DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 12/09/2025 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior drawing objections. Therefore, the drawing objections are withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10-11, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (WO 2022/257157), hereinafter "Tang", in view of Elgabroun et al. (WO 2024/002491), hereinafter “Elgabroun”, and further in view of Purtteman et al. (US 2022/0399953), hereinafter “Purtteman”.
Regarding claims 1, 20, Tang teaches:
A network node or a method for recommending a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), comprising:
a processor (see Tang, Fig. 3, item 260, par. [0076]: The T-TRP 170 further includes a processor 260 for performing operations including those related to: preparing a transmission for downlink transmission to the ED 110, processing an uplink transmission received from the ED 110, preparing a transmission for backhaul transmission to NT-TRP 172, and processing a transmission received over backhaul from the NT-TRP 172);
at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (see Tang, Figs. 2 and 3, item 253, par. [0077]: A scheduler 253 may be coupled to the processor 260. The scheduler 253 may be included within or operated separately from the T-TRP 170, which may schedule uplink, downlink, and/or backhaul transmissions, including issuing scheduling grants and/or configuring scheduling-free (“configured grant”) resources); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) logic that is configured (see Tang, Fig. 3, item 258, par. [0077]: The T-TRP 170 further includes a memory 258 for storing information and data. The memory 258 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the T-TRP 170. For example, the memory 258 could store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described herein and that are executed by the processor 260) to:
receive one or more frames from a client device (see Tang, Fig. 16, par. [0189]: UE 402 sends DL channel state information to TRP 452 at 1419 and 1439; in this case, the UE (i.e. client device) sends information (i.e. frames) to the network device which receives the information);
However, Tang does not teach:
identify at least one characteristic associated with the client device based on the received one or more frames;
identify one or more recommended MCSs for the client device based on the identified at least one characteristic and a machine learning process configured to distinguish between a temporal interference and a radio frequency condition issue; and
transmit an indication of the one or more recommended MCSs to the client device.
Elgabroun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
identify at least one characteristic associated with the client device based on the received one or more frames (see Elgabroun, Fig. 4, page 14, lines 25-26: the SINR calculated at the network node 400. As mentioned above, in the UL case, the network node 400 estimates the SINR using the reference signals transmitted by the UE); and
transmit an indication of the one or more recommended MCSs to the client device (see Elgabroun, Fig. 5, page 18, lines 17-18: The Q-Learning process, from the input above detailed, outputs the second MSC value. This value may be sent to the UE as shown in step 503).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of Tang with the identifying a characteristic and transmitting an indication of MCS of Elgabroun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a high link throughput and decreasing block error rate (see Elgabroun, page 17, lines 17-22).
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun does not teach:
identify one or more recommended MCSs for the client device based on the identified at least one characteristic and a machine learning process configured to distinguish between a temporal interference and a radio frequency condition issue;
Purtteman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
identify one or more recommended MCSs for the client device based on the identified at least one characteristic and a machine learning process configured to distinguish between a temporal interference and a radio frequency condition issue (see Purtteman, par. [0048]: each modem 50 is monitored by a local controller 44 that periodically communicates values for one or more carrier parameters monitored at the local terminal (e.g., the local modem's received signal to noise ratio (SNR) and most recent frame error count) and timestamps to the controller(s) 44 associated with the remote communications device(s) for use by the remote devices(s) to select modulation and coding schemes for communications from the respective remote device(s) to the local device, and see pars. [0060-0062]: Communications via the link vary over time due to stochastic environmental processes. By monitoring carrier parameters and calculating standard deviation using carrier statistics from the remote device, the carrier analysis program of the local device adapts its minimum SNR modulation to optimize the link as discussed further below. If uncorrectable frames are reported at or near theoretical limits, then decreased signal quality, transient environmental effects, or other problems are the cause, and the controller may reduce the modulation and coding scheme used for transmissions to accommodate the reduced link quality. In one embodiment, the remote terminal keeps track of the last 20 seconds of received SNR data and calculates the standard deviation of samples over that period. If the frame error count increases by more than a threshold of frame errors between reads, an event is logged as a frame error and is tracked as a frame error rate (error events/time). If the system stops receiving packets for more than a few seconds, the control system logs the event as a link failure and reduces modulation and coding scheme until packet flow is restored as described above. A link failure counter keeps track of every time packet flow is disrupted over the past several hours (outages/time). In one embodiment, one or more of four carrier parameters: (1) most recent remote SNR, (2) standard deviation of remote SNR samples, (3) frame error rate, and (4) link failures (outage rate) may be used by the carrier analysis program of the local communications device along with scaling factors to determine the modulation and coding scheme to be used to transmit data, and see par. [0076]: The use of the different variables (parameters) and scaling factors in Equation 1 provide a plurality of possible different adjustments to the signal to noise ratio measured at the remote device. Processing circuitry selects one of the adjustments (e.g., reductions of SNR) using the standard deviation of SNR at the remote device, frame errors at the remote device, and link outages in the described embodiment and the selected adjustment is subtracted from the measured signal to noise ratio at the remote device to calculate the safe SNR that is used to address the lookup table of Table A and select the modulation and coding scheme for subsequent transmissions, and see par. [0079]: the controller utilizes a Machine Learning (ML) network to select the modulation and coding schemes of a communications link. Use of a Machine Learning (ML) network enables the communications system to be proactive rather than reactive to changes occurring during communications. The analytical modulation and coding scheme selection system described earlier responds based on the statistics collected after the measurements have occurred. An ML network modulation and coding scheme selection system trained on a sufficiently large training dataset is configured to make intelligent proactive adjustments to the modulation and coding scheme being utilized by recognizing trends in signal quality, variations in environmental conditions and/or or other factors; in this case, a remote device uses signal characteristics and a ML network to determine frame errors (i.e. temporal interference) and link outages (i.e. radio frequency condition issue) and selects MCS for use correspondingly (corresponding to identifying recommended MCSs));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun with the identifying MCS of Purtteman with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of higher spectral efficiency using the most efficient MCS (see Purtteman, par. [0112]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node. Tang further teaches:
wherein the at least one characteristic associated with the client device includes a radio frequency (RF) parameter associated with the client device (see Tang, Fig. 13, par. [0163]: in FIG. 13, input (s) of the ML module 500 might include one or more of the following: CSI information, such as one or more of: SNR/SINR, and see Fig. 16, par. [0189]: UE 402 sends DL channel state information to TRP 452 at 1419 and 1439, and see par. [0190]: in the normal operation phase 1404, compressed DL channel state information z received by TRP 452 at 1439 is decoded to obtain reconstructed DL channel state information H′, which is then used as an input of the ML module of TRP 452 at 1436).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node. Tang further teaches:
wherein the RF parameter includes at least one of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) (see Tang, Fig. 13, par. [0163]: in FIG. 13, input (s) of the ML module 500 might include one or more of the following: CSI information, such as one or more of: SNR/SINR, and see Fig. 16, par. [0189]: UE 402 sends DL channel state information to TRP 452 at 1419 and 1439, and see par. [0190]: in the normal operation phase 1404, compressed DL channel state information z received by TRP 452 at 1439 is decoded to obtain reconstructed DL channel state information H′, which is then used as an input of the ML module of TRP 452 at 1436).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node. Tang further teaches:
wherein the machine learning process is associated with a machine learning model, and the machine learning model is trained based on one or more of radio frequency (RF) parameter data, MCS data, retry indicator data, channel state information (CSI) data, noise floor data, acknowledgement (ACK) data, client device type data, or client device movement data (see Tang, Fig. 9, par. [0142]: the ML module 500 of the TRP 452 and the ML module 510 of the UE 402 are trained in a two-step joint training process. The first step of the two-step joint training process is indicated at 908 in FIG. 9. In the first step 908 of the two-step joint training process, the ML module 500 of the TRP 452 is trained using uplink channel state information UL H 904 as an ML module input and the one or more modulation and coding scheme parameters MCS 906 as an ML module output to satisfy a training target, and see par. [0132]: The ML modules 410 and 460 may be implemented using an AI model. The term AI model may refer to a computer algorithm that is configured to accept defined input data and output defined inference data, in which parameters (e.g., weights) of the algorithm can be updated and optimized through training (e.g., using a training dataset, or using real-life collected data) . An AI model may be implemented using one or more neural networks (e.g., including deep neural networks (DNN), recurrent neural networks (RNN), convolutional neural networks (CNN), and combinations thereof) and using various neural network architectures (e.g., autoencoders, generative adversarial networks, etc.); in this case, the ML module includes a model which is trained by at least channel state information).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
Tang does not teach, but Elgabroun teaches:
wherein the MCS logic is further configured to predict that a short-term channel condition between the client device and the network node is unstable, and wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs is transmitted to the client device in response to the prediction that the short-term channel condition between the client device and the network node is unstable (see Elgabroun, page 14, lines 1-5: The network node 400 needs to know about the UE's channel conditions in order to perform scheduling. This may be done using the Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback that the UE 401 calculates based on its downlink Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR). Once the network node 400 gets the CQI, the network node 400 converts it to a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) and schedule the user on basis of this MCS, and see page 2, lines 4-6: The scheduler chooses the MCS value that corresponds to given measured inputs, mainly Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR), while satisfying the constraint of keeping the BLER below a certain threshold (10%), and see page 17, lines 6-8: The Q-Learning process adjusts the MCS value (first MCS value) estimated by the network node (for example via the look-up tables) to predict a new and more accurate value suitable for the transmission conditions, the second MCS value, and see page 17, lines 6-8: The Q-Learning process adjusts the MCS value (first MCS value) estimated by the network node (for example via the look-up tables) to predict a new and more accurate value suitable for the transmission conditions, the second MCS value, and see Fig. 5, page 18, lines 17-18: The Q-Learning process, from the input above detailed, outputs the second MSC value. This value may be sent to the UE as shown in step 503; in this case, predicting a second MCS value is more suitable than a first MCS value based on transmission conditions and transmitting the second MCS value corresponds to the indication being transmitted in response to predicting the channel condition is unstable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of Tang with the transmitting an indication of MCS based on unstable channel conditions of Elgabroun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a high link throughput and decreasing block error rate (see Elgabroun, page 17, lines 17-22).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
Tang does not teach, but Elgabroun teaches:
wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs is transmitted to the client device via an unsolicited action frame or a modified acknowledgement (ACK) message (see Elgabroun, page 15, lines 24-29: The first MCS value obtained in step 501 is one of the inputs of a Q.-learning process, the output of which is a second value of MCS. The second value of MCS is the value that is then preferably transmitted to the UE, for example the allocated second value of MCS is signaled to the UE using DCI over PDCCH channel e.g. DCI l_0, DCI 1_1. Preferably, therefore, the second value of MCS, function of the first value of MCS, is transmitted to the UE so that it can be used for the uplink transmission at transmission time k; in this case, sending the MCS using DCI for use for uplink transmissions corresponds to the indication being transmitted via an unsolicited action frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of Tang with the transmitting an indication of MCS via an unsolicited action frame of Elgabroun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a high link throughput and decreasing block error rate (see Elgabroun, page 17, lines 17-22).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
Tang does not teach, but Elgabroun teaches:
wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs is transmitted to the client device in an association process between the client device and the network node (see Elgabroun, Fig. 5, page 18, lines 17-18: The Q-Learning process, from the input above detailed, outputs the second MSC value. This value may be sent to the UE as shown in step 503).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of Tang with the transmitting an indication of MCS in an association process of Elgabroun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a high link throughput and decreasing block error rate (see Elgabroun, page 17, lines 17-22).
Regarding claim 18, Tang teaches:
A client device, comprising:
a processor (see Tang, Fig. 3, item 210, par. [0071]: The ED 110 further includes a processor 210 for performing operations including those related to preparing a transmission for uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172 and/or T-TRP 170, those related to processing downlink transmissions received from the NT-TRP 172 and/or T-TRP 170, and those related to processing sidelink transmission to and from another ED 110);
at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (see Tang, Fig. 3, items 201 and 203, par. [0068]: The ED 110 includes a transmitter 201 and a receiver 203 coupled to one or more antennas 204. Only one antenna 204 is illustrated. One, some, or all of the antennas may alternatively be panels. The transmitter 201 and the receiver 203 may be integrated, e.g. as a transceiver. The transceiver is configured to modulate data or other content for transmission by at least one antenna 204 or network interface controller (NIC) . The transceiver is also configured to demodulate data or other content received by the at least one antenna 204. Each transceiver includes any suitable structure for generating signals for wireless or wired transmission and/or processing signals received wirelessly or by wire); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) logic that is configured (see Tang, Fig. 3, item 208, par. [0069]: The ED 110 includes at least one memory 208. The memory 208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the ED 110. For example, the memory 208 could store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described herein and that are executed by the processing unit (s) 210) to:
transmit at least one frame to a network node (see Tang, Fig. 16, par. [0189]: UE 402 sends DL channel state information to TRP 452 at 1419 and 1439; in this case, the UE (i.e. client device) sends information (i.e. frames) to the network device which receives the information);
However, Tang does not teach:
receive an indication of one or more recommended MCSs from the network node,
wherein the one or more recommended MCSs are identified based on a machine learning process configured to distinguish between a temporal interference and a radio frequency; and
apply one of the one or more recommended MCSs at the client device.
Elgabroun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive an indication of one or more recommended MCSs from the network node (see Elgabroun, Fig. 5, page 18, lines 17-18: The Q-Learning process, from the input above detailed, outputs the second MSC value. This value may be sent to the UE as shown in step 503; in this case, the network node sends an MCS value to the UE which receives the value); and
apply one of the one or more recommended MCSs at the client device (see Elgabroun, page 15, lines 24-29: The first MCS value obtained in step 501 is one of the inputs of a Q.-learning process, the output of which is a second value of MCS. The second value of MCS is the value that is then preferably transmitted to the UE, for example the allocated second value of MCS is signaled to the UE using DCI over PDCCH channel e.g. DCI l_0, DCI 1_1. Preferably, therefore, the second value of MCS, function of the first value of MCS, is transmitted to the UE so that it can be used for the uplink transmission at transmission time k; in this case, the UE implements the second value of MCS (i.e. the recommended MCS) for uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of Tang with the receiving and applying an indication of MCS of Elgabroun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a high link throughput and decreasing block error rate (see Elgabroun, page 17, lines 17-22).
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun does not teach:
wherein the one or more recommended MCSs are identified based on a machine learning process configured to distinguish between a temporal interference and a radio frequency;
Purtteman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more recommended MCSs are identified based on a machine learning process configured to distinguish between a temporal interference and a radio frequency (see Purtteman, par. [0048]: each modem 50 is monitored by a local controller 44 that periodically communicates values for one or more carrier parameters monitored at the local terminal (e.g., the local modem's received signal to noise ratio (SNR) and most recent frame error count) and timestamps to the controller(s) 44 associated with the remote communications device(s) for use by the remote devices(s) to select modulation and coding schemes for communications from the respective remote device(s) to the local device, and see pars. [0060-0062]: Communications via the link vary over time due to stochastic environmental processes. By monitoring carrier parameters and calculating standard deviation using carrier statistics from the remote device, the carrier analysis program of the local device adapts its minimum SNR modulation to optimize the link as discussed further below. If uncorrectable frames are reported at or near theoretical limits, then decreased signal quality, transient environmental effects, or other problems are the cause, and the controller may reduce the modulation and coding scheme used for transmissions to accommodate the reduced link quality. In one embodiment, the remote terminal keeps track of the last 20 seconds of received SNR data and calculates the standard deviation of samples over that period. If the frame error count increases by more than a threshold of frame errors between reads, an event is logged as a frame error and is tracked as a frame error rate (error events/time). If the system stops receiving packets for more than a few seconds, the control system logs the event as a link failure and reduces modulation and coding scheme until packet flow is restored as described above. A link failure counter keeps track of every time packet flow is disrupted over the past several hours (outages/time). In one embodiment, one or more of four carrier parameters: (1) most recent remote SNR, (2) standard deviation of remote SNR samples, (3) frame error rate, and (4) link failures (outage rate) may be used by the carrier analysis program of the local communications device along with scaling factors to determine the modulation and coding scheme to be used to transmit data, and see par. [0076]: The use of the different variables (parameters) and scaling factors in Equation 1 provide a plurality of possible different adjustments to the signal to noise ratio measured at the remote device. Processing circuitry selects one of the adjustments (e.g., reductions of SNR) using the standard deviation of SNR at the remote device, frame errors at the remote device, and link outages in the described embodiment and the selected adjustment is subtracted from the measured signal to noise ratio at the remote device to calculate the safe SNR that is used to address the lookup table of Table A and select the modulation and coding scheme for subsequent transmissions, and see par. [0079]: the controller utilizes a Machine Learning (ML) network to select the modulation and coding schemes of a communications link. Use of a Machine Learning (ML) network enables the communications system to be proactive rather than reactive to changes occurring during communications. The analytical modulation and coding scheme selection system described earlier responds based on the statistics collected after the measurements have occurred. An ML network modulation and coding scheme selection system trained on a sufficiently large training dataset is configured to make intelligent proactive adjustments to the modulation and coding scheme being utilized by recognizing trends in signal quality, variations in environmental conditions and/or or other factors; in this case, a remote device uses signal characteristics and a ML network to determine frame errors (i.e. temporal interference) and link outages (i.e. radio frequency condition issue) and selects MCS for use correspondingly (corresponding to identifying recommended MCSs));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the client device of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun with the identifying MCS of Purtteman with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of higher spectral efficiency using the most efficient MCS (see Purtteman, par. [0112]).
Claims 4-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 10-11, 15, 18, and 20 above, and further in view of Su et al. (US 2020/0287639), hereinafter “Su”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein the at least one characteristic associated with the client device includes a device type of the client device.
Su, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the at least one characteristic associated with the client device includes a device type of the client device (see Su, par. [0017]: device type has an impact on transmission throughput for a given transmission parameter. Accordingly, the embodiments use a highly informed learning-based approach to select a transmission parameter. The learning-based approach selects a “best” transmission parameter for a given condition of a communication channel, as defined by a combination of CSI, SNR, and device type, based on training or learning from previously observed transmissions over the communication channel, and see par. [0025]: At 208, AP 102 records an indication of a device type (d) of client device 108(i). In one example, AP 102 may record a media access control (MAC) address of client device 108(i) as a proxy for the device type. In another example, AP 102 records a model number of client device 108(i) as the device type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the characteristic of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the characteristic including a device type of the client device of Su with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining a maximum transmission throughput with minimum packet errors over time (see Su, par. [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein the at least one characteristic associated with the client device includes a movement of the client device relative to the network node.
Su, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the at least one characteristic associated with the client device includes a movement of the client device relative to the network node (see Su, Fig. 2, par. [0022]: At 204, AP 102 determines a motion indictor (mt) indicative of motion of client device 108(i). The motion indicator indicates an extent to which client device 108(i) is moving, e.g., whether client device 108(i) is moving or is not moving, how likely it is that client device 108(i) is moving, and/or how fast client device 108(i) is moving, based on the sequence of CSI measurements obtained at 202, and see pars. [0026-0028]: At 210, using a learning-based algorithm, AP 102 selects a PHY or link layer transmission parameter (pt) among multiple candidate PHY or link layer transmission parameters (p1-pN) based on a set of observation parameters including the motion indicator, the measured SNR, and the device identifier for client device 108(i). The PHY and link layer transmission parameters are generally referred to as “MAC layer transmission parameters” because they configure aspects of a MAC layer implemented in AP 102. AP 102 may select the transmission parameter from among the following candidate transmission parameters, for example: a. Lower dimensional modulation and coding (MCS) indexes, e.g., MCS only, including {MCS0-MCS9} for 9 choices/candidates. b. Higher dimensional MCS indexes, e.g., joint selection of spatial stream and MCS, including {MCS0-SS1, MCS1-SS1-MCS9-SS1, and MCS0-SS2-MCS9-SS2} for 18 choices/candidates for a two spatial stream client device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the characteristic of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the characteristic including a movement of the client device of Su with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining a maximum transmission throughput with minimum packet errors over time (see Su, par. [0017]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
Tang does not teach, but Elgabroun teaches:
wherein the MCS logic is further configured to:
identify a most suitable MCS for the network node in response to the prediction that the short-term channel condition between the client device and the network node is unstable (see Elgabroun, page 14, lines 1-5: The network node 400 needs to know about the UE's channel conditions in order to perform scheduling. This may be done using the Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback that the UE 401 calculates based on its downlink Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR). Once the network node 400 gets the CQI, the network node 400 converts it to a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) and schedule the user on basis of this MCS, and see page 2, lines 4-6: The scheduler chooses the MCS value that corresponds to given measured inputs, mainly Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR), while satisfying the constraint of keeping the BLER below a certain threshold (10%), and see page 17, lines 6-8: The Q-Learning process adjusts the MCS value (first MCS value) estimated by the network node (for example via the look-up tables) to predict a new and more accurate value suitable for the transmission conditions, the second MCS value; in this case, predicting a second MCS value is more suitable than a first MCS value based on transmission conditions and transmitting the second MCS value corresponds to identifying a most suitable MCS in response to predicting the channel condition is unstable);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network node or method of Tang with the identifying a most suitable MCS of Elgabroun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a high link throughput and decreasing block error rate (see Elgabroun, page 17, lines 17-22).
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
apply the most suitable MCS at the network node.
Su, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
apply the most suitable MCS at the network node (see Su, par. [0015]: AP 102 transmits packets to (and receives packets from client devices 108) in accordance with physical (i.e., PHY) layer and link layer protocols implemented by the AP. AP 102 also has the flexibility to select PHY layer parameters and link layer parameters (collectively referred to as “transmission parameters”) with which to configure the PHY layer protocol and the link layer protocol for per-packet transmissions to client devices 108. Example transmission parameters that may be selected for per-packet transmission include, but are not limited to, a modulation and coding (MCS) index (which represents a combination of modulation and channel coding, guarding interval, and various other parameters), a number of spatial streams, SU-MIMO operation, and MU-MIMO operation, and see pars. [0026-0028]: AP 102 may select the transmission parameter from among the following candidate transmission parameters, for example: a. Lower dimensional modulation and coding (MCS) indexes, e.g., MCS only, including {MCS0-MCS9} for 9 choices/candidates. b. Higher dimensional MCS indexes, e.g., joint selection of spatial stream and MCS, including {MCS0-SS1, MCS1-SS1-MCS9-SS1, and MCS0-SS2-MCS9-SS2} for 18 choices/candidates for a two spatial stream client device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the MCS logic of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the applying a suitable MCS at the network node of Su with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining a maximum transmission throughput with minimum packet errors over time (see Su, par. [0017]).
Claims 6-7, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 10-11, 15, 18, and 20 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (US 2022/0352955), hereinafter “Zeng”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein to identify the one or more recommended MCSs for the client device, the MCS logic is further configured to identify a probability of success associated with each of the one or more recommended MCSs.
Zeng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein to identify the one or more recommended MCSs for the client device, the MCS logic is further configured to identify a probability of success associated with each of the one or more recommended MCSs (see Zeng, pars. [0103-0104]: Given the inputs, the UE 115-a may use the NN to predict whether a non-granted MCS that is relatively higher than the granted MCS can pass the TB CRC. In some examples, the prediction may be a binary classification (for example, 1 or 0, pass or fail). Specifically, the output layer of the NN may utilize a sigmoid activation function (in other words, a final output between 0 and 1). In some examples, an output from the NN below a threshold (for example, <0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively low likelihood of passing the TB CRC. Similarly, an output from the NN above a threshold (for example, 0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively high likelihood of passing the TB CRC. It should be noted that the NN may be utilized at the UE 115-a, at the base station 105-a, or any combination thereof. For example, the UE 115-a may compute the output of the NN and, in some examples, may transmit an indication of the output to the base station 105-a via the communication link 205-b. In some other examples, the UE 115-a may transmit an indication of the one or more preprocessed decoder parameters for the base station 105-a to use in determining the output of the NN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the MCS logic of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the identifying a probability of success of MCSs of Zeng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing throughput over communication links (see Zeng, par. [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Zeng, teaches the network node.
The combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach, but Zeng teaches:
wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs further includes an indication of the probability of success associated with each of the one or more recommended MCSs (see Zeng, pars. [0103-0104]: Given the inputs, the UE 115-a may use the NN to predict whether a non-granted MCS that is relatively higher than the granted MCS can pass the TB CRC. In some examples, the prediction may be a binary classification (for example, 1 or 0, pass or fail). Specifically, the output layer of the NN may utilize a sigmoid activation function (in other words, a final output between 0 and 1). In some examples, an output from the NN below a threshold (for example, <0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively low likelihood of passing the TB CRC. Similarly, an output from the NN above a threshold (for example, 0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively high likelihood of passing the TB CRC. It should be noted that the NN may be utilized at the UE 115-a, at the base station 105-a, or any combination thereof. For example, the UE 115-a may compute the output of the NN and, in some examples, may transmit an indication of the output to the base station 105-a via the communication link 205-b. In some other examples, the UE 115-a may transmit an indication of the one or more preprocessed decoder parameters for the base station 105-a to use in determining the output of the NN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indication of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the indication including the probability of success of MCSs of Zeng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing throughput over communication links (see Zeng, par. [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein the MCS logic is further configured to generate an identification that a first frame in the one or more frames from the client device is faulty, and wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs is transmitted to the client device in response to the identification that the first frame is faulty.
Zeng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the MCS logic is further configured to generate an identification that a first frame in the one or more frames from the client device is faulty, and wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs is transmitted to the client device in response to the identification that the first frame is faulty (see Zeng, pars. [0103-0104]: Given the inputs, the UE 115-a may use the NN to predict whether a non-granted MCS that is relatively higher than the granted MCS can pass the TB CRC. In some examples, the prediction may be a binary classification (for example, 1 or 0, pass or fail). Specifically, the output layer of the NN may utilize a sigmoid activation function (in other words, a final output between 0 and 1). In some examples, an output from the NN below a threshold (for example, <0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively low likelihood of passing the TB CRC. Similarly, an output from the NN above a threshold (for example, 0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively high likelihood of passing the TB CRC. It should be noted that the NN may be utilized at the UE 115-a, at the base station 105-a, or any combination thereof. For example, the UE 115-a may compute the output of the NN and, in some examples, may transmit an indication of the output to the base station 105-a via the communication link 205-b. In some other examples, the UE 115-a may transmit an indication of the one or more preprocessed decoder parameters for the base station 105-a to use in determining the output of the NN; in this case, the granted MCS having a lower likelihood of passing the CRC corresponds to the first frame being faulty. This is identified as part of the process indicating a different recommended MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the MCS logic of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the transmission of an indication of MCS based on an identification of a faulty frame of Zeng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing throughput over communication links (see Zeng, par. [0045]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the client device.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs further includes an indication of a probability of success associated with each of the one or more recommended MCSs.
Zeng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the indication of the one or more recommended MCSs further includes an indication of a probability of success associated with each of the one or more recommended MCSs (see Zeng, pars. [0103-0104]: Given the inputs, the UE 115-a may use the NN to predict whether a non-granted MCS that is relatively higher than the granted MCS can pass the TB CRC. In some examples, the prediction may be a binary classification (for example, 1 or 0, pass or fail). Specifically, the output layer of the NN may utilize a sigmoid activation function (in other words, a final output between 0 and 1). In some examples, an output from the NN below a threshold (for example, <0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively low likelihood of passing the TB CRC. Similarly, an output from the NN above a threshold (for example, 0.5) may correspond to a prediction indicating that the higher, non-granted MCS has a relatively high likelihood of passing the TB CRC. It should be noted that the NN may be utilized at the UE 115-a, at the base station 105-a, or any combination thereof. For example, the UE 115-a may compute the output of the NN and, in some examples, may transmit an indication of the output to the base station 105-a via the communication link 205-b. In some other examples, the UE 115-a may transmit an indication of the one or more preprocessed decoder parameters for the base station 105-a to use in determining the output of the NN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indication of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the indication including the probability of success of MCSs of Zeng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing throughput over communication links (see Zeng, par. [0045]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 10-11, 15, 18, and 20 above, and further in view of Soldati et al. (US 2024/0098773), hereinafter “Soldati”.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein the machine learning model includes a linear regression model.
Soldati, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the machine learning model includes a linear regression model (see Soldati, pars. [0147-0154]: a machine learning model/function used for determining one or more link adaptation parameter value may be one or more of the following: A feedforward neural network; A recurrent neural network; A convolutional neural network; An ensemble of neural networks, such as feedforward neural networks, recurrent neural networks, convolutional neural networks or a combination thereof; A decision tree; A decision forest; A linear regression model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning model of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the model including a linear regression model of Soldati with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling the network node to better optimize link adaptation parameters (see Soldati, par. [0053]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 10-11, 15, 18, and 20 above, and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2023/0319760), hereinafter “Raghavan”.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, does not teach:
wherein the short-term channel condition between the client device and the network node is predicted to be unstable based on a non-linear process that compares a current stochasticity of at least one radio frequency (RF) parameter to an expected range.
Raghavan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the short-term channel condition between the client device and the network node is predicted to be unstable based on a non-linear process that compares a current stochasticity of at least one radio frequency (RF) parameter to an expected range (see Raghavan, Fig. 5, pars. [0113-0116]: The UE 115-b may also communicate a location of the UE 115-b or observed signal strengths (e.g., RSRPs) to the second network entity 105-c (e.g., in the different locations). The second network entity 105-c may then estimate a correlation between the beam ID, the location of the UE 115-b, or the observed signal strengths to determine whether the UE 115-b is in a near field or a far field (e.g., the location of the UE 115-b may be classified as being in a near field or a far field. In some cases, the second network entity 105-c may estimate the correlation based on past or historical data that determines thresholds for signal strengths. For instance, the second network entity 105-c may input the information received from the UE 115-b to a model trained to identify such thresholds to determine whether the UE 115-b is in the near field or the far field. The second network entity 105-c (e.g., AI or ML server) may identify whether the UE 115-b is in the near field or far field (e.g., relative to the first network entity 105-b) and may communicate this information (e.g., identification or determination) back to the UE 115-b, the first network entity 105-b, or both. In some cases, the UE 115-b may provide additional information or additional measurements as input to the second network entity 105-c for the second network entity 105-c to use to determine whether the UE 115-b is in a near field or a far field. This additional information or these additional measurements may be useful for the second network entity 105-c (e.g., an AI or ML model at the second network entity 105-c) to learn a distinction between fading and near-field operation. In some examples, the UE 115-b may determine a quality of a line-of-sight path between the UE 115-b and the first network entity 105-b (e.g., line-of-sight determination and estimation) based on polarization characteristics, and the UE 115-b may provide the quality of the line-of-sight path to the second network entity 105-c as the additional information or additional measurements. In such examples, the first network entity 105-b may transmit reference signals to the UE 115-b with polarizations in two perpendicular directions. Fading randomness may be associated with a lack of a line-of-sight path or a weak or low-quality line-of-sight path. Accordingly, detection and strength estimation of a line-of-sight path may help distinguish fading from near-field operation (e.g., where near-field operation and far-field operation assume the presence of a line-of-sight path). In one example, the first network entity 105-b may transmit a first reference signal with a first polarization and a second reference signal with a second polarization to the UE 115-b. The signals with the two polarizations may be independent but equally strong, and the UE 115-b may provide the strength of the respective signals (e.g., strength with which the respective signals are transmitted and received) to the second network entity 105-c (e.g., input to AI or ML algorithms). If the strengths of the signals transmitted with different polarizations and received at the UE 115-b are equally strong, a line-of-sight path may be dominant. Alternatively, if the UE 115-b observes local signal variation between the signals transmitted with different polarizations, the UE 115-b may be in a near-field. Further, if no line-of-sight path is present, the UE 115-b may be experiencing fading (e.g., in a fading condition); in this case, comparing variation and randomness of quality parameters for determining strength of a line-of-sight path corresponds to comparing current stochasticity to an expected range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the prediction of the short-term channel condition of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, with the prediction based on a non-linear process of Raghavan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently determining a region in which a UE is located for selecting beams for communication (see Raghavan, par. [0004]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Raghavan, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Ouyang et al. (US 9,538,401), hereinafter “Ouyang”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Raghavan, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Raghavan, does not teach:
wherein the non-linear process is associated with a Lyapunov exponent.
Ouyang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the non-linear process is associated with a Lyapunov exponent (see Ouyang, col. 9, lines 24-35: network analytics system 245 may receive and/or store a set of rules that indicate which network parameter values or calculations from network parameter values are to be extracted and/or processed to cluster cells 215 into multiple groups of clusters. For example, network analytics system 245 may receive and/or store an initial set of network parameter values, and the set of rules may indicate a subset of values to be extracted from the initial set of network parameter values. Additionally, or alternatively, the set of rules may indicate a set of values to be calculated based on the initial set of network parameter values, and see col. 10, lines 23-34: the set of rules may indicate that a value indicative of the Box-Pierce test statistic of independence calculated for the initial set of network parameter values, a value indicative of the Ljung-Box test statistic of independence calculated for the initial set of network parameter values, a value indicative of the Tsay's test statistic of nonlinearity calculated for the initial set of network parameter values, a value indicative of the Hurst exponent calculated for the initial set of network parameter values, a value indicative of the Lyapunov exponent (e.g., the greatest Lyapunov exponent) calculated for the initial set of network parameter values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the non-linear process of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Raghavan, with the process being associated with a Lyapunov exponent of Ouyang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving network performance and increasing network capacity (see Ouyang, col. 3, lines 8-26).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Zeng, as applied to claims 6-7, 16, and 19 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0119859), hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Zeng, teaches the network node.
However, the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Zeng, does not teach:
wherein the faulty first frame fails a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) but includes a decodable header based on which the client device is identifiable as being a source and the network node is identifiable as being a destination.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the faulty first frame fails a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) but includes a decodable header based on which the client device is identifiable as being a source and the network node is identifiable as being a destination (see Wang, par. [0104]: A receiving STA may determine that a HARQ (or regular) transmission was addressed to itself when, for example, one or more HARQ or regular packets may have been scheduled to be transmitted to a receiving STA by one or more scheduling IEs or frames, but the reception of such packets failed. The failure may be indicated by failed FCS/CRC/LDPC check of the PLOP header, the MAC header, and/or the MAC frame, and see par. [0107]: A receiving STA may determine that a HARQ (or regular) transmission was addressed to itself when for example, a STA may have detected a valid PLOP header and a MAC header, where the MAC header may be considered reliable and addressed to the receiving STA, but the STA may fail to decode the packet correctly. The failure may be indicated, e.g., by failed FCS test or LDPC test, and see par. [0110]: The PAID and/or GrouplD field in the PLOP header may be used to include additional information on the extended PAID or AID, or other form of IDs of a receiving STA. The PLOP header may include the PAID or AID or other form of IDs of the transmitting STA, and see par. [0051]: a source STA (e.g., STA 206) may have traffic intended for a destination STA (e.g., STA 204). STA 206 may send the traffic to AP 202, and, AP 202 may send the traffic to STA 204).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the faulty first frame of the combination of Tang in view of Elgabroun, and further in view of Purtteman, and further in view of Zeng, with the faulty first frame failing a CRC but including a decodable header of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing latency and minimizing signaling overhead (see Wang, par. [0154]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Levitsky et al. (US 2024/0137145) teaches a UE receives a RRC configuration indicating a plurality of MCS tables. Next, the UE receives a MAC CE activating a MCS table among the plurality of MCS tables. Doing so allows MCS tables to be dynamically switched via a MAC-CE based activation/reactivation adaptive to current signal to noise (SNR)/spectral efficiency (SPEF) experienced in a downlink and uplink. Finally, the UE communicates data with a base station using a MCS in the activated MCS table.
Gad et al. (US 2025/0030498) teaches a method includes identifying a pattern associated with unsuccessful transmissions sent to the user equipment via a network node. The method also includes, based on the pattern, determining modulation coding adjustment recommendations for future transmissions to the user equipment via the network node. Further, the method includes facilitating a conveyance of the modulation coding adjustment recommendations to the network node.
Koteshwar Srinath et al. (US 2024/0388333) teaches an apparatus is configured to perform estimating a channel of a multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output mobile communication system; determining, based on the estimated channel, a metric for each of a plurality of available modulation orders for each of a plurality of transmitting channels of said communication system; identifying, for each transmitting channel, one or more modulation and coding schemes for which the predicted metric meets a target error rate criterion.
Fa-Long Luo ("Machine Learning–Based Adaptive Modulation and Coding Design") teaches machine learning (ML) techniques to adaptive modulation and coding (AMC)‐aided wireless systems to allow them to adapt to the variations of channels.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419