DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0393502).
Regarding claim 1, Yun et al. teaches a nickel-based active material precursor for a lithium secondary battery, wherein each of the particles includes lithium and a transition metal element (paragraph 4). Yun et al. teaches the nickel-based active material precursor, the particulate structure has a size of about 2 μm to about 7 μm which is encompassed by the particles have an average particle size of 2.0 μm or more (paragraph 41). Yun et al. teaches the size (mean particle diameter) of the lithium precursor may be about 5 μm to about 15 μm which is encompassed by the particles have an average particle size of 2.0 μm or more (paragraph 71). Yun et al. teaches mixing/milling the nickel-based active material precursor and the lithium precursor (paragraph 71). Yun et al. does not teach in the case of obtaining a reflected electron image of the particles with a scanning electron microscope, a domain observed as a brightest region in the particles has a maximum diameter less than 1 μm.
Paragraphs 32 and 33 of Applicant’s Published Specification recites [0032] In one particle containing Li and the transition metal element, in a case where Li distribution (i.e., dispersion state) is not uniform, a region where transition metal elements are collectively present is generated and forms the brightest region in the particle in the reflected electron image. This region is herein referred to as a “domain.” Thus, the size of this domain is closely related to a dispersion state of Li in the particle.
[0033] In this embodiment, the state where the maximum diameter of the domain is less than 1 μm means that Li is highly dispersed in the particle.
It is clear that the mixed/milled nickel-based active material precursor and the lithium precursor taught by Yun et al. would necessarily produce a reflected electron image of the particles with a scanning electron microscope, a domain observed as a brightest region in the particles has a maximum diameter less than 1 μm because the mixing/milling would highly disperse the lithium particles. Further, given the particle in Yun is substantially identical to the particle used in the present invention, it is clear that the particle of Yun would be capable to be convertible to a lithium transition metal composite oxide by firing, as presently claimed. Furthermore, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 2, Yun et al. Lia(Ni1-x-y-z CoxMnyMz)O2, Formula 2 wherein, in Formula 2, M is an element selected from the group consisting of B, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Ti, W, V, Cr, Fe, Cu, Zr, and Al, 1.0≤a≤1.3, x≤(1−x−y−z), y≤(1−x−y−z), 0<x<1, 0≤y<1, 0≤z<1, and 0<1−x−y−z<1 which meets the limitation of wherein an atomic ratio of lithium to the transition metal element is 0.75 or more and 1.25 or less (paragraphs 60 and 61).
Regarding claim 3, Yun et al. teaches raw material include metal carbonates (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 4, Yun et al. teaches amorphous particles (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 5, Yun et al. teaches a nickel-based active material precursor for a lithium secondary battery which meets the limitation of wherein the transition metal element includes at least Ni (paragraph 21).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 04/17/2026