DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, & 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of Application No. 17/810,842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 1 of the present application, Application No. 17/810,842 claims a solid electrolyte material comprising Li, Zr, Y, Cl, O, and H (all elements but Zr found in claim 1; Zr found in initially filed claim 3), wherein a molar ratio of O to Y is greater than 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.80 (the molar ratio range in claim 1 fits the claimed range).
Regarding claim 2 of the present application, Application No. 17/810,842 claims a molar ratio of O to Y greater than 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.17 (claim 6; claims have significant overlap).
Regarding claim 3 of the present application, Application No. 17/810,842 claims a molar ratio of O to Y greater than 0.07 and less than or equal to 0.17 (claim 6; claims have significant overlap).
Regarding claim 5 of the present application, Application No. 17/810,842 claims the solid electrolyte material of claim 1, wherein a surface region of the solid electrolyte material includes O binding to H (claim 4).
Regarding claim 8 of the present application, Application No. 17/810,842 claims a battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the electrolyte layer contains the solid electrolyte material of claim 1 (entire claim found in claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 2022/0246983 A1, foreign priority date of 08/07/2019), further in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 2020/0266494 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a solid electrolyte material (Abstract) comprising Li, Zr, Y, Cl, and O (all found in Table 6, Examples 36-41). Suzuki fails to explicitly teach H being present in the electrolyte.
However, Takeuchi teaches a secondary battery including a solid electrolyte (Par. 0013). Takeuchi states that it is preferred for the solid electrolyte to have a low melting point (Par. 0056), and the electrolyte is preferred to contain a lithium halide (Par. 0056). Additional examples are provided which contain Li, Zr, Cl, O, and H (Par. 0055-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid electrolyte material taught by Suzuki by incorporating H, as taught by Takeuchi. One of ordinary skill would have done this to lower the melting point of the electrolyte, thus allowing the electrolyte to fill the pores in the positive and negative electrode plates, resulting in strong interfacial contact, as stated in Takeuchi (Par. 0056).
Suzuki fails to teach a molar ratio of O to Y greater than 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.80 in the embodiments provided in Table 6.
However, Suzuki teaches the general formula A2+aE1-b-αGbDcXd (Formula 1), where G may represent Y and D may represent O. G’s subscript b may range from 0-0.5 (Par. 0057), and D’s subscript c may range from 0.01-3 (Par. 0072). These ranges contain many potential ratios, for example, if b is set to 0.5, c may be set from 0.01-0.4 to fit the claimed molar ratio range of 0.01-0.80.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the compounds taught in Table 6, Examples 36-41 with the O:Y molar ratios created by the general formula, both of which are taught by Suzuki. One of ordinary skill could have determined that applying a known technique of controlling the O:Y molar ratio to a known compound with Li, Zr, Y, Cl, and O ready for improvement would yield predictable results of high utility (See MPEP 2143(I)(D), Examples 1-3). Additionally, one of ordinary skill could have determined that setting the molar amount of Y to 0.5 would prevent a decrease in the ionic conductivity of the solid electrolyte (Par. 0069), and setting the molar amount of O to at least 0.01 would result in improved ionic conductivity (Par. 0072), as stated in Suzuki.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki teaches the solid electrolyte material of claim 1, wherein the molar ratio of O to Y is greater than 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.17 (Formula 1, Par. 0057, 0072; if b is set to 0.5, c may be set between 0.01 and 0.085 to fit the claimed range).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki teaches the solid electrolyte material of claim 2, wherein the molar ratio of O to Y is greater than or equal to 0.07 and less than or equal to 0.17 (Formula 1, Par. 0057, 0072; if b is set to 0.5, c may be set between 0.035 and 0.085 to fit the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki teaches the solid electrolyte material of claim 1, further comprising: at least one selected from the group consisting of Mg, Ca, Zn, Sr, Ba, Al, Sc, Ga, Bi, La, Sm, Hf, Ta, and Nb (Par. 0025; Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Al, Sc, Bi, La, Sm, Hf, Ta, and Nb are listed).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki teaches the solid electrolyte material of claim 1, wherein a surface region of the solid electrolyte material includes O binding to H (Par. 0111-0112; A binder is used to bind the electrolyte and an electrode, thus the binder contacts a surface of the electrolyte. The binder may include polyacrylic acids, which include O-H bonds).
Regarding claim 6, modified Suzuki teaches a solid electrolyte as stated above. While modified Suzuki does not provide an X-ray diffraction pattern for the compositions including a peak within each of diffraction angle 2θ ranges of 15.5° - 15.7°, 16.6° - 16.8°, 17.4° - 17.6°, 20.1° - 20.3°, 31.4° - 31.6°, 35.6° - 35.8, 47.0° - 47.2°, and 49.0° - 49.2°, modified Suzuki teaches a composition that entirely overlaps with the claimed composition provided by applicant. Modified Suzuki teaches the compound Li2.5Zr0.5Y0.5OCl4 (Table 6, Example 41), the molar ratios of which are in the ranges of 4.4-5.5 for Li:Y, and 0.8-1.1 for Zr:Y. Suzuki also teaches a molar ratio for Cl:Y of 10.1-12.6 (Par. 0025; Cl may have a subscript of up to 6.1, while Y may have a subscript of up to 0.5. This would correspond to a molar ratio of 12.2). These requirements are stated in claim 7 and specification Par. 100 of the present application. Therefore, because modified Suzuki teaches a composition that renders obvious the composition claimed with the same chemical formula, it is the examiner’s position that the composition of modified Suzuki necessarily provides the claimed X-ray diffraction pattern. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is shifted to the applicant to prove that the compound of the claimed invention and that of the prior art will exhibit different physical properties in X-ray diffraction tests (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977)).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches a solid electrolyte material, wherein a molar ratio of Li to Y is greater than or equal to 4.4 and less than or equal to 5.5 (Table 6, Example 41; Li2.5Zr0.5Y0.5OCl4 has an Li:Y ratio of 5.0); a molar ratio of Zr to Y is greater than or equal to 0.8 and less than or equal to 1.1 (Table 6, Example 41; Li2.5Zr0.5Y0.5OCl4 has a Zr:Y ratio of 1.0); and a molar ratio of Cl to Y is greater than or equal to 10.1 and less than or equal to 12.6 (Formula 1, Par. 0025; Cl may have a subscript of up to 6.1, while Y may have a subscript of up to 0.5. This would correspond to a molar ratio of 12.2).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki teaches a battery (Par. 0048) comprising: a positive electrode (Par. 0048); a negative electrode (Par. 0048); and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Par. 0101), wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and the electrolyte layer contains the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1 (Par. 0048).
Conclusion
/CAMERON M BAIRD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728