that an operating state of the load arm assembly can be determined) as shown in FIG. 5 as well as an occupation status of each loading location of a target shelf.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify the load arm of combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 by incorporating motion search unit that senses whether the load arm assembly is operated or not so that an operating state of the load arm assembly can be determined further in view of US ‘864 to detect the operation is performed or not.
Regrading 4, KR ‘998 dose not disclose the control main body further comprises: a drive control unit that analyzes information transmitted from the safety laser sensor and the load arm motion search unit to generate route information about positions for withdrawing and replacing the probe card, and a transfer position for transferring the withdrawn probe card; and an operating module that transmits a control signal for controlling the driving of the probe card transfer and loading device to the drive control unit.
US ‘060 teaches wherein the control main body (see attached annotated Fig.3, element 16) further comprises:
a drive control unit that analyzes information transmitted from the safety laser sensor and the load arm motion search unit to generate route information about positions for withdrawing and replacing the probe card, and a transfer position for transferring the withdrawn probe card; (paragraph [0055] explains different types of sensors and [0056] discloses how the information from sensor is getting transmitted from one sensor to the other sensors to perceive an environmental map and robot can generate the route from environmental map);
and an operating module that transmits a control signal for controlling the driving of the probe card transfer and loading device to the drive control unit (Paragraph [0056], lines 28-40 discloses the how the control system 70, is transmits the signals and performing the desire task of driving the robot from one place to another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify KR ‘998 by incorporating the control main body further comprises: a drive control unit that analyzes information transmitted from the safety laser sensor and the load arm motion search unit to generate route information about positions for withdrawing and replacing the probe card, and a transfer position for transferring the withdrawn probe card; and an operating module that transmits a control signal for controlling the driving of the probe card transfer and loading device to the drive control unit in view of US ‘060 to allow the robotic assistance perceive an obstacle with actually having to come in contact with it (¶055, lines 63-1) and to receive the instruction from the control system in response to movement/action of the robotic assistance(see ¶0056 lines 32-38).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20100016998 A in view of US20210347060 A1 (Byl et al.), and further in view of US 20070020081A1 (Gilchrist et al.).
KR ‘998 discloses all the limitations of the claim 1. It explicitly fails to discloses the up-down unit comprises: a lifting motor driven under the control of a drive control unit; a ball screw lifted and lowered when the lifting motor is driven; a lifting guide panel lifted and lowered when the ball screw is operated and including a lifting shaft configured at an upper central portion and connected to the first arm drive unit; and an LM guide member that guides the lifting and lowering of the lifting guide panel when the ball screw is operated.
US ‘060 teaches the up-down unit (Fig 19 and 20) comprises: a lifting motor (Fig. 19, element 41) driven under the control of a drive control unit (Paragraph [0056] lines 27-30);
and including a lifting shaft (Fig. 19, element 411) configured at an upper central portion (Fig 19; discloses that element 41 attached to 411 which is in central portion) and connected to the first arm drive unit (Fig. 3 discloses that is connected to the first arm drive unit)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify KR ‘998 by incorporating a lifting motor driven under the control of a drive control unit; and including a lifting shaft configured at an upper central portion and connected to the first arm drive unit in view of US ‘060 in order to achieve compact structural design of the probe card transfer device.
US ‘060 shows some type of rotary to linear actuator (Fig. 19), but combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 explicitly fail to disclose a ball screw lifted and lowered when the lifting motor is driven; a lifting guide panel lifted and lowered when the ball screw is operated and LM guide member that guides the lifting and lowering of the lifting guide panel when the ball screw is operated.
However, US ‘081 teaches a ball screw lifted and lowered when the lifting motor is driven (Fig 5B, paragraph [0038]); a lifting guide panel lifted and lowered when the ball screw is operated and LM guide member (Fig. 5A-5D, elements 54, 52, 26R, 26P) that guides the lifting and lowering of the lifting guide panel when the ball screw is operated (Paragraph [0038] and [0039] discloses how the ball screw mechanism is operating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify elevation mechanism of combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 by incorporating the ball screw lifted and lowered when the lifting motor is driven a lifting guide panel lifted and lowered when the ball screw is operated and LM guide member that guides the lifting and lowering of the lifting guide panel when the ball screw is operated further in view of US ‘081 to improve the load balance, increase the speed of lifting and lowering operation and improve the stability when carrying heavy load.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20100016998 A in view of US 20070020081A1 (Gilchrist et al.).
Regarding claim 6, KR ‘998 discloses all the limitations of the claim 1. It fails to disclose wherein the first arm drive unit comprises: a first arm drive housing configured with a communication and control unit; a first arm rotating means configured in front and rear portions of the first arm drive housing and connected to the second arm drive unit and the up-down unit, respectively; a rear-side connection drive rotatably connected to the first arm rotating unit and rotating the first arm drive housing; and a front-side connection drive rotatably connected to the first arm rotating unit and rotating the second arm drive unit.
However, US ‘081 teaches the first arm drive unit (see attached annotated Fig.4B-1) comprises: a first arm drive housing (see attached annotated Fig.4B-1) configured with a communication and control unit (paragraph [0041]); a first arm rotating means configured in front and rear portions of the first arm drive housing and connected to the second arm drive unit and the up-down unit (see attached annotated Fig.4B-1), respectively; a rear-side connection drive rotatably connected to the first arm rotating unit and rotating the first arm drive housing (see attached annotated Fig.4B-1); and a front-side connection drive rotatably connected to the first arm rotating unit and rotating the second arm drive unit (see attached annotated Fig.4B-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify arm drive unit of KR ‘998 by incorporating a first arm drive housing configured with a communication and control unit; a first arm rotating means configured in front and rear portions of the first arm drive housing and connected to the second arm drive unit and the up-down unit, respectively; a rear-side connection drive rotatably connected to the first arm rotating unit and rotating the first arm drive housing; and a front-side connection drive rotatably connected to the first arm rotating unit and rotating the second arm drive unit in view of US ‘081 to improve the orientation and allow better maneuverability in complex space.
Regarding claim 7, KR’ 998 fails to disclose the second arm drive unit comprises: a second arm drive housing; an arm connection member formed at a rear portion of the second arm drive housing and connected to the rear-side connection drive; a gripper connection drive formed on a front portion of the second arm drive housing and to which the gripper unit is rotatably coupled; and a second arm rotating means for rotating the gripper connection drive.
However, US ‘081 teaches the second arm drive unit (see attached annotated Fig.4B-2) comprises: a second arm drive housing (see attached annotated Fig.4B-2); an arm connection member formed at a rear portion of the second arm drive housing and connected to the rear-side connection drive (see attached annotated Fig.4B-2); a gripper connection drive formed on a front portion of the second arm drive housing and to which the gripper unit is rotatably coupled (see attached annotated Fig.4B-2); and a second arm rotating means for rotating the gripper connection drive (see attached annotated Fig.4B-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify second arm drive unit of KR ‘998 by incorporating a second arm drive housing; an arm connection member formed at a rear portion of the second arm drive housing and connected to the rear-side connection drive; a gripper connection drive formed on a front portion of the second arm drive housing and to which the gripper unit is rotatably coupled; and a second arm rotating means for rotating the gripper connection drive in view of US ‘620 to allow better maneuverability and limit the movement of gripper for better reach to object in complex space.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20100016998 A in view of US20210347060 A1 (Byl et al.).
Regrading 8, KR’ 998 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, It also discloses
the gripper unit (See above attached annotated Fig.) comprises: a gripper that grips the heavy-duty probe card (1); a mounting frame rotatably coupled to the second arm drive unit (See above attached annotated Fig.);
It fails to disclose a vision camera coupled to the mounting frame and determining a gripping position of the gripper.
However, US ‘060 teaches disclose a vision camera coupled to the mounting frame and determining a gripping position of the gripper (Fig. 18A and 18B, element 61, paragraph [0098], lines 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify KR ‘998 by incorporating a vision camera coupled to the mounting frame and determining a gripping position of the gripper in view of US ‘060 to perceive environment and guide the gripper unit to conduct object manipulation task (¶0098, lines 19-21).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20100016998 A in view of US20210347060 A1 (Byl et al.), and further in view of US patent 7528620 B2 (Mochizuki et al.).
Regarding claim 9, combination of KR’ 998 and US ‘060 fails to teach the mounting frame comprises: a position guide frame coupled to a front side end and mounted with a position control member that adjusts the position of the gripper; and a gripper tip slidably coupled to a lower end of the position guide frame and to which the gripper is coupled.
However, US ‘620 teaches the mounting frame (Fig. 3, element 563, installation table) comprises: a position guide frame (Fig. 3 and 4, element 562, toggle device) coupled to a front side end and mounted with a position control member that adjusts the position of the gripper (Fig. 3 and 4, element 562, toggle device); and a gripper tip slidably (Fig. 3 and 4, element 551) coupled to a lower end of the position guide frame (Fig. 3 and 4, element 562, toggle device) and to which the gripper is coupled (Fig. 3 and 4, element 51A) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s claims to modify the gripper of combination of KR ‘998 and US ‘060 by incorporating the mounting frame comprises: a position guide frame coupled to a front side end and mounted with a position control member that adjusts the position of the gripper; and a gripper tip slidably coupled to a lower end of the position guide frame further in view of US ‘620 to provide more rigidity and support for quick gripping and releasing mechanism.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed on 03/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102 and claims 2-9 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of KR 20100016998 A.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652