DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s first arguments:
Examiner’s responses: In this case, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Paragraph [0055] of Specification of the instant application recites “Within a venting dryer 50, where blowing air 148 is utilized through the airflow path 24, the turbine 140 can be incorporated to provide additional functionality. In the venting dryer 50, the turbine 140 can be utilized for creating a separate flow of accessory process air 40 that can be in the form of an accessory blowing air 148 or an accessory suction air 150 that can be utilized by the various accessory tools 14. In various aspects of the device, the compressor wheel 162 can be positioned at or near the accessory port 10 for allowing a user to connect the accessory tool 14 with the blowing air 148 or the suction air 150 at the compressor wheel 162.” (UNDERLINE emphasis added) Furthermore, paragraph [0059] of Specification of the instant application recites “The laundry appliance 12 can also be in the form of a recirculating dryer 54. In this condition, as exemplified in FIGS. 15-16 and 20-20B, the accessory port 10 receives the interface 76 for the accessory tool 14 and operates the baffle 70, via the baffle actuator 80, for redirecting the process air 22. Again, the baffle 70 can define the standard state 72, where the process air 22 moves through the typical airflow path 24. When the baffle 70 is engaged by the accessory tool 14, the baffle 70 within the accessory port 10 creates a positive airflow path 120 for providing positive airflow 42 in the form of blowing air 148 into the accessory tool 14 and also creates a negative airflow path 122 that generates the negative airflow 44 in the form of suction air 150 for bringing fresh air 90 into the airflow path 24 for the laundry appliance 12 via the accessory tool 14. The positive airflow path 120 and the negative airflow path 122 can be used in the accessory tools 14 for providing blowing air 148 as well as suction air 150 or vacuum pressure for accomplishing various air-related tasks within and around the laundry appliance 12.” (UNDERLINE emphasis added)
Moreover, Fig. 20A of the instant application shows a standard state 72 of the baffle 70. In the Fig. 20A, a velocity force of the process air 22 applies on the baffle 70 which result in closing the opening of the accessory port 10. Fig. 20B of the instant application shows an accessory state 74. In the Fig. 20B, a velocity force of the suction air 150 applies on the baffle 70 which result in rotating the baffle 70 at a pivot point. In order for allowing the baffle 70 to rotate at the pivot point, the baffle 70 inherently has a pivot shaft or pin at the pivot point which is very well-known in the art. So, the process air 22 and the suction air 150 selectively bias the baffle 70. However, the process air 22 and the suction air 150 are not mechanical components. Thus, the baffle 70 acts as a bias mechanism to bias itself with the support of the pivot pin. Therefore, an interpretation of the baffle 70 and the pivot pin together creating the biasing mechanism is proper. Thus, the interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is proper and maintained.
Applicant’s second arguments:
Examiner’s responses: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an accessory port attached to the cabinet; and an accessory tool that is selectively inserted into the accessory port to selectively define a standard state that directs the process air away from the accessory airflow path and an accessory state characterized by the accessory tool defining the accessory airflow path, wherein the accessory port is positioned within the cabinet in each of the standard state and the accessory state) were not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). However, in this case, Brame still reads on the new limitations of the amended independent claim 11. See the updated detail rejection of the independent claim 11 below. Thus, the references of Brame, Ghadiali and Harvey still read on the amended independent claim 11 and claims 12 and 14-16. The rejection of claim 13 is withdrawn based on the applicant’s arguments of the independent claim 1 which are persuasive.
Applicant’s third arguments:
Examiner’s responses: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-10 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s fourth arguments:
Examiner’s responses: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an accessory port attached to the cabinet and coupled with the recirculating airflow path; and wherein the accessory port is positioned within the cabinet in each of the standard state and the accessory state) were not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). However, in this case, Brame still reads on the new limitations of the amended independent claim 17. See the updated detail rejection of the independent claim 17 below. Thus, the references of Brame, Ghadiali and Harvey still read on the amended independent claim 17 and claims 18-19. The rejection of claim 20 is withdrawn based on the applicant’s arguments of the independent claim 1 which are persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation “biasing mechanism” in claim 6 which has been interpreted to mean or include a baffle 70 and a pivot pin of the baffle 70. (Figs. 20A and 20B of the Specification)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brame et al. (US 3,197,886; hereinafter Brame).
Regarding claim 11, Brame shows a laundry appliance (1, fig. 1) comprising:
a processing chamber (interior chamber of item 14, fig. 2) positioned within a cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2);
a blower (51, figs. 2, 6) that delivers process air through an airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6) and to an exhaust port (55, fig. 6), wherein the airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6) includes the processing chamber (interior chamber of item 14, fig. 2);
an accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) attached to the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) (as shown in figs. 1-5, item 61 is formed in item 22 which is attached to the item 2 and disposed inside the item 2) and coupled with the airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6), wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) selectively redirects the process air through an accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6) to define accessory process air; and
an accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) that is selectively inserted into the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) to selectively define a standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) that directs the process air away from the accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6) and an accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4) characterized by the accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) defining the accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6), wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) is positioned within the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) (as shown in figs. 1-5, item 61 is formed in item 22 which is attached to the item 2 and disposed inside the item 2) in each of the standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) and the accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brame as applied to claim 11 above, and in view of Ghadiali (US 3,750,304).
Regarding claim 12, Brame discloses wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) includes an internal baffle (64, figs. 3, 4, 6) that is operable between the standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) that directs the process air to an outside (via item 55, fig. 6) and the accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4) that redirects the process air to the accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6) to define the accessory process air.
Brame does not disclose an internal baffle that is operable the standard state that directs the process air to the processing chamber.
Ghadiali teaches an internal baffle (Ghadiali, 34, figs. 1, 2) that is operable the standard state (Ghadiali, as shown in fig. 2, col. 3, line 33 through col. 4, line 9) that directs (Ghadiali, via items 30, 32, 16, figs. 1, 2) the process air to the processing chamber (Ghadiali, interior chamber of item 14, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry appliance of Brame with the internal baffle that is operable the standard state that directs the process air to the processing chamber, as taught by Ghadiali, for mixing the high-temperature exhausted process air with the fresh air to become a hot or warm processing air mixture before being directed to the processing chamber which would result in reducing the power consumption of the heater. Thus, the power consumption cost is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brame as applied to claim 11 above, and in view of Harvey (US 3,357,109).
Regarding claim 14, Brame discloses wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) is positioned on a front-wall (22, figs. 1, 6) of the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) and the accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) is coupled with a housing (60a, figs. 2-6) of the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6).
Brame does not disclose the accessory port is positioned on a sidewall of the cabinet.
Harvey teaches an accessory port (Harvey, 60, figs. 1, 2, col. 2, lines 60-64) is positioned on a sidewall (Harvey, right sidewall of outer housing or cabinet of item 10, figs. 1, 2) of the cabinet (Harvey, outer housing or cabinet of item 10, figs. 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry appliance of Brame with the accessory port is positioned on a sidewall of the cabinet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Shifting the location of the accessory port does not modify the operation of the laundry appliance because the laundry appliance would still selectively supply or redirect the process air through the accessory port. Please note, Specification of the instant application does not disclose any criticality of the claim invention.
Regarding claim 15, Brame as modified discloses wherein the accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) is an integral accessory tool (as shown in fig. 1) that is operably coupled to the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) to define the standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) and the accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 16, Brame as modified discloses wherein the integral accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) includes at least one of a drying bar (12, 13, fig. 1), a drying wand, and an extendable hose.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brame et al. (US 3,197,886; hereinafter Brame) in view of Ghadiali (US 3,750,304).
Regarding claim 17, Brame discloses a laundry appliance (1, fig. 1) comprising:
a processing chamber (interior chamber of item 14, fig. 2) positioned within a cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2);
a blower (51, figs. 2, 6) that delivers process air through an airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6) that includes the processing chamber (interior chamber of item 14, fig. 2);
an accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) attached to the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) (as shown in figs. 1-5, item 61 is formed in item 22 which is attached to the item 2 and disposed inside the item 2) and coupled with the airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6), wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) selectively redirects the process air through an accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6) to define accessory process air; and
an accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) that is incorporated into the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) and is operable between a standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) that directs the process air to an outside (via item 55, fig. 6) and an accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4) that redirects the process air to the accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6) to define the accessory process air, wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) is positioned within the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) (as shown in figs. 1-5, item 61 is formed in item 22 which is attached to the item 2 and disposed inside the item 2) in each of the standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) and the accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4).
Brame does not disclose a blower that delivers process air through a recirculating airflow path that includes the processing chamber; and a standard state directs the process air to the processing chamber.
Ghadiali teaches a blower (Ghadiali, 25, fig. 1) that delivers process air through a recirculating airflow path (Ghadiali, recirculating airflow path flowing through items 32, 16, 14, 12, 22, 26, 30, fig. 1) that includes the processing chamber (Ghadiali, interior chamber of item 14, fig. 1); and a standard state (Ghadiali, as shown in fig. 2, col. 3, line 33 through col. 4, line 9) directs (Ghadiali, via items 30, 32, 16, figs. 1, 2) the process air to the processing chamber (Ghadiali, interior chamber of item 14, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry appliance of Brame with the blower that delivers process air through a recirculating airflow path that includes the processing chamber; and a standard state directs the process air to the processing chamber, as taught by Ghadiali, for mixing the high-temperature exhausted process air with the fresh air to become a hot or warm processing air mixture before being directed to the processing chamber which would result in reducing the power consumption of the heater. Thus, the power consumption cost is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 18, Brame as modified discloses wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) includes an internal baffle (64, figs. 3, 4, 6) that is operable between the standard state (standard state when item 64 closes or seals item 61, figs. 2, 5) and the accessory state (accessory state when item 64 pivots away or opens item 61, figs. 3, 4), and wherein the internal baffle (64, figs. 3, 4, 6) is operable via the accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brame and Ghadiali as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Harvey (US 3,357,109).
Regarding claim 19, Brame as modified discloses wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) is disposed within a front-wall (22, figs. 1, 6) of the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2).
Brame does not disclose the accessory port is positioned within a sidewall of the cabinet.
Harvey teaches an accessory port (Harvey, 60, figs. 1, 2, col. 2, lines 60-64) is positioned within a sidewall (Harvey, right sidewall of outer housing or cabinet of item 10, figs. 1, 2) of the cabinet (Harvey, outer housing or cabinet of item 10, figs. 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the laundry appliance of Brame with the accessory port is positioned on a sidewall of the cabinet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Shifting the location of the accessory port does not modify the operation of the laundry appliance because the laundry appliance would still selectively supply or redirect the process air through the accessory port. Please note, Specification of the instant application does not disclose any criticality of the claim invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed a laundry appliance comprising:
a processing chamber positioned within a cabinet;
a blower that delivers process air through an airflow path and through the processing chamber;
an accessory port attached to the cabinet and coupled with the airflow path, wherein the accessory port selectively redirects the process air through an accessory airflow path to define accessory process air, wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine; and
an accessory tool that selectively engages the accessory port to define the accessory airflow path.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Brame et al. (US 3,197,886) discloses “A laundry appliance (1, fig. 1) comprising: a processing chamber (interior chamber of item 14, fig. 2) positioned within a cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2); a blower (51, figs. 2, 6) that delivers process air through an airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6) and through the processing chamber (interior chamber of item 14, fig. 2); an accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) positioned on an exterior surface of the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) and coupled with the airflow path (airflow path from item 34 through items 35, 31, 30, 50, 55, figs. 2, 6), wherein the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) selectively redirects the process air through an accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6) to define accessory process air, ...; and an accessory tool (7, 8, 9, fig. 1) that selectively engages the accessory port (61, figs. 2, 6) to define the accessory airflow path (accessory airflow path from item 61 through items 7, 8, 9, figs. 1-6)”, citations added. Bae discloses an auxiliary airflow path (Bae, 250, fig. 9) includes a turbine (Bae, 240, fig. 9). Civanelle discloses “an accessory airflow path (Civanelle, accessory airflow path from item 18 through items 20, K and exit an air outlet of item A” when the item A” is selectively connected to item D, figs. 4, 5) includes a turbine (Civanelle, 18, fig. 5) …”, citations added. However, both Bae and Civanelle do not disclose that the turbine (Bae, 240, fig. 9) (Civanelle, 18, fig. 5) is rotationally operated or driven by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine. Thus, Brame in view of Bae or Civanelle does not disclose the limitations of “A laundry appliance comprising: … wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine; …”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 1-10 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “A laundry appliance comprising: … wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine; …” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 1-10.
Claims 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
As to claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry appliance of claim 11, wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine, wherein the turbine is positioned within one of the cabinet proximate the accessory port and within the accessory tool.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Brame discloses “The laundry appliance of claim 11”. Civanelle discloses “an accessory airflow path (Civanelle, accessory airflow path from item 18 through items 20, K and exit an air outlet of item A” when the item A” is selectively connected to item D, figs. 4, 5) includes a turbine (Civanelle, 18, fig. 5) …, wherein the turbine (Civanelle, 18, fig. 5) is positioned within one of the cabinet proximate the accessory port and within the accessory tool (Civanelle, A”, fig. 5)”, citations added. However, Civanelle does not disclose that the turbine 18 is rotationally operated or driven by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine. Thus, Brame in view of Civanelle does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 13 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 13.
As to claim 20, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry appliance of claim 17, wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Brame in view of Ghadiali discloses “The laundry appliance of claim 17”. Civanelle discloses “an accessory airflow path (Civanelle, accessory airflow path from item 18 through items 20, K and exit an air outlet of item A” when the item A” is selectively connected to item D, figs. 4, 5) includes a turbine (Civanelle, 18, fig. 5) …”, citations added. However, Civanelle does not disclose that the turbine 18 is rotationally operated or driven by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine. Thus, Brame in view of Ghadiali and Civanelle does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 20 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the accessory airflow path includes a turbine that is rotationally operated by the accessory process air to define a secondary airflow that is directed along a rotational axis of the turbine” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762