DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to application 18/452,093 filed on 8/18/2023.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application or being significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, and representative claim(s) 14 and 20 the claim recites the limitations “obtaining one or more first device fingerprints...;” “obtaining one or more second device fingerprints...” and “in response to finding a match.... entitling an enhanced service to the connected device.” Broadly interpreted, the aforementioned steps are directed to mental processes as said steps could be performed in the human mind. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Said abstract idea and/or judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application as the claim does not recite any other active steps that could be considered that the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application. It is noted that the claims recite additional limitation/elements (i.e., an apparatus w/ memories, processors, medium, etc.). However, said additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computing device performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception or abstract idea using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements/limitations/embodiments that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As mentioned above, although the claims recite additional elements, said elements taken individually or as a combination, do not result in the claim amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea because as the additional elements perform generic computer content distributing functions routinely used in information technology field. As discussed above, the additional elements recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Therefore, the claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 2-12, and 15-19, claims 2-12 and 15-19, are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons addressed above as the claims recite an abstract idea and the claims do not positively recite any other operations that could be considered as the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application or significantly more. It is noted that claim(s) 2, and representative claim(s) 15 recites the limitations: “....network... type...”. It is noted that claim(s) 3, and representative claim(s) 16 recites the limitations: “...wireless network is provided by an access point...”. It is noted that claim(s) 4, and representative claim(s) 17 recites the limitations: “access each first wireless network using... public authentication...”. It is noted that claim(s) 5, and representative claim(s) 18 recites the limitations: “....wireless network is provided by an access point...”. It is noted that claim(s) 6, and representative claim(s) 19 recites the limitations: ““access each second wireless network using... private authentication...”. It is noted that claim(s) 7 and 8 recites the limitations: “intercepting ...data communication... via... inspection points”. It is noted that claim(s) 9 and 10 recites the limitations: “... a similar function generates... fingerprints”. It is noted that claim(s) 11 and 12 recites the limitations: “... the enhanced service...”. Said steps are either directed to mental processes and/or are in a form of insignificant extra-solution activities or are recited at a high-level of generality; such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception or abstract idea using generic computer components. The aforementioned steps are not sufficient to consider that the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, claims 2-12, and 15-19, are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spencer et al. (US 2013/0167196 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Spencer discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
obtaining one or more first device fingerprints from one or more first wireless connections of a connected device in one or more first wireless networks ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, the method comprising: detecting at one of the multiple hotspot locations a wireless transmission sent by the wireless device; extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0072]);
obtaining one or more second device fingerprints from one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in one or more second wireless networks ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input; cross-referencing said extracted device identifier with a network accessible database of stored device profiles, each of said device profiles having a respective stored device identifier associated therewith and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module and [0072] and [0189] Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art); and
in response to finding a match between the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints ([0006] and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module. Remote device information can be indicative of inherent characteristics of the remote device, such as a MAC address, or can be other information stored on the remote device for identification thereof and [0189] - Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art). Combination of the device ID, location ID, and timestamp thus provide an indication that a particular device 1302 was present at a particular location at a particular time) entitling an enhanced service to the connected device ([0038]-[0039] - In one embodiment, authorization constraints can be associated with a service profile and used to directly or indirectly limit or disable specified applications, or to limit or disable network access functionality related to said specified applications. Authorization whitelists can also be used, as an alternative to or in conjunction with authorization constraints, to positively define access to services or to provide minimum service level guarantees and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 2;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the one or more first wireless networks comprise wireless non-cellular internet access networks of a first type ([0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0188] – part of the IEEE 802.11 standard), and the one or more second wireless networks comprise wireless non-cellular internet access networks of a second type ([0046] - As introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0188] – part of the IEEE 802.11 standard), and
Regarding Claim 3;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein each first wireless network is provided by an access point out of a home or an office ([0034] - In some embodiments, the system 10 allows browser-based, browser-challenged, and/or browserless remote devices to access these services, or a selection thereof, when such remote devices are operated at a public access hotspot supported by the system 10 and [0040] - The system 10 generally provides one or more remote devices 102 access to one or more services 114 via network 104. For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers. A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0111])
Regarding Claim 4;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 3.
Spencer further discloses wherein the connected device accesses each first wireless network using a public user authentication controlled by a network service provider managing the access point out of the home or the office ([0034] - In general, the system 10 may be used to identify different remote devices 102 via the network access module 112, and in some embodiments, authenticate and authorize access thereto to network and/or Web-based services accessible via the service access module 106 n and [0040] - The system 10 generally provides one or more remote devices 102 access to one or more services 114 via network 104. For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers. A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0046] -A s introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0111])
Regarding Claim 5;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein each second wireless network is provided by an access point at a home or an office ([0034] - In some embodiments, the system 10 allows browser-based, browser-challenged, and/or browserless remote devices to access these services, or a selection thereof, when such remote devices are operated at a public access hotspot supported by the system 10 and [0040] - The system 10 generally provides one or more remote devices 102 access to one or more services 114 via network 104. For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers. A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0111])
Regarding Claim 6;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 5.
Spencer further discloses wherein the connected device accesses each second wireless network using a private user authentication controlled by a user managing the access point at the home or the office ([0034] - In general, the system 10 may be used to identify different remote devices 102 via the network access module 112, and in some embodiments, authenticate and authorize access thereto to network and/or Web-based services accessible via the service access module 106 and [0040] - The system 10 generally provides one or more remote devices 102 access to one or more services 114 via network 104. For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers. A user could thus connect to a home access system (e.g. a home media server, networked computer, etc.) to access images, music, videos, files, and the like that are stored on remote devices located in the user's home, business, office, etc. and [0046] -A s introduced above, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system 10 may be configured to manage public and/or private network access for a plurality of remote devices 102, optionally of a plurality of remote device types, configurations and/or functionality, and that, within a variety of venues if necessary and [0111])
Regarding Claim 7;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the method further comprises, prior to obtaining the one or more first device fingerprints from the one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks: intercepting a first data communication of the connected device via the one or more first wireless networks at one or more first packet inspection points ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission and [0111] - ...may intercept the request to access the network 104...and [0194] - For example, while device identification and recognition may be implemented via packet capture of probe requests, as noted above, other packet captures and/or logging/tracking techniques may also or alternatively be used in conjunction therewith to automatically access a greater representation of user activity. )
Regarding Claim 8;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the method further comprises, prior to obtaining the one or more second device fingerprints from the one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks: intercepting a second data communication of the connected device via the one or more second wireless networks at one or more second packet inspection points ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission and [0036] and [0111] - ...may intercept the request to access the network 104...and [0189] and [0194] - For example, while device identification and recognition may be implemented via packet capture of probe requests, as noted above, other packet captures and/or logging/tracking techniques may also or alternatively be used in conjunction therewith to automatically access a greater representation of user activity. )
Regarding Claim 9;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein a similar function generates both the one or more first device fingerprints and the one or more second device fingerprints so that they are comparable to each other ([0006] - extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0111] - . Such remote device information, for example forming part of the remote device profile, may include, but is not limited to, the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the remote device 102, traffic type (e.g. communication port, data type, communication protocol, traffic headers, etc.), browser type (e.g. full browser, microbrowser, browser origin and/or configuration, etc.), and/or some other unique identifier (e.g. remote device configuration, serial number, signature related to a remote device clock or crystal oscillator, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 10;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 9.
Spencer further discloses wherein the similar function generates the one or more first device fingerprints based at least partly on one or more first host media access control protocol addresses transmitted by the connected device on the one or more first wireless connections ([0006] - extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0111] - . Such remote device information, for example forming part of the remote device profile, may include, but is not limited to, the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the remote device 102, traffic type (e.g. communication port, data type, communication protocol, traffic headers, etc.), browser type (e.g. full browser, microbrowser, browser origin and/or configuration, etc.), and/or some other unique identifier (e.g. remote device configuration, serial number, signature related to a remote device clock or crystal oscillator, etc.)), and generates the one or more second device fingerprints based at least partly on one or more second host media access control protocol addresses transmitted by the connected device on the one or more second wireless connections ([0006] - extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0111] - . Such remote device information, for example forming part of the remote device profile, may include, but is not limited to, the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the remote device 102, traffic type (e.g. communication port, data type, communication protocol, traffic headers, etc.), browser type (e.g. full browser, microbrowser, browser origin and/or configuration, etc.), and/or some other unique identifier (e.g. remote device configuration, serial number, signature related to a remote device clock or crystal oscillator, etc.) and [0189]).
Regarding Claim 11;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the enhanced service comprises an upgraded data transfer for an ongoing or future one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks ([0038]-[0039] and [0042] - data transmission or reception capabilities at a specified bandwidth), and/or an upgraded data transfer for an ongoing or future one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks ([0036] and [0038]-[0039] and [0042] - data transmission or reception capabilities at a specified bandwidth [0189]).
Regarding Claim 12;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein the enhanced service comprises a cybersecurity surveillance for an ongoing or future one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks ([0036] and [0038]-[0040] - For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers), and/or a cybersecurity surveillance for an ongoing or future one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks ([0036] and [0038]-[0040] - For example, the system 10 could be used to provide access to digital home services, such as access to digital TV or other forms of home content to access applications such as, but not limited to, Slingbox, Orb, Location Free TV (LFTV), and/or home security features provided by various online home security service providers and [0189]).
Regarding Claim 13;
Spencer discloses the method of claim 1.
Spencer further discloses wherein obtaining the one or more second device fingerprints from the one or more second wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more second wireless networks further comprises: obtaining the second device fingerprint from a present second wireless connection of the connected device in the second wireless network ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input; cross-referencing said extracted device identifier with a network accessible database of stored device profiles, each of said device profiles having a respective stored device identifier associated therewith and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module and [0072] and [0189] Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art); wherein obtaining the one or more first device fingerprints from the one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks further comprises ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, the method comprising: detecting at one of the multiple hotspot locations a wireless transmission sent by the wireless device; extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input and [0036] and [0072]); retrieving the one or more first device fingerprints from a data storage configured to store the one or more first device fingerprints obtained from past one or more first wireless connections of the connected device in the one or more first wireless networks ([0006] - In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method for recognizing a wireless device across multiple hotspot locations, extracting a unique device identifier of the detected device from said wireless transmission, said unique device identifier automatically embedded within said wireless transmission by the detected device without user input; cross-referencing said extracted device identifier with a network accessible database of stored device profiles, each of said device profiles having a respective stored device identifier associated therewith and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module and [0072] and [0189] Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art); and wherein entitling the enhanced service to the connected device further comprises: in response to determining that the present second wireless connection is ongoing ([0006] and [0036] - Similarly, in some embodiments, remote device information or data resides or is stored on the remote device and is compared to a remote device profile stored in a knowledge base operatively coupled to the service access module. Remote device information can be indicative of inherent characteristics of the remote device, such as a MAC address, or can be other information stored on the remote device for identification thereof and [0189] - Similarly, the extracted device identifier can be cross-referenced with stored device profiles such that repeat visitors can be recognized upon subsequent visits to the same or related locations, or again at unrelated locations for the purpose of expanding the device profile database across multiple operators (device profile sharing rules between entities may be set in place to protect user privacy and the like, as will be readily appreciated by the person of ordinary skill in the art). Combination of the device ID, location ID, and timestamp thus provide an indication that a particular device 1302 was present at a particular location at a particular time), enabling the enhanced service to the present second wireless connection ([0038]-[0039] - In one embodiment, authorization constraints can be associated with a service profile and used to directly or indirectly limit or disable specified applications, or to limit or disable network access functionality related to said specified applications. Authorization whitelists can also be used, as an alternative to or in conjunction with authorization constraints, to positively define access to services or to provide minimum service level guarantees and [0042]).
Regarding Claim(s) 14-19; claim(s) 14-19 is/are directed to a/an apparatus associated with the method claimed in claim(s) 1-6. Claim(s) 14-19 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1-6 and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 20; claim(s) 20 is/are directed to a/an medium associated with the method claimed in claim(s) 1. Claim(s) 20 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
/KARI L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439