Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 04/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “C12H28O4Ti” is repeated in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, and 10-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, and 11-14 of copending Application No. US20230387424 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US20230387424 discloses a method for producing a fuel cell catalyst comprising all the steps of claim 1 in the present application. The only difference is some language, for example, “alloying” which is interpreted as having the same function as “supporting” in the present application. Therefore, the steps of US20230387424 encompass those of claim 1 in the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (KR20210148735A).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a polymer electrolyte membrane water electrolysis catalyst (paragraph 0001). The method comprises the steps of dispersing a support in a solvent; introducing platinum, scandium, and lanthanum metal precursors into the solvent in which the support is dispersed to prepare a precursor mixture; and irradiating the precursor mixture with an electron beam to reduce the metal precursors (paragraph 0030). The support can be selected from a carbon-based support and a metal oxide support (paragraph 0019).
Jeon et al. does not disclose sequential addition and electron beam irradiation of metal precursors, and rather teaches addition and irradiation of all metal in one step.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try irradiating the metal precursors sequentially because there is a finite number of ways to add and irradiate metals to achieve a multi-metallic catalyst with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to conduct the method of manufacturing in Jeon et al. by sequentially adding and irradiating the metal precursors. That is, dispersing a support in a solvent, adding scandium/lanthanum into the solvent to form a first metal precursor, irradiating the solution to support one of the metals, adding platinum to the first metal-supported mixture, and irradiating the platinum in the second metal mixed solution.
The examiner interprets the language of claim 1 not requiring a specific order of steps. The language does not preclude other sequences to obtain a catalyst with two metals through electron beam irradiation.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon et al. discloses the carbon-based support may include one or more of graphene, graphite, and carbon nanotubes (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon et al. discloses the pH of the metal precursor is controlled to a pH of 9-11 by adding an alkaline solution before reduction (paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon et al. discloses the electron beam may be irradiated for 1 second to 60 minutes encompassing the entire claimed range (paragraph 0039).
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select the portion of the prior art’s range which is within the range of the applicants’ claims because it has been held prima facie case of obviousness to select a value in a known range by optimization for the results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ.
Regarding claim 7, Jeon et al. discloses the size of the crystals in the ternary alloy catalyst was 1 nm to 2 nm (paragraph 0100). The alloy includes the first metal that is supported.
Regarding claim 8, Jeon et al. discloses introducing a platinum precursor in a solvent (paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon et al. discloses the metal precursors are introduced into a solvent in which the support is dispersed to prepare a precursor mixture; and irradiating the precursor mixture with an electron beam to reduce the metal precursors (paragraph 0030). Since the reduction is done after the metal precursor is mixed with the support in solution it is an in-situ method.
Regarding claim 10, Jeon et al. discloses the pH of the metal precursor is controlled to a pH of 9-11 by adding an alkaline solution before reduction (paragraph 0066). Jeon et al. does not disclose sequential addition of metal precursors, so the pH is only adjusted once.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try irradiating and adding the metal precursors sequentially because there is a finite number of ways to add and irradiate metals to achieve a multi-metallic catalyst with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the pH again to be basic after the second metal precursor is added.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon et al. discloses the electron beam may be irradiated for 1 second to 60 minutes encompassing the entire claimed range (paragraph 0039).
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select the portion of the prior art’s range which is within the range of the applicants’ claims because it has been held prima facie case of obviousness to select a value in a known range by optimization for the results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ.
Jeon et al. does not disclose sequential addition and irradiation of metal precursors, so there is only one irradiation of metal precursors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try irradiating and adding the metal precursors sequentially because there is a finite number of ways to add and irradiate metals to achieve a multi-metallic catalyst with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to irradiate a second metal with an electron beam for 20 minutes or less because the range overlaps with the prior art.
Regarding claim 12, Jeon et al. discloses the catalyst produced through the metal irradiation reduction step may further include a filter step, a washing step, and a drying step (paragraph 0075).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-12 above, and further in view of Merzougui et al. (US20060257719).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon et al. discloses a metal oxide support like TiO2, but does not disclose using it in combination with carbon.
Merzougui et al. discloses noble metal containing catalyst particles carried on catalyst support particles of titanium oxide (Abstract). The catalyst bearing titanium oxide particles are mixed with electrically conductive material such as carbon particles (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first metal precursor be a precursor of titanium dioxide because when combined with the electrically conductive carbon, the titanium dioxide support particles provide corrosion resistance in the acidic or alkaline environment of the fuel cell (paragraph 0007).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-12 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (“Electron transfer effect from Au to Pt in Au-Pt/TiO2 towards efficient catalytic activity in CO oxidation at low temperature”).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon et al. discloses a metal oxide support, but does not disclose a metal precursor for the support.
Jiang et al. discloses bimetallic Pt-Au nanoalloys that are loaded in situ on titanium dioxide in one step by flame spray pyrolysis (Abstract). In preparation of the bimetallic catalyst, the TiO2 precursor is titanium tetrabutoxide: Ti(OBu)4 (2.1 Materials preparation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use titanium tetrabutoxide as the TiO2 precursor because the Pt-Au alloy formation on the support precursor is a fast and in situ process (3.1 Mechanism and process for Pt-Au alloy formation).
Conclusion
/DAVID ANDREW CALDERON/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742