DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10-11 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ATLURI et al. (US 2019/0232793 A1, hereinafter ATLURI).
Regarding claim 1, ATLURI discloses a vehicle electrical control system for a vehicle comprising:
a first battery having a first nominal voltage (See Fig.1, Item#38, discloses a primary energy storage device comprising a battery with voltage V1);
a second battery having a second nominal voltage that is lower than the first nominal voltage (See Fig.1, Item#50, discloses secondary energy storage device comprising a battery with voltage V2. Pars.25-26, disclose the primary battery 40 is a 48V battery and the secondary battery is a 12V battery);
a single battery management system (BMS) electrically connected to both the first and second batteries (See Fig.1, Item#34 and Pars.27 and 32, discloses a controller which controls the operation of the converter and isolation switches 40 and 60 in the primary and the secondary storage devices); and
a single ground terminal to which both the first and second batteries are referenced (See Fig.1, discloses the negative terminals of the primary energy storage 40 and the secondary energy storage are tied together).
Regarding claim 11, ATLURI discloses a vehicle electrical control system for a vehicle comprising:
a starting battery configured to supply power to a starter motor coupled to an engine of the vehicle (See Fig.1, Item#38, discloses a primary energy storage device comprising a battery with voltage V1. Fig.1, Item#36 and Par.22, discloses a starter is coupled to the power train and electrically connected to the primary energy storage device);
a house battery configured to supply power to a plurality of loads on the vehicle (See Fig.1, Item#50, discloses secondary energy storage device comprising a battery with voltage V2. Fig.1, Items#52 and 58 and Par.29, disclose a second voltage load 52 and a system load 58 which are fed from secondary battery 50 at voltage V2); and
a single battery management system (BMS) electrically connected to both the starting battery and the house battery (See Fig.1, Item#34 and Pars.27 and 32, discloses a controller which controls the operation of the converter and isolation switches 40 and 60 in the primary and the secondary storage devices).
Regarding claims 5-6, ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first battery is configured to supply power to a first load (See Fig.1, discloses primary battery 38 supplies power to first load 36 comprising a starter) and the second battery is configured to supply power to a different second load (See Fig.1, and Par.29, disclose secondary battery 50 provides power to load 58 comprising radio, display screen, power windows, interior lights, etc.).
Regarding claims 10 and 16 (claim 10 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first battery comprises a first plurality of cells connected in series with one another (See Fig.1, Item#38 discloses a primary energy storage comprising a plurality of batteries connected in series);
wherein the second battery comprises a second plurality of cells connected in series with one another (See Fig.1, Item#50, discloses a secondary energy storage comprising a plurality of batteries connected in series); and
wherein the first plurality of cells is not connected in series with the second plurality of cells (See Fig.1, Items#38 and 50, disclose a primary energy storage and a secondary energy storage connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 17, ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 11 as discussed above, further comprising a single ground terminal to which both the starting battery and the house battery are referenced (See Fig.1, discloses the negative terminals of the primary energy storage 40 and the secondary energy storage are tied together).
Regarding claim 18, ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the starting battery has a first nominal voltage and the house battery has a second nominal voltage that is lower than the first nominal voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, 13, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATLURI in view of CIACCIO et al. (US 11,215,156 B2, hereinafter CIACCIO).
Regarding claim 19, ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 11 as discussed above, However, ATLURI does not disclose further comprising a heater adjacent the starting battery, wherein the house battery is configured to supply power to the heater.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle dual voltage battery system comprising a heater adjacent the starting battery (See Fig.1A, discloses a heater 142 adjacent starting battery 110. Col.5, lines 63-65, disclose the battery 110 is used to provide power to the starter 174), wherein the house battery is configured to supply power to the heater (See Col.2, lines 14-18, disclose applying power to the heater from battery 108, Col.7, line 59 to Col.8, line 2, disclose the battery 108 supplies power to vehicle loads while the battery 110 supplies power to the starter).
ATLURI and CIACCIO are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI with the teachings of CIACCIO by adding a heater adjacent the starting battery, wherein the house battery is configured to supply power to the heater for the benefit of improving battery performance since battery performance is degraded at cold temperatures.
Regarding claims 9 and 15 (claim 9 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a DC/DC converter electrically coupled to the BMS and the first and second batteries (See Fig.1, Item#48 and Par.26, disclose a DC/DC converter connected between the first and second batteries).
However, ATLURI does not disclose wherein the BMS is configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries; and
wherein the BMS is configured to control the DC/DC converter to charge the second battery with power from the first battery dependent on the respective states of charge of the first and second batteries.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS (See Fig.1A, Item#112), wherein the BMS is configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries (See Fig.1A, and 1B, discloses a BMS comprising a first battery monitoring module 192 and a second battery monitoring module 194); and
wherein the BMS is configured to control the DC/DC converter to charge the second battery with power from the first battery dependent on the respective states of charge of the first and second batteries (See Fig.1B, discloses control module 196 and Col.11, lines 61-67, disclose the control module controls the converter to charge the starter battery from the accessory/load battery).
ATLURI and CIACCIO are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI with the teachings of CIACCIO by using the BMS to monitor the first and the second batteries and to control the DC/DC converter to charge the starter battery from the accessory battery when the SOC falls below a threshold for the benefit of ensuring that starting battery has sufficient charge to start the vehicle.
Regarding claims 7 and 13 (claim 7 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 1 as discussed above, However ATLURI does not explicitly disclose further comprising a first analog front end electrically connected between the first battery and the BMS, and a second analog front end electrically connected between the second battery and the BMS.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS (See Fig.1A, Item#112), wherein the BMS is configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries (See Fig.1A, and 1B, discloses a BMS comprising a first battery monitoring module 192 and a second battery monitoring module 194). The examiner explain that is it implicit that an analog to digital converter (Analog Front End) exists between each battery and the power management module to convert the sensor values to digital values that can be used by the power management module.
ATLURI and CIACCIO are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI with the teachings of CIACCIO by adding a first analog front end electrically connected between the first battery and the BMS, and a second analog front end electrically connected between the second battery and the BMS for the benefit of allowing the BMS to monitor the first and second batteries.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATLURI in view of HAYES (US 5,767,658, hereinafter HAYES).
Regarding claim 2, ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 1 as discussed above, However, ATLURI does not disclose wherein the first battery has a higher cranking amps rating than the second battery.
HAYES discloses an electrical system for a vehicle, comprising a first battery and a second battery, wherein the first battery has a higher cranking amps rating than the second battery (See Fig.2 and Col.3, lines 34-51, discloses a starting battery 14 and an accessory battery 16. Also discloses that the starting battery has sufficient cold cranking amps while cold cranking amps are not required of the accessory battery. The accessory battery is recited as a deep cycle battery).
ATLURI and HAYES are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI with the teachings of HAYES such that the first battery has a higher cranking amps rating than the second battery for the benefit of providing a stating battery capable of starting an engine in freezing temperatures.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATLURI in view of HAYES and in further view of CIACCIO.
Regarding claim 3, ATLURI and HAYES disclose the vehicle electrical control system of claim 2 as discussed above, However, ATLURI and HAYES do not disclose further comprising a heater adjacent the first battery, wherein the second battery is configured to supply power to the heater.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle dual voltage battery system comprising a heater adjacent the starting battery (See Fig.1A, discloses a heater 142 adjacent starting battery 110. Col.5, lines 63-65, disclose the battery 110 is used to provide power to the starter 174), wherein the house battery is configured to supply power to the heater (See Col.2, lines 14-18, disclose applying power to the heater from battery 108, Col.7, line 59 to Col.8, line 2, disclose the battery 108 supplies power to vehicle loads while the battery 110 supplies power to the starter).
ATLURI, HAYES and CIACCIO are analogous art since they all deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI and HAYES with the teachings of CIACCIO by adding a heater adjacent the starting battery, wherein the house battery is configured to supply power to the heater for the benefit of improving battery performance since battery performance is degraded at cold temperatures.
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATLURI in view of CIACCIO and in further view of TERADA et al. (JP 2016107878, hereinafter TERADA).
Regarding claims 8 and 14 (claim 8 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising an alternator electrically coupled to the BMS and the first and second batteries (See Fig.1, discloses a generator 30 electrically connected to the BMS 34 and batteries 38 and 50).
However, ATLURI does not disclose wherein the BMS is configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries; and
wherein the BMS is configured to charge the first and second batteries with power from the alternator dependent upon the respective states of charge of the first and second batteries.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries (See Fig.1A, and 1B, discloses a BMS comprising a first battery monitoring module 192 and a second battery monitoring module 194),
wherein the BMS is configured to charge the first battery from the alternator dependent upon the respective states of charge of the first battery (See Col.7, line 64 to Col.8, line 2. The first battery of CIACCIO corresponds to the second battery claimed by the applicant i.e. accessory battery).
ATLURI and CIACCIO are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI with the teachings of CIACCIO by using the BMS to monitor the SOC of the first battery and the second battery for the benefit of protecting the batteries against overcharging and over discharging.
However, ATLURI and CIACCIO do not disclose the alternator is used to charge the first battery (i.e. starter battery).
TERADA discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising an alternator used to charge a first battery and a second battery (See Par.9 and Fig.1, discloses an alternator 3 for charging a main battery 1 and an auxiliary battery 7).
ATLURI, CIACCIO and TERADA are analogous art since they all deal with vehicle charging systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI and CIACCIO with the teachings of TERADA by using the alternator to charge the first battery and the second battery for the benefit of ensuring both the starter battery and the accessory battery are charged to operate vehicle loads and provide power to starter.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATLURI in view of TANABE et al. (US 2024/0222967 A1, hereinafter TANABE).
Regarding claim 12, ATLURI discloses the vehicle electrical control system of claim 11 as discussed above, However, ATLURI does not disclose wherein the BMS is configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the starting battery and the house battery;
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the house battery as long as the house battery has a sufficient state of charge; and
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the starting battery in response to the house battery not having a sufficient state of charge.
TANABE discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS configured to monitor a state of charge of a house battery (See Fig.4 and Par.68, disclose a detection circuit which detects a reduction in charge of low voltage battery 21 and sends the detection result to control device 24);
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the house battery as long as the house battery has a sufficient state of charge (See Par.34, discloses the control device 24 receives its power VCC from the low voltage battery 21 via power supply circuit 23. Pars.41, 66-68, disclose the low voltage battery continues to supply operating power to the control circuit until the control circuit detects a reduction in the voltage of the low-voltage battery 21. The control circuit 24 then activates switch 44 and power is provided from main battery 11 to the control circuit via auxiliary power supply circuit); and
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the starting battery in response to the house battery not having a sufficient state of charge (Pars.41, 66-68, disclose the low voltage battery continues to supply operating power to the control circuit until the control circuit detects a reduction in the voltage of the low-voltage battery 21. The control circuit 24 then activates switch 44 and power is provided from main battery 11 to the control circuit via auxiliary power supply circuit).
ATLURI and TANABE are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI with the teachings of TANABE by monitoring the low voltage battery and that the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the house battery as long as the house battery has a sufficient state of charge, wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the starting battery in response to the house battery not having a sufficient state of charge for the benefit of ensuring that the BMS continues its operation even in the case of depletion of the house battery by receiving power from the starting battery.
However, ATLURI and TANABE do not explicitly disclose the BMS monitors the state of charge of the starting battery.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries (See Fig.1A, and 1B, discloses a BMS comprising a first battery monitoring module 192 and a second battery monitoring module 194).
ATLURI, TANABE and CIACCIO are analogous art since they all deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI and TANABE with the teachings of CIACCIO by using the BMS to monitor the SOC of the first battery and the second battery for the benefit of protecting the batteries against overcharging and over discharging.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATLURI in view of HAYES and TANABE and in further view of CIACCIO.
Regarding claim 4, ATLURI and HAYES disclose the vehicle electrical control system of claim 2, However, ATLURI and HAYES do not disclose wherein the BMS is configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries;
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the second battery as long as the second battery has a sufficient state of charge; and
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the first battery in response to the second battery not having a sufficient state of charge.
TANABE discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS configured to monitor a state of charge of a house battery (See Fig.4 and Par.68, disclose a detection circuit which detects a reduction in charge of low voltage battery 21 and sends the detection result to control device 24);
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the house battery as long as the house battery has a sufficient state of charge (See Par.34, discloses the control device 24 receives its power VCC from the low voltage battery 21 via power supply circuit 23. Pars.41, 66-68, disclose the low voltage battery continues to supply operating power to the control circuit until the control circuit detects a reduction in the voltage of the low-voltage battery 21. The control circuit 24 then activates switch 44 and power is provided from main battery 11 to the control circuit via auxiliary power supply circuit); and
wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the starting battery in response to the house battery not having a sufficient state of charge (Pars.41, 66-68, disclose the low voltage battery continues to supply operating power to the control circuit until the control circuit detects a reduction in the voltage of the low-voltage battery 21. The control circuit 24 then activates switch 44 and power is provided from main battery 11 to the control circuit via auxiliary power supply circuit).
ATLURI, HAYES and TANABE are analogous art since they all deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI and HAYES with the teachings of TANABE by monitoring the low voltage battery and that the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the house battery as long as the house battery has a sufficient state of charge, wherein the BMS is configured to be supplied with power from the starting battery in response to the house battery not having a sufficient state of charge for the benefit of ensuring that the BMS continues its operation even in the case of depletion of the house battery by receiving power from the starting battery.
However, ATLURI, HAYES and TANABE do not explicitly disclose the BMS monitors the state of charge of the starting battery.
CIACCIO discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a BMS configured to monitor a state of charge of each of the first and second batteries (See Fig.1A, and 1B, discloses a BMS comprising a first battery monitoring module 192 and a second battery monitoring module 194).
ATLURI, HAYES, TANABE and CIACCIO are analogous art since they all deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ATLURI, HAYES and TANABE with the teachings of CIACCIO by using the BMS to monitor the SOC of the first battery and the second battery for the benefit of protecting the batteries against overcharging and over discharging.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859