DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction Requirement filed on October 2, 2025. Claims 1-21, 27, 28, and 31-37 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-21, 27, and 28 in the reply filed on October 2, 2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on January 8, 2025 and on March 4, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 5 of paragraph 0102, replace “TRS” with --tracking reference signal (TRS)-
-; and
b) On line 5 of paragraph 0159, insert --of-- before “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-13, 19, 20, 27, 28, and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao et al. (US 2023/0146553 A1).
Consider claim 1, Liao et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) (figure 2 – UE 211) for wireless communication (paragraph 0028), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph 0028 and figure 2 – memory 212); and
one or more processors (paragraph 0028 and figure 2 – processor 213), coupled to the one or more memories 212 (figure 2), which are configured, individually or in any combination, to:
receive configuration information that configures a paging early indication (PEI)
communication (Base Station (BS) 201 via configuration and control circuit 231, PEI management circuit 232, and transceiver 206 determines a configuration of a PEI and transmits it to the UE which receives it – see figures 2 and 7, and paragraphs 0029, 0031, and 0056), the PEI communication including at least one of (1) a public warning system (PWS) indication field (claim language is written in the alternative hence PEI includes a field 302 with a bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055), (2) a primary system information (SI) change indication field, (3) a secondary SI change indication field, or (4) a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) indication field; and
receive the PEI communication based at least in part on the configuration information (UE 211 receives the PEI communication as configured – see figure 7 and paragraphs 0029, 0031, 0033, 0056, and 0061).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the PEI communication is associated with downlink control information (PEI communication is based on Downlink Control Information (DCI) and includes a DCI format thus it is associated with DCI – see the abstract and, for example, paragraphs 0006, 0007, and 0026).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the one or more processors are further configured, individually or collectively, to identify whether to monitor a paging occasion associated with the PEI communication based at least in part on the at least one of the PWS indication field (UE 211 monitors a paging occasion (PO) according to the PEI communication and the particular DCI format which includes formats shown in figures 2, 5A, and 5B that have the bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 6 and paragraphs 0031, 0050, and 0055), the primary SI change indication field, the secondary SI change indication field, or the paging PDSCH indication field.
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the
PEI communication further includes a tracking reference signal availability indication field (one of the fields 301-308 of the PEI communication message 300 can be configured as an indicator for indicating availability of reference signals (RS) sets (i.e., tracking reference signals) – see figure 3 and paragraph 0034. See also figure 4B and 5B and paragraphs 0038 and 0043).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the PEI communication includes the PWS indication field, and wherein the PWS indication field includes a quantity of bits mapped to groups of one or more PWS messages associated with SI (PEI includes a field 302 with a bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055 - there is at least one bit (equivalent to a quantity of 1 bit) per EWTS/CMAS notification (i.e., mapped to at least one PWS message) in the PEI formats that are also associated with SI as shown in Figures 5A and 5B and disclosed in paragraphs 0041 and 0043).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 5 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the configuration information indicates a mapping of the groups of one or more PWS messages to the quantity of bits (PEI configuration transmitted by the BS 201 includes the bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055 - there is at least one bit (equivalent to a quantity of 1 bit) per EWTS/CMAS notification (i.e., mapped to at least one PWS message) in the PEI formats shown in Figures 5A and 5B and disclosed in paragraphs 0041 and 0043 hence it is indicated in the configuration information).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the PEI
communication includes (2) the primary SI change indication field, and wherein the primary SI change indication field includes a quantity of bits mapped to at least one of a master information block (MIB) associated with primary SI or groups of one or more system information blocks (SIBs) associated with the primary SI (Since the claim (i.e., claim 1) upon which this claim depends recites options to include in the PEI communication in the alternative (i.e., including least one of (1), (2), (3), or (4)) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e., (2)) is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 7 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the configuration information indicates a mapping of the at least one of the MIB associated with the primary SI or the groups of one or more SIBs associated with the primary SI to the quantity of bits (Since the claim (i.e., claim 1 via claim 7) upon which this claim depends recites options to include in the PEI communication in the alternative (i.e., including least one of (1), (2), (3), or (4)) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e., (2)) is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the PEI communication includes the secondary SI change indication field, and wherein (3) the secondary SI change indication field includes a quantity of bits mapped to groups of one or more system information blocks (SIBs) associated with secondary SI (Since the claim (i.e., claim 1) upon which this claim depends recites options to include in the PEI communication in the alternative (i.e., including least one of (1), (2), (3), or (4)) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e., (3)) is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the
configuration information indicates a mapping of the groups of one or more SIBs associated with
the secondary SI to the quantity of bits (Since the claim (i.e., claim 1 via claim 9) upon which this claim depends recites options to include in the PEI communication in the alternative (i.e., including least one of (1), (2), (3), or (4)) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e., (3)) is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim).
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the PEI communication includes (4) the paging PDSCH indication field, wherein the paging PDSCH indication field includes a first quantity of bits mapped to a second quantity of paging occasions (POs) associated with the PEI communication and a third quantity of groups of one or more UEs, and wherein the first quantity is a product of the second quantity and the third quantity (Since the claim (i.e., claim 1) upon which this claim depends recites options to include in the PEI communication in the alternative (i.e., including least one of (1), (2), (3), or (4)) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e., (4)) is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 11 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the
configuration information indicates a mapping of the first quantity of bits to the second quantity of POs and the third quantity of groups of one or more UEs (Since the claim (i.e., claim 1 via claim 11) upon which this claim depends recites options to include in the PEI communication in the alternative (i.e., including least one of (1), (2), (3), or (4)) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e., (4)) is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 1 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the one or more processors are further configured, individually or collectively, to receive a downlink reference signal (DLRS) associated with the PEI communication (UE 211 receives reference signals (RSs) (i.e., DLRSs) that are broadcasted and which availability have been indicated in the PEI communication (i.e., they are associated with the PEI communication) – see paragraph 0033).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 13 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the one or more processors are further configured, individually or collectively, to identify whether the PEI communication includes a tracking reference signal (TRS) availability indication field based at least in part on receiving the DLRS (UE 211 identifies that the PEI includes a reference signal availability indication field from receiving downlink reference signals – see paragraph 0033).
Consider claim 20, and as applied to claim 19 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the one or more processors, to identify whether the PEI communication includes the TRS availability indication field, are configured, individually or collectively, to identify whether the PEI communication includes the TRS availability indication field is based at least in part on a TRS indication included in the configuration information (PEI message as configured and transmitted by BS 201 includes a reference signal availability indicator which allows the UE 211 to identify it - see paragraph 0033 and figures 4B and 5B).
Consider claim 27, Liao et al. disclose a method of wireless communication performed by user equipment (UE) (figure 2 – UE 211 and paragraph 0028), comprising:
receiving configuration information that configures a paging early indication (PEI)
communication (Base Station (BS) 201 via configuration and control circuit 231, PEI management circuit 232, and transceiver 206 determines a configuration of a PEI and transmits it to the UE which receives it – see figures 2 and 7, and paragraphs 0029, 0031, and 0056), the PEI communication including at least one of (1) a public warning system (PWS) indication field (claim language is written in the alternative hence PEI includes a field 302 with a bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055), (2) a primary system information (SI) change indication field, (3) a secondary SI change indication field, or (4) a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) indication field; and
receive the PEI communication based at least in part on the configuration information (UE 211 receives the PEI communication as configured – see figure 7 and paragraphs 0029, 0031, 0033, 0056, and 0061).
Consider claim 28, and as applied to claim 27 above, Liao et al. also disclose identifying whether to monitor a paging occasion associated with the PEI communication based at least in part on the at least one of the PWS indication field (UE 211 monitors a paging occasion (PO) according to the PEI communication and the particular DCI format which includes formats shown in figures 2, 5A, and 5B that have the bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 6 and paragraphs 0031, 0050, and 0055), the primary SI change indication field, the secondary SI change indication field, or the paging PDSCH indication field.
Consider claim 31, Liao et al. disclose a network node (figure 2 – Base Station (BS) 201)
for wireless communication (paragraph 0027), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph 0027 and figure 2 – memory 202); and
one or more processors (paragraph 0027 and figure 2 – processor 203), coupled to the one
or more memories 202 (figure 2), which are configured, individually or in any combination, to:
transmit configuration information that configures a paging early indication (PEI)
communication (BS 201 via configuration and control circuit 231, PEI management circuit 232, and transceiver 206 determines a configuration of a PEI and transmits it to the UE which receives it – see figures 2 and 7, and paragraphs 0029, 0031, and 0056), the PEI communication including at least one of (1) a public warning system (PWS) indication field (claim language is written in the alternative hence PEI includes a field 302 with a bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055), (2) a primary system information (SI) change indication field, (3) a secondary SI change indication field, or (4) a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) indication field; and
transmit the PEI communication based at least in part on the configuration information (UE 211 receives the PEI communication as configured – see figure 7 and paragraphs 0029, 0031, 0033, 0056, and 0061).
Consider claim 32, and as applied to claim 31 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the PEI communication is associated with downlink control information (PEI communication is based on Downlink Control Information (DCI) and includes a DCI format thus it is associated with DCI – see the abstract and, for example, paragraphs 0006, 0007, and 0026).
Consider claim 33, and as applied to claim 31 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the
PEI communication further includes a tracking reference signal availability indication field (one of the fields 301-308 of the PEI communication message 300 can be configured as an indicator for indicating availability of reference signals (RS) sets (i.e., tracking reference signals) – see
figure 3 and paragraph 0034. See also figure 4B and 5B and paragraphs 0038 and 0043).
Consider claim 34, and as applied to claim 31 above, Liao et al. further disclose that the PEI communication includes the PWS indication field, and wherein the PWS indication field includes a quantity of bits mapped to groups of one or more PWS messages associated with SI (PEI includes a field 302 with a bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055 - there is at least one bit (equivalent to a quantity of 1 bit) per EWTS/CMAS notification (i.e., mapped to at least one PWS message) in the PEI formats that are also associated with SI as shown in Figures 5A and 5B and disclosed in paragraphs 0041 and 0043).
Consider claim 35, Liao et al. disclose a method of communication performed by a network node (figure 2 – Base Station (BS) 201 and paragraph 0027), comprising:
transmitting configuration information that configures a paging early indication (PEI)
communication (BS 201 via configuration and control circuit 231, PEI management circuit 232, and transceiver 206 determines a configuration of a PEI and transmits it to the UE which receives it – see figures 2 and 7, and paragraphs 0029, 0031, and 0056), the PEI communication including at least one of (1) a public warning system (PWS) indication field (claim language is written in the alternative hence PEI includes a field 302 with a bit used as an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (EWTS)/Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) (i.e., public warning system (PWS)) notification – see figure 2 and paragraph 0033. See also figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs 0041, 0043, and 0055), (2) a primary system information (SI) change indication field, (3) a secondary SI change indication field, or (4) a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) indication field; and
transmitting the PEI communication based at least in part on the configuration information (UE 211 receives the PEI communication as configured – see figure 7 and paragraphs 0029, 0031, 0033, 0056, and 0061).
Consider claim 36, and as applied to claim 35 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the PEI communication is associated with downlink control information (PEI communication is based on Downlink Control Information (DCI) and includes a DCI format thus it is associated with DCI – see the abstract and, for example, paragraphs 0006, 0007, and 0026).
Consider claim 37, and as applied to claim 35 above, Liao et al. also disclose that the
PEI communication further includes a tracking reference signal availability indication field (one of the fields 301-308 of the PEI communication message 300 can be configured as an indicator for indicating availability of reference signals (RS) sets (i.e., tracking reference signals) – see figure 3 and paragraph 0034. See also figure 4B and 5B and paragraphs 0038 and 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2023/0146553 A1) in view of Hou et al. (US 2024/0147421 A1).
Consider claims 14 and 16, and as applied to claim 13 above, Liao et al. fail to disclose wherein the configuration information configures the DLRS in a same downlink bandwidth part (BWP) as a downlink BWP associated with the PEI communication (claim 14) and wherein the DLRS is associated with at least one of UE synchronization, automatic gain control adjustment, channel estimation, or presence detection of the PEI communication (claim 16).
In the same field of endeavor, Hou et al. disclose sending configuration information that configures a reference signal (i.e., DLRS) in a same downlink bandwidth part (BWP) as a downlink BWP associated with the PEI communication (claim 14 - see, for example, abstract, figure 2, and paragraph 0121) and wherein the reference signal (i.e., DLRS) is associated with at least one of UE synchronization (claim 16 – see paragraphs 0116 and 0126 – reference signal is used for time and/or frequency synchronization), automatic gain control adjustment, channel estimation, or presence detection of the PEI communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the DLRS in the same downlink BWP as the downlink BWP of the PEI communication as disclosed by Hou et al. in the UE disclosed by Liao et al. in order to allow the UE to perform synchronization without bandwidth switching and thus maintain low power consumption (see, for example, paragraph 0121 of Huo et al.).
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 13 above, Liao et al. fail to specifically disclose wherein the DLRS is quasi co-located with the PEI communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Hou et al. disclose that the reference signal (i.e., DLRS in the form of an SSB) is quasi co-located with the PEI communication (see figures 4, 6, and 8 and paragraphs 0116, 0168, and 0185 – SSB is in the same BWP as the PEI communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the DLRS in the same downlink BWP as the downlink BWP of the PEI communication as disclosed by Hou et al. in the UE disclosed by Liao et al. in order to allow the UE to perform synchronization without bandwidth switching and thus maintain low power consumption (see, for example, paragraph 0121 of Huo et al.).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 13 above, Liao et al. fail to disclose the one or more processors are further configured, individually or collectively, to:
detect a presence of the DLRS in a PEI occasion associated with the PEI communication;
and
receive the PEI communication in the PEI occasion based at least in part on detecting the
DLRS.
In the same field of endeavor, Hou et al. disclose wherein the one or more processors (figure 10 – processor 1020) are further configured, individually or collectively, to: detect a presence of the DLRS in a PEI occasion associated with the PEI communication and receive the PEI communication in the PEI occasion based at least in part on detecting the DLRS (terminal device detects the reference signal and receives the paging early indication information based on the detecting in the same BWP – see paragraphs 0016 and 0126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the PEI communication based on the detecting of the reference signal as disclosed by Huo et al. in the UE disclosed by Liao et al. in order to perform time and/or frequency synchronization with the network device and detect the paging early indication information without bandwidth switching and thus maintain low power consumption (see, for example, paragraph 0126 of Huo et al.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2023/0146553 A1) in view of Lin (US 2022/0271878 A1).
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 13 above, Liao et al. fail to specifically disclose wherein the configuration information indicates that the UE is to monitor PEI occasions for the DLRS.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses that the UE receives configuration information for references signal (RS) based PEI and the UE monitors PEI occasions for the RS based on the configuration (see, for example, figures 7 and 8 and paragraphs 0121-0124 and 0155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor for a RS in PEI occasions as disclosed by Lin in the UE disclosed by Liao et al. in order to conserve power.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2023/0146553 A1) in view of Reial et al. (US 2024/0381307 A1).
Consider claim 21, and as applied to claim 19 above, Liao et al. fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors, to identify whether the PEI communication includes the TRS availability indication field, are configured, individually or collectively, to identify whether the PEI communication includes the TRS availability indication field by performing a hypothesis testing procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, Reial et al. disclose wherein the one or more processors (processing circuitry 84/processor 86 – figure 2), to identify whether the PEI communication includes the TRS availability indication field, are configured, individually or collectively, to identify whether the PEI communication includes the TRS availability indication field by performing a hypothesis testing procedure (see paragraphs 0091, 0093, 0147, and claim 23 - the processing circuitry is configured to identify the particular instance of additional information associated with the received TRS conveying the PEI by performing hypothesis testing based on the set of possible instances of additional information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a hypothesis testing procedure to identify the TRS in the PEI communication as disclosed by Reial et al. in the UE disclosed by Liao et al. in order to properly identify a particular instance of field of additional information (see, for example, paragraph 0093 of Reial et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Tseng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0108646 A1) disclose a power efficient paging mechanism with paging early indicator.
Ma et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0098696 A1) disclose a method, device, and computer program product for wireless communication.
Shi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0155558 A1) disclose a paging control information monitoring method and apparatus, and a paging control information indicating method and apparatus.
Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0236943 A1) disclose a method and device for transmitting and receiving radio signal in wireless communication system.
Liu (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0276381 A1) discloses a power saving method and apparatus, device, and readable storage medium.
Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0292373 A1) disclose a communication method and apparatus.
Fu (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0056498 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for determining downlink control information, method and apparatus for receiving downlink control information, and device and storage medium.
Lei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0059495 A1) disclose paging
techniques for wireless devices with mixed capabilities.
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez
R.P.G./rpg
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
April 14, 2026