DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This written action is responding to the amendment dated on 12/03/2025.
the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
3. Objection to drawings is withdrawn.
4. The 112(b) rejection to claims 1-20 is withdrawn.
5. The double patenting rejection to claims 1-20 is maintained.
6. Claims 8-14 are interpreted under the 112(f).
7. Claims 2-20 are amended.
8. Claims 1-20 are submitted for examination.
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
10. The Examiner would like to point out that this action is made second Non-Final.
11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,762,781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all above claims of the instant application are taught by claims of Patent No. 11,762,781.
12.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a processing device operably coupled to the memory, configured to: receive an input/output (I/O) request that refers to a logical volume of a storage system that is encrypted with a first key associated with the logical volume, wherein different logical volumes resident on the storage system are encrypted using different keys of a plurality of keys associated with the respective volumes, the first key being associated with a property of the logical volume; and in response to the I/O request, process the I/O request including performing a cryptographic operation using a second key of the plurality of keys subsequent to decrypting data stored at the logical volume using the first key associated with a property of the logical volume, the second key being associated with a property of data stored at the logical volume” (Claim 8), “the processing device is further configured to perform a data reduplication operation” (Claim 9), “the processing device is further configured to perform a data rehydration operation” (Claim 10), and “the processing device is further configured to perform a data decompression operation” (Claim 11). If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamaraju et al, US. 2018/0034787 (hereinafter Kamaraju), in view of Miller et al, US. 8,719,923 (hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 1 Kamaraju teaches a method comprising:
receiving an input/output (I/O) request that refers to a storage system that is encrypted with a first key associated with the storage system (Kamaraju teaches a host may send a read request to a storage system, wherein the storage system reads the second key encrypted data from the storage memory [0022] and [0041), wherein different storage systems are encrypted using different keys of a plurality of keys associated with the storage systems, the first key being associated with a property of the storage system (Kamaraju teaches the storage system may use either the same or another encryption/decryption module, and the storage local second key, to encrypt the deduplicated and/or compressed data, and stores the second key encrypted, deduplicated and or compressed data in the storage memory [0021], wherein the storage local key is local to the storage system and is not available to any of the hosts [0018], and wherein each storage system has its own local storage key; both the first key of a host and the storage local key are stored in the local storage system [0027] and fig. 4); and
in response to the I/O request, processing the I/O request including performing a cryptographic operation using a second key of the plurality of keys subsequent to decrypting data stored at the storage system using the first key associated with a property of the storage system (Kamaraju teaches utilizing the storage local second key and the encryption/decryption module to decrypt the data, wherein the storage system uses a shared first key and the same or another encryption/decryption module to encrypt the data [0022]),
the second key being associated with a property of data* stored at the storage system (Kamaraju teaches a plurality of first keys for each of one or more hosts, and each first key is specific to one or more blocks or chunks of write data for encryption by that host, and decryption by a targeted storage system, with the first keys managed by the data security management system 102. Read data is handled in a related manner 0027]). Although Kamaraju discloses a secure volume manager layer (para. 0041), Kamaraju does not disclose the storage system is a logical volume. Miller et al. discloses a storage abstraction layer and organizing data blocks as a logical volume, whereby each individual logical volume is secured using a key unique to each volume (col. 1, lines 15-33 and line 64-col. 2, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the storage system of Kamaraju to be one of several logical volumes, whereby each logical volume is secure with its own encryption key. One would have been motivated to do so to organize an organization’s storage to enable flexible and scalable storage as known to one of ordinary skill in the art, while limiting unauthorized data exposure to a logical object/volume if a storage key is subject to unauthorized access.
Regarding claim 5 Kamaraju as modified teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the first key is an encryption key received from a key management service (Kamaraju teaches a data security management system managing a shared first key for host that encrypts data with first key, and a storage system that decrypts the data with the first key [0018] and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6 Kamaraju as modified teaches the method of claim 5 wherein the encryption key is received from the key management service based on a security identifier associated with a logical volume, a logical volume range, or a client identifier associated with the data (Kamaraju teaches a data security management system managing a shared first key for host that encrypts data with first key, and a storage system that decrypts the data with the first key [0018] and fig. 1, and further Miller teaches Upon receipt of a request, the storage device controller may retrieve data from the indicated disk and the encryption engine may decrypt the retrieved data using the key associated with the key ID supplied by security engine (col. 16, lin. 10-14) and (col. 17, lin. 61-64).
Regarding claim 7 Kamaraju as modified teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: performing at least one data reduction operation on a first decrypted data to generate a first reduced data; encrypting the first reduced data using a second encryption key to generate encrypted data; and storing the encrypted data on the storage system (Kamaraju teaches data may be compressed, encrypted with a second storage local encryption key and then stored in a storage memory [0005], [0038], fig. 1 and fig. 7).
In response to Claim 8: Rejected for the same reason as claim 1
In response to Claim 12: Rejected for the same reason as claim 5
In response to Claim 13: Rejected for the same reason as claim 6
In response to Claim 14: Rejected for the same reason as claim 7
In response to Claim 15: Rejected for the same reason as claim 1
In response to Claim 19: Rejected for the same reason as claim 5
In response to Claim 20: Rejected for the same reason as claim 6
14.
Claims 2-4, 9-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamaraju and Miller as mentioned above, in view of Chernow et al, US. 2012/0303590 (hereinafter Chernow).
Regarding claim 2 Kamaraju as modified teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising performing a data operation to reconstitute the data (Kamaraju teaches the storage system uses the compression module and/or the deduplication module to decompress and/or reconstitute the data [0022]). The combination of Kamaraju and Miller does not teach performing a data reduplication operation. Chernow substantially teaches performing a reduplication of deduplicated data in a data storage system [0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamaraju and Miller such that the invention further includes performing a data reduplication operation. One would have been motivated to do so to for a high availability and reliability, for example data remains accessible even during disruptions, wherein the user can access a redundant copy.
Regarding claim 3 Kamaraju as modified teaches the method of claim 2 wherein performing the data operation to reconstitute the data further comprises performing a data rehydration operation (Kamaraju: 0022] and Chernow: [0016]).
Regarding claim 4 Kamaraju as modified teaches the method of claim 2 wherein performing the data operation to reconstitute the data further comprises performing a data decompression operation (Kamaraju: 0022]).
In response to Claim 9: Rejected for the same reason as claim 2
In response to Claim 10: Rejected for the same reason as claim 3
In response to Claim 11: Rejected for the same reason as claim 4
In response to Claim 16: Rejected for the same reason as claim 2
In response to Claim 17: Rejected for the same reason as claim 3
In response to Claim 18: Rejected for the same reason as claim 4
Conclusion
/AYOUB ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494