DETAILED ACTION
As per instant Amendment, claims 1, 14 and 20 have been amended; claims 1, 14 and 20 are independent claims. Claims 1, 2, 7-15 and 20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 7/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: This amendment is supported, for example, by pages 3 and 7 of the subject application. The Patent Office asserts that this limitation is disclosed by paragraphs 0006, 0036, 0072, 0046, and 0111 of Spencer (Final Office Action, pp. 5-6). Regarding the "device fingerprints" limitation, the Patent Office notes "Remote device information can be indicative of inherent characteristics of the remote device, such as a MAC address" and thus asserts that a MAC address discloses a "device fingerprint[] generated based on network traffic" as previously recited in claim 1. Applicant notes that the MAC address, according to Spencer, "resides or is stored on the remote device" and thus is not "generated based on network traffic" as previously recited in claim 1. Nevertheless, in the interest of expedited prosecution, Applicant has amended the limitation to recite that the first device fingerprints are "generated based on by applying a fingerprinting algorithm to network traffic associated with one or more first wireless connections of a connected device in one or more first wireless networks." Clearly, a MAC address that "resides or is stored on the remote device" is not "generated based on by applying a fingerprinting algorithm to network traffic associated with one or more first wireless connections of a connected device in one or more first wireless networks," and thus fails to teach or suggest such device fingerprints. Extracting a pre-existing hardware identifier (the MAC address) from a transmission fails to disclose the generation of a fingerprint by applying a fingerprinting algorithm to network traffic.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that Spencer discloses the feature of obtaining one or more first device fingerprints generated by... network traffic with one or more first wireless connections of a connected device in one or more first wireless networks ([0006] - ... extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0072]). The examiner respectfully notes extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission is noted to be a form of fingerprinting. The examiner sought to combine newly cited reference of Bracken to teach fingerprinting...by applying a fingerprint algorithm to network traffic... ([0027] - As shown in FIG. 1, in one exemplary implementation of the system, a software platform may be configured to receive a client data packet, extract a set of packet components from the client data packet, generate a client fingerprint from the set of packet components, and assign a client type using the client fingerprint). Therefore, the examiner finds this argument moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant Argues: Second, Spencer fails to disclose "one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in one or more second wireless networks, wherein each second wireless network is provided by an access point located in a home or an office" under any circumstances. Rather, Spencer discloses a remote device that maintains a single wireless connection to the public hotspot (Spencer, para. 0040). There is no "second wireless connection" in Spencer. Remotely accessing home media servers or digital home services over the Internet while connected to a public hotspot does not constitute establishing a second wireless connection
in a wireless network provided by an access point located in a home or an office.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes Spencer discloses in ¶[0040] - A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and in ¶ [0062] - A remote device can be an electronic device operable as a wireless interface between a user or another electronic device and a network or wireless access point, such as provided at a hotspot or within a wireless network coverage area. The examiner respectfully notes Spencer discloses the concept of a variety of venues that have a wireless network coverage area further Spencer contemplates the concept of a user can connect to a home access system via private network access. The examiner notes by connecting to a variety of venues this discloses the feature of “second wireless connection.” Thus, under the reasonable construction as interpreted above Spencer reads on "one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in one or more second wireless networks, wherein each second wireless network is provided by an access point located in a home or an office." Therefore, the examiner finds this argument moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant Argues: Third, Applicant notes that, as amended, claim 1 now recites that the device fingerprints are "are generated in accordance with the fingerprinting algorithm using network traffic intercepted at the access point located in the home or the office." Spencer fails to teach or suggest the generation of a device fingerprint "generated in accordance with the fingerprinting algorithm using network traffic intercepted at the access point located in the home or the office." As discussed above, Spencer fails to even disclose a second wireless connection in a second wireless network. Rather, Spencer merely discloses a single remote connection and accessing digital home services remotely from locations outside of the home using a public hotspot (Spencer, para. 0040).
Applicant's claim 1, as amended, further recites:
in response to finding a match between the one or more first device
fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints, entitling an
enhanced service to the connected device, wherein entitling the enhanced
service to the connected device further comprises in response to
determining that the connected device has an ongoing wireless connection
that comprises one of the one or more first wireless connections or one of
the one or more second wireless connections, enabling the enhanced
service to the ongoing wireless connection.
Because Spencer fails to disclose obtaining "one or more second device fingerprints" generated from network traffic intercepted at an access point located in a home or an office, Spencer necessarily fails to teach "finding a match between the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints." Without generating a second device fingerprint from a second wireless connection at a home or office access point, Spencer cannot disclose the referenced limitation.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that claim 1 is patentably distinct from the cited art. Claims 14 and 20 contain limitations substantially similar to those discussed herein with regard to claim 1 and should thus be allowable for at least the same reasons.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. Similar to above, Spencer discloses the feature of obtaining one or more fingerprints are generated in accordance with ... network traffic ([0006] - ... extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0072]). The examiner respectfully notes extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission is noted to be a form of fingerprinting. The examiner notes Spencer discloses in ¶[0040] - A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and in ¶ [0062] - A remote device can be an electronic device operable as a wireless interface between a user or another electronic device and a network or wireless access point, such as provided at a hotspot or within a wireless network coverage area. The examiner respectfully notes Spencer discloses the concept of a variety of venues that have a wireless network coverage area further Spencer contemplates the concept of a user can connect to a home access system via private network access. The examiner notes by connecting to a variety of venues this discloses the feature of “second wireless connection.” Further, Spencer discloses ¶ [0189] - Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art). Combination of the device ID, location ID, and timestamp thus provide an indication that a particular device 1302 was present at a particular location at a particular time). Thus, under the reasonable construction as interpreted above Spencer reads on “one or more second device fingerprints are generated in accordance with ... using network traffic intercepted at the access point located in the home or the office to enable a comparison between the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints.” The examiner sought to combine newly cited reference of Bracken to teach ...generating in according with the fingerprint algorithm using network traffic intercepted... ([0027] - As shown in FIG. 1, in one exemplary implementation of the system, a software platform may be configured to receive a client data packet, extract a set of packet components from the client data packet, generate a client fingerprint from the set of packet components, and assign a client type using the client fingerprint). Therefore, the examiner finds this argument moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spencer et al. (US 2013/0167196 A1) in view of Bracken (US 2020/0213206 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Spencer discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
obtaining one or more first device fingerprints generated by... network traffic with one or more first wireless connections of a connected device in one or more first wireless networks ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, the method comprising: detecting at one of the multiple hotspot locations a wireless transmission sent by the wireless device; extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0072]), wherein each first wireless network is provided by an access point located in a public location that is not a home or an office ([0034] - In some embodiments, the system 10 allows browser-based, browser-challenged, and/or browserless remote devices to access these services, or a selection thereof, when such remote devices are operated at a public access hotspot supported by the system 10 and [0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0111])), and wherein the connected device accesses each first wireless network using a public user authentication controlled by a network service provider managing the access point located in the public location ([0034] - In general, the system 10 may be used to identify different remote devices 102 via the network access module 112, and in some embodiments, authenticate and authorize access thereto to network and/or Web-based services accessible via the service access module 106. In some embodiments, the system 10 allows browser-based, browser-challenged, and/or browserless remote devices to access these services, or a selection thereof, when such remote devices are operated at a public access hotspot supported by the system 10 and [0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0111]),
obtaining one or more second device fingerprints associated with one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in one or more second wireless networks ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input; cross-referencing said extracted device identifier with a network accessible database of stored device profiles, each of said device profiles having a respective stored device identifier associated therewith and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module and [0072] and [0189] - Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art), wherein each second wireless network is provided by an access point at a home or an office ([0034] - In some embodiments, the system 10 allows browser-based, browser-challenged, and/or browserless remote devices to access these services, or a selection thereof, when such remote devices are operated at a public access hotspot supported by the system 10 and [0040] - A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0062] - A remote device can be an electronic device operable as a wireless interface between a user or another electronic device and a network or wireless access point, such as provided at a hotspot or within a wireless network coverage area and [0111]), and the one or more second device fingerprints are generated in accordance with ... using network traffic intercepted at the access point located in the home or the office to enable a comparison between the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, the method comprising: detecting at one of the multiple hotspot locations a wireless transmission sent by the wireless device; extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module. Remote device information can be indicative of inherent characteristics of the remote device, such as a MAC address, or can be other information stored on the remote device for identification thereof and [0040] - A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0062] - A remote device can be an electronic device operable as a wireless interface between a user or another electronic device and a network or wireless access point, such as provided at a hotspot or within a wireless network coverage area and [0111] and [0189]) and wherein the connected device accesses each second wireless network using a private user authentication controlled by a user managing the access point at the home or the office ([0034] - In general, the system 10 may be used to identify different remote devices 102 via the network access module 112, and in some embodiments, authenticate and authorize access thereto to network and/or Web-based services accessible via the service access module 106 and [0040] - The system 10 generally provides one or more remote devices 102 access to one or more services 114 via network 104. For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers. A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0111]); and
in response to finding a match between the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints ([0006] and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module. Remote device information can be indicative of inherent characteristics of the remote device, such as a MAC address, or can be other information stored on the remote device for identification thereof and [0189] - Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art). Combination of the device ID, location ID, and timestamp thus provide an indication that a particular device 1302 was present at a particular location at a particular time) entitling an enhanced service to the connected device ([0038]-[0039] - In one embodiment, authorization constraints can be associated with a service profile and used to directly or indirectly limit or disable specified applications, or to limit or disable network access functionality related to said specified applications. Authorization whitelists can also be used, as an alternative to or in conjunction with authorization constraints, to positively define access to services or to provide minimum service level guarantees and [0042]), wherein entitling the enhanced service to the connected device further comprises: in response to determining that the connected device has an ongoing wireless connection that comprises of the one or more first wireless connections or one of the one or more second wireless connections, ([0006] and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module. Remote device information can be indicative of inherent characteristics of the remote device, such as a MAC address, or can be other information stored on the remote device for identification thereof and [0189] - Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art). Combination of the device ID, location ID, and timestamp thus provide an indication that a particular device 1302 was present at a particular location at a particular time), enabling the enhanced service to the ongoing wireless connection ([0038]-[0039] - In one embodiment, authorization constraints can be associated with a service profile and used to directly or indirectly limit or disable specified applications, or to limit or disable network access functionality related to said specified applications. Authorization whitelists can also be used, as an alternative to or in conjunction with authorization constraints, to positively define access to services or to provide minimum service level guarantees and [0042]).
Spencer fails to explicitly disclose
...by applying a fingerprint algorithm...;
...generating in according with the fingerprint algorithm using network traffic intercepted...;
However, in an analogous art, Bracken teaches
fingerprinting...by applying a fingerprint algorithm to network traffic... ([0027] - As shown in FIG. 1, in one exemplary implementation of the system, a software platform may be configured to receive a client data packet, extract a set of packet components from the client data packet, generate a client fingerprint from the set of packet components, and assign a client type using the client fingerprint); [and]
...generating in according with the fingerprint algorithm using network traffic intercepted... ([0027] - As shown in FIG. 1, in one exemplary implementation of the system, a software platform may be configured to receive a client data packet, extract a set of packet components from the client data packet, generate a client fingerprint from the set of packet components, and assign a client type using the client fingerprint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bracken to the method of Spencer to include fingerprinting...by applying a fingerprint algorithm to network traffic...;[and] ...generating in according with the fingerprint algorithm using network traffic intercepted...;
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bracken to Spencer to do so as it provides / allows to identify clients at a higher level of sophistication (Bracken, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 2;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the one or more first wireless networks comprise wireless non-cellular internet access networks of a first type ([0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0188] – part of the IEEE 802.11 standard), and the one or more second wireless networks comprise wireless non-cellular internet access networks of a second type ([0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0188] – part of the IEEE 802.11 standard), and
Regarding Claim 7;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the method further comprises, prior to obtaining the one or more first device fingerprints from the one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks: intercepting a first data communication of the connected device via the one or more first wireless networks at one or more first packet inspection points ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission and [0111] - ...may intercept the request to access the network 104...and [0194] - For example, while device identification and recognition may be implemented via packet capture of probe requests, as noted above, other packet captures and/or logging/tracking techniques may also or alternatively be used in conjunction therewith to automatically access a greater representation of user activity. )
Regarding Claim 8;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the method further comprises, prior to obtaining the one or more second device fingerprints from the one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks: intercepting a second data communication of the connected device via the one or more second wireless networks at one or more second packet inspection points ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission and [0036] and [0111] - ...may intercept the request to access the network 104...and [0189] and [0194] - For example, while device identification and recognition may be implemented via packet capture of probe requests, as noted above, other packet captures and/or logging/tracking techniques may also or alternatively be used in conjunction therewith to automatically access a greater representation of user activity. )
Regarding Claim 9;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein a similar function generates both the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints so that they are comparable to each other ([0006] - extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0111] - . Such remote device information, for example forming part of the remote device profile, may include, but is not limited to, the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the remote device 102, traffic type (e.g. communication port, data type, communication protocol, traffic headers, etc.), browser type (e.g. full browser, microbrowser, browser origin and/or configuration, etc.), and/or some other unique identifier (e.g. remote device configuration, serial number, signature related to a remote device clock or crystal oscillator, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 10;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 9.
Spencer further discloses wherein the similar function generates the one or more first device fingerprints based at least partly on one or more first host media access control protocol addresses transmitted by the connected device on the one or more first wireless connections ([0006] - extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0111] - . Such remote device information, for example forming part of the remote device profile, may include, but is not limited to, the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the remote device 102, traffic type (e.g. communication port, data type, communication protocol, traffic headers, etc.), browser type (e.g. full browser, microbrowser, browser origin and/or configuration, etc.), and/or some other unique identifier (e.g. remote device configuration, serial number, signature related to a remote device clock or crystal oscillator, etc.)), and generates the one or more second device fingerprints based at least partly on one or more second host media access control protocol addresses transmitted by the connected device on the one or more second wireless connections ([0006] - extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0111] - . Such remote device information, for example forming part of the remote device profile, may include, but is not limited to, the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the remote device 102, traffic type (e.g. communication port, data type, communication protocol, traffic headers, etc.), browser type (e.g. full browser, microbrowser, browser origin and/or configuration, etc.), and/or some other unique identifier (e.g. remote device configuration, serial number, signature related to a remote device clock or crystal oscillator, etc.) and [0189]).
Regarding Claim 11;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the enhanced service comprises an upgraded data transfer for an ongoing or future one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks ([0038]-[0039] and [0042] - data transmission or reception capabilities at a specified bandwidth), and/or an upgraded data transfer for an ongoing or future one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks ([0036] and [0038]-[0039] and [0042] - data transmission or reception capabilities at a specified bandwidth [0189]).
Regarding Claim 12;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the enhanced service comprises a cybersecurity surveillance for an ongoing or future one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks ([0036] and [0038]-[0040] - For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers), and/or a cybersecurity surveillance for an ongoing or future one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks ([0036] and [0038]-[0040] - For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers and [0189]).
Regarding Claim 13;
Spencer in view of Bracken discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein obtaining the one or more second device fingerprints from the one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks further comprises: obtaining the second device fingerprint from a present second wireless connection of the connected device in the second wireless network ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input; cross-referencing said extracted device identifier with a network accessible database of stored device profiles, each of said device profiles having a respective stored device identifier associated therewith and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module and [0072] and [0189] Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art); wherein obtaining the one or more first device fingerprints from the one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks further comprises ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, the method comprising: detecting at one of the multiple hotspot locations a wireless transmission sent by the wireless device; extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0072]); retrieving the one or more first device fingerprints from a data storage configured to store the one or more first device fingerprints obtained from past one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input; cross-referencing said extracted device identifier with a network accessible database of stored device profiles, each of said device profiles having a respective stored device identifier associated therewith and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module and [0072] and [0189] Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding Claim(s) 14 and 15; claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are directed to a/an apparatus associated with the method claimed in claim(s) 1 and 2. Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1 and 2 and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 20; claim(s) 20 is/are directed to a/an medium associated with the method claimed in claim(s) 1. Claim(s) 20 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
/KARI L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439