DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jung et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0303405).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, Jung et al. teaches a secondary particle precursor for a positive electrode active material comprising particles having a core and a shell surrounding the core which meets the limitation of precursor particles of a positive electrode active material (paragraph 11). Jung et al. teaches a secondary particle of dense nickel-based lithium transition metal hydroxide prepared by a coprecipitation method is used for a precursor which meets the limitation of particles of a lithium transition metal composite hydroxide or a lithium transition metal composite carbonate, wherein the particles are lithium-containing precursor particles of a positive electrode active material, the particles are a coprecipitate of lithium and a transition metal element from a mixed solution containing a water-soluble salt of lithium, and a water-soluble salt of a transition metal (paragraph 53). Jung et al. teaches the secondary particle precursor is 6±2 micron which is encompassed by each of the particles includes lithium and the transition metal element, the particles have an average particle size of 2.0 µm or more (paragraph 11). Jung et al. does not teach and in the case of obtaining a reflected electron image of the particles with a scanning electron microscope, a domain observed as a brightest region in the particles has a maximum diameter less than 1 µm. It is clear that the precursor particle taught by Jung et al. would necessarily produce a reflected electron image of the particles with a scanning electron microscope, a domain observed as a brightest region in the particles has a maximum diameter less than 1 µm” because the precursor particle is the same or obvious variant of the precursor material claimed (paragraph 36).” Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 2, Jung et al. teaches nickel-based lithium transition metal hydroxide with a specified formula which meets the limitation of wherein an atomic ratio of lithium to the transition metal element is 0.75 or more and 1.25 or less (paragraph 15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 09/07/2026