CTNF 18/452,073 CTNF 82866 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Acknowledgement is made of application #18/452,073 filed on 08/18/2023 in which claims 1-20 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 has been considered and put on record. An initialed copy is attached herewith. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-4,11-12,15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Le et al., (Le) US 2015/0202983 A1(also cited by Applicants) (now USPAT 9,527,401 B2) . Regarding claims 1,11 and 15: Le at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1-9,15A-15B, 16-17,19 and 21: A system for managing an energy storage device in an electric vehicle (10)(see Figs. 1-2) , the system comprising: a battery pack (14) having an energy module ()30) adapted to generate a first current, and a power module (32) connected in parallel to the energy module (30)(see [0009]-[0012],[00456],[0062],[0066]) ; at least one DC-to-DC (direct current to direct current) converter (410A/410B)(410,412,414)(see [0167]-[0169]) adapted to receive the first current from the energy module (30) , and transmit a DC-DC (direct current-direct current) current to the power module (32)(see [0167]-[0168]) ; a controller (34) having a processor (37) and tangible, non-transitory memory (35) on which instructions are recorded for automated management of a set of parameters related to the battery pack (14) , subject to a plurality of constraints (see [0061],[0117]; see Fig. 3) ; wherein the power module (32) is adapted to deliver a second current (higher coulombic efficiency; see abstract,[0008]-[0010],[0012],[0055],[0066] ,[0069] and [0084]) , the energy module (30)(see [0099]) being adapted to selectively recharge the power module (32)(via the DC-DC converter and alternator 64 during regenerative breaking between time 3 and time 4; see [0086],[0094],[0101]) ; see abstract with a charging current after a predefined event of relatively high power demand (note- the switch 188B may be closed to enable the NMC battery 32 to charge; see [0117],[0122],[0127],[0132],[0144] and [0166]) ; and wherein the set of parameters includes the DC-DC current (as output by DC-DC converter 410,412,414) , the charging current (as output by energy module (30)) , a first state of charge defined by the energy module (30)(see [0067]-[0073]) , and a second state of charge defined by the power module (32)(see [0067]-[0073]) , operation of the electric vehicle (10) being controlled based in part on the set of parameters (see [0065]-[0067],[0069]-[0077] and Fig. 4) . Accordingly, claims 1,11 and 15 are clearly anticipated. Regarding claims 2 and 16, Le discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1 and 15 respectively. Le discloses, wherein the energy module (30) and the power module (32) have different chemistries (first battery 30 may have a high energy density(e.g. lead acid) while the battery chemistry selected for the second battery 32 may have a higher coulombic efficiency and/or a higher power charge acceptance rate (e.g., higher maximum charge current or charge voltage) to improve the capture, storage, and/or distribution efficiency of the battery system 14. For example, the NMC battery chemistry due to its higher maximum charging voltage; see [0065]-[0067] and [0069] and Fig. 4) . Regarding claims 3, 12 and 17, Le discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1,11 and 16 respectively. Le discloses further comprising: incorporating respective battery cells (36) composed of nickel, cobalt oxide, and manganese in the energy module (30)(see [0065],[0067]) ; and incorporating the respective battery cells composed of lithium, iron, and phosphate in the power module (32)(see [0072] and Fig. 4) . Regarding claim 4, Le discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 2/1. Le discloses, wherein: the electric vehicle (10) is adapted to undergo a first stage (196)(vehicle accelerates) and a second stage (vehicle cruises)(192)(see [0116]) , the first stage being associated with an initial acceleration mode and/or take-off mode of the vehicle, the second stage being associated with a driving mode and/or cruising mode of the vehicle (see [0116]) ; and the energy module (30) is adapted to recharge the power module during the second stage such that the energy module (30) is a sole power source for the electric vehicle during the second stage (note- the battery system voltage 190 decreases as the lead-acid battery supplies electrical power to the component of the electrical system 66 during key-off 192 (e.g., between time 0 and time 1), sharply drops as the lead-acid battery 30 cold cranks 194 the internal combustion engine (e.g., at time 1), micro-cycles while the vehicle accelerates 196 and cruises 192 (e.g., between time 1 and time 3), increases as electrical power is stored in the NMC battery 32 during regenerative braking 202 (e.g., between time 3 and time 4), decreases as the NMC battery 32 supplies electrical power to the electrical system 66 during cruising 204 (e.g., between time 4 and time 5), increases as electrical power is again stored in the NMC battery 32 during regenerative braking 206 (e.g., between time 5 and time 6; see [0116]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over by Le et al., (Le) US 2015/0202983 A1(also cited by Applicants) . Regarding claim 10, Le stayed silent regarding the limitations of: wherein the DC-DC current is between about 10 Amperes and 100 Amperes. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have wherein the DC-DC current be between about 10 Amperes and 100 Amperes, as recited, as a matter of design choice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have, wherein the DC-DC current is between about 10 Amperes and 100 Amperes since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Accordingly claim 10 would have been obvious. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-9,13-14 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claims 5,13 and 18, the prior art of record does neither teach nor reasonably suggest, wherein the plurality of constraints includes: (1/n) [I C (t) –I 1,MAX ] < I DC (t) < (1/n) [I C (t) –I 1,MIN (t)], where t is time, I DC is the DC-DC current, n is a number of phases of the DC-DC current, I C is the charging current, and I 1,MIN and I 1,MAX are respective minimum and maximum values of the first current. Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does neither teach nor reasonably suggest, wherein the plurality of constraints includes: [V 2 (t)/(n*V 1 (t))] [I 2,MIN – I L (t)] < I DC (t) < [V 2 (t)/(n*V 1 (t))] [I 2,MAX – I L (t)], where t is time, I DC is the DC-DC current, n is a number of phases of the DC-DC current , V 1 and V 2 are respective voltages of the energy module and the power module, I L is a load current transmitted to the load in the vehicle, and I 2,MIN and I 2,MAX are respective minimum and maximum values of the second current. Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does neither teach nor reasonably suggest, further comprising: setting the plurality of constraints to include: [V 2 (t)/(n*V 1 (t))] [I 2,MIN – I L (t)] < I DC (t) < [V 2 (t)/(n*V 1 (t))] [I 2,MAX – I L (t)], where t is time, I DC is the DC-DC current, n is a number of phases of the DC-DC current, V 1 and V 2 are respective voltages of the energy module and the power module, I L is a load current transmitted to the load in the electric vehicle, and I 2,MIN and I 2,MAX are respective minimum and maximum values of the second current. Claims 7-9 and respectively claims 19-20 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 6 and respectively claim 18 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to M'BAYE DIAO whose telephone number is (571)272-6127. The examiner can normally be reached M-F; 10:00AM-6:30PM and OFF most of the time Friday when working IFP. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DREW A DUNN can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. M'BAYE DIAO Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859 /M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 June 9, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/452,073 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859