DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
The objection to the title of the invention is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections to claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochs US Publication 2017/0239957 (hereafter “Ochs”).
Referring to claims 1 and 9, Ochs discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to:
acquire information regarding a characteristic derived from an RGB signal of a test image on a recording medium, wherein the test image is formed under a predetermined image forming condition by an image forming section, and a characteristic derived from an RGB signal of a paper white region of the recording medium, in which the test image is not formed (paragraph 53, In 310, the system can measure the patches using the FWA spectrophotometer, as described in further detail below with regard to FIG. 5, to determine spectral data. The spectral data can then be used to determine various measurements, such as color, density, showthrough, and contrast, etc) (paragraph 41, FWA 140 can measure spectral data (as described in further detail in U.S. Pat. No. 6,975,949) to determine, for example, color brightness, color gamut volumes, color contrast, paper whiteness, etc.),
wherein the RGB signal of the test image and the RGB signal of the paper white region being generated by an image reading device that includes a light source emitting light to the recording medium and a light receiving unit performing photoelectric conversion of light reflected from the recording medium (paragraph 47, As depicted in FIG. 2, FWA spectrophotometer system 10 includes both LED arrays 14, 16 of an illumination system (which may be mounted on a single printed circuit board) oppositely oriented at about 45 degrees to a printed test sheet 12 they are both illuminating);
correct a target value based on a difference between a paper white characteristic and a reference characteristic to obtain a corrected target value, the target value corresponding to a characteristic in a case where the test image is formed on a predetermined standard recording medium under the image forming condition, the paper white characteristic being a characteristic of the paper white region of the recording medium derived from the RGB signal of the paper white region, and the reference characteristic being a characteristic of the standard recording medium on which an image is not formed (paragraph 52, In some embodiments, the test sheet can be printed using a testing paper profile, a current paper profile (i.e., a paper profile currently active on the system), or a selected paper profile (e.g., by an operator));
output a comparison result obtained by comparing the characteristic derived from the RGB signal of the test image formed on the recording medium to the corrected target value in lieu of the target value (paragraph 54, In 315, the system can compare the measurements to expected measurements from other paper types associated with existing paper profiles), the comparison result being output as an evaluation of the test image, the evaluation indicating a good evaluation when a difference between the RGB signal of the test image and the corrected target value is within a predetermined range (paragraph 56, In 320, the system can determine whether the determined measurements are similar to expected measurements for a paper type associated with an existing paper profile. If, in 320, the measurements are similar to expected measurements associated with an existing paper profile (e.g., one or more measurements are within a predetermined range and/or threshold of the expected measurements), the process can proceed to 355 and the system can use the existing paper profile for print jobs that use the paper type associated with the test sheet. For example, the system can print documents using the parameters associated with the existing paper profile for any remaining paper that is in the paper feeder, the system can notify an operator of the existing paper profile (e.g., by displaying a name of the paper profile), and/or the system can automatically use the paper profile when paper of the tested type is fed into the system) and a bad evaluation when the difference exceeds the predetermined range, the evaluation being a diagnosis result of the image forming section (paragraph 57-58, If, in 320, the determined measurements are not similar to expected measurements for existing paper profiles (e.g., one or more measurements are not within a predetermined range and/or threshold of the expected measurements), the process can proceed to 325.In 325, the system can perform print linearization on a second test sheet of the tested type to verify that there are no calibration errors or any other type of error associated with the paper, printheads of the system, etc. If an error is determined, in some embodiments, an adjustment can be made to the calibration parameters, an additional test sheet can be printed, and print linearization can be performed again).
Referring to claim 2, Ochs discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire information regarding characteristics of a plurality of test images with different image forming conditions (paragraph 51, In 305, the system can print a test sheet with color patches. The color patches can be CMYK and/or RGB patches. CMYK and RGB patches can allow for patches with limited colors, but that provide a simulation of what kind of colors can be achieved using the test sheet and current parameters);
correct the target value for each of the image forming conditions, based on the difference between the paper white characteristic of the recording medium and the reference characteristic of the standard recording medium (paragraph 52, In some embodiments, the test sheet can be printed using a testing paper profile, a current paper profile (i.e., a paper profile currently active on the system), or a selected paper profile (e.g., by an operator)); and
output the comparison result obtained by comparing the characteristic of each of the test images to the corrected target value for each of the image forming conditions (paragraph 56, In 320, the system can determine whether the determined measurements are similar to expected measurements for a paper type associated with an existing paper profile).
Referring to claim 3, Ochs discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate a difference between characteristics of images formed on the recording medium and the standard recording medium, based on the difference between the paper white characteristic of the recording medium and the reference characteristic of the standard recording medium, for each of the image forming conditions (paragraph 79, Checking the L*a*b* of paper whiteness for a printed test sheet can also be used to determine which known paper profiles to use or if a new profile is needed); and
correct the target value for each of the image forming conditions, based on the difference between characteristics of the images for each of the image forming conditions (paragraph 52, In some embodiments, the test sheet can be printed using a testing paper profile, a current paper profile (i.e., a paper profile currently active on the system), or a selected paper profile (e.g., by an operator)).
Referring to claim 5, Ochs discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire information regarding an RGB signal of the test image formed with an image density predetermined as the image forming condition, as the information regarding the characteristic derived from the RGB signal of the test image (paragraph 53, In 310, the system can measure the patches using the FWA spectrophotometer, as described in further detail below with regard to FIG. 5, to determine spectral data. The spectral data can then be used to determine various measurements, such as color, density, showthrough, and contrast, etc) (paragraph 41, FWA 140 can measure spectral data (as described in further detail in U.S. Pat. No. 6,975,949) to determine, for example, color brightness, color gamut volumes, color contrast, paper whiteness, etc.); and
correct the target value based on a difference between an RGB signal in the paper white region of the recording medium, which is the paper white characteristic, and an RGB signal of the standard recording medium, which is the reference characteristic ((paragraph 52, In some embodiments, the test sheet can be printed using a testing paper profile, a current paper profile (i.e., a paper profile currently active on the system), or a selected paper profile (e.g., by an operator)).
Referring to claim 6, Ochs discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
output information regarding the difference between the paper white characteristic of the recording medium and the reference characteristic of the standard recording medium, together with the comparison result (paragraph 56, In 320, the system can determine whether the determined measurements are similar to expected measurements for a paper type associated with an existing paper profile).
Referring to claim 7, Ochs discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
output information regarding correction of the target value (paragraph 52, In some embodiments, the test sheet can be printed using a testing paper profile, a current paper profile (i.e., a paper profile currently active on the system), or a selected paper profile (e.g., by an operator)).
Referring to claim 8, Ochs discloses an information processing system comprising:
an image forming apparatus (paragraph 32, As depicted in FIG. 1, inkjet printer system 100 can include inkjet printheads 120) that
forms a test image on a recording medium under a predetermined image forming condition (paragraph 51, In 305, the system can print a test sheet with color patches. The color patches can be CMYK and/or RGB patches. CMYK and RGB patches can allow for patches with limited colors, but that provide a simulation of what kind of colors can be achieved using the test sheet and current parameters), and
outputs reading information obtained by reading the test image and a paper white region in which the test image is not formed on the recording medium (paragraph 53, In 310, the system can measure the patches using the FWA spectrophotometer, as described in further detail below with regard to FIG. 5, to determine spectral data. The spectral data can then be used to determine various measurements, such as color, density, showthrough, and contrast, etc) (paragraph 41, FWA 140 can measure spectral data (as described in further detail in U.S. Pat. No. 6,975,949) to determine, for example, color brightness, color gamut volumes, color contrast, paper whiteness, etc); and
an information processing apparatus (paragraph 70, the process described with regard to FIG. 5 can represent a process performed using a processor and an FWA spectrophotometer) that
acquires information regarding a characteristic derived from an RGB signal of a test image on a recording medium, wherein the test image is formed under a predetermined image forming condition by an image forming section, and a characteristic derived from an RGB signal of a paper white region of the recording medium, in which the test image is not formed (paragraph 53, In 310, the system can measure the patches using the FWA spectrophotometer, as described in further detail below with regard to FIG. 5, to determine spectral data. The spectral data can then be used to determine various measurements, such as color, density, showthrough, and contrast, etc) (paragraph 41, FWA 140 can measure spectral data (as described in further detail in U.S. Pat. No. 6,975,949) to determine, for example, color brightness, color gamut volumes, color contrast, paper whiteness, etc.),
the RGB signal of the test image and the RGB signal of the paper white region being generated by an image reading device that includes a light source emitting light to the recording medium and a light receiving unit performing photoelectric conversion of light reflected from the recording medium (paragraph 47, As depicted in FIG. 2, FWA spectrophotometer system 10 includes both LED arrays 14, 16 of an illumination system (which may be mounted on a single printed circuit board) oppositely oriented at about 45 degrees to a printed test sheet 12 they are both illuminating);
corrects a target value based on a difference between a paper white characteristic and a reference characteristic to obtain a corrected target value, the target value corresponding to a characteristic in a case where the test image is formed on a predetermined standard recording medium under the image forming condition, the paper white characteristic being a characteristic of the paper white region of the recording medium derived from the RGB signal of the paper white region, and the reference characteristic being a characteristic of the standard recording medium on which an image is not formed (paragraph 52, In some embodiments, the test sheet can be printed using a testing paper profile, a current paper profile (i.e., a paper profile currently active on the system), or a selected paper profile (e.g., by an operator));
outputs a comparison result obtained by comparing the characteristic derived from the RGB signal of the test image formed on the recording medium to the corrected target value in lieu of the target value (paragraph 54, In 315, the system can compare the measurements to expected measurements from other paper types associated with existing paper profiles), the comparison result being output as an evaluation of the test image, the evaluation indicating a good evaluation when a difference between the RGB signal of the test image and the corrected target value is within a predetermined range (paragraph 56, In 320, the system can determine whether the determined measurements are similar to expected measurements for a paper type associated with an existing paper profile. If, in 320, the measurements are similar to expected measurements associated with an existing paper profile (e.g., one or more measurements are within a predetermined range and/or threshold of the expected measurements), the process can proceed to 355 and the system can use the existing paper profile for print jobs that use the paper type associated with the test sheet. For example, the system can print documents using the parameters associated with the existing paper profile for any remaining paper that is in the paper feeder, the system can notify an operator of the existing paper profile (e.g., by displaying a name of the paper profile), and/or the system can automatically use the paper profile when paper of the tested type is fed into the system) and a bad evaluation when the difference exceeds the predetermined range, the evaluation being a diagnosis result of the image forming section (paragraph 57-58, If, in 320, the determined measurements are not similar to expected measurements for existing paper profiles (e.g., one or more measurements are not within a predetermined range and/or threshold of the expected measurements), the process can proceed to 325.In 325, the system can perform print linearization on a second test sheet of the tested type to verify that there are no calibration errors or any other type of error associated with the paper, printheads of the system, etc. If an error is determined, in some embodiments, an adjustment can be made to the calibration parameters, an additional test sheet can be printed, and print linearization can be performed again).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochs US Publication 2017/0239957 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Abe et al. US Publication 2013/0135686 (hereafter “Abe”).
Referring to claim 4, Ochs discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate the difference between the characteristic of the images for each of the image forming conditions, based on a provisional image forming condition in which the difference between the characteristics of the images formed on the recording medium and the standard recording medium indicating a relationship between the image forming condition and the difference between the characteristics of the images formed on the recording medium and the standard recording medium (paragraph 77, Graph 600 can depict color gamut volumes for three different paper types. In some embodiments, the color gamut volumes can represent known color gamut volumes associated with the three different paper types, and can be used when comparing spectral data measured using an FWA with known color gamut volumes to determine if an existing paper profile can be used for a tested paper sheet type (e.g., 315 and 320 in FIG. 3)).
While Ochs discloses calculating the difference based on a provisional image forming condition in which the difference between the characteristics of the images formed on the recording medium and the standard recording medium, Arai does not expressly disclose doing so using a graph in which the difference is 0.
Abe discloses calculating the difference in the characteristic for each of the image forming conditions, based on a provisional image forming condition in which the difference between the characteristics of the images formed on the recording medium and the standard recording medium is 0 in a graph indicating a relationship between the image forming condition and the difference between the characteristics of the images formed on the recording medium and the standard recording medium (paragraph 53, The vertical axis in FIG. 9B represents the density value obtained from the sensor luminance output value through (Expression 1). A density characteristic 905 of the real machine sensor is represented as a curved line composed of a solid line obtained while data of the measurement results on the patch images of the above-described real machine sensor is set as A0 to A10, and parts therebetween are interpolated).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a chart to demonstrate the difference between the current and standard recording mediums. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the manner of conveying the color difference between the current print medium and the standard recording medium. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abe with Ochs to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Uratani et al. US Publication 2013/0222859 (hereafter “Uratani”)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682