DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 6/2/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-6 and 8-9 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-9 are presently pending in the application.
Claims 2-9 are allowed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first adjustment member…configured to adjust” in claim 4 (corresponding structure is at least a BOA dial [0024]).
“a second adjustment member…configured to adjust” in claim 4 (corresponding structure is at least a BOA dial [0024]).
“a protruding member disposed to protrude” in claim 6 (corresponding structure shown in fig. 1)
“a first adjustment member…configured to elastically wind” in claim 8 (corresponding structure is at least a BOA dial [0024]).
“a second adjustment member…configured to elastically wind” in claim 8 (corresponding structure is at least a BOA dial [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiede et al. (5,172,703) in view of Dean (2023/0263690), Johnson et al. (6,099,446) and Hall et al. (2024/0130881).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1-4 Tiede discloses a hip joint and ankle connecting type gait assistance apparatus comprising: a waist strap 4 configured to be worn around a waist; but is silent regarding a mid-strap configured to be worn around a knee; and a first sheath member configured to be installed on the mid-strap on a side of the knee. However, in fig. 2C Dean teaches a mid-strap 224 configured to be worn around a knee; a first sheath member (221 at the front or back side of the knee) configured to be installed on the mid-strap on a side of a knee. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tiede’s apparatus with the addition of a mid-strap and first sheath member, as taught by Dean, for the purpose of providing support and direction for the tension control strap. The modified Tiede discloses a shoe for connection to tension straps, but is silent regarding a fore foot strap configured to be worn on a front part of a foot. However, in fig. 1 Johnson teaches a fore foot strap configured to be worn on a front part of a foot and also extends towards the rear of the foot and Dean teaches a fore foot strap 203 configured to be worn on a front part of a foot that straps 218 are directly attached to. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tiede’s shoe with a fore foot strap that extends towards the rear of the foot and allows for direct coupling to the tension straps, as taught by Johnson and Dean, for the purpose of providing an alternate foot structure for connection to the tension straps having the predictable results of attaching the tension straps. The modified Tiede discloses a first strap (8 Tiede) configured to be fixed at a first end of the first strap to the waist strap at a rear part of the waist (Fig. 1-2 Tiede, Col. 2, ll. 55-60) and fixed at a second end of the first strap to the fore foot strap (Fig. 1 and 4, Col. 2, ll. 55-62 Tiede, Fig. 2C Dean, Fig. 1 Johnson) through the first sheath member (Fig. 2C Dean) such that the first strap is not fixed to the mid-strap and moves relative to the mid-strap while sliding through the first sheath member ([0023] Dean). The modified Tiede is silent regarding that the tension straps are wires. However, Hall teaches elastic wires 108 used in ambulation apparatus [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Tiede’s elastic tension strap with an elastic wire, as taught by Hall, for the purpose of providing an alternate elastic tension material having the predictable results of assisting in ambulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant argues the individual references on pages 10-16, however a 103 rejection was made in which various references are applied to teach the missing limitations as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant argues on page 16 that Tiede, Dean, Johnson and Hall fail to teach a configuration in which a first end of the first wire is fixed to a rear part of the waist strap, a second end of the first wire is fixed to the fore foot strap, and the first wire between the first and second ends is not fixed to the mid-strap and moves relative to the mid-strap while sliding through the first sheath member installed on the mid-strap at a lateral side of the knee.
This argument is not taken well since the combined references do teach a configuration in which a first end of the first wire ([0043] Hall) is fixed to a rear part of the waist strap (Fig. 1-2 Tiede, Col. 2, ll. 55-60), a second end of the first wire is fixed to the fore foot strap (Fig. 1 and 4, Col. 2, ll. 55-62 Tiede, Fig. 2C Dean, Fig. 1 Johnson), and the first wire between the first and second ends is not fixed to the mid-strap (224 Dean) and moves relative to the mid-strap while sliding through the first sheath member installed on the mid-strap at a lateral side of the knee ([0023] Dean).
Applicant argues on page 16 that the references teach that the first wire is fixed to the mid-strap.
Examiner disagrees since Dean teaches connectors 221 that are sheaths that bands 218 are guided through ([0023] Dean), and therefore the bands are not fixed to the mid-strap.
Applicant argues on page 16 that the first sheath member does not maintain the first wire so as not to be separated from the lateral side of the knee, while allowing relative movement of the wire. Further on page 12 applicant argues that Dean’s connector 221 is described as a D-ring, loop, grommet, clip, latch, or the like, and is different from the first sheath member, which stably guides a path of the wire such that the wire slides while being maintained in close contact with a lateral side of the knee.
First, the word “lateral” in not found in the claim language. Second, as detailed above, Dean teaches connectors 221 that are sheaths that bands 218 are guided through ([0023] Dean), and therefore the bands are not fixed to the mid-strap and do stably guide a path of the modified wire such that the wire slides while being maintained in close contact with a side of the knee. It is noted that the definition of a sheath is 1. a case or close-fitting covering, esp. one for the blade of a sword, dagger, or the like. Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary, © 2010 K Dictionaries Ltd. Copyright 2005, 1997, 1991 by Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. Therefore, Dean’s D-ring meets the definition of a sheath since the D-ring is a close-fitting covering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785