DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in consideration of the Applicant’s response on June 8, 2026. Claim 1 is amended by the Applicant. Claims 4, 5, 8 – 10, 12, and 18 – 21 were previously canceled. Claims 13 – 17 and 23 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1 – 3, 6, 7, 11, 22, and 24 -26, where Claims 1 and 11 are in independent form, are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot based on the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6, 7, 11, 21, 22, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPub. 2020/0252381 (hereinafter “Machani”), in view of PGPub. 2014/00282961 (hereinafter “Dorfman”), in further view of PGPub. 2015/0235017 (hereinafter “Oberheide”).
1. Regarding Claim 1, Machani disclose of a method for recovering data associated with loss of a device (D) [Fig. 3; Para. 0036], the method comprising:
a) acquiring a recovery code associated with the device (D), wherein the recovery code is acquired by scanning, using a second device, a scannable code generated after reporting loss of the device [Fig. 3; Para. 0030, 0039; user opens application and scans the provided QR code to register the new device or access protected resource];
b) matching a second inherence factor of a user recovering the data associated with the device (D) with a first inherence factor of a user which is assigned to the device (D), wherein the inherence factors comprise a combination of facial recognition and live detection [Fig. 3; Para. 0029, 0039; entered facial biometrics used as part of the multi-factor authentication], wherein the first inherence factor is acquired when enrolling the device (D)
c) allowing a recovery of the data associated with the device (D) upon the second inherence factor of the user recovering the device and the first inherence factor of the user which is assigned to the device sufficiently matching [Fig. 3; Para. 0030-31; aggregated identity assurance value satisfies predefined criteria, including facial biometrics, access to protected resources is granted];
Machani discloses that the authentication data associated with the user is enrolled with the authentication server and that biometrics can be captured with a device’s camera [Para. 0026, 0034-35]. Machani also discloses that the authentication procedures can be performed using backend service [Para. 0035, 0037-38, and 0046]. Machani, however, does not specifically disclose that the first inherence factor is acquired by instructing the user to take a photo or video sequence with a camera of the device (D) or that, after acquiring the recovery code in a), the matching is performed by using the recovery code to connect the second device with the authentication server and the second inherence factor is transmitted from the second device to the authentication server, and wherein the matching is performed at the authentication server by comparing the second inherence factor against the first inherence factor stored on the authentication server.
Dorfman discloses a system and method for authenticating a user on a mobile device using a QR code [Figs. 1 and 4; Para. 0039-41]. Dorfman further discloses that the mobile device processes the QR code to extract the URL associated with the authentication server and the unique ID that were stored in the QR code to send an authentication request to the authentication server, where the user then goes through an authentication process (wherein, after acquiring the recovery code in a), the matching is performed by using the recovery code to connect the second device with the authentication server and {authentication information} is transmitted from the second device to the authentication server, and wherein the matching is performed at the authentication server) [Fig. 4; Para. 0019, 0039-41]. Dorfman also discloses biometric authentication of a user by a server when registering a new device (comparing the second inherence factor against the first inherence factor stored on the authentication server) [Para. 0028-29, 0032].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the teachings of Dorfman with Machani since both systems utilize QR codes to assist in authentication users to a service. The combination would enable the authentication process performed by the backend servers to be access through the QR code to register a new device. The motivation is to utilize a simplified method of transmitting information to one device to connect and authenticate with an authentication service so the user does not have to remember the address of the authentication service for user convenience.
Dorfman further discloses of biometric authentication of a user when registering a new device [Para. 0028-29]. Dorfman, however, does not disclose or suggest that the first inherence factor is acquired by instructing the user to take a photo or video sequence with a camera of the device (D).
Oberheide discloses a system and method of registering a user device with biometric credentials [Abstract]. Oberheide further discloses that when a user registers a biometric profile, the camera on the device can be used to obtain the facial sampled used to create the profile (the first inherence factor is acquired by instructing the user to take a photo or video sequence with a camera of the device (D)) [Para. 0027-29]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the current invention to incorporate the teachings of Oberheide with Machani since both systems perform biometric authentication. The combination enables the user device to use the existing sensors of the device to sample and register biometric readings for wider application to mobile devices (obvious to one skilled in the art).
2. Regarding Claim 2, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Machani further discloses of reporting a loss of the device (D) to be recovered to a higher level system [Fig. 1; Para. 0028; account recovery system].
3. Regarding Claim 3, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 2. Machani further discloses that after reporting the loss of the device (D) to be recovered to the higher level system, the higher level system generates the recovery code in step a) [Fig. 3; Para. 0030].
4. Regarding Claim 6, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Machani further discloses that the inherence factors each comprise multiple different inherence factors [Fig. 4; Para. 0029, 0032, 0034; multiple assurance techniques can be aggregated to meet authentication criteria].
5. Regarding Claim 7, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Machani further discloses that the method is executed with an App stored on the device (D) [Para. 0015, 0030].
6. Regarding Claim 8, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 7. Dorfman further discloses for enrollment of the App, the App is downloaded and registered at an authentication server assigning the device (D) on which the App is running to the user [Para. 0023, 0046].
7. Regarding Claim 9, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 8. Machani further discloses that the App is registered by acquiring the inherence factor of the user which is assigned to the device (D) [Fig. 4; Para. 0034-35].
8. Regarding Claim 10, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 8. Machani further discloses that the acquired inherence factor of the user which is assigned to the device (D) during registration is stored in the authentication server and used in step b) [Figs. 3 and 4; Para. 0028-29, 0034-35].
9. Regarding Claim 11, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Machani further discloses of an App stored on a device, the App comprising instructions for carrying out the method of claim 1 [Para. 0015, 0030].
10. Regarding Claim 21, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 7. Oberheide further discloses that the device (D) is a device on which the App was originally stored, was lost, and then found [Para. 0061].
11. Regarding Claim 22, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 7. Oberheide, specifically discloses that the App is downloaded on the second device after the device (D) has been reported lost [Para. 0050; new device installs app to register].
12. Regarding Claim 24, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 7. Machani, specifically discloses that the inherence factor is only requested when at least one of the App is used for a first time after a loss of the device (D) has been reported or after the App is initially installed [Fig. 4; Para. 0034-35; registration process].
13. Regarding Claim 25, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Machani further discloses that the recovery code is generated automatically when software on the device (D) determines the device (D) is lost [Para. 0025, 0027-28, 0030].
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, in further view of PGPub. 2016/0261411 (hereinafter “Yau”).
14. Regarding Claim 26, Machani, in view of Dorfman and Oberheide, discloses the limitations of Claim 25. Machani, Dorfman, or Obreheide, however, do not specifically disclose that the software on the device (D) determines that the device (D) is lost when multiple incorrect pin codes are used to attempt to unlock the device (D).
Yau discloses a system and method for authenticating user access to computer resources [Abstract]. Yau further discloses that when the incorrect PIN is entered a predetermined number of times, the PIN is blocked and the user has to obtain a reset code from system admin (software on the device (D) determines that the device (D) is lost when multiple incorrect pin codes are used to attempt to unlock the device (D)) [Para. 0327-331]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the teachings of Yau with Machani since both systems authenticate users on a user device. The combination would enable that Machani system to prevent a device from being unlocked with unlimited number of attempts. The motivation to do so is to improve security for the user device (obvious to one skilled in the art).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/TAE K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496