Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Several paragraphs recite “per-patch latency;” however, this is likely a typo and intended to refer to “per-batch latency.”
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: There is no brief description of Figure 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: They recite “per-patch latency;” however, this likely is intended to refer to “per-batch latency.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the thread optimizer system” in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, this element has been interpreted as “the thread optimization system.” Claims 2-20 depend on claim 1 or recite commensurate subject matter; therefore, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11,687,771) and further in view of Cui (US 2020/0042362).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches: A thread optimization system for a model serving system, the thread optimization system comprising: a processor; and a memory in communication with the processor, the memory comprising executable instructions that, when executed by the processor alone or in combination with other processors, cause the thread optimization system to perform functions of:
estimating a batch size for (col. 7:52-56, “At 103, the analyzer 100 generates a baseline resource allocation state. A window, or grouping, size may additionally be generated to reduce the complexity of performing a causal resource profile for different allocations of computing resources, as described in connection with FIG. 5”), the model serving system serving a deep learning model and including a plurality of threads corresponding to a total thread count for processing inferences for the deep learning model (col. 8:67 and col. 9:1-2, “For this example, the kernel 201 may have 12 thread blocks that execute on GPU cores 1-4 that are distributed on cores 1-3 as depicted in FIG. 2A”);
automatically determining, using an optimizer component of the thread optimizer system (col. 7:13-17, “FIG. 1 depicts a functional block diagram of a multipath neural network analyzer 100 that optimizes allocation or partitioning of computing resources to the different layers in different paths of a multipath neural network according to the subject matter disclosed herein”), a first optimal configuration (col. 7:25-30, “The analyzer 100 may analyze the different layers in the different paths of the multipath neural network 101 using causal resource profiling and determine an optimal allocation or partitioning of computing resources so that the multipath neural network 101 executes, or runs, in a minimal amount of time”) that defines a number of inference instances (col. 8:65-67, “the modified kernel-launching function is used to set the min/max core arguments for kernel 201 to be ⅔”), [and] a number of threads per inference instance (col. 8:1 and col. 9:1-2, “the kernel 201 may have 12 thread blocks that execute on GPU cores 1-4 that are distributed on cores 1-3 as depicted in FIG. 2A”), (col. 10:56-59, “the convolution layer may take a little longer to execute based on the reduced memory allocation, but the overall execution time for both paths may be significantly reduced”), the first optimal configuration being determined with reference to a plurality of predetermined model profiles that define single-inference average batch latencies for different combinations of thread counts and batch sizes (col. 7:52-56, “At 103, the analyzer 100 generates a baseline resource allocation state. A window, or grouping, size may additionally be generated to reduce the complexity of performing a causal resource profile for different allocations of computing resources, as described in connection with FIG. 5”), the predetermined model profiles being used as input to a dynamic programming algorithm that identifies optimal configurations that minimize the average per-batch latency (col. 6:59-62, “resource utilization of individual layers may be updated or reconfigured if a performance analysis indicates a performance improvement based on a particular computing resource allocation”); and
allocating compute resources based on the number of inference instances, the number of threads per inference instance, (col. 8:6-14, “At 109, as better computing-resource allocations are determined for the different layers and/or paths and better scheduling allocation is determined for the neural network 101, the analyzer 100 updates the baseline resource allocation of layers at 103 with the better allocation and the better scheduling allocation will be used when the neural network 101 runs”).
Lee does not teach; however, Cui discloses: estimating a batch size for inference requests (¶ 3, “the data includes training data to build and optimize deep learning models, as well as model parameters of deep learning models which are utilized for inference processing”) of the model serving system (¶ 18, “FIG. 1 schematically illustrates a computing system comprising a deep learning computing platform, which implements a self-adaptive batch dataset partitioning control method to optimize load balancing among a set of accelerator resources for a distributed deep learning model training task, according to an embodiment of the invention”); automatically determining a sub-batch size per inference instance for processing a batch of inference requests of the batch size (¶ 27, “Each iteration of the backpropagation process is performed on a mini-batch of data, wherein a mini-batch of data comprises a subset (or portion) of a total dataset of model training data”); and allocating compute resources based on the sub-batch size per inference instance (¶ 47, “The accelerators 320-1, 320-2, 320-3, and 320-4 execute a model training task by processing the respective sub-batch datasets 390-1, 390-2, 390-3, and 390-4 using the model computation graph 375”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of estimating a batch size for inference requests of the model serving system; automatically determining a sub-batch size per inference instance for processing a batch of inference requests of the batch size, as taught by Cui, in the same way to the determined first optimal configuration, as taught by Lee. Both inventions are in the field of resource allocation for deep learning tasks, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “accelerated data processing in a high-performance computing environment,” as indicated by Cui (¶ 1).
Regarding claim 3, Cui teaches: The thread optimization system of claim 1, wherein the functions further comprise: dispatching inference requests (¶ 23, “The deep learning computing platform 50 comprises a software platform to support deep learning tasks such as DL model training and inference processing (or classification), which are executed on the distributed computing system 100”) to the inference instances based on the optimal configuration using a dispatching component of the thread optimizing system (¶ 32, “he self-adaptive batch dataset partitioning control module 53 implements an iterative batch size tuning process which is configured to determine an optimal job partition ratio for partitioning mini-batch datasets into sub-batch datasets for processing by a set of hybrid accelerator resources during a data-parallel DL model training process”).
Regarding claim 4, Cui teaches: The thread optimization system of claim 1, wherein the functions further comprise: triggering a configuration change when a different batch size for inference requests is detected (¶ 17, “for each iteration of a backpropagation process, a mini-batch of data samples is partitioned and evenly distributed to a plurality of worker nodes”), the configuration change including: automatically determining, using the optimizer component of the thread optimizer system, a second optimal configuration that defines a number of inference instances, a number of threads per inference instance, and a sub-batch size per inference instance for processing a batch of inference requests of the different batch size using intra-operator parallelism (¶ 13, “implementing an iterative batch size tuning process which is configured to determine an optimal job partition ratio for partitioning mini-batch datasets into sub-batch datasets for processing by a set of hybrid accelerator resources, wherein the sub-batch datasets are partitioned into optimal batch sizes for processing by respective accelerator resources to minimize a time for completing the deep learning model training process”); and allocating the compute resources based on the number of inference instances, the number of threads per inference instance, and the sub-batch size per inference instance indicated by the second optimal configuration (¶ 32, “The sub-batch datasets are partitioned into optimal batch sizes for processing by respective accelerator resources to minimize a time for completing the deep learning model training process”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches: The thread optimization system of claim 4, wherein the second optimal configuration indicates a change in the number of threads per inference instance, and wherein the functions further comprise: activating a first set of inference instances as active instances for the first optimal configuration (col. 2:50-54, “The first kernel is allocated a minimum number of cores of the compute unit and maximum number of cores of the compute unit in which the minimum number of cores of the compute unit is allocated”), and activating a second set of inference instances as passive instances for the first optimal configuration (col. 7:9-12, “For dynamic allocations, resources may be assigned during run-time to provide flexibility based on network changes, such as changes in topology, inputs, batch size, etc”); in response to triggering the configuration change, configuring the second set of inference instances based on the second optimal configuration and swapping the second set of inference instances with the first set of inference instances such that the second set of inference instances are the active instances and the first set of inference instances are the passive instances (col. 7:42-48, “the analyzer 100 may dynamically update allocation of computing resources for one or more layers of one or more paths of the multipath neural network during execution of the multipath neural network to provide flexibility based on network changes, such as changes in topology, inputs, batch size, etc”).
Regarding claim 7, Cui teaches: The thread optimization system of claim 1, wherein the batch size is estimated using a batch-size estimator of the thread optimization system (¶ 13, “an iterative batch size tuning process which is configured to determine an optimal job partition ratio for partitioning mini-batch datasets into sub-batch datasets for processing by a set of hybrid accelerator resources, wherein the sub-batch datasets are partitioned into optimal batch sizes for processing by respective accelerator resources to minimize a time for completing the deep learning model training process”), the batch-size estimator being integrated into a base serving system of the model serving system and configured to intercept incoming inference requests and estimate the batch size based on the intercepted inference requests (¶ 68, “The service controller 640 comprises a computing resource scheduling and provisioning module 642, a request queue 644, and a deep learning system 646 (which supports DLaaS)”).
Claims 8, 10-12, 14, 15, and 17-19 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 1, 3-5, and 7. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Cui, as applied above, and further in view of Zhang (US 10,698,693).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches: the dynamic programming algorithm is a 2-dimensional (col. 11:22-35, “The goal of the definition is to find the parallel scheduling and implementation of all layers that minimize the overall execution time of the multipath neural network, as in Eq. (1). (45) For∀t∈ℝ,∀r∈Resources,.Math.l=1Kwr,l.Math.αl,t<Mr,(1) in which K is a total number of layers, w.sub.r,l is utilization of resource r by layer l, M.sub.r is maximum available resource r available for execution of the multipath neural network, and α.sub.l,t is 1 if layer l is executing at time t, and 0 if not”), wherein the predetermined model profiles correspond to fill items for the (col. 8:65-67 and col. 9:1-2, “Initially, the modified kernel-launching function is used to set the min/max core arguments for kernel 201 to be ⅔. For this example, the kernel 201 may have 12 thread blocks that execute on GPU cores 1-4 that are distributed on cores 1-3 as depicted in FIG. 2A.”).
Lee and Cui do not teach; however, Zhang discloses: the dynamic programming algorithm is a 2-dimensional knapsack problem (col. 3:35-37, “These technologies generally involve solving large-scale knapsack problems (KPs) in a scalable distributed paradigm via synchronous coordinate descent (SCD)”), and wherein a goal of the knapsack problem is to find a set of fill items that minimizes the average batch latency across model instances while keeping a total weight of the fill items to a size of the knapsack (col. 14:23-27, “For the special case of K=1, it can be shown that Algorithm 4 will converge to a solution with a total reward that is at most max.sub.i,jp.sub.i,j less than that of the optimal solution, since the algorithm essentially produces a rounded integer solution after solving a fractional knapsack problem”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the dynamic programming algorithm is a 2-dimensional knapsack problem, and wherein a goal of the knapsack problem is to find a set of fill items that minimizes the average batch latency across model instances while keeping a total weight of the fill items to a size of the knapsack, as taught by Zhang, in the same way to the dynamic programming algorithm, as taught by Lee and Cui. Both inventions are in the field of optimizing resource allocation, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “solving a knapsack problem (KP) subject to multiple global constraints and local constraints,” as indicated by Zhang (col. 1:55-57).
Claims 9 and 16 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 2. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Cui, as applied above, and further in view of Hu (US 11,599,798).
Regarding claim 6, Lee and Cui do not teach; however, Hu discloses: generating the predetermined model profiles using a profiler component of the thread optimization system (col. 8:5-7, “profiling needs the sub-batch size to obtain accurate measurements, profiling and sub-batch size selection are performed iteratively until the sub-batch size converges”), the predetermined model profiles being generated using only powers of 2 for the batch sizes of the predetermined model profiles (col. 10:62-64, “In practice, we find that adding a regularization step which tunes b to be a power of 2 can usually improve the GPU performance”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the dynamic programming algorithm is a 2-dimensional knapsack problem, and wherein a goal of the knapsack problem is to find a set of fill items that minimizes the average batch latency across model instances while keeping a total weight of the fill items to a size of the knapsack, as taught by Hu, in the same way to the dynamic programming algorithm, as taught by Lee and Cui. Both inventions are in the field of optimizing resource allocation, and combining them would have predictably resulted in a method that “significantly improve the accuracy of NN results,” as indicated by Hu (col. 1:48-49).
Claims 13 and 20 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 6. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saxena (US 11,263,052) discloses “computing, based at least in part on the set of batch sizes, one or more node counts corresponding to a number of nodes that can be used for processing said job” (abstract), which relates to the disclosed optimization based on batch size.
Fan (US 2020/0104397) discloses “automatic selection of degrees of parallelism for efficient execution of queries in a database system are performed by systems and devices” (abstract), which relates to the disclosed determination of an optimal number of model inferences.
/JACOB D DASCOMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198