DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7 and 10-11 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action dated 30 January 2026; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retractable jettisoning device” and “control device” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Such corresponding structure(s) is/are: for the “retractable jettisoning device”, a fluid manifold having at least one inlet and at least one outlet, as described in paragraphs 44-48 and Figures 5 and 6; and, for the control device, a gun having a trigger, a control panel and a grip handle, as described in paragraph 52 and Figure 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazes (US 7,303,168) in view of Parker (US 2013/0199804).
Regarding claim 1, Lazes discloses an aircraft (5, fig. 3) comprising:
a fuselage extending along a longitudinal direction (fig. 3) and a rear door (8) configured to open while the aircraft is in flight (fig. 1);
a fluid storing and jettisoning system (10, see fig. 4), the fluid storing and jettisoning system comprising a removable one-piece modular assembly comprising a stand (35), a tank (21), at least one valve (24), at least one tube (22), and a retractable jettisoning device (30), the retractable jettisoning device configured to take up a set-back position in which the retractable jettisoning device is retracted into the aircraft so that the rear door closes (col. 4, ln. 54-60), and a jettisoning position in which the rear door is opened and the retractable jettisoning device projects outside of the aircraft and beyond the rear door (col. 4, ln. 43-49; fig. 5 and annotated figure below);
the at least one valve for allowing or preventing a jettisoning of fluid and controlling a flow rate of jettisoned fluid and a jettisoning duration (col. 4, ln. 25-30).
Lazes does not disclose a control device for controlling the fluid storing and jettisoning system, the control device connected to the at least one valve to control a flow rate of jettisoned fluid and a jettisoning duration depending on a speed of the aircraft and at least one parametrized criterion, wherein the at least one parametrized criterion comprises: a jettisoning altitude of the aircraft; a wind speed; a height of a vegetation; a type of a vegetation; or any combination thereof.
Parker teaches a device for controlling a fluid storing and jettisoning system of a host aircraft (par. 35; fig. 1), the fluid storing and jettisoning system comprising a fluid tank (40) and at least one tube (46), the device for controlling the fluid storing and jettisoning system comprising: a control device (80) connected to at least one valve (60) for allowing or preventing a jettisoning of water (par. 36), wherein the control device is configured to control a flow rate of jettisoned fluid and a jettisoning duration depending on a speed of the aircraft and at least one parametrized criterion (par. 7 – “the system may compensate for aircraft speed, altitude, pitch, and location”), wherein the least one parametrized criterion comprises: a jettisoning altitude of the aircraft (par. 7 – “the system may compensate for…altitude”); a wind speed; a height of a vegetation; a type of a vegetation; or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aircraft of Lazes to further include a control device for controlling the fluid storing and jettisoning system, the control device connected to the at least one valve to control a flow rate of jettisoned fluid and a jettisoning duration depending on a speed of the aircraft and at least one parametrized criterion, wherein the at least one parametrized criterion comprises: a jettisoning altitude of the aircraft; a wind speed; a height of a vegetation; a type of a vegetation; or any combination thereof, as taught by Parker. Such a modification would allow the fluid to be discharged in a controlled manner depending on the flight characteristics of the aircraft so that the fluid is jettisoned over an area most effectively (see Parker – par. 7, 77).
Regarding claim 2, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 1, and
Parker further teaches wherein the tank has at least one first opening configured to be connected respectively to said at least one tube for entry of a fluid into the tank in a leak-tight manner (par. 77 – inherent since it has a “fill valve for tank loading”), and
Lazes further discloses at least one second opening for jettisoning the fluid (fig. 4), and wherein the at least one valve is configured to shut off the at least one second opening (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the aircraft of Lazes to include at least one first opening configured to be connected respectively to said at least one tube for entry of a fluid into the tank in a leak-tight manner, as also taught by Parker, since this would allow the tank to be refilled.
Regarding claim 3, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 2, and Lazes further discloses a number of openings (33), and Parker further teaches wherein said control device is configured to control an opening and a closing of a determined number of openings in order to adjust an amount of water jettisoned depending on at least one criterion (par. 38 – “the system can control the retardant discharge rate by the number of gates that are opened as well as by how far each gate is opened”, “control system measures a plurality of variables”).
Regarding claim 6, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 1, and Parker further teaches wherein the control device further comprises a processor (par. 41) configured to determine the flow rate of jettisoned fluid and the jettisoning duration based on data provided to the processor and configured to control the at least one valve in a manner corresponding to a result obtained (par. 42, 85).
Regarding claim 10, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the control device is positioned in the aircraft such that the least one parametrized criterion is parametrized by a pilot, a co-pilot, a third person, an operator, or any combination thereof (par. 77 – “the pilot to configure the display system and adjust the drop coverage levels”).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazes in view of Parker, and further in view of Hutter et al. (US 2006/0260826).
Regarding claim 4, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 1, and Parker further teaches comprising a control panel (88). Lazes in view of Parker does not further disclose the device comprising: a gun provided with a trigger.
Hutter teaches a fluid storing and jettisoning system comprising a gun (77) provided with a trigger (78, see par. 62, 81) and a control panel (figs. 9, 10).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Lazes in view of Parker to further comprise a gun provided with a trigger, as taught by Hutter, since this was a known means for providing further control over the fluid delivery operations for jettisoning (Hutter, par. 62).
Regarding claim 5, Lazes in view of Parker and Hutter discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 4, and Hutter further teaches wherein when the trigger is activated, the at least one valve opens according to a determined flow rate of water jettisoned (par. 62 – “to enable user definable, complete or partial discharge of the retardant payload by depressing the joystick trigger 78, for as long or short a time as required”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazes in view of Parker, and further in view of Bui (US 2004/0069875).
Regarding claim 7, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 1, and Parker further teaches wherein the control device further comprises a processor (par. 41) configured to determine the flow rate of jettisoned fluid and the jettisoning duration based on data provided to the processor (par. 42, 85). But Lazes in view of Parker does not disclose that this data is a soil over which the aircraft is flying as indicated by a recorded map.
Bui teaches a device for controlling a fluid storing and jettisoning system (par. 2; fig. 1) of a host aircraft (par. 7 – the “vehicle” could be an aircraft), the fluid storing and jettisoning system comprising a fluid tank (104) and at least one tube (fig. 8), the device for controlling the fluid storing and jettisoning system comprising: a control device (110) connected to at least one valve (116) for allowing or preventing a jettisoning of water (par. 45), wherein the control device is configured to control a flow rate of jettisoned fluid and a jettisoning duration depending on a speed of the host aircraft and at least one parametrized criterion (par. 46 – positioning data and speed), and further comprising a processor (par. 45 – the controller 110 is a computer) is configured to determine the flow rate of jettisoned fluid and the jettisoning duration based on a soil (par. 10) over which the aircraft is flying as indicated by a recorded map (par. 46).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor of Lazes in view of Parker to determine the flow rate of jettisoned fluid and the jettisoning duration based on a soil over which the aircraft is flying as indicated by a recorded map, as taught by Bui. Such a modification was known to allow the precise amount of fluid to be applied to each portion of the ground.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazes in view of Parker, and further in view of Vian et al. (US 2012/0261144).
Regarding claim 11, Lazes in view of Parker discloses the aircraft described regarding claim 1, but not further wherein the control device is connected to the storing and jettisoning system by a wireless system and is controlled from the ground.
Vian teaches an aircraft for fighting fires that is connected to a control device by a wireless system and is controlled from the ground (par. 41; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Lazes in view of Parker to connect it to a control device by a wireless system and control it from the ground, as taught by Vian, since this would remove the operator from a potentially dangerous position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Lazes is interpreted to disclose the newly added limitation of amended claim 1, as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752