DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 were pending.
Claims 1, 5-8 and 10 are amended.
Claims 1-10 are examined herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejections of claims 1 and 5-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of claims 1 and 5-7 amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a center value of pixel values of two or more pixels included in each column”. A center value of a data set is usually the average, the median, or the mode. The average is already recited in claim 10. It is unclear what is meant by the center value: the median or the mode?
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3, and 8 recite “processor is configured to perform”, claims 4-7 and 9 recite “processor is configured to present”, and claim 10 recites “processor is configured to derive”.
The specification fails to disclose any specific processor elements designed to perform the recited function. Therefore, these limitations are interpreted according to common understanding that processors perform their functions according to instructions loaded into their memory.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the processor is configured to perform the main determination, and perform the abnormality determination to confirm whether there is a possibility of false positive in a case where a determination result of the main determination is positive.” As presented in 112(b) rejection above, the purpose of this amended limitation is unclear because there is always a possibility of a false positive outcome in a diagnostic assay regardless of the presence of an abnormal result.
The claim will be interpreted as “The immunochromatographic assay apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to perform the main determination, and perform the abnormality determination.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Borich et al. (IDS; U.S. Pat. No US7267799).
Regarding claim 1, Borich teaches an immunochromatographic assay apparatus comprising:
a loading part (216) in which a cartridge (206) including a carrier (306) having a spotting region on which a sample is spotted (“cartridge adapter has a sample application area”, col. 9, lines 45-46) and an assay region in which a color development state changes depending on whether the sample is positive or negative (“a visible area for control and test detection”, col. 9, line 46; test and control regions in Fig. 8B), is attachably and detachably loaded - “cartridges designed with different physical parameters to be used with the system and hence be inserted and processed”, col. 9, lines 59-61;
an imaging unit (imaging optics and CCD or CMOS imaging array, Fig. 6; col. 6, lines 35-38) that images the assay region (Fig. 8B); and
a processor (106, 618) configured to perform a main determination, which is a determination of whether the sample is positive or negative, based on an assay region image of the assay region imaged by the imaging unit (718 in Fig 7B),
wherein the assay region is a line-shaped region extending along the column direction - the test region and the control region in Fig 8A are line-shaped,
the assay region image is an image in which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix form - CCD or CMOS imaging array of Fig. 6 inherently capture digital images in a matrix form because of the array design,
the processor is configured to perform an abnormality determination for determining presence or absence of an abnormality in the assay region image, using, as a determination index, a variation coefficient based on the representative values of all the rows - “the pixel row and column mean channel intensities may be calculated for individual regions, as shown at step 918. The mean channel intensities are an average value or a center value of pixel values of claim 1. As shown at step 920, the variance in row and column pixel intensities may be calculated for individual regions. These variances may be compared to threshold allowance values, as shown in step 922. If the control variance is not greater than a threshold, the test may be invalidated and halted” col. 9: lines 21-27,
determine a processing content related to the main determination based on the absence of the abnormality - “after performing the comparison to the threshold level a result is determined. The test results and other information may then be reported to a user, as shown at step 928”, col. 9, lines 32-35. The processing content related to the main determination based on the absence of the abnormality is a decision step (924) on Fig. 9, which determines whether to halt testing in the presence of the abnormality or continue with steps (926) and (928) in the absence of the abnormality.
Regarding claim 2, Borich teaches wherein the processing content includes any one of whether or not to perform the main determination or a method of presenting a determination result of the main determination.
Specifically, the reference teaches a method presented in Fig. 9 flow diagram, wherein the method performs the following functional steps: “Acquire raw image pixel data” (902), “Calculate mean channel intensities” (918), “Calculate variance” (920), “If not > threshold, invalidate and halt testing” (924), and “Report value” (928). The step “Report value” is presenting a determination result of the main determination; and the step “If not > threshold, invalidate and halt testing” decides whether or not to perform the main determination.
Regarding claim 3, Borich teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform the main determination to present the main determination result in a case where the abnormality is absent - Fig. 9, flow path steps 902 -> 920 -> 928, or not to perform the main determination in a case where the abnormality is present - Fig. 9, flow path branch with steps 902 -> 920 -> 924.
Regarding claim 4, Borich teaches wherein the processor is configured to present that the main determination is not performed in a case where the main determination is not performed.
Specifically, Borich teaches that “Data may be transferred in its raw format for secondary analysis along with the pre-processed data. The data may include, in addition to the test results and image, information identifying the user, time of test, location, error status, and/or environmental conditions at time of test” (col. 8, lines 15-19). The transfer of the error status is equivalent to presenting that the main determination is not performed in a case where the main determination is not performed.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 8, Borich fails to specifically teach the limitations of these claims: (a) wherein the processor is configured to present that the assay region may have an abnormality in a case where the abnormality is present, (b) wherein the processor is configured to present that the assay region may have an abnormality in a case where the abnormality is present, and (c) wherein the processor is configured to perform the main determination, and perform the abnormality determination (see claim 8 interpretation above for details).
However, these limitations are drawn to intended use of the system and therefore the prior art only needs to be capable of performing the recited intended use. So long as the imager and computer processor of Borich are capable of taking images and executing appropriate commands, the system of Borich reads on the claims.
Regarding claim 7, Borich teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
present a determination result of the main determination in a case where the abnormality is absent - normal run without errors; Fig. 9, flow path steps 902 -> 920 -> 928, and
present the determination result of the main determination with reservation indicating that the assay region image has an abnormality; and
not present the determination result of the main determination, in a case where both the abnormality is present and in a case where the determination result of the main determination is positive - flow path steps 902 -> 920 -> 924 (Fig. 9) allow making both decisions (b) and/or (c). Regarding presenting or not presenting the result of the main determination, the computer processor of Borich is capable of executing appropriate display commands; therefore, the system of Borich reads on the claim.
As such, the processor of Borich is configured to present all three listed above assay outcomes.
Regarding claim 9, Borich teaches wherein the processor is configured to present a determination result of the main determination in a case where the abnormality is absent. Specifically, in the absence of any abnormality/error the processor of Borich is configured to present the result of the main determination in step “Report value” (928) (Fig. 9, flow path steps 902 -> 920 -> 928).
Regarding claim 10, Borich teaches immunochromatographic assay apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the imaging unit is an image sensor that images an observation region including the assay region to output an observation image including the observation region, the observation image is an image in which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix form, and the processor is configured to analyze the image.
Specifically, the imaging unit is an image sensor - the reader module (104) (Fig. 1) with imaging optics (608) and CCD or CMOS imaging array (Fig. 6; col. 6, lines 35-38) that images the observation region – “image shown in FIG. 8A is acquired by the CMOS or CCD detector” (col. 8, lines 62-63) including the assay region – the test and control zones/regions (Fig. 8B).
The observation image is an image in which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix form – the CCD or CMOS imaging array of Fig. 6 inherently capture digital images in a 2D matrix form because this is how modern imaging arrays capture digital images.
Finally, the processor is configured to extract the assay region image corresponding to the assay region from the observation image - Borich teaches that “test and control regions can then be isolated and analyzed” (col. 8, lines 65-66) from the image shown in FIG. 8A (acquired by the CMOS or CCD detector).
Borich does not specifically teach deriving a profile in the row direction based on the representative values of the respective columns in the observation image, wherein each representative value is an average value or a center value of pixel values of two or more pixels included in each column, and extracting the assay region image corresponding to the assay region from the observation image based on the derived profile. However, this limitation is drawn to intended use of the system and therefore the prior art only needs to be capable of performing the recited intended use. So long as the computer processor of Borich are capable of extracting the assay region image corresponding to the assay region from the observation image, the system of Borich reads on the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that “The cited passage in Borich, however, describes calculating a variance of a "control region" to determine if a test itself is valid (e.g., step 922). While Borich calculates a variance of a "test region" (step 926), this is solely used to determine a test result (corresponding to the "main determination" of the present invention) and is not used to determine an abnormality/error in the test region. Borich fails to teach or suggest performing an abnormality determination on the assay region image itself” (pg. 7, last par. – pg. 8, par. 1).
The argument is not persuasive because Borich does not teach “calculating a variance of a "control region" to determine if a test itself is valid” as Applicant argues. Word “control” in step 922 means “control variance threshold”, but not a variance of a “control region”. Finally, these limitations are drawn to intended use of the system and therefore the prior art only needs to be capable of performing the recited intended use. So long as the imager and computer processor of Borich are capable of taking images and executing appropriate commands, the system of Borich reads on the claims.
Applicant argues “Amended claim 1 specifically requires determining the presence of a local abnormality (e.g., a stain causing a false positive) using a specific calculation method (e.g., calculating the difference between pixel values of a specific order). Borich merely teaches calculating the overall "variance" of a region. Borich entirely lacks a specific algorithm or even a suggestion to extract specific pixel values (e.g., maximum and minimum pixel values) to obtain their difference to prevent false positives caused by local stains in the assay region. At least for this reason, the currently-pending claims define over the asserted prior art” (pg. 8, par. 2).
The argument is not persuasive because Borich teaches a computer processor capable of performing image analysis, which is usually done by analyzing specific pixel values according to an algorithm. Therefore, “calculating the overall "variance" of a region” by Borich inherently includes analysis of specific pixel values.
Additionally, Applicant is arguing limitations which are not claimed. In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an algorithm for detecting and preventing false positives caused by local stains in the assay region) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER ALEXANDROVIC VOLKOV/Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/REBECCA M GIERE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677