DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement
thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements
of this title.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. When reviewing independent claim 1, 10 and 16, and based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, 1-20 are held to claim an abstract idea without reciting elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and is/are therefore rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
The Examiner will analyze Claim 1, and similar rationale applies to independent Claims 10 and 16. The rationale, under MPEP § 2106, for this finding is explained below:
The claimed invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception, as defined below. The following two step analysis is used to evaluate these criteria.
Step 1: Is the claim directed to one of the four patent-eligible subject matter categories: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
When examining the claim under 35 U.S.C. 101, the Examiner interprets that the claims is related to a process since the claim is directed to a method.
Step 2a, Prong 1: Does the claim wholly embrace a judicially recognized exception, which includes laws of nature, physical phenomena, and abstract ideas, or is it a particular practical application of a judicial exception?
The Examiner interprets that the judicial exception applies since Claim 1 limitation of service, the cross-modal matching service including a fine-tuned model produced by refining a pre-trained model through additional training, the additional training performed with data for a specified context in which the input text and at least one image in the collection of images is to be presented [mathematical concept. “training” explicitly recites performing mathematical calculations]; and selecting the at least one image to associate with the input text based on the relevance in the context in which the input text and the at least one image is to be presented are directed to an abstract.
The limitations creating relevance score and selecting an image could be performed by a person (mental process).
Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes [] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
If/when the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea enumerated in MPEP § 2106.04(a), a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two.
Step 2a, Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
The additional claim providing input text and a collection of images into a cross-modal matching service, the cross-modal matching service including a fine-tuned model produced by refining a pre-trained model through additional training, the additional training performed with data for a specified context in which the input text and at least one image in the collection of images is to be presented is nothing more than insignificant extra solution activity.
A cross-modal is used to generally apply the abstract idea without limiting how it functions.
Step 2b: If a judicial exception into a practical application is not recited in the claim, the Examiner must interpret if the claim recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The Examiner interprets that the Claims do not amount to significantly more since the Claims are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010(2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-90, 198 USPQ 193, 197-98 (1978) (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Furthermore, the generic computer components of the processor/memory recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system.
Claims 2-9, 11-15, and 17-20 depending on the independent claims include all the limitation of the independent claim. The Examiner finds that Claims 2-8, 22-26, and 28-32 does not state significantly more since the claim only recites additional steps for analyzing video using machine learning model.
Thus, claims 1-20 recite the same abstract idea and therefore are not drawn to the eligible subject matter as they are directed to the abstract idea without significantly more.
Therefore, all claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0342389) in view of YUAN et al. (Pub. US 2023/0162481).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 16, Maheshwari teaches providing input text (query) and a collection of images (set of relevant images) into a cross-modal matching service ‘Para. 43 “the architecture 600 receives a (query, image) pair as input and processes the pair to output a score that indicates the relevance of the image in the context of the query relative to color intent”; Para. 59 “the identified set of relevant images is processed according to the ranker process described with respect to FIG. 6 to determine a relevance measure (e.g., relevance score)”]; Receiving/determining a relevance score from the cross-modal matching service (ranker process) for at least one image in the collection of images (a set of relevant images), [Para. 59 “the identified set of relevant images is processed according to the ranker process described with respect to FIG. 6 to determine a relevance measure (e.g., relevance score).”] wherein the relevance score indicates a relevance of the at least one image with respect to the input text in a context in which the input text and the at least one image is to be presented (positioned) [Para. 43 “The architecture 600 receives a (query, image) pair as input and processes the pair to output a score that indicates the relevance of the image in the context of the query relative to color intent.”; Para. 60 “more relevant images can be positioned at the top of a list of relevant images while less relevant images are positioned at the bottom of the list”]; and Selecting (ordered) the at least one image to associate (returned) with the input text based on the relevance in the context (list of relevant images) in which the input text and the at least one image is to be presented (positioned) [Para. 60].
However, Maheshwari doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
YUAN teaches providing input text (text descriptions) and a collection of images (image-text pairs) into a cross-modal matching service (computer vision development system), the cross-modal matching service including a fine-tuned model (fine-tuned) produced by refining a pre-trained model through additional training [Para. 59 and 57]; the additional training (fine-tuned) performed with data (training data) for a specified context (subject downstream task) in which the input text and at least one image in the collection of images is to be presented [Para. 3, and 57].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maheshwari to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by YUAN; because the modification enables the system to improve the scalability of pre-training computer vision foundation models so that resulting pre-trained model genitalizes well and can be adapted to a wide range of downstream tasks.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0342389) in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Maheshwari teaches providing input text (query) and a collection of images (set of relevant images) into a cross-modal matching service ‘Para. 43 “the architecture 600 receives a (query, image) pair as input and processes the pair to output a score that indicates the relevance of the image in the context of the query relative to color intent”; Para. 59 “the identified set of relevant images is processed according to the ranker process described with respect to FIG. 6 to determine a relevance measure (e.g., relevance score)”]; Receiving/determining a relevance score from the cross-modal matching service (ranker process) for at least one image in the collection of images (a set of relevant images), [Para. 59 “the identified set of relevant images is processed according to the ranker process described with respect to FIG. 6 to determine a relevance measure (e.g., relevance score).”] wherein the relevance score indicates a relevance of the at least one image with respect to the input text in a context in which the input text and the at least one image is to be presented (positioned) [Para. 43 “The architecture 600 receives a (query, image) pair as input and processes the pair to output a score that indicates the relevance of the image in the context of the query relative to color intent.”; Para. 60 “more relevant images can be positioned at the top of a list of relevant images while less relevant images are positioned at the bottom of the list”]; and Selecting (ordered) the at least one image to associate (returned) with the input text based on the relevance in the context (list of relevant images) in which the input text and the at least one image is to be presented (positioned) [Para. 60].
However, Maheshwari doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
WANG teaches providing input text (dialogue history) and a collection of images (input images) into a cross-modal matching service, the cross-modal matching service (visual dialogue model) including a fine-tuned model produced by refining a pre-trained model (pre-trained bert-based model) through additional training (fine-tunes) [Para. 17 and 22]; the additional training (fine-tunes) performed with data for a specified context (visual dialogue) in which the input text (dialogue turns) and at least one image in the collection of images is to be presented [Para. 16, and 17].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maheshwari to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by WANG; because the modification enables the system to improve the scalability and transferability of pre-training computer vision foundation models so that resulting pre-trained model genitalizes well and can be adapted to a wide range of downstream tasks.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches providing input text and a collection of images (candidate images received and stored) into a cross-modal/algorithm matching service [Abstract; para. 42 and 20; fig. 6 step 602, 604 and corresponding description]; receiving a relevance/correlation score from the cross-modal matching service for at least one image in the collection of images, wherein the relevance score indicates a relevance of the at least one image with respect to the input text [Para. 42, fig. 6 step 608 and corresponding description]; and selecting the at least one image to associate with the input text [Para. 42; fig. 6 step 612, and related description].
However, Zhu doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
HU teaches wherein the relevance/similarity score indicates a relevance of the at least one image with respect to the input text in a context (matching result) in which the input text/query and the at least one image is to be presented/present [Para. 60 “the similarity function module 130 may compute a similarity score between an input query and each of a plurality of input images, and may provide the similarity scores to the image selection module 140”; “Para. 61 “The candidate images are passed into the fine search model 200, and the fine search model 200 may select at least one image from the candidate images and present the selected at least one image as a matching result of the input query”. since the term “context” is not explicitly defined, the “matching result” reads on it.] and selecting the at least one image (final image) to associate/corresponding with the input text/query based on the relevance in the context in which the input text and the at least one image is to be presented/displayed [Para. 79 “at least one final image corresponding to the search query is selected from the candidate images, based on the similarity scores between search query and each of the candidate images, via the fine search model”; Para. 80 “at least one final image is displayed on a user device”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by LU; because the modification provides multimodal content retrieval system that reduces the retrieval latency with minimal loss in ranking accuracy for on-device language-based image retrieval.
However, Zhu in view of LU doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
WANG teaches providing input text (dialogue history) and a collection of images (input images) into a cross-modal matching service, the cross-modal matching service (visual dialogue model) including a fine-tuned model produced by refining a pre-trained model (pre-trained bert-based model) through additional training (fine-tunes) [Para. 17 and 22]; the additional training (fine-tunes) performed with data for a specified context (visual dialogue) in which the input text (dialogue turns) and at least one image in the collection of images is to be presented [Para. 16, and 17].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of LU to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by WANG; because the modification enables the system to improve the scalability and transferability of pre-training computer vision foundation models so that resulting pre-trained model genitalizes well and can be adapted to a wide range of downstream tasks.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above. Furthermore, Zhu teaches a system, a processor, and a memory storing instructions [fig. 7 and related description].
Claims 2, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No. US 20200250537).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 17, Zhu in view of Hu further in view of WANG doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, Li teaches wherein the fine-tuned trained model was trained on a first dataset including pairings of images and text (query image training example), and the first dataset includes a positive example (positive label) of relevance of a first training dataset image to first paired text when a desired interaction (selected) with respect to the first training dataset image and the first paired text has been observed in the specified context (search result) in which the first training dataset image and the first paired text were presented [Para. 51, 52, and 70], wherein relevance between the at least one image and the input text is based on expectations of achieving the desired interaction in the context (search result) in which the first training dataset image and the first paired text are presented [Para. 86 and 52].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of Hu further in view of WANG to train the model with text, image and positive example, feature as taught by Li; because the modification enables the system to improve determination between an image and input text by training the model using observed user interaction signals as the ground truth of relevance.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No. US 20200250537) further in view of Kulkarni et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0004847).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, Kulkarni teaches wherein the first training dataset image and the first paired text occur with respect to an item of invitational content (sponsored content) that was served to a user device by a content delivery system, and the desired interaction is a click or conversion of the item of invitational content on the user device [Para. 4, 27, and 28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li to train the model with negative example, feature as taught by Kulkarni; because the modification enables the system to dynamically optimize content for target user.
Claims 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No. US 20200250537) further in view of KLOTZ, JR. (Pub. No. US 2017/0329857).
Regarding claims 4, and 13 Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, KLOTZ teaches wherein the first training dataset image was presented in an item of invitational content and the first paired text was received in a search input of an App store, wherein the App store is the context in which they were presented [Para. 93, 94, 98, 105; fig. 4, 5 and related description; Para. 23 “In some examples, native applications may be installed on a user device 200 prior to the purchase of the user device 200. In other examples, a user device 200 may download a native application from a digital distribution platform such as the APP STORE® digital distribution platform developed by Apple Inc. or the GOOGLE PLAY® digital distribution platform developed by Google Inc. In these examples, the user device 200 downloads and installs the application at the request of a user”; Para. 7 “the application features may also include digital media related to the application 110, such as images (e.g., icons associated with the application and/or screenshots of the application) or videos (e.g., a sample video of the application)”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li to teach the claim limitation, feature as taught by KLOTZ; because the modification enables the system to personalize search results based on a device profile of user device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No. US 20200250537) further in view of Baker et al. (Patent No. US 8,503,769).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, Baker teaches wherein the first dataset includes a negative example of relevance of the first training dataset image to paired text, wherein the negative example was derived from remixing a first image with text that was not associated with the first image [Col. 3 lines 55-60; Col. 5 lines 44-65].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li to train the model with negative example, feature as taught by Baker; because the modification enables the system to determine information about the images from the web page.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No. US 20200250537) further in view of Wright et al. (Pub. No. US 2007/0156887).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
Wright teaches wherein the fine-tuned model was trained on a second dataset (rating data) including second pairings of images and text, and the second dataset includes human labeled (rating) positive examples of relevance of a second training dataset image to second paired text, and human labeled negative examples of relevance of a third training dataset image to third paired text [Para. 27, 31, 47 and 48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG further in view Li to train the model with negative example, feature as taught by Wright; because the modification enables the system to determine information about the images from the web page.
Claims 7, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Kaftan et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0324868).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 19 Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, Kaftan teaches wherein the selecting the at least one image to associate with the input text further comprises: receiving, the input text as a search query entered into an App store: generating invitational content (an ad) including the at least one image and the input text, wherein the at least one image is a most relevant image to the input text in the collection of images, wherein the input text is a search term expected to be used in an App store, and the collection of images are images relevant to an App to be presented by the invitational content, presenting the invitational content in response to the search query [Abstract, Para. 3, 4, 7, 26 and 51 “The application features may also include digital media related to the application, such as images (e.g., icons associated with the application and/or screenshots of the application)”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG to teach the claimed limitation, feature as taught by Kaftan; because the modification enables the system to determine a query categorization of a search query.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of Kaftan et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0324868) and further in view of Kulkarni et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0004847).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG and Kulkarni doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, Kulkarni teaches wherein the at least one image is the image from the collection of images that is most likely to result in a desired interaction (click) when the at least one image is included in the invitational content when the invitational content is served to a user terminal in response to the App store receiving the input text as the search term [Para. 13, claim 7, Para. 16 “The online system 130 selects the creative with the highest prediction score from each category of creatives and combines the selected creatives of each type to create the DCO content item for the target user”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG and Kaftan to teach the claim limitation, feature as taught by Kulkarni; because the modification enables the system to dynamically optimize content for target user.
Claims 9, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view of LIU et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0117051).
Regarding claims 9, 15, and 20, Zhu in view of HU further in view of WANG doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, LIU teaches wherein the providing input text and the collection of images into the cross-modal matching service includes receiving the input text from search keywords received into a search input [Para. 2-4]; the collection of images is included in respective items of invitational content [Para. 60, 61, fig. 4 and related description]; and the selecting the at least one image to associate with the input text includes selecting at least one of the respective items of invitational content to be displayed in an App store along with search results that are relevant to the input text [para. 26, 75-76].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view HU further in view of WANG to teach the claimed limitation, feature as taught by LIU; because the modification enables the system to determine result based on multiple modes queries.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0110620) in view of HU et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0237089) further in view of WANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0232773) and further in view Khemka et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0409615).
Regarding claim 21, Maheshwari doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitation.
Khemka teaches wherein an App store is the specified context (application setting) for which the cross-modal matching service is fine-tuned (fine-tuned) from the pre-trained model (pre-trained model) [Para. 300, 290 and 294].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu in view HU further in view of WANG to teach the claimed limitation, feature as taught by Khemka; because the modification enables the system to determine result based on multiple modes queries.
Conclusion
/SOLOMON G BEZUAYEHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666