DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1-8 and 10 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE-102011110199-A1 to Spahr (“Spahr”), and further in view of CN-103818186-A to Brett (“Brett”).
Regarding claim 1, Spahr: FOR P , and NPL U Google English Translation pages 1-6, “ET”, Figs 1-5) discloses a drive ring (17, “toothed disc” right Fig 1, 5) configured to be assembled) and rotatable with (italicized limits , ET Page 1,Para 1, lines 9-11) a hub assembly (1 “hub assembly” including 23 “hub component”, 3 “hub body” [i.e. hub shell], and 4 “rotor”[ i.e. ratchet seat] ) and defining an axial direction (dashed center line Fig 1), the drive ring including a first axial side (left side of 17 Fig 1, 5) and a first circumferential side (outwardly facing circumferential surface of 17, Fig 5) around the axial direction, the first axial side including a plurality of first ratchet teeth (18 axially extending teeth, extending leftward from 17, ET Page 1, Para 1 lines 19-20, Pare 4 Para 20 beginning “Both toothed…”, Fig 5) arranged around (Fig 5) the axial direction, the first circumferential side including a plurality of first engaging teeth (7 engaging component i.e. radially extending teeth, forming a non-circular contour, starlike curved portions, convex on toothing’s, concave arching in grooves between toothing’s, ET Page 1, Para 1 lines 21-23, Fig 1, 5) arranged around the axial direction and engaged with the hub assembly (engaged with non-circular contour of 4 rotor, which is part of the hub assembly, Page 1, Para 1 lines 21-23), (Fig 5).
Spahr does not disclose a plurality of first grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of first grooves, wherein each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth includes an inclined surface, and each of the plurality of first grooves is recessed in the axial direction from and lower than any two adjacent edges, extending radially, of an adjacent pair of the inclined surfaces of the plurality of first ratchet teeth.
Brett discloses a hub assembly (10 “flywheel hub, Fig 1)including a drive ring (40 “first clutch ring” , Para 67-69, Fig 5a, 5b) including a plurality of ratchet teeth (78 “sliding gear” 72, 75 “teeth having a having a sawtooth profile” with “a plurality of individual tooth”, Para 68-69, Fig 5a-5b, ), wherein a plurality of first grooves (82 notch/radial grooves between 75 inclined tooths 72, at depth s2 Para 68, where depth of groove s2 is approximately 50% of the incline height of 72 tooth, Fig 5b) extending radially (Fig 5a), between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of first grooves (Fig 5a), wherein each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth includes an inclined surface and each of the plurality of first grooves is recessed in the axial direction (shown Fig 5a, 5b) from and lower than any two adjacent edges (Fig 5a, 5b), extending radially (Fig 5a, 5b), of an adjacent pair of the inclined surfaces of the plurality of first ratchet teeth.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the a hub assembly and the plurality of first ratchet teeth having a plurality of first grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of first grooves, wherein each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth includes an inclined surface, and each of the plurality of first grooves is recessed in the axial direction from and lower than any two adjacent edges, extending radially, of an adjacent pair of the inclined surfaces of the plurality of first ratchet teeth, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the a hub assembly of Spahr and the teaching the plurality of first ratchet teeth having a plurality of first grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of first grooves, wherein each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth includes an inclined surface, and each of the plurality of first grooves is recessed in the axial direction from and lower than any two adjacent edges, extending radially, of an adjacent pair of the inclined surfaces of the plurality of first ratchet teeth of Brett, to modify the profile of the plurality of first ratchet teeth (of Spahr) such that they have a plurality of first grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of first grooves, wherein each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth includes an inclined surface, and each of the plurality of first grooves is recessed in the axial direction from and lower than any two adjacent edges, extending radially, of an adjacent pair of the inclined surfaces of the plurality of first ratchet teeth (like Brett),, with the motivation to enable slightly deformation of the ratchet teeth under loading, to better distribution forces (Brett Para 76) , having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Spahr and Brett discloses the drive ring of claim 1, wherein there is a radial height difference between the plurality of first ratchet teeth and the plurality of first engaging teeth (Fig 5 shows 7 engaging teeth radially outward from tips of 18 ratchet teeth, height difference would equal to (22-2(14))/2 using dimensions 14 and 22 Fig 5, Page 1, Para 1 lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Spahr and Brett discloses the drive ring of claim 1, wherein the drive ring further includes a first curved surface (surfaces of engaging teeth 7 and grooves therein between) , and the first curved surface is configured to be slidably abutted against the hub assembly (of matching non circular contour of 4 rotor Page 1, Para 1 lines 25-26, Fig 1,5), and pivotable relative to the axial direction (Page 4, Para 21 beginning Both toothed discs…”, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Spahr and Brett discloses the drive ring of claim 1, wherein the first groove is arcuate or angled (Fig 5 shows, groove between adjacent 18 ratchet teeth, to be angled with incline directed circumferentially).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Spahr and Brett discloses the drive ring of claim 4, wherein the first groove has a depth equal to or larger than one fourth an axial height difference of the inclined surface of the first ratchet tooth (s2 is approximately one half the axial height of the inclined surface, as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Spahr and Brett discloses a hub device including: the a hub assembly (1) including a hub shell (3 “hub body”) and a ratchet seat (4 “rotor”), the hub shell including an axial hole (hole receiving 27, Fig 3) and a first annular toothed portion (corresponding non-round inner contour in 23 hub component of hub body 3 Page 1, Para 1, lines 21-23, Fig 3, 5) around the axial direction (Fig 5), the ratchet seat and the hub shell being axially opposite (Fig 3) to each other, the ratchet seat including a second annular toothed portion (inner non round inner contour of rotor 4, Page 1, lines 35-25, Page 4, Para 15 beginning “there is a toothed disc…”, Para 19 beginning The other engagement …”, Fig 3) around the axial direction; a driving assembly including the drive ring (17) of claim 1, and a second drive ring (16 “toothed disc”, left Fig 1, 5, Page 4, Para 13 beginning “the two engagement…”, Para 20 beginning “Both toothed discs...” ), the second drive ring including an axial side (right side of 16 Fig 1, 5) and a second circumferential side (outwardly facing circumferential surface of 16, Fig 5) around the axial direction, the axial side of the second drive ring including a plurality of second ratchet teeth (18 axially extending teeth, extending rightward from 16, ET Page 1, Para 1 lines 19-20, Pare 4 Para 20 beginning “Both toothed…”, Fig 5) arranged around the axial direction, the second circumferential side including a plurality of second engaging teeth first engaging teeth (6 engaging component i.e. radially extending teeth forming a non-circular contour, starlike curved portions, convex on toothing’s, concave arching in grooves between toothing’s, ET Page 1, Para 1 lines 21-23, Fig 1, 5) arranged around the axial direction and engaged with the hub assembly (engaged with non-circular contour of 23 “hub component”, which is part of the hub assembly, Page 1, Para 1 lines 21-23), the plurality of first engaging teeth and the plurality of second engaging teeth being engaged with the first annular toothed portion and the second annular toothed portion, respectively; an elastic member (11 “preloading device”/biasing means”, left side Fig 3, 5) abutted against and between (Fig 5) the hub assembly and the driving assembly so that the plurality of first ratchet teeth and the plurality of second ratchet teeth are axially engaged with each other (10 engaged position, Fig 3) and unidirectionally rotatable relative to each other (ET Page 1, Pare 1, lines 9-11); and a shaft (2 “hub axle”, Fig 1) disposed through the hub assembly, the driving assembly and the elastic member (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination Spahr and Brett discloses the hub device of claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the axial side further includes a plurality of second grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of second grooves between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth being one of the plurality of first grooves, a peak of each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of second grooves, and a peak of each of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of first grooves.
Brett further discloses a hub assembly (10 “flywheel hub, Fig 1) including a drive ring (52 “second clutch ring” , Para 70, 72, Fig 6a-6c) including a plurality of ratchet teeth (96, 90 “sliding tooth” with “a plurality of individual tooth” having a sawtooth profile , Para 69-72, Fig 6a-6c, ), wherein a plurality of second grooves (100 notch/radial grooves between 90 inclined tooths Para 72, Fig 6b) extending radially (Fig 6a), between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of second grooves (Fig 6a-6c), a peak (maximal extending tip of first ratchet teeth) of each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of second grooves (Para 75, Fig 7b), and a peak (maximal extending tip of second ratchet teeth, Para 75, Fig 7b) of each of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of first grooves (Para 75, Fig 7b)
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the a hub assembly and the axial side further includes a plurality of second grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of second grooves between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth being one of the plurality of first grooves, a peak of each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of second grooves, and a peak of each of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of first grooves, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the a hub assembly of the combination Spahr and Brett and the teaching of and the axial side further includes a plurality of second grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of second grooves between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth being one of the plurality of first grooves, a peak of each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of second grooves, and a peak of each of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of first grooves of Brett, to modify the profile of the plurality of second ratchet teeth (the combination Spahr and Brett such that they have a plurality of second grooves extending radially, between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is one of the plurality of second grooves between any two adjacent teeth of the plurality of first ratchet teeth being one of the plurality of first grooves, a peak of each of the plurality of first ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of second grooves, and a peak of each of the plurality of second ratchet teeth is located within one of the plurality of first grooves (like Brett), with the motivation to enable slightly deformation of the ratchet teeth under loading, to better distribution forces (Brett Para 76), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, the combination Spahr and Brett discloses the hub device of claim 7, further including an annular member (30 “seal a non-contact labyrinth seal”, Page 4, Para 22 beginning “To seal …” Fig 3, 4) disposed around the driving assembly, wherein the annular member is annularly abutted against and between the hub shell and the ratchet seat (as shown Fig 3, 5).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Spahr and Brett, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of JP-2010185465-A to Nagano (“Nagano”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Spahr and Brett, discloses the hub device of claim 9, including the annular member (described in para 12 of this document).
The combination of Spahr and Brett, does not disclose wherein the annular member includes a metal ring body and an elastic ring body within which the metal ring body is disposed.
Nagano (first embodiment of Fig 1, English Translation “ET”, Pages 1-5) discloses an annular member (10a “combination seal ring/radial labyrinth seal”, Page 4, Par 3 beginning “FIG. 1 shows a first example…” thru page 5 last Paragraph, Fig 1) including a metal ring body (18 “the core metal”, Fig 1) and an elastic ring body (29 “sealing elastic member”, Fig 1) within which the metal ring body is disposed (Fig 1, “core metal 18 in the base 29 of sealing elastic member 19a”, ET Page 5, top paragraph beginning “22. In addition…”, line 4, Page 1 lines 7-10).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the hub device and the annular member includes a metal ring body and an elastic ring body within which the metal ring body is disposed in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the disclose hub device of the combination of Spahr and Brett, and the teaching of the annular member includes a metal ring body and an elastic ring body within which the metal ring body is disposed of Nagano, to modify the annual member of the hub device (the combination of Spahr and Brett), such that it includes a metal ring body and an elastic ring body within which the metal ring body is disposed (like Nagano), with the motivation to have a seal with a combined seal ring structure that maintains sealing performance over a long period of time with a combined seal ring (Page 1 lines 7-10), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/20/2005, with respect to Drawing objections; objections to Claims 1 and 8; and Claim 1-10 rejections under 35 USC § 112 (b), have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of revised Drawings 2, 2a, 5 and 7, and light of amendments to claims 1-8 and 10. The Drawing and claim objections and the rejections under 35 USC § 112 (b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 rejections under 35 USC § 102 (a)(2) and claim 10 rejections under 35 USC § 103, have been considered but are moot in light of claim amendments to claims 1 and 5. A new set of rejections is contained herein, relying in part to Brett (CN10381886-A) previously ”cited but not relied upon” in Paragraph 26 the Non-Final.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brett (CN-106351982-A) discloses toothed disks with axial toothings having grooves in between.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615