DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application
Examiners Comment
To improve clarity for the groupings listed in Claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 14, and 16-18, it would be beneficial to use the standard Markush grouping language of “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C." (MPEP 2173.05(h))
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“A retaining device that retains the plug in the first position, wherein the retaining device is configured to” in claims 1, 8, and 15.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are:
“the retaining device is configured to release the plug when an environmental parameter of the battery exceeds a threshold” in claims 1, 8, and 15, with the further structural limitations “the retaining device is one of: (i) an adhesive material; (ii) a shear device; (iii) a retractable pin; and (iv) a trap door” in claims 3, 10, and 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8-12, 14, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0163406).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 15, Moon teaches a drain assembly (vent) for a battery pack for an electric vehicle (abstract). The battery is contained within a battery housing (structural vessel, [0035] and fig. 3 ref. #114). The drain assembly has a first section within the housing and a second section outside of the housing ([0043], and fig. 5A, see below), and a fluid path through the drain assembly for flow of a fluid from the battery ([0041], and fig. 5A, see below).
The drain assembly also includes a plug disposed at a first position out of the fluid path ([0041], and fig. 5A ref. #142) and a retaining device that retains the plug in the first position, wherein the retaining device is configured to release the plug when an environmental parameter of the battery exceeds a threshold ([0042], and fig. 5A ref. #146). There is also a biasing device that biases the plug towards a second position in the fluid path ([0041], and fig. 5A and 5B, ref. #144).
Regarding Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17, Moon also teaches that the retaining device releases the plug when a temperature at the drain assembly is at or above a temperature threshold, and that the retaining device is a shear device ([0042]).
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18, Moon also teaches the biasing device is a spring within a chamber to a side of the fluid path ([0041]).
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 19, Moon also teaches the fluid path extends between an inlet within a housing of the battery and an outlet outside of the housing and the first position is in a chamber to one side of the inlet and the second position is in front of the inlet ([0041]-[0043], and fig. 5A and 5B, see below)
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Moon also teaches that the fluid can be a gas (air, [0038]).
Claims 1-5, 7, 8-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dallmer (German Patent Application Publication No. 102004007454). For prior art discussion see English translations for DE-102004007454-A1.
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, Dallmer teaches a drain assembly (drain pot, abstract, and fig. 1 ref. #49) in a housing (mortar, [0053]). The drain assembly includes a first section within the housing and a second section outside of the housing (fig. 1, see below), a fluid path for flow of a fluid (fig. 1, see below), a plug (disc-shaped part) disposed at a first position out of the fluid path ([0019], and fig. 1 ref. #52), a retaining device (attachment device) that retains the plug in the first position ([0014]), wherein the retaining device is configured to release the plug when an environmental parameter of the battery exceeds a threshold ([0015]), and a biasing device that biases the plug towards a second position in the fluid path (the plug falls into the fluid flow path and is held by biased to that position by the plug’s own mass) ([0019]).
The preambles “a drain assembly for a battery” and “a battery for a vehicle” is deemed to be a statement with regard to the intended use and is not further limiting in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. In article claims, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (MPEP § 2111.02). As Dallmer teaches all of the claimed limitations of the drain assembly, Dallmer is still considered to anticipate the claims.
Regarding Claims 2-3 and 9-10, Dallmer also teaches that the retaining device releases the plug when a temperature at the drain assembly is at or above a temperature threshold, and that the retaining device is an adhesive ([0014]-[0015]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, Dallmer also teaches the biasing device is the mass of the plug ([0041], as the plug is capable of preventing smoke from leaking through the drain it must be held onto the second position by its own mass).
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, Dallmer also teaches the fluid path extends between an inlet within a housing of the battery and an outlet outside of the housing and the first position is in a chamber to one side of the inlet and the second position is in front of the inlet ([0014], and figs. 1 and 2, see below).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Dallmer also teaches that the fluid can be an aqueous fluid (water, [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0163406) in view of Kusunoki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0072184).
Moon is relied upon as described above.
Moon is silent to the drain assembly further comprising a drain valve in the fluid path at the outlet.
Kusunoki teaches a battery (energy storage apparatus) that includes an outer housing with a passageway to allow for the passage of gas out of the housing (abstract). Kusunoki also teaches that there is a drain valve (pressure valve) in the fluid path at the outlet ([0085] and fig. 5 ref. #150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the drain valve of Kusunoki in the outlet of Moon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this inclusion as it functions as a one-way valve. Which allows for fluids to pass out of the outlet without allowing for undesired fluids to infiltrate the battery housing.
Conclusion
/MAL/
Myles Alan LovaszExaminer, Art Unit 1788
04/14/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788