Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: "Wilms' tumor. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Improper Dependency
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 depends on claim 8. However, based on claim 1's language of the peptide comprising one of SEQ ID NOs:1-5, claim 12 should depend on claim 9. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Indefinite Language
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation SEQ ID NO:1, which contains X instead of a specific amino acids.
SEQ ID NO:2-5 are specific amino acid sequences.
Amending claim 1 drawn to SEQ ID NO: 1 only and list the specific amino acids in a dependent claim would obviate this rejection.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the pharmaceutical agent" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the peptide of SEQ ID NO:5" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending claim dependence to claim 8 would obviate this rejection.
Priority
This application claims benefit to US Provisional Application US 63/399,010 effectively filed on 8/18/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan, M. et al (02/07/2017, "Fan", see references cited).
Claim 1 recites:
A peptide-drug conjugate, wherein the peptide comprises one of SEQ ID NOs:1- 5.
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches a peptide-drug conjugate wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 (Fan; Abstract; Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 2, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1 wherein the drug is a chemotherapeutic agent or a radioactive agent (Fan; Abstract; Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Fan teaches the peptide drug conjugate of claim 2 wherein the chemotherapeutic is doxorubicin (Fan; Abstract; Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 3, wherein the chemotherapeutic agent comprises doxorubicin (Fan; Abstract; Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1, wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:1 (Fan; Abstract; Figure 2A; referred to as GE11 peptide).
Regarding claim 6, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1, wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:2 (Fan; Abstract; Figure 2A; referred to as GE11 peptide). Fan’s GE11 peptide is the same as SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application. Claims 1-6, as currently written, do not exclude additional sequence at the end of the claimed GE11 peptide to link the peptide to a therapeutic where Fan has introduced a disulfide linker to the C-terminus of GE11 (see Figure 2A). In fact, claim 10, which depends on claim 1, claims a linker sequence (see below).
Regarding claim 10, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1, further comprising a linker linking the peptide to the pharmaceutical agent (Fan; Figure 2A; Section 3.1; Discussion; disulfide bond linker). Since claims 1-6, as currently written, do not exclude additional sequence at the end of the claimed GE11 or GE11 derivative peptides, the linker taught by Fan teaches the linker of instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Fan teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1 (Fan; Figure 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 12, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, M. et al (02/07/2017, "Fan", see references cited) in view of Hossein-Nejad-Ariani, H. et al (02/25/2019, “Hossein”, see references cited).
Regarding claim 7, Fan teaches the peptide drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:3. Hossein does teach the peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:3 (Hossein; Table 1 [Peptide 22]).
Regarding claim 8, Fan teaches the peptide drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:4. Hossein does teach the peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:4 (Hossein; Table 1 [Peptide 27]).
Regarding claim 9, Fan teaches the peptide drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:5. Hossein does teach the peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:5 (Hossein; Figure 4B; page 3, section: In vitro Cell Uptake of Soluble (Free) Peptides, “It is anticipated that these peptide binds to the same site on EGFR as the native ligand EGF, and comparison of the amino acid sequence of these peptides and EGF shows that E and R may be preferred residues at positions 9 and 10 (vide infra)").
Regarding claim 12, Fan teaches the peptide drug conjugate of claim 8 and the peptide conjugated to doxorubicin. Fan does not teach wherein the peptide-drug conjugate comprises the peptide of SEQ ID NO:5. Hossein does teach SEQ ID NO:5 (Hossein; Figure 4B; page 3, section: In vitro Cell Uptake of Soluble (Free) Peptides, “It is anticipated that these peptide binds to the same site on EGFR as the native ligand EGF, and comparison of the amino acid sequence of these peptides and EGF shows that E and R may be preferred residues at positions 9 and 10 (vide infra)").
Regarding claim 14, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a cancer patient in need thereof the peptide drug conjugate. Hossein does teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a cancer patient in need thereof the peptide drug conjugate (Hossein; Abstract; page 2, paragraph 2, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 15, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a cancer patient in need thereof the peptide drug conjugate wherein the cancer is selected from acute lymphoblastic leukemia, acute myeloid leukemia, adrenocortical carcinoma, anal cancer, astrocytoma, bile duct cancer, bladder cancer, bone cancer, brain tumor, breast cancer, carcinoid tumor, carcinoma, cervical cancer, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, chronic myelogenous leukemia, myeloproliferative disorders, colorectal cancer, cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, endometrial cancer, ependymoma, esophageal cancer, Ewing's family of tumors, germ cell tumor, retinoblastoma; gallbladder cancer, gastric cancer, glioma, hairy cell leukemia, head and neck cancer; hepatocellular cancer, Hodgkin's lymphoma, islet cell carcinoma, Kaposi's sarcoma, kidney cancer, laryngeal cancer, lip and oral cavity cancer, liver cancer, lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, lymphoblastic leukemia, lymphocytic leukemia, lymphoma, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, Waldenstrom's macroglobulinemia, mesothelioma, malignant thymoma, medulloblastoma, melanoma, multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome, multiple myeloma/plasma cell neoplasm, mycosis fungoides, myelodysplastic syndromes, myelogenous leukemia, myeloid leukemia, nasopharyngeal cancer, neuroblastoma, oral cancer, oropharyngeal cancer, osteosarcoma/malignant fibrous histiocytoma of bone, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, parathyroid cancer, penile cancer, pheochromocytoma, pituitary tumor, prostate cancer, rectal cancer, renal cell cancer, retinoblastoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, salivary gland cancer, sarcoma, Sezary syndrome, skin cancer, soft tissue sarcoma, squamous neck cancer, testicular cancer, thymoma, thyroid cancer, trophoblastic tumor, urethral cancer, uterine sarcoma, vaginal cancer, vulvar cancer, and Wilms' tumor:. Hossein does teach a method of treating breast cancer (Hossein; Abstract; page 2, paragraph 2, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 16, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a cancer patient in need thereof the peptide drug conjugate wherein the cancer is breast cancer. Hossein does teach a method of treating breast cancer (Hossein; Abstract; page 2, paragraph 2, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 17, Fan teaches the peptide-drug conjugate of claim 1. Fan does not teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a cancer patient in need thereof the peptide drug conjugate wherein the cancer is triple negative breast cancer. Hossein does teach a method of treating triple negative breast cancer (Hossein; Abstract; page 2, paragraph 2, lines 17-18).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to have modified the peptide-drug conjugate of Fan with the peptide sequences of Hossein with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve targeted therapies for triple negative breast cancer by increasing both peptide-receptor affinity and doxorubicin accumulation in tumor cells; thus, leading to improved therapeutic outcomes for patients receiving the peptide drug conjugate.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan and Hossein as applied to claims 7-9, 12, and 14-17 above, and further in view of Alas et al (12/31/2020, "Alas", see references cited).
Regarding claim 11, Fan and Hossein teach the peptide drug conjugate of claim 1 wherein the peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:5 with a disulfide bond linker (see above). Fan and Hossein do not teach wherein the linker comprises a thioester, an amide, a carbamate, an ester, or a carbonate. Alas does teach a peptide drug conjugate with thioester, an amide, a carbamate, an ester, or a carbonate (Alas; Abstract; Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to have modified the peptide-drug conjugate with a disulfide bond linker of Fan with the peptide sequences of Hossein with the linkers of Alas with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification as the linker constitutes a feature of the peptide-drug conjugate that can be substituted with another type of linker to perform the same function as the original one. This substitution represents a known and predictable design choice yielding predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 13-15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7-10 of copending Application No. 18/330,748 [Yang et al. (748)] in view of (Alas et al (12/31/2020, "Alas", see references cited).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The teachings of Yang et al. (748) have been set forth above as applied to claims 1-8 and 13-15 of the instant application. Yang et al (748) teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a chemotherapeutic agent comprising doxorubicin and a tumor-targeting peptide comprising one of: YHWYGTPQNVI, YHWYGYTPENVI, and YHWYGYTPQKVI (see claims 4 and 5) which embody SEQ ID NOs:2-4 of the instant application. They also teach that the composition can be used to treat melanoma (see claims 7-9).
The teachings of Alas have been discussed above. Regarding claims 10-11, Alas teaches various linkers linking the peptide to the pharmaceutical agent (see Graphical Abstract and Figure 1). They also teach peptide-drug conjugates can be used as cancer therapeutics (see Abstract and Introduction). It would have been obvious for person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the peptide-doxorubicin composition of Yang et al. (748) and the linker alternatives of Alas with reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve circulation time of the conjugate and release of the drug for full activity at the target site to reduce side effects and/or complications.
Therefore, the claims in the copending application are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MISOOK YU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641