Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10, 12-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clements, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0214519.
Clements, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0214519.
Clements discloses a muffler preform comprising fibers which are impregnated with a small molecular sugar comprising a sugar alcohol, wherein the sugar can be sucrose, galactose, lactose. See paragraph 0024. The sugar used as a binder. See paragraph 0026. The sugar is melted and therefore is melt processed. See paragraph 0026. Clements lists the particular sugars which are claimed. In addition to glass fibers, Clements also teaches that rockwool can also be used. Note that rockwool is a nonwoven fabric which meets the limitations of claim 1 because the basalt is formed into fibers which are gathered and compressed into a mat.
Clements differs from the claimed invention because it does not teach the proportions of the additive and the sugar component or the particular properties obtained.
However, with regard to the particular proportions, it would have been obvious to have selected a suitable amount of the binder which provided a strong product without using excess materials.
Further with regard to the particular properties obtained, since Clements teaches the same materials used in the same ways, it is reasonable to expect that the particular properties to have the claimed improvements and it further would have been obvious to have selected the proportions of binder and fibers which produced a material having the desired density, flexural strength, flexural modulus and compressive strength without using excessive materials.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10, 12-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al, Novel Sugar Alcohol/Carbonized Kapok Fiber Composites as Form-Stable Phase-Change Materials with Exceptionally High Latent Heat for Thermal Energy Storage.
An teaches a composite material comprising a fibrous material such as carbonized kapok fiber and a phase change material which can be a sugar alcohol such as erythritol or mannitol. See page 4849, first column, first full paragraph. The sugar alcohol can be melted and combined with the kapok fiber. See page 4852, columns 1 and 2 as well as page 4854. With regard to claims 16-20, An teaches that the material is renewable, clean and sustainable. Since the binder in An can be formed into an aqueous solution since it is known that sugars can be dissolved in water or melt processed, it would have been obvious to have recycled the material of An by either dissolving the sugar or breaking down the material and melting it to form a reusable pellet.
An does not teach the does not teach the proportions of the additive and the sugar component or the particular properties obtained.
However, with regard to the particular proportions, it would have been obvious to have selected a suitable amount of the binder which provided a strong product without using excess materials.
Further with regard to the particular properties obtained, since An teaches the same materials used in the same ways, it is reasonable to expect that the particular properties to have the claimed improvements and it further would have been obvious to have selected the proportions of binder and fibers which produced a material having the desired density, flexural strength, flexural modulus and compressive strength without using excessive materials.
Claim(s) 6-9, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An as applied to claims above, and further in view of McNeil et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0216737.
An differs from the claimed invention because it does not teach providing a coating.
However, McNeil teaches providing a protective coating on phase change materials. See paragraph 0027. The coating can include those claimed. See paragraph 0029.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a coating on the structure of An et al in order to protect the phase change structure.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to Clements, Applicant argues that Clements teaches continuous glass fibers which are not included in the claimed additives. However, Clement also teaches that the material may be made by including rockwool, which is basalt fibers which are formed and then collected and formed into a mat and which is therefore a nonwoven fabric. Since fabrics are listed as claimed additives, Clements meets the limitations of claim 1 as amended.
With regard to An, Applicant argues that An is not concerned with forming a strong product. However, An would necessarily be concerned with forming a product that had sufficient strength to be functional and durable. Additionally, the amount of carbonized kapok fiber in An is within the range of 5-60 wt% as claimed. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789