DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 07/06/26 is acknowledged. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the, “wherein each tool body side is associated with two of the plurality of fingers (Claim 3)”, and the “a cavity configured for use with a second tool (Claim 6)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 3, replace “comprise” with “include”. Legalese style language is not permitted within the abstract.
Line 3, replace “comprising” with “including”.
Line 5, replace “comprise” with “include”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0025], Line 2, replace “disclosure;” with “disclosure.” This is to be consistent with paragraphs [0027]+.
Paragraph [0026], Line 2, replace “disclosure;” with “disclosure.”
Paragraph [0050], Line 2, replace “3A” with “3”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Lines 3-4, replace “at least one tool body projection;” with “at least one of the tool body projections;”
Claim 1, Line 6, before “tool body projections” add “of the”
Claim 2, Line 1, before “tool body projections” add “of the”
Claim 4, Line 1, before “finger”, replace “a” with “the respective”
Claim 4, Line 2, before “tool body projections” add “of the”
Claim 5, Line 1, before “fingers” add “of the”
Claim 6, Line 1, before “fingers” add “of the”
Claim 13, Line 1, after “comprises four” add “of the”
Claim 15, Line 2, before “engage” add “to”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein each tool body side is associated with two of the plurality of fingers.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “two fingers” would actually operate on one of the body sides as no clear explanation has been provided throughout the disclosure of the application.
Claim 6 recites “a cavity configured for use with a second tool to rotate the finger.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “cavity” and/or the “second tool” would actually operate to rotate the finger as no clear explanation has been provided throughout the disclosure of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 1,356,515 (Burgson).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 12-16, Burgson teaches: Claim 1 - a tool comprising: a tool body (10) comprising a plurality of tool body sides and a plurality of tool body projections (11), wherein each of the plurality of tool body sides includes at least one tool body projection (11); a plurality of fingers (14), wherein each of the plurality of fingers (14) is pivotally coupled to one or more tool body projections (11) via one or more pivots; and wherein each of the plurality of fingers (14) is configured to be moveable via the pivot between a first orientation and a second orientation, the first orientation is associated with a first stop (15) on the associated finger (14); and the second orientation is associated with a second stop (15) on the associated finger (14), (Figures 1-3); Claim 2 - wherein each tool body side includes two tool body projections (11) associated with one of the plurality of fingers (14), (Figures 1-3); Claim 4 - wherein each pivot extends through a length of a finger (14) to connect one of the plurality of fingers (14) and at least two tool body projections (11), (Figures 1-3); Claim 5 - wherein one or more fingers (14) include an exterior protrusion (21) configured to rotate the finger (14), (Figures 1-3); Claim 6 - wherein one or more fingers (14) includes a cavity (where bolt (17) passes through) configured for use with a second tool (18) to rotate the finger (14), (Figures 1-3); Claim 12 - wherein the tool body (10) is hollow, (Figures 1-3); Claim 13 – wherein the plurality of tool body sides comprises four tool body sides, (Figures 1-3); Claim 14 - wherein the plurality of fingers (14) comprises one finger (14) associated with each of the tool body sides, (Figures 1-3); Claim 15 - wherein each of the fingers (14) comprises a first finger extension configured engage a first surface to allow for the finger (14) to rotate, (Figures 1-3); Claim 16 - wherein each of the fingers (14) is further configured to be moveable via the pivot associated with the finger (14) in response to the associated finger extension engaging the first surface, (Figures 1-3).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 3,651,957 (Ball et al.).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 12, Ball et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a tool comprising: a tool body (90) comprising a plurality of tool body sides and a plurality of tool body projections (98), wherein each of the plurality of tool body sides includes at least one tool body projection (98); a plurality of fingers (118), wherein each of the plurality of fingers (118) is pivotally coupled to one or more tool body projections (98) via one or more pivots (120); and wherein each of the plurality of fingers (118) is configured to be moveable via the pivot between a first orientation and a second orientation, the first orientation is associated with a first stop (AA) on the associated finger (118); and the second orientation is associated with a second stop (BB) on the associated finger (118), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 6 Below); Claim 2 - wherein each tool body side includes two tool body projections (98) associated with one of the plurality of fingers (118), (Figures 1-6); Claim 3 - wherein each tool body side is associated with two of the plurality of fingers (118), (Figures 1-6); Claim 5 - wherein one or more fingers (118) include an exterior protrusion (122) configured to rotate the finger (118), (Figures 1-6); Claim 7 - wherein the first stop (AA) and the second stop (BB) of each finger (118) are configured for use with one of a plurality of plungers (108 and 110), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 6 Below); Claim 12 - wherein the tool body (90) is hollow, (Figures 1-6).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 7,618,074 (Zimmer).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, Zimmer teaches: Claim 1 - a tool comprising: a tool body (6) comprising a plurality of tool body sides and a plurality of tool body projections (AA), wherein each of the plurality of tool body sides includes at least one tool body projection (AA); a plurality of fingers (13), wherein each of the plurality of fingers (13) is pivotally coupled to one or more tool body projections (AA) via one or more pivots; and wherein each of the plurality of fingers (13) is configured to be moveable via the pivot between a first orientation and a second orientation, the first orientation is associated with a first stop (BB) on the associated finger (13); and the second orientation is associated with a second stop (CC) on the associated finger (13), (Figures 1-7 and Annotated Figure 4 Below); Claim 8 - wherein each of the first stop (BB) and the second stop (CC) of each finger (13) comprise an aperture (BB and CC), (Figures 1-7 and Annotated Figure 4 Below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,618,074 (Zimmer) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,784,774 (Kajiwara).
Regarding Claim 11, Zimmer teaches the tool as described above, but does not teach: wherein the tool body includes an interior cavity comprised of a plurality of corners, and wherein each of the corners is configured to have a corner chamber configured to accommodate a semiconductor device corner (Claim 11). However, Kajiwara teaches: Claim 11 – a tool having a tool body (11), wherein the tool body (11) includes an interior cavity comprised of a plurality of corners, and wherein each of the corners is configured to have a corner chamber (11a) configured to accommodate a semiconductor device corner, (Figures 1-7b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tool of Zimmer to have wherein the tool body includes an interior cavity comprised of a plurality of corners, and wherein each of the corners is configured to have a corner chamber configured to accommodate a semiconductor device corner (Claim 11) as taught by Kajiwara for the purposes of more efficiently and securely holding a semiconductor device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642