DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion, organizing human activity and mathematical concepts and calculations). The independent claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 recite(s) a method, a system and a CRM. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved .The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be done mentally and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such except for the generic computer elements at high level of generality (i.e., processor, memory).
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that the independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories? YES. Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are directed to a method, a system and CRM, respectively.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? YES, the claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e. abstract idea).
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 comprise a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or generic computers or components configured to perform the method) and, therefore, an abstract idea.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 8 and 15: the limitations recite:
“identifying, by one or more processing devices within the set of images, objects representing marine life in the marine environment” which is a mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human.
“classifying, by the one or more processing devices, the objects into multiple clusters based on feature vectors identified for each of the objects” which is a mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind.
“computing, by the one or more processing devices based on attributes associated with the multiple clusters, a metric indicative of the biodiversity in the marine environment” which is a mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind.
These limitations, as drafted, is a simple process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind or by a human. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
As such, a person could mentally by looking at images of fish identify the fish in image, determine the type of fish in the image and count the number of fish in the sample images. The mere nominal recitation that the various steps are being executed by a the generic computer component(s), for example, processor, device, memory, etc. does not take the limitations out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 do not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 discloses receiving sample images which can be described as an insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity, which are generic computer components and/or insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea in a method, a system and CRM.
These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general action or change being taken based on the results of the acquiring step) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, the claims are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Independent claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 do not recite any additional elements that are not well-understood, routine or conventional. The use of a generic computer elements are routine, well-understood and conventional process that is performed by computers.
Thus, since independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101.
Regarding claim 2, 9 and 16: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): [wherein the set of images include images captured by a remotely operated vehicle] are mental processes including insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data.
Regarding claim 3, 10 and 17: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): [wherein the set of images include hyperspectral images] are mental processes including insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data.
Regarding claim 5, 12 and 19: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): [wherein the attributes associated with the multiple clusters include one or more of: a number of clusters, a distribution of the multiple clusters, a spread among the multiple clusters, and a spread within a particular cluster of the multiple clusters] are mental processes including mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind.
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 20: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): [wherein the objects are classified into multiple clusters using a supervised machine learning model trained on a corpus of labeled data set identifying various forms of marine life] are mental processes including mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PgPub. No. 2021/0209351 by Young et al. (hereinafter ‘Young’) in view of “Evaluating Cluster Detection Algorithms and Feature Extraction Techniques in Automatic Classification of Fish Species” by Rodrigues et al. (hereinafter ‘Rodrigues’).
In regards to claim 1, Rodrigues teaches classifying, by the one or more processing devices, the objects into multiple clusters based on feature vectors identified for each of the objects; and computing, by the one or more processing devices based on attributes associated with the multiple clusters, a metric indicative of the biodiversity in the marine environment. (See Rodrigues Section 3.1, 3.2 and 3.3, Rodrigues teaches classifying fish using clusters based on feature vectors. Rodrigues also teaches determining parameters of the clusters that are used for classification.)
However, Rodrigues does not expressly teach receiving a set of images representing the marine environment; identifying, by one or more processing devices within the set of images, objects representing marine life in the marine environment.
Young teaches receiving a set of images representing the marine environment; (See Young Figure 3A, element S305, Young teaches receiving fish images.)
identifying, by one or more processing devices within the set of images, objects representing marine life in the marine environment; (See Young Figure 3A, element S310, Young teaches detecting objects in the images.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to Rodrigues to include object detection method of Young. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Rodrigues in this manner because/in order to be able to extract relevant features that would boost clustering and classification.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rodrigues with Young to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
In regards to claim 2, Rodrigues and Young teach all the limitations of claim 1. Young also teaches wherein the set of images include images captured by a remotely operated vehicle. (See Young Figure 4, element 401).
In regards to claim 3, Rodrigues and Young teach all the limitations of claim 1. Young also teaches wherein the set of images include hyperspectral images. (See Young paragraphs [0068]-[0070]).
In regards to claim 4, Rodrigues and Young teach all the limitations of claim 1. Rodrigues also teaches wherein the feature vectors include vectors of locally aggregated descriptors (VLADs) generated by processing representation of the objects by a convolutional neural network. (See Section 3.1.3)
In regards to claim 5, Rodrigues and Young teach all the limitations of claim 1. Rodrigues also teaches wherein the attributes associated with the multiple clusters include one or more of: a number of clusters, a distribution of the multiple clusters, a spread among the multiple clusters, and a spread within a particular cluster of the multiple clusters. (See Rodrigues Section 3.2).
In regards to claim 6, Rodrigues and Young teach all the limitations of claim 1. Rodrigues also teaches wherein the objects are classified into multiple clusters using a supervised machine learning model trained on a corpus of labeled data set identifying various forms of marine life. (See Rodrigues Section 3.3).
In regards to claim 7, Rodrigues and Young teach all the limitations of claim 1. Rodrigues also teaches wherein the metric represents differences among the multiple clusters as computed based on multiple dimensions within the feature vectors. (See Rodrigues Section 3.2).
Claims 8-14 recite limitations that are similar to that of claims 1-7, respectively. Therefore, claims 8-14 are rejected similarly as claims 1-7, respectively.
Claims 15-20 recite limitations that are similar to that of claims 1-6, respectively. Therefore, claims 15-20 are rejected similarly as claims 1-6, respectively.
Conclusion
/UTPAL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668