Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. INTERCHANGEABLE BATTERY SYSTEM Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/ 452,337 Art Unit: 1727 March 2, 2026 DETAILED ACTION The Application filed on August 18, 2023 has been received. Claims 1- 20 are currently pending and have been fully considered . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “ high power line ” and “low power line” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term s are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The original disclosure gives examples for what the different wires “may” be, however the claims do not recite any of that. For purposes of compact prosecution, any power lines will read on the claimed power lines . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Anma et al. (US 2018/0244165 A1 ; as found in IDS dated 12/10/24 ) . As to Claim 1, Anma discloses a battery system, comprising: a battery 3 having a main body, electronic housing s 5,33,39 , and a carry handle 32 . Said system further comprises a motor having a motor controller 7 ; and a common plug 52 electrically connecting the battery to the motor controller ( Abstract, Fig. 1-2, and paragraphs [0047, 0050, 0052] ). As to Claim 2, Anma discloses wherein the battery comprises a mounting foot located on a bottom surface of the main body (as shown in reproduced Fig. 2 below). As to Claim 3, Anma discloses wherein a display (electronic housing) 39 and handle 32 are located on top of the main body (Fig. 2). As to Claim 4, Anma disclose s wherein the electronic housing 5, 33 has a port 51 configured to connect to the common plug (Fig. 2). As to Claim 5, Anma discloses wherein the electronic housing 5,33 comprises a connector bay 51 and a processing bay 33 (Fig. 2). As to Claim 6, Anma discloses wherein the connector bay 51 comprises a plurality of connectors 53,55 that facilitate the flow of electricity (Fig. 3). As to Claim 7, Anma discloses wherein the connectors connect to a plurality of wires (electric lines) 23,25 that comprise signal lines (reads on data and pilot lines) 25 and two power lines (reads on high and lower power lines) 23 (Fig. 3). As to Claim s 8 -9 , Anma discloses wherein the processing bay 33 comprises a processor 35 and a plurality of switches 37 connected to said processor wherein the switches control the flow of electricity between electric wires by allowing the current to be switched on or off in various operations (Fig. 2 and paragraph [0052]). Anma discloses the same structure as the claims and therefore is intrinsically configured to perform any of the claimed functions, see MPEP 2112 and 2114. As to Claim 10, Anma discloses wherein the processor 35 is connected to microcomputer 71 to control t he inverter 74 (reads on the processor being connected to auxiliary rails) (paragraph [0073]). As to Claim 11, Anma discloses wherein the main body comprises a cell bay 31 (Fig. 2). As to Claim 12, Anma discloses wherein the cell bay 31 comprises a power supply (battery); a temperature sensor 81 and a cell monitor (voltage sensor) 84 that monitors the voltage o the battery (paragraph [0067]). As to Claim 13, Anma discloses wherein the common plug comprises a cable 24 connected to a plug head 52 (Fig. 2). As to Claim s 14 -15 , Anma discloses wherein a front face of the plug head comprises a plurality of connector pins, comprising: two power pins 54 (high and low power pins); and signal terminals (reads on data/pilot pins) 56 (Fig. 3). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim (s) 16 -17 and 1 9 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anma et al. (US 2018/0244165 A1 ; as found in IDS dated 12/10/24 ) in view of Moszynski et al. (US 2021/0380013 A1 ; as found in IDS dated 12/10/24 ) . As to Claim 16 , Anma discloses a method of operating a battery system for interchangeable use in a plurality of different vehicles, comprising: providing a battery system having a battery 3 and a common plug 5,52 ; establishing a first electrical connection between the battery and a motor of a vehicle using the common plug; supplying electrical energy from the battery to the motor of the first vehicle through the plug; disconnecting the common plug from the motor and removing the battery from said vehicle (Fig. 1-2 and paragraph [0049]). Anma does not specifically disclose wherein a second electrical connection between the battery and a motor of a second vehicle with the common plug is established; and supplying electrical energy to the motor of the second vehicle. However, Moszynski teaches of a method of interchanging batteries between a plurality of electric vehicles (paragraphs [0021 and 0096]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Anma to comprise swapping the removed battery to a different vehicle because Moszynski teaches that utilizing such a method and configuration, a travel plan can be accommodated efficiently (paragraph [0096]). As to Claim s 17 and 19 , Anma discloses wherein the battery comprises a plurality of mounting feet located on a bottom surface of the main body (as shown in reproduced Fig. 2 below) and a method of securing the battery in a plurality of receiving elements of a drop-in nest of a vehicle and removing said battery from the vehicle by gripping the handle 32 and sliding the mounting feet out of the plurality of receiving elements (Fig. 1-2 and paragraph [0049]) . Fig. 1 or Anma shows a flat mounting interface between the bottom of the battery and the drop-in nest, therefore the mounting feet are intrinsically secured in receiving elements, although they are not specifically shown in Fig. 1, they are necessarily present). Anma does not specifically disclose transferring the battery to a second vehicle in the same manner as the first vehicle. As to Claim 20, Anma discloses where the battery is placed in a receiving portion of a nest and the top thereof is closed with a seat (closing element) 17 (reads on an insulated nest) (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0048]). Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anma et al. (US 2018/0244165 A1 ; as found in IDS dated 12/10/24 ) in view of Moszynski et al. (US 2021/0380013 A1 ; as found in IDS dated 12/10/24 ) as applied to claims 16-17 and 19-20 above and in further view of Ogram (US 11,142,087 B1 ) . As to Claim 18, modified Anma does not specifically disclose securing the battery with a clamp or screws. However, Ogram teaches of a method of securing a battery in a vehicle with releasable clamps (col. 1, lines 51-56). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of modified Anma to comprise the claimed clamps because Ogram teaches that the use of releasable clamps is an ideal way to secure the battery to a vehicle (col. 1, lines 51-56). In addition, the courts have held that the particular placement of the clamps is an obvious matter of design choice that would not have affected the operation of the device, see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C. However, Moszynski teaches of a method of interchanging batteries between a plurality of electric vehicles (paragraphs [0021 and 0096]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Anma to comprise swapping the removed battery to a different vehicle because Moszynski teaches that utilizing such a method and configuration, a travel plan can be accommodated efficiently (paragraph [0096]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ADAM ARCIERO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5116 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:00-5 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Barbara Gilliam can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1330 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727