DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on April 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 11, “the sensing” should read “the thermal event”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (US 2021/0284005 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses a battery system for an electrified vehicle ([0037] and Fig. 3, battery release system), the battery system comprising: a battery pack comprising a battery module assembly having at least a first battery module and a second battery module ([0037] and Fig. 3, battery pack 1 with two battery modules); a fastening assembly including a fastening set associated with each battery module of the battery module assembly ([0045] and Fig. 4, mounting structure 30 comprising two straps 44); a decoupler configured to initiate decoupling of a selected battery module from the battery pack ([0040]-[0042] and Fig. 1, actuator 55 of locking device 50 releases battery pack 1); a sensor that senses a thermal event at a faulty battery module of the battery module assembly and communicates a thermal event signal in response to the sensing ([0040]-[0042] and Fig. 1, fire detection sensor 10 that outputs a signal according to measured temperature); and a controller that receives the thermal event signal and responsive to the thermal event signal communicates a decoupling signal to the decoupler to decouple the faulty battery module from the battery pack ([0040]-[0042] and Fig. 1, controller 20 receives signal from fire detection sensor 10 and outputs control signal to actuator 55 to release battery pack 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lejosne et al. (US 2020/0083513 A1, hereinafter “Lejosne”) in view of Yun (US 2021/0284005 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lejosne discloses a battery system for an electrified vehicle ([0051] and Fig. 46), the battery system comprising: a battery pack comprising a battery module assembly having at least a first battery module and a second battery module ([0498] and Fig. 46, battery pack P1 comprising branches M1-M3 having accumulators A1-Ax); a fastening assembly including a fastening set associated with each battery module of the battery module assembly ([0500] and Figs. 7A, 7B, 10, 44, and 45, connection assembly 100 and magnetic connection/disconnection device 10); and a decoupler configured to initiate decoupling of a selected battery module from the battery pack ([0065], [0328], [0334], [0377], and Fig. 19 and 24, BMS 30 electrically powers coil 21 or heating resistor 22 to mechanically disconnect busbar B1 and conductive part 17).
Lejosne further discloses that the BMS detects a thermal failure of the accumulator ([0065] and [0457]-[0458]) and controls the decoupling of the accumulator ([0377]), but does not specifically disclose at least one sensor that senses a thermal event at a faulty battery module of the battery module assembly and communicates a thermal event signal in response to the sensing; and a controller that receives the thermal event signal and responsive to the thermal event signal communicates a decoupling signal to the decoupler to decouple the faulty battery module from the battery pack.
Yun discloses a sensor that senses a thermal event at a faulty battery module of the battery module assembly and communicates a thermal event signal in response to the sensing ([0040]-[0042] and Fig. 1, fire detection sensor 10 that outputs a signal according to measured temperature); and a controller that receives the thermal event signal and responsive to the thermal event signal communicates a decoupling signal to the decoupler to decouple the faulty battery module from the battery pack ([0040]-[0042] and Fig. 1, controller 20 receives signal from fire detection sensor 10 and outputs control signal to actuator 55 to release battery pack 1).
Lejosne and Yun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high voltage battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the BMS of Lejosne with the teachings of Yun according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a BMS including a sensor and controller, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so (see MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lejosne discloses the limitations of claim 1. Lejosne further discloses wherein the fastening set associated with each battery module comprises at least one nut and threaded fastener ([0313] and Figs. 7A and 7B, magnetic connection/disconnection devices 10 comprise a ferromagnetic part 15 that is screwed into the busbar B1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lejosne discloses the limitations of claim 2. Lejosne further discloses wherein the decoupler is configured to send an electric pulse to the fastening set causing the fastening set to fail ([0324]-[0329], [0377], and Fig. 10, coil 21 in devices 10 is powered by a BMS, causing mechanical disconnection between busbar B1 and conductive part 17).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lejosne discloses the limitations of claim 3. Lejosne further discloses wherein the fastening set comprises a first plurality of fasteners on a first side of the battery module ([0498]-[0500] and Figs. 44 and 45, magnetic connection/disconnection devices 10 on busbar B1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lejosne discloses the limitations of claim 4. Lejosne further discloses wherein the fastening set further comprises a second plurality of fasteners on a second side of the battery module ([0498]-[0500] and Figs. 44 and 45, magnetic connection/disconnection devices 10 on busbar B2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lejosne discloses the limitations of claim 1. Lejosne further discloses wherein the fastening set comprises an electromagnetic fastener and wherein the decoupler sends an electromagnetic signal that demagnetizes the fastening set ([0330]-[0334], [0377], and Fig. 11, permanent magnet 12 is demagnetized by a heating resistor 22 powered by a BMS).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lejosne discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Lejosne further discloses wherein the sensors comprise a sensor associated with each battery module of the battery module assembly ([0502] and Figs. 19 and 45, each accumulator A1-Ax comprises its own BMS 30 that includes a sensor and a controller as taught by Yun).
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 17 July 2026