DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear what is meant by “hardly’ in “wherein the first dust collector carries a component that is hardly eluted in water and that inactivates the substance”. The specification mentions “hardly eluted” and discloses the is meant by “component” (see page 17, line 20 through page 18, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)91) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 108731139 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wei et al. discloses an air treatment apparatus comprising: a heat exchanger (cross-flow new exhaust air heat exchanger, 26) that exchanges heat between a fluid flowing (fresh air inlet, 1) through a first flow path and air flowing (exhaust air, 38) through a second flow path; and a first dust collector (wet filtering section, 3) disposed upstream of the heat exchanger (26) in a flow of the air and that collects a substance contained in the air flowing to the heat exchanger (26), wherein the first dust collector (3) has: a surface over which water flows, or a surface on which water is retained (see Abstract; figures 1-4; and description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN 108731139 A).
Regarding claim 4, Wei et al. fails to disclose an air treatment apparatus further comprising: a second dust collector disposed downstream of the heat exchanger in the flow of the air and that collects the substance contained in the air flowing from the heat exchanger, wherein the second dust collector has: a surface over which water flows, or a surface on which water is retained.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a second dust collector, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to second dust collector disposed downstream of the heat exchanger in the flow of the air, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 12, Wei et al. fails to disclose an air treatment apparatus wherein the first dust collector carries a photocatalyst that generates a component that inactivates the substance when irradiated with light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the first dust collector carries a photocatalyst, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 13, Wei et al. fails to disclose an air treatment apparatus wherein the first dust collector is replaceable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first dust collector is separable in order to be replaced, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (V-C)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 5-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-10, Wei et al. fails to disclose an air treatment apparatus further comprising a third flow path through which water at a predetermined temperature is supplied to the first dust collector; further comprising a third flow path through which the water flowing over the surface of the first dust collector or the water retained on the surface of the first dust collector is discharged; further comprising a third flow path through which water at a predetermined temperature is supplied to at least one of the first dust collector and the second dust collector; further comprising a filter having lower air flow resistance than the first dust collector has; wherein the air treatment apparatus supplies water heat-exchanged with a refrigerant circulating in a refrigeration cycle to the first dust collector; wherein the first dust collector forms a third flow path that allows air passing through the first dust collector to flow through and that is non-parallel to a direction of the flow of the air; wherein the water flowing over the surface of the first dust collector or the water retained on the surface of the first dust collector comprises a component that inactivates the substance.
Claim 7 depends on claim 6
Conclusion
.
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774