DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be a comma between the claim language of “wherein each of the plurality of supply chain member records comprises unique information identifying each of the supply chain members” & “and wherein each of the product records comprises a unique identifier associated with a product and a plurality of product attributes for the product”. Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 2-5 are objected to for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the capitalized “A” in the limitation “A data storage system for storing a user database, a company database and a product database in at least one container” should be non-capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 7-8 are objected to for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “the a unique manufacturer user GNIN and the related group information for the desired product information is listed in the supply chain member user record” is grammatically incoherent and should be replaced with “the unique manufacturer user GNIN and the related group information for the desired product information is listed in the supply chain member user record”.
Dependent claims 7-8 are objected to for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “a processing system configured to generate a plurality of user interfaces in a manner which will allow manufacturers to control access to product records so that only connected supply chain members are allowed to see a predetermined set of product information for the manufacturer” if the manufacturers actually control access to product records (See diction of “will allow”). For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiner interprets the claimed plurality of control of access in the broadest reasonable interpretation as not being actually achieved due to the diction of “will allow”.
Dependent claims 2-5 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “wherein the plurality of product records will further have a group identifier” if the plurality of product records has a group identifier (See diction of “will further have”). For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiner interprets the claimed plurality of product records in the broadest reasonable interpretation as not currently having a group identifier.
Dependent claims 2-5 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the manufacturer record further comprising a share string containing the unique information identifying each of the users who will be allowed to access some segment of the manufacturer information” in Page 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no “unique information identifying each of the users who will be allowed to access some segment of the manufacturer information” is claimed earlier in the claim.
Dependent claims 2-5 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the manufacturer record further comprising a share string containing the unique information identifying each of the users who will be allowed to access some segment of the manufacturer information” in Page 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no “users” is claimed earlier in the claim.
Dependent claims 2-5 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “each supply chain member record will include a listing of allowed product records and/or product group information” if each supply chain member record currently has a listing of allowed product records and/or product group information (See diction of “will include”). For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiner interprets the claimed supply chain member record in the broadest reasonable interpretation as not currently having a listing of allowed product records and/or product group information.
Dependent claims 2-5 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the user interface is provided via an API” in Page 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no “user interface” is claimed earlier in the claim, in parent dependent claim 2, or in parent independent claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “wherein the supply chain member user records for those supply chain members that are allowed to access information for the manufacturer will store the unique GNIN for the manufacturer and a plurality of access information” if the supply chain member user records currently stores the unique GNIN for the manufacturer and a plurality of access information (See diction of “will store”).
Dependent claims 7-8 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “wherein the processing system will allow the manufacturer to store the unique supply chain member user GNIN for only those supply chain members that are allowed to access information for the manufacturer” if the manufacturer currently stores the unique supply chain member user GNIN for only those supply chain members that are allowed to access information for the manufacturer (See diction of “will allow”).
Dependent claims 7-8 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “wherein the supply chain member user records for those supply chain members that are allowed to access information for the manufacturer will include the a unique manufacturer user GNIN and related access information including the relevant database ID and at least one allowed group identifier” if the supply chain member user records for supply chain members that are allowed to access manufacturer information currently includes the unique manufacturer user GNIN and related access information included the relevant database ID and at least one allowed group identifier (See diction of “will include”).
Dependent claims 7-8 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the supply chain member user records for those supply chain members that are allowed to access information for the manufacturer will include the a unique manufacturer user GNIN and related access information including the relevant database ID and at least one allowed group identifier” in Page 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no “relevant database ID” is claimed earlier in the claim.
Dependent claims 7-8 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear in the limitation “the processing system will return the desired product information to the supply chain member only if the supply chain member's user GNIN is stored in the manufacturer's user record” if the processing system actually returns desired product information to a supply chain member only if that supply chain member’s GNIN is stored in the manufacturer’s user record (See diction of “will return”).
Dependent claims 7-8 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Independent claim 1 is directed towards a system. However, all of the elements claimed could be reasonably interpreted by an ordinary artisan as being software alone, and thus is directed to software per se, which is non-statutory. Specifically, there is no language that the interface is being displayed as a result of an executed processor/hardware component.
In order for such a software claim to be statutory, it must be claimed in combination with an appropriate medium and/or hardware such as a memory or processor to establish a statutory category of invention and enable any functionality to realized.
Claims 2-5 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Independent claim 6 is directed towards a system. However, all of the elements claimed could be reasonably interpreted by an ordinary artisan as being software alone, and thus is directed to software per se, which is non-statutory. Specifically, there is no language that the interface is being displayed as a result of an executed processor/hardware component.
In order for such a software claim to be statutory, it must be claimed in combination with an appropriate medium and/or hardware such as a memory or processor to establish a statutory category of invention and enable any functionality to realized.
Claims 6-8 are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of independent claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anarus (Web-Archive of “https://anarus.com/”, collectively dated 27 July 2021, available at https://web.archive.org/web/20210727223122/https://anarus.com/), in view of Kapsis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0098272), and further in view of YYY.
11. Regarding claim 1, Anarus teaches a cloud-based system comprising:
A) a storage system configured to save a plurality of records within a plurality of containers (Pages 2, 4-5, 7, and 11-12);
B) wherein the plurality of records comprises supply chain member user records, manufacturer user records, manufacturer company records and product records (Pages 1, 4-5, 7, 9, and 11-12); and
C) wherein each of the plurality of records are stored in a JSON text format (Pages 11-12);
F) wherein each of the product records comprises a unique identifier associated with a product and a plurality of product attributes for the product (Pages 7 and 11); and
G) a processing system configured to generate a plurality of user interfaces in a manner which will allow manufacturers to control access to product records so that only connected supply chain members are allowed to see a predetermined set of product information for the manufacturer (Pages 1, 4-5, 9, and 12);
H) wherein each of the product records further has a plurality of product information (Pages 7 and 11);
I) with the product information having the unique identifier associated with the product (Pages 7 and 11);
J) wherein the plurality of product records will further have a group identifier (Pages 7 and 11);
K) the manufacturer record further comprising a share string containing the unique information identifying each of the users who will be allowed to access some segment of the manufacturer information (Pages 1, 4-5, 9, and 12); and
L) each supply chain member record will include a listing of allowed product records and/or product group information (Pages 1, 4-5, 9, and 12).
The examiner notes that Anarus teaches “a storage system configured to save a plurality of records within a plurality of containers” as “Built on the Microsoft Azure cloud platform, Anarus platforms create an environment in which data moves quickly and consistently when and where it’s needed” (Page 2), “Store web form data, mobile app data, product information and more. Limitless cloud-based repository for any type of content: JSON, PDF, image files and more” (Page 2), “Infinitely expandable, your private cloud portal grows with your business” (Page 4), “Your product information, spec sheets and pictures are stored in the Anar Manufacturer cloud portal using human-friendly JSON text format rather than columns and rows. That means sales and marketing can stop worrying about the structure of the database and customers can stop worrying about the format of the content” (Page 5), “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7), “We set out to revolutionize data storage, creating a cloud-based system for storing simple, yet organized data fields. What was once complex, proprietary and better left to IT, can now be powerful, easy and infinitely flexible. Our Grand Anar platform can be used by any company that wants to store any information in an organized but simple way in the cloud that can be securely shared with other companies’ applications” (Page 11), “Our smart indexing and search technology allow companies to store information in the cloud in simple JSON text format so authorized users can search, retrieve and link information to their own applications with incredible ease” (Page 11) and “Anarus Platforms use the global online data exchange language known as JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) to feed and retrieve data. No need for rows and columns here. Using our patent-pending technology, simple text is stored and indexed in the cloud. Our sophisticated search mechanisms and integration capabilities let authorized users quickly retrieve information for any purpose and any application” (Page 12). The examiner further notes that any type of information can be stored in JSON in the Anarus cloud system that includes multiple containers (that is undefined in the claims). The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “wherein the plurality of records comprises supply chain member user records, manufacturer user records, manufacturer company records and product records” as You maintain full control over your data and who can access it” (Page 1), “Authorized dealers simply login, point and click to download the product information they need” (Page 4), “Secure Authentication…Manages access with complete control and visibility” (Page 4), “Dealers login to your private cloud portal and simply point and click to download the product information they need. Even better, they can use ready-made APIs to connect the portal to their CRM, ERP, ecommerce and mobile applications. No downloads/uploads or programming required” (Page 5), “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7), “After data is loaded, authorized users can link their applications to your content portal using Grand Anar APIs. Now they can seamlessly display your most current product information in their CRM and mobile applications (whether via live connection or nightly database updates)” (Page 9), “We set out to revolutionize data storage, creating a cloud-based system for storing simple, yet organized data fields. What was once complex, proprietary and better left to IT, can now be powerful, easy and infinitely flexible. Our Grand Anar platform can be used by any company that wants to store any information in an organized but simple way in the cloud that can be securely shared with other companies’ applications. Data fields from a simple website "Contact Us" form can be stored and shared with multiple applications” (Page 11), “Enterprises can store unlimited granular product information and specifications in the cloud for access with their channel partners’ eCommerce sites or mobile apps” (Page 11), and “Our secure authentication protocol gives you complete control—and visibility--over who can access and download your information” (Page 12). The examiner further notes that stored access control information entails the storage of dealer ((i.e. supply chain members) including login information) and manufacturer (i.e. manufacturer user records) records. Moreover, the example stored contact form information teaches the claimed undefined manufacturer company records). Furthermore, the manufacturer product information teaches the claimed product records. The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “wherein each of the plurality of records are stored in a JSON text format” as “Our smart indexing and search technology allow companies to store information in the cloud in simple JSON text format so authorized users can search, retrieve and link information to their own applications with incredible ease” (Page 11) and “Anarus Platforms use the global online data exchange language known as JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) to feed and retrieve data. No need for rows and columns here. Using our patent-pending technology, simple text is stored and indexed in the cloud. Our sophisticated search mechanisms and integration capabilities let authorized users quickly retrieve information for any purpose and any application” (Page 12). The examiner further notes that various types of records are stored in JSON. The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “wherein each of the product records comprises a unique identifier associated with a product and a plurality of product attributes for the product” as “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7) and “Enterprises can store unlimited granular product information and specifications in the cloud for access with their channel partners’ eCommerce sites or mobile apps” (Page 11). The examiner further notes that stored product information includes a unique identifier (See example of “GT654378”) and product attributes (See examples of “Telephone”, “Black”, etc). The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “a processing system configured to generate a plurality of user interfaces in a manner which will allow manufacturers to control access to product records so that only connected supply chain members are allowed to see a predetermined set of product information for the manufacturer” as “You maintain full control over your data and who can access it” (Page 1), “Authorized dealers simply login, point and click to download the product information they need” (Page 4), “Secure Authentication…Manages access with complete control and visibility” (Page 4), “Dealers login to your private cloud portal and simply point and click to download the product information they need. Even better, they can use ready-made APIs to connect the portal to their CRM, ERP, ecommerce and mobile applications. No downloads/uploads or programming required” (Page 5), “After data is loaded, authorized users can link their applications to your content portal using Grand Anar APIs. Now they can seamlessly display your most current product information in their CRM and mobile applications (whether via live connection or nightly database updates)” (Page 9), and “Our secure authentication protocol gives you complete control—and visibility--over who can access and download your information” (Page 12). The examiner further notes that the defined access control mechanism for manufactures to specify which dealers (i.e. supply chain members) can access the manufacturer data teaches the claimed processing system. Alternatively, as explained in the 112 rejection above, due to the diction of “will allow”, the aforementioned limitation does not even trigger because it is not clear if manufacturers actually have access control. The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “wherein each of the product records further has a plurality of product information” as “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7) and “Enterprises can store unlimited granular product information and specifications in the cloud for access with their channel partners’ eCommerce sites or mobile apps” (Page 11). The examiner further notes that stored product information for each product from enterprises clearly includes a plurality of product information (See examples of “GT654378”, “Telephone”, “Black”, etc). The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “with the product information having the unique identifier associated with the product” as “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7) and “Enterprises can store unlimited granular product information and specifications in the cloud for access with their channel partners’ eCommerce sites or mobile apps” (Page 11). The examiner further notes that stored product information includes a unique identifier (See example of “GT654378”). The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “wherein the plurality of product records will further have a group identifier” as “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7) and “Enterprises can store unlimited granular product information and specifications in the cloud for access with their channel partners’ eCommerce sites or mobile apps” (Page 11). The examiner further notes that as explained in the 112 rejection above, due to the diction of “will further have”, the claimed plurality of product records are interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation as not currently having a group identifier. The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “the manufacturer record further comprising a share string containing the unique information identifying each of the users who will be allowed to access some segment of the manufacturer information” as “You maintain full control over your data and who can access it” (Page 1), “Authorized dealers simply login, point and click to download the product information they need” (Page 4), “Secure Authentication…Manages access with complete control and visibility” (Page 4), “Dealers login to your private cloud portal and simply point and click to download the product information they need. Even better, they can use ready-made APIs to connect the portal to their CRM, ERP, ecommerce and mobile applications. No downloads/uploads or programming required” (Page 5), “After data is loaded, authorized users can link their applications to your content portal using Grand Anar APIs. Now they can seamlessly display your most current product information in their CRM and mobile applications (whether via live connection or nightly database updates)” (Page 9), and “Our secure authentication protocol gives you complete control—and visibility--over who can access and download your information” (Page 12). The examiner further notes that the defined access control mechanism for manufactures to specify which dealers (i.e. supply chain members) can access specific manufacturer data teaches the claimed share string. The examiner further notes that Anarus teaches “each supply chain member record will include a listing of allowed product records and/or product group information” as “You maintain full control over your data and who can access it” (Page 1), “Authorized dealers simply login, point and click to download the product information they need” (Page 4), “Secure Authentication…Manages access with complete control and visibility” (Page 4), “Dealers login to your private cloud portal and simply point and click to download the product information they need. Even better, they can use ready-made APIs to connect the portal to their CRM, ERP, ecommerce and mobile applications. No downloads/uploads or programming required” (Page 5), “After data is loaded, authorized users can link their applications to your content portal using Grand Anar APIs. Now they can seamlessly display your most current product information in their CRM and mobile applications (whether via live connection or nightly database updates)” (Page 9), and “Our secure authentication protocol gives you complete control—and visibility--over who can access and download your information” (Page 12). The examiner further notes that as explained in the 112 rejection above, due to the diction of “will include”, the aforementioned limitation does not even trigger because it is not clear if supply chain member record currently includes a listing of allowed product records and/or product group information.
Anarus does not explicitly teach:
D) wherein each manufacturer record comprises unique information identifying each of the plurality of manufacturers;
E) wherein each of the plurality of supply chain member records comprises unique information identifying each of the supply chain members;
I) a listing of the unique identifiers associated with one of the plurality of manufacturers.
Kapsis, however, teaches “wherein each manufacturer record comprises unique information identifying each of the plurality of manufacturers” as “the customer can also enter information about the manufacturer as shown in table 625 in FIG. 5B. This table includes the manufacturer's ID 620, the name of the manufacturer 626, the contact information of the manufacturer 628, the manufacturing location 630, the manufacturing history 632, the distributors ID, and the supplier's ID. As shown in FIG. 5C and in table 635, the client can also forward information relating to the shipper's ID in field 634, the name of the shipper 636, the shipping history 640. This table also shows that the distributor ID 610 and the manufacturer ID 620 can both be associated with the shipper ID” (Paragraph 37), “wherein each of the plurality of supply chain member records comprises unique information identifying each of the supply chain members” as “the customer can also enter information about the manufacturer as shown in table 625 in FIG. 5B. This table includes the manufacturer's ID 620, the name of the manufacturer 626, the contact information of the manufacturer 628, the manufacturing location 630, the manufacturing history 632, the distributors ID, and the supplier's ID. As shown in FIG. 5C and in table 635, the client can also forward information relating to the shipper's ID in field 634, the name of the shipper 636, the shipping history 640. This table also shows that the distributor ID 610 and the manufacturer ID 620 can both be associated with the shipper ID” (Paragraph 37), and “a listing of the unique identifiers associated with one of the plurality of manufacturers” as “the customer can also enter information about the manufacturer as shown in table 625 in FIG. 5B. This table includes the manufacturer's ID 620, the name of the manufacturer 626, the contact information of the manufacturer 628, the manufacturing location 630, the manufacturing history 632, the distributors ID, and the supplier's ID. As shown in FIG. 5C and in table 635, the client can also forward information relating to the shipper's ID in field 634, the name of the shipper 636, the shipping history 640. This table also shows that the distributor ID 610 and the manufacturer ID 620 can both be associated with the shipper ID” (Paragraph 37).
The examiner further notes that although it is likely that the manufacturer records and supply chain member records of Anarus (which is from the same assignee as the instant application) contained unique identifiers, there is no explicit teaching of such of the inner workings of Anarus. Moreover, no user guides, faqs, manuals etc., of Anarus have been submitted to the office. Nevertheless, the secondary reference of Kapsis teaches the concept of storing unique manufacturer ID, distributor ID information, supplier ID, etc. The combination would result in the manufacturer records and supply chain member records of Anarus to also include unique ID information. Moreover, the combination would result in the product information of Anarus to also include listings of associated manufacturer unique identifier information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because teaching Kapsis’s would have allowed Anarus’s to provide a method for tracking & verifying goods, as noted by Kapsis (Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 2, Anarus further teaches a cloud-based system comprising:
C) the unique identifier associated with a product comprises a unique product ID (Pages 7 and 11).
The examiner notes that Anarus teaches “the unique identifier associated with a product comprises a unique product ID” as “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7) and “Enterprises can store unlimited granular product information and specifications in the cloud for access with their channel partners’ eCommerce sites or mobile apps” (Page 11). The examiner further notes that stored product information for each product from enterprises clearly includes a unique product ID (See example of “GT654378”).
Anarus does not explicitly teach:
A) wherein the unique information identifying each of the plurality of manufacturers comprises a unique manufacturer GNIN;
B) the unique information identifying each of the supply chain members comprises a unique supply chain member GNIN.
Kapsis, however, teaches “wherein the unique information identifying each of the plurality of manufacturers comprises a unique manufacturer GNIN” as “the customer can also enter information about the manufacturer as shown in table 625 in FIG. 5B. This table includes the manufacturer's ID 620, the name of the manufacturer 626, the contact information of the manufacturer 628, the manufacturing location 630, the manufacturing history 632, the distributors ID, and the supplier's ID. As shown in FIG. 5C and in table 635, the client can also forward information relating to the shipper's ID in field 634, the name of the shipper 636, the shipping history 640. This table also shows that the distributor ID 610 and the manufacturer ID 620 can both be associated with the shipper ID” (Paragraph 37) and “the unique information identifying each of the supply chain members comprises a unique supply chain member GNIN” as “the customer can also enter information about the manufacturer as shown in table 625 in FIG. 5B. This table includes the manufacturer's ID 620, the name of the manufacturer 626, the contact information of the manufacturer 628, the manufacturing location 630, the manufacturing history 632, the distributors ID, and the supplier's ID. As shown in FIG. 5C and in table 635, the client can also forward information relating to the shipper's ID in field 634, the name of the shipper 636, the shipping history 640. This table also shows that the distributor ID 610 and the manufacturer ID 620 can both be associated with the shipper ID” (Paragraph 37).
The examiner further notes that although it is likely that the manufacturer records and supply chain member records of Anarus (which is from the same assignee as the instant application) contained unique identifiers, there is no explicit teaching of such of the inner workings of Anarus. Moreover, no user guides, faqs, manuals etc., of Anarus have been submitted to the office. Nevertheless, the secondary reference of Kapsis teaches the concept of storing unique manufacturer ID and distributor ID information (i.e. examples of the claimed GNIN information). The combination would result in the manufacturer records and supply chain member records of Anarus to also include unique ID information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because teaching Kapsis’s would have allowed Anarus’s to provide a method for tracking & verifying goods, as noted by Kapsis (Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 3, Anarus further teaches a cloud-based system comprising:
A) wherein the user interface is provided via an API (Pages 4, 5, and 9).
The examiner notes that Anarus teaches “wherein the user interface is provided via an API” and “Ready-Made APIs” (Page 4), “Dealers login to your private cloud portal and simply point and click to download the product information they need. Even better, they can use ready-made APIs to connect the portal to their CRM, ERP, ecommerce and mobile applications. No downloads/uploads or programming required” (Page 5), “Grand Anar APIs move your content to the Grand Anar database where it is stored and indexed in human-friendly JSON format. Our user interface steps you through a simple process to upload data from a variety of formats” (Page 9), and “After data is loaded, authorized users can link their applications to your content portal using Grand Anar APIs. Now they can seamlessly display your most current product information in their CRM and mobile applications (whether via live connection or nightly database updates)” (Page 9). The examiner further notes that the APIs of Anarus teach the claimed API.
Regarding claim 4, Anarus further teaches a cloud-based system comprising:
A) wherein the product information includes specifications and links to documents (Pages 5, 7, and 11).
The examiner notes that Anarus teaches “wherein the product information includes specifications and links to documents” and “Your product information, spec sheets and pictures are stored in the Anar Manufacturer cloud portal using human-friendly JSON text format rather than columns and rows. That means sales and marketing can stop worrying about the structure of the database and customers can stop worrying about the format of the content” (Page 5), “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7), and “Our smart indexing and search technology allow companies to store information in the cloud in simple JSON text format so authorized users can search, retrieve and link information to their own applications with incredible ease” (Page 11). The examiner further notes that stored product specs and links to information teach the claimed specifications and links respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Anarus further teaches a cloud-based system comprising:
A) wherein each manufacturer is assigned a container for the storage of a plurality of databases (Pages 2 and 7).
The examiner notes that Anarus teaches “wherein each manufacturer is assigned a container for the storage of a plurality of databases” and as “Built on the Microsoft Azure cloud platform, Anarus platforms create an environment in which data moves quickly and consistently when and where it’s needed” (Page 2) and “Manufacturers store product data in spread sheets, pdf files, word processing documents and databases. Each industry has its own set of specifications. In the automotive industry, transmission parts could include torque converters, output shafts, brake bands and planetary gear sets. In HVAC, a motor’s specifications might include voltage, amps overload, phase and diameter. The more granular the data, the more valuable it will be to the channel. Anar Manufacturer is the powerfully simple way to store and share granular information. Product data such as attributes, specifications, files and lengthy descriptions can be loaded by virtually any means, whether manually, by spreadsheet or by connecting engineering applications directly to the cloud-based data repository” (Page 7). The examiner further notes manufacturers that use Anarus commercial product will clearly store their databases into the cloud.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Specifically, although the prior art (See Anarus) clearly teaches the access control of supply-chain members to manufacturer information, the detail limitations directed towards the specifically defined company, product, and user databases to perform the defined access control methodology is not found in the prior art, in conjunction with the rest of the limitations of the independent claim. Moreover, the examiner has been unable to locate any user manuals, faqs, guides, etc. regarding the applicant’s (Anarus) commercial product that was publicly available more than one year from the effective filing date of the instant application.
Dependent claims 7-8 are deemed allowable for depending on the deemed allowable subject matter of independent claim 6.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0398642 issued to Tackett et al. on 15 December 2022. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-8 (e.g., methods to perform manufacturer-defined access control).
U.S. PGPUB 2017/0213010 issued to Sucilla et al. on 27 July 2017. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-8 (e.g., methods to perform manufacturer-defined access control).
Contact Information
Mahesh Dwivedi
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2168
September 22, 2025
/MAHESH H DWIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168