DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 15, 20, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11: lines 2 includes “random range” which should be “” to obviate 112 issues where the range is random.
Regarding claim 15: the claim is interpreted and objected to for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, lines 2-3 includes “increases linearly, increases exponentially, is limited to a range within a maximum value, or a combination thereof” which should be amended to obviate 112 issues of a function that somehow increases both linearly and exponentially.
Regarding claim 26: the claim is interpreted and objected to for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 14, 19, 24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2:
lines 3-4 include “zero or more transmissions by zero or more responding wireless devices” which is unclear as to how transmissions are made by zero devices. Examination continued on the assumption the limitation is similar to -when a corresponding transmission is by a corresponding responding device-; line 5 includes “a pair of transmissions is separated by a short interframe space (SIPS) or a point coordination function (PCP) interframe space (PIPS)” which is unclear as to what two transmissions are being referred to much less whether the pair relate to “one or more transmissions by the first wireless device and zero or more transmissions” of lines 2-3. Examination continued on the assumption the limitation is similar to -the one or more transmissions and the corresponding zero or more transmissions-.
Regarding claim 5: lines 4-5 includes “transmit a plurality of signals periodically after the second signal in accordance with a ratio between the first priority and the default priority” however, the precise intent is unclear as to how a ratio, much less a ratio between the first priority and default priority, determines a periodicity of a plurality of signals. Examination continued on the assumption some type of timing of signals is based on priority.
Regarding claim 14, lines 2-3 includes “that increases with the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions” which is unclear as to whether the limitation is related to “block size value”, “random quantity”, or “range”. Examination continued on the assumption the limitation is related to “range”.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22, and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosek-Szott et al. (DB-LBT: Deterministic Backoff with Listen Before Talk for Wi-Fi/NR-U Coexistence in Shared Bands), hereinafter Kosek-Szott in view of Nezou et al. (US 2018/0199375 A1) hereinafter Nezou.
Regarding claim 1, Kosek-Szott teaches a first wireless device (node; page 171 Col. 1-2), comprising: monitor a wireless channel during a first deterministic backoff period (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff in access procedure; page 171 Col. 1-2, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2) to identify a first quantity of zero or more interrupting signals (counting interruptions during backoff; page [169 Col. 1, 171 Col. 1-2, 172 Col. 1]); transmit, after the first deterministic backoff period, a first signal (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1), the first signal followed by a second deterministic backoff period (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1) that is based at least in part on the first quantity of the zero or more interrupting signals and a first backoff value (backoff based on previous backoff and interruptions; page 172 Col. 1); and transmit a second signal after the second deterministic backoff period (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1).
While Kosek-Szott discloses QoS, hybrid coordination function (HCF), enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA), HCF controlled channel access (HCCA), and fairness, Kosek-Szott does not explicitly disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: associated with a first priority, wherein the first backoff value is based at least in part on a default backoff value, the default backoff value being associated with a default priority.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou teaches one or more memories storing processor-executable code (memory including software; para. 320-321); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (processor coupled with memory and executing software; para. [494-495, 504] and Fig. 6) to cause the first wireless device (node; para. 534) to: associated with a first priority (backoff with corresponding priority; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Figs. [2, 3a]), wherein the first backoff value is based at least in part on a default backoff value (updated backoff based on backoff with corresponding priority; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Fig. 3a), the default backoff value being associated with a default priority (backoff with corresponding priority in compliance with standard; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the system of Kosek-Szott, where Kosek-Szott’s improved coexistence of heterogeneous radio technologies (page 169 Col. 2) along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While Kosek-Szott discloses acknowledgements, clear-to-send (CTS), request-to-send (RTS), and interframe spacing, Kosek-Szott does not explicilty disclose wherein: a first signal period that includes the first signal comprises one or more transmissions by the first wireless device and zero or more transmissions by zero or more responding wireless devices, and a pair of transmissions is separated by a short interframe space (SIFS) or a point coordination function (PCF) interframe space (PIFS).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou further teaches wherein: a first signal period that includes the first signal (defer access 30; para. 378 and Fig. 2) comprises one or more transmissions by the first wireless device (source node 20 transmits request-to-send (RTS) 210 / data 230; para. [367, 372, 375] and Fig. 2) and zero or more transmissions by zero or more responding wireless devices (receiving/destination node transmits clear-to-send (CTS) 220 / acknowledgement 240; para. [367, 373, 375] and Fig. 2), and a pair of transmissions is separated by a short interframe space (SIFS) (short interframe space (SIFS) between RTS/CTS and data/acknowledgement; para. [369, 372-373], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a point coordination function (PCF) interframe space (PIFS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: transmit a third signal after a randomized backoff period and before the first deterministic backoff period (node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1, backoff based on enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA); page 170, initializing backoff; page 171 Col. 2, use of random backoff; page 169 Col. 1-2, random backoff at arbitrary randomized backoff period; page 171 Col. 1 Algorithm 1 step 7), the randomized backoff period being based at least in part on a collision pattern (backoff rule based on detecting interruption; page 171 Col. 1-2) and the wireless channel being monitored (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2).
While Kosek-Szott discloses acknowledgements, clear-to-send (CTS), request-to-send (RTS), and interframe spacing, Kosek-Szott does not explicilty disclose including one or more successful transmissions between colliding transmissions being detected, in response to a successful transmission of the third signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou further teaches including one or more successful transmissions between colliding transmissions being detected (RTS/CTS detected by node; 376), in response to a successful transmission of the third signal (each node transmitting node; para. 534, source node 20 transmits RTS 210, receiving/destination node transmits CTS 220; para. [367, 372-373, 375] and Fig. 2) and zero or more transmissions by zero or more responding wireless devices (receiving/destination node transmits CTS 220; para. [367, 373, 375] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While Kosek-Szott discloses carrier sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA/CA), the combination of Kosek-Szott does not explicilty disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: transmit a plurality of signals periodically after the second signal in accordance with a ratio between the first priority and the default priority.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: transmit a plurality of signals periodically after the second signal (medium access via queue [periodic] for carrier sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) RTS/CTS; para. [45, 367-382]) in accordance with a ratio between the first priority and the default priority (backoff with corresponding priority in compliance with standard; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein: the zero or more interrupting signals are respectively transmitted by one or more second wireless devices of a set of wireless devices (multiple nodes contending [transmission] for access; page 171 Col. 1-2), a transmission cycle of the set of wireless devices (initial backoff for contending [transmission] nodes and backoff updated [cycle]; para. 172 Col. 1, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2).
While Kosek-Szott discloses CSMA/CA and updated backoffs, Kosek-Szott does not explicitly disclose each of the one or more second wireless devices transmits in accordance with one or more respective second backoff values associated with one or more respective priorities, and a transmission cycle of the set of wireless devices is based at least in part on the first backoff value and one or more ratios of the first backoff value to the one or more respective second backoff values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou further teaches each of the one or more second wireless devices transmits in accordance with one or more respective second backoff values (contention-based access [transmission]; para. 51 and Fig. 2, updated [second] backoff; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Fig. 3a) associated with one or more respective priorities (backoff with corresponding priority; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Fig. 3a), and a transmission cycle of the set of wireless devices is based at least in part on the first backoff value (medium access via queue [cycle] for carrier sense multiple access with collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) RTS/CTS; para. [45, 367-382] and Fig. 2) and one or more ratios of the first backoff value to the one or more respective second backoff values (backoff with corresponding priority in compliance with standard; para. [193, 205, 281, 393] and Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: detect a collision pattern based at least in part on a threshold of a quantity of repeated colliding transmissions (node detects new node in access procedure; page 171 Col. 1, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2, parameters to determine [threshold] consecutive collisions used for backoff determination; page 171 Col. 1); and transmit a third signal after a randomized backoff period (node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1, backoff based on enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA); page 170, initializing backoff; page 171 Col. 2, use of random backoff; page 169 Col. 1-2, random backoff at arbitrary randomized backoff period; page 171 Col. 1 Algorithm 1 step 7) and before the first deterministic backoff period in response to detecting the collision pattern (backoff rule based on detecting interruption; page 171 Col. 1-2, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2, node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff [before deterministic backoff]; page 171 Col. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 10.
While Kosek-Szott discloses EDCA, arbitration inter-frame spacing (AIF), and exponential backoff, Kosek-Szott does not explicitly disclose wherein the randomized backoff period is based at least in part on a random value within a random range and an offset value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou further teaches wherein the randomized backoff period is based at least in part on a random value within a random range and an offset value (backoff based on random value within range and an offset; para. 636).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 11.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein the offset value is determined in accordance with a function that increases with the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions (deterministic [function] backoff increases [offset] for increased interruptions; page 171 Col. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kosek-Szott teaches a first wireless device (node; page 171 Col. 1-2), comprising: monitor a wireless channel to detect a collision pattern (node detects new node in access procedure; page 171 Col. 1, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2); transmit a first signal after a randomized backoff period (node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1, backoff based on enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA); page 170, initializing backoff; page 171 Col. 2, use of random backoff; page 169 Col. 1-2, random backoff at arbitrary randomized backoff period; page 171 Col. 1 Algorithm 1 step 7) in response to detecting the collision pattern (backoff rule based on detecting interruption; page 171 Col. 1-2, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2); monitor the wireless channel during a first deterministic backoff period after the first signal (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, round-robin schedule; page 168 Col. 1-2) to identify a first quantity of zero or more interrupting signals (counting interruptions during backoff; page [169 Col. 1, 171 Col. 1-2, 172 Col. 1]); transmit, after the first deterministic backoff period, a second signal (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1), the second signal followed by a second deterministic backoff period (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1) that is based at least in part on the first quantity of the zero or more interrupting signals and a first backoff value (backoff based on previous backoff and interruptions; page 172 Col. 1); and transmit a third signal after the second deterministic backoff period (node repeats procedure of detecting and updating backoff; page 171 Col. 1-2, node transmits after backoff; page. 171 Col. 1).
While Kosek-Szott discloses EDCA, arbitration inter-frame spacing (AIF), and exponential backoff, Kosek-Szott does not explicitly disclose the randomized backoff period being based at least in part on a random value within a random range and an offset value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nezou teaches one or more memories storing processor-executable code (memory including software; para. 320-321); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (processor coupled with memory and executing software; para. [494-495, 504] and Fig. 6) to cause the first wireless device to: the randomized backoff period being based at least in part on a random value within a random range and an offset value (backoff based on random value within range and an offset; para. 636).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nezou to the system of Kosek-Szott, where Kosek-Szott’s improved coexistence of heterogeneous radio technologies (page 169 Col. 2) along with Nezou’s services with different priorities (para. [09-10, 388]) improves user satisfaction by offering various services having different prioties coexisting with heterogeneous radio technologies.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 15.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: detect the collision pattern based at least in part on a threshold of a quantity of repeated colliding transmissions (parameters to determine [threshold] consecutive collisions used for backoff determination; page 171 Col. 1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 16.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein the offset value is determined in accordance with a function that increases with the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions (deterministic [function] backoff increases [offset] for increased interruptions; page 171 Col. 1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 17.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein the function increases linearly (delay [backoff] increases linearly; page 173 Col. 2), increases exponentially, is limited to a range within a maximum value (backoff within a range; page 171 Col. 2, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 15.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17.
Claim(s) 4, 7-9, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosek-Szott in view of Nezou, and further in view of Li et al. (WO 2011/160579 A1) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discusses increasing backoff, EDCA, and access class(es), the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first backoff value is a multiple of the default backoff value or a divisor of the default backoff value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the first backoff value is a multiple of the default backoff value (backoff adjustment is proportional [multiple] to basic [default] backoff; para. 68) or a divisor of the default backoff value (backoff adjustment is proportional [division] to basic [default] backoff; para. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Li to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Li’s backoff for different devices (para. 22) improves user experience by not affecting quality of user’s services.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discusses increasing backoff, EDCA, and access class(es), the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first backoff value and the default backoff value are included in a set of backoff values, and each backoff value is a divisor of a greatest backoff value included in the set of backoff values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein: the first backoff value and the default backoff value are included in a set of backoff values (backoff adjustment is proportional [multiple] to basic [default] backoff [basic backoff and adjusted backoff corresponding to set]; para. 68), and each backoff value is a divisor of a greatest backoff value included in the set of backoff values (backoff adjustment is proportional [divisor / up to greatest backoff] to basic [default] backoff; para. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Li to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Li’s backoff for different devices (para. 22) improves user experience by not affecting quality of user’s services.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discusses increasing backoff, EDCA, and access class(es), the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first backoff value and the default backoff value are included in a set of backoff values, and each backoff value is a multiple of a smallest backoff value included in the set of backoff values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein: the first backoff value and the default backoff value are included in a set of backoff values (backoff adjustment is proportional [multiple] to basic [default] backoff [basic backoff and adjusted backoff corresponding to set]; para. 68), and each backoff value is a multiple of a smallest backoff value included in the set of backoff values (backoff adjustment is proportional [multiple] to basic [default] backoff; para. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Li to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Li’s backoff for different devices (para. 22) improves user experience by not affecting quality of user’s services.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kosek-Szott further teaches wherein: except a smallest backoff value (smallest backoff being 0; page 171 Col. 2).
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discusses increasing backoff, EDCA, and access class(es), the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicitly disclose the first backoff value and the default backoff value are included in a set of backoff values, and each backoff value is a multiple of a next smaller backoff value included in the set of backoff values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches the first backoff value and the default backoff value are included in a set of backoff values (backoff adjustment is proportional [multiple] to basic [default] backoff [basic backoff and adjusted backoff corresponding to set]; para. 68), and each backoff value is a multiple of a next smaller backoff value included in the set of backoff values (backoff adjustment is proportional [multiple] to basic [default] backoff; para. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Li to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Li’s backoff for different devices (para. 22) improves user experience by not affecting quality of user’s services.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 13-14, 18-19, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosek-Szott in view of Nezou, and further in view of Wentink (US 2018/0167976 A1) hereinafter Wentink.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 12.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discloses deterministic backoff, counting interruptions, exponential backoff, dynamic number of nodes, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicilty disclose wherein the function comprises a block size value, indicating a quantity of time for increasing the first backoff value, multiplied by a difference between the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions and a minimum quantity of repeated colliding transmissions to trigger the randomized backoff period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wentink teaches wherein the function comprises a block size value (contention window (CW) as backoff slots; para. [53, 109]), indicating a quantity of time for increasing the first backoff value (adjusting [increasing] subsequent backoff; para. 53), multiplied by a difference between the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions and a minimum quantity of repeated colliding transmissions to trigger the randomized backoff period (CW multiplied by excess TXOP; para. 71 Eq. 7, updated excess TXOP as excess TXOP - TXOP limit [difference between quantity and minimum quantity triggering backoff]; para. [70-79]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wentink to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Wentink’s reduced overhead (para. 53) improves system efficiency by reducing overhead and power of stations and APs.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kosek-Szott, Nezou, and Wentink teaches the limitation of previous claim 13.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discloses increasing backoff, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicitly disclose wherein the block size value is a random quantity within a range that increases with the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wentink further teaches wherein the block size value is a random quantity within a range (backoff based on random value within range of used CW; para. 75 and Eq. 10) that increases with the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions (for every collision, compensation applied to larger CW value; para. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wentink to the modified system of Kosek-Szott, Nezou, and Wentink, where Kosek-Szott, Nezou, and Wentink’s modified system along with Wentink’s reduced overhead (para. 53) improves system efficiency by reducing overhead and power of stations and APs.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou teaches the limitation of previous claim 17.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discloses deterministic backoff, counting interruptions, exponential backoff, dynamic number of nodes, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicilty disclose wherein the function comprises a block size value, indicating a quantity of time for increasing the first backoff value, multiplied by a difference between the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions and a minimum quantity of collisions to trigger the randomized backoff period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wentink teaches wherein the function comprises a block size value (contention window (CW) as backoff slots; para. [53, 109]), indicating a quantity of time for increasing the first backoff value (adjusting [increasing] subsequent backoff; para. 53), multiplied by a difference between the quantity of repeated colliding transmissions and a minimum quantity of collisions to trigger the randomized backoff period (CW multiplied by excess TXOP; para. 71 Eq. 7, updated excess TXOP as excess TXOP - TXOP limit [difference between quantity and minimum quantity triggering backoff]; para. [70-79]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wentink to the modified system of Kosek-Szott and Nezou, where Kosek-Szott and Nezou’s modified system along with Wentink’s reduced overhead (para. 53) improves system efficiency by reducing overhead and power of stations and APs.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kosek-Szott, Nezou, and Wentink teaches the limitation of previous claim 18.
While the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou discloses increasing backoff, the combination of Kosek-Szott and Nezou does not explicitly disclose wherein the block size value is a random quantity within a range that increases with the quantity of collisions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wentink further teaches wherein the block size value is a random quantity within a range (backoff based on random value within range of used CW; para. 75 and Eq. 10) that increases with the quantity of collisions (for every collision, compensation applied to larger CW value; para. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wentink to the modified system of Kosek-Szott, Nezou, and Wentink, where Kosek-Szott, Nezou, and Wentink’s modified system along with Wentink’s reduced overhead (para. 53) improves system efficiency by reducing overhead and power of stations and APs.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 18.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He (US 2025/0380304 A1) discloses a channel access method and apparatus and communication device.
Guignard et al. (WO 2015/185526 A1) discloses a method of contending for access to a communication channel and associated communication device.
Wentink (IEEE 802.11-17/1428r4) discloses a deterministic backoff.
Raghothaman et al. (US 2019/0342798 A1) discloses Coordinated Listen Before Talk (C-LBT) for Long Term Evolution (LTE) Licensed-Assisted Access (LAA)
Kosek-Szott et al., DB-LBT: Deterministic Backoff with Listen Before Talk for Wi-Fi/NR-U Coexistence in Shared Bands.
Kosek-Szott et al. discloses An Efficient Backoff Procedure for IEEE 802.11ax Uplink OFDMA-Based Random Access.
He et al. discloses Combating Network Collisions by Reservation in Wireless CSMA Networks.
He et al. discloses Semi-Random Backoff: Towards Resource Reservation for Channel Access in Wireless LANs.
An (EPO website) English translation of WO 2011/160579 A1 (Li) is included in the instant OA.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474