DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amended Abstract filed 20 July 2026 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34, 35, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 34, the phrase “the gripping sleeve” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In regards to Claim 39, the phrase “the gripping sleeve” lacks proper antecedent basis.
The remaining claims inherit the rejection by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 29-31, 34, 35, and 38-40 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marton et al (20190254921) in view of Goldstein (20180008512).
In regards to Claim 21, Marton teaches a percussive massage device (Detail 100) comprising:
a main enclosure extending along a longitudinal direction (Claim 1: enclosure);
a reciprocation assembly at least partially within the main enclosure, the reciprocation assembly comprising:
a piston that moves in the longitudinal direction (Claim 1: piston);
a motor having a rotatable shaft (Claim 1: motor);
a crank coupled to the shaft and having a post offset from the shaft (Claim 1: crank, pivot); and
a reciprocation linkage having a first linkage end and a second linkage end, the first linkage end operatively connected to the post of the crank, the second linkage end operatively connected to the piston (Claim 1: flexible transfer linkage).
While Marton essentially teaches the invention as detailed, including a battery that arranged downward from the main enclosure, it fails to specifically teach a handle. Goldstein, however, teaches that when dealing with a massage device, it is well known to provide a handle extending from a main enclosure and formed over an extended battery (Figure 9, Details 130, 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have covered the battery of Marton with the handle of Goldstein, so as to better protect the battery from damage.
In regards to Claim 22, Marton teaches the main enclosure comprises a first enclosure portion (Detail 112) coupled to a second enclosure portion (Detail 114), the main enclosure defining a cavity extending along the longitudinal direction and including a front opening (Figure 3).
In regards to Claim 29, Marton teaches the piston receives a removably attachable applicator head (Claim 1: applicator head).
In regards to Claim 30, Marton teaches the rotatable shaft has a central axis oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Claim 1: motor).
In regards to Claim 31, Marton teaches the post of the crank is parallel to the central axis of the shaft (Figures 11A, 11B).
In regards to Claim 34, while Marton essentially teaches the invention as detailed, it fails to specifically teach a gripping sleeve including rubber material, which Goldstein teaches (Paragraph 49; neoprene). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided such a gripping sleeve, so as to make the device easier to hold. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have appreciated better grip and would have known to utilize the gripping sleeve as taught.
In regards to Claim 35, Goldstein teaches the rubber material is neoprene (Paragraph 49; neoprene).
In regards to Claim 38, Marton teaches the end of the battery has an end cap and a light ring (Paragraph 48), which would be below the handle and sleeve when included from Goldstein.
In regards to Claim 39, while Marton essentially teaches the invention as detailed, it fails to specifically teach a gripping sleeve, which Goldstein teaches (Paragraph 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided such a gripping sleeve, so as to make the device easier to hold. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have appreciated better grip and would have known to utilize the gripping sleeve as taught. With a gripping sleeve present, the light ring would be disposed between the gripping sleeve and the end cap since the gripping sleeve would not go all the way to the end.
In regards to Claim 40, Goldstein teaches the battery would be at least partially within the handle (Figure 9).
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marton et al in view of Goldstein as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hu (D895829).
In regards to Claims 32 and 33, while the combination of Marton and Goldstein essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, including a handle that extends from the main enclosure along a handle axis, it fails to specifically each the handle axis is oriented at a slant angle of approximately 12 degrees. Hu, however, teaches that when dealing with similar massage devices, it is well known to provide the handle with a slant angle of approximately 12 degrees (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have slanted the handle as taught, so as to make the massage device more ergonomic. In regards to the angle being approximately 12 degrees, the figure does not label the angle specifically, but it is approximately 12 degrees. Examiner also notes, Applicant provides no criticality or unexpected results arising from an angle of 12 degrees.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 20 July 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent Nos. 10,993,874, 11,766,381, 11,723,830, and 11,478,400 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-28, 36, and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s only argument is that Marton (20190254921) is not available as prior art against the pending claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The earliest effective filing date of the instant application is November 5, 2020, as acknowledged by Applicant in their arguments. Marton (20190254921) was published on August 22, 2019, more than a year prior. As such, Marton (20190254921) qualifies under 102(a)(1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732