DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment of 2/25/2026. All changes made to the claims have been entered. Accordingly, Claims 1-6, 25 are currently pending in the application and 7-24 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites the subject matter “wherein the N bits of the CRC bits and the N bits that correspond with the source information and the destination information include a number of bits associated with the combination of the CRC bits with the source information and the destination information”. Applicant submits that [0092]-[0094] and Figure 6-8 (remarks page 8) to disclose such subject matter. However such subject matter with regards to “include a number of bits associated with the combination of the CRC bits with the source information and the destination information” do not seem to be disclosed. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter or specifically pointing out such subject matter in the Specification and/or Drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the subject matter “wherein the N bits of the CRC bits and the N bits that correspond with the source information and the destination information include a number of bits associated with the combination of the CRC bits with the source information and the destination information”. It is however unclear on exactly what is meant by such limitation. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2020/0084783), in view of Hyun et al. (US 2020/0322841).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (A method and apparatus are disclosed from the perspective of a transmitting device, abstract and [0562]-[0565] and [0043]-[0046] and figure 2), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (executed by a processor…A software module (e.g., including executable instructions and related data) and other data may reside in…computer-readable storage medium known in the art, [0562]-[0565] and [0043]-[0046] and figure 2), the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to:
generate cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits corresponding to a data packet (CRC bits of the…data packet and CRC attachment for sidelink shared channel and the data packet be transmitted on PSSCH, [0521] and [0176] and [0395] and [0294] and [0297] and [0303] and [0305] and figure 23);
combine the CRC bits with source information and destination information associated with transmission of the data packet to generate a modified CRC (perform CRC scrambling procedure for (CRC bits of) the…data packet using (a part of) source identity and (a part of) destination identity and the CRC bits of the…data packet, (the part of) source identity and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit, [0521]-[0523] and [0384]-[0386]); and
transmit, to a second UE, the modified CRC and the data packet (the transmitting device may generate a data packet for sidelink transmission. Furthermore, the transmitting device may attach CRC bits and transmission of the data packet, [0347] and [0519]-[0523] and [0294] and [0297] and [0303] and [0305]).
Li however fails to disclose the term payload with respects to data packet. However in a similar field of endeavor, Hyun discloses of the term payload (distributes the data packet (interchangeable referred to as payload), [0047] and [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of interchangeably using the term payload with respects to data packet as disclosed by Hyun into the method comprising scrambling CRC bits of a data packet as disclosed by Li in order to improve the system and provide flexible nomenclature for the term data packet, such as payload.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (N.sub.T transmitters (TMTR) 222a through 222t. In certain embodiments, TX MIMO processor 220 applies beamforming weights to the symbols of the data streams and to the antenna from which the symbol is being transmitted, [0043]-[0047] and [0294] and [0303] and figure 2), the transceiver being configured to: transmit, to the second UE, the modified CRC and the data packet (the transmitting device may generate a data packet for sidelink transmission. Furthermore, the transmitting device may attach CRC bits and transmission of the data packet, [0347] and [0519]-[0523] and [0294] and [0297] and [0303] and [0305]).
Li however fails to disclose the term payload with respects to data packet. However in a similar field of endeavor, Hyun discloses of the term payload (distributes the data packet (interchangeable referred to as payload), [0047] and [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of interchangeably using the term payload with respects to data packet as disclosed by Hyun into the method comprising scrambling CRC bits of a data packet as disclosed by Li in order to improve the system and provide flexible nomenclature for the term data packet, such as payload.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the modified CRC is generated based on an exclusive-OR (XOR) operation between the CRC bits corresponding to the data packet and the source information and the destination information (perform CRC scrambling procedure for (CRC bits of) the…data packet using (a part of) source identity and (a part of) destination identity and the CRC bits of the…data packet, (the part of) source identity and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit, [0521]-[0523] and [0384]-[0386]).
Li however fails to disclose the term payload with respects to data packet. However in a similar field of endeavor, Hyun discloses of the term payload (distributes the data packet (interchangeable referred to as payload), [0047] and [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of interchangeably using the term payload with respects to data packet as disclosed by Hyun into the method comprising scrambling CRC bits of a data packet as disclosed by Li in order to improve the system and provide flexible nomenclature for the term data packet, such as payload.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses wherein the modified CRC is generated based on an exclusive-OR (XOR) operation between N bits of the CRC bits and N bits that correspond with the source information and the destination information, wherein N represents a positive integer number (the CRC bits of the…data packet, (the part of) source identity and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit and a first part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) source identity may perform XOR operation per bit, and a second part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit , [0521]-[0524] and figure 29).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein the data packet corresponds to sidelink control information (The data packet may be transmitted on PSSCH and SCI format is used for the scheduling of PSSCH, [0395] and [0188] and [0201] and [0176] and [0241]).
Li however fails to disclose the term payload with respects to data packet. However in a similar field of endeavor, Hyun discloses of the term payload (distributes the data packet (interchangeable referred to as payload), [0047] and [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of interchangeably using the term payload with respects to data packet as disclosed by Hyun into the method comprising scrambling CRC bits of a data packet as disclosed by Li in order to improve the system and provide flexible nomenclature for the term data packet, such as payload.
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses wherein the N bits of the CRC bits and the N bits that correspond with the source information and the destination information include a number of bits associated with the combination of the CRC bits with the source information and the destination information (the CRC bits of the…data packet, (the part of) source identity and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit and a first part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) source identity may perform XOR operation per bit, and a second part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit, [0521]-[0524] and figure 29 and [0384] and [0386] and [0388] and [0340]-[0341]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., in view of Hyun et al., in further view of Vaidya (US 2017/0048147).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses wherein the source information and the destination information are mapped to the N bits that correspond to the source information and the destination information based on XOR operation (the CRC bits of the…data packet, (the part of) source identity and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit and a first part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) source identity may perform XOR operation per bit, and a second part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit , [0521]-[0524] and figure 29).
Li and Hyun however fails to disclose a hash function. However in a similar field of endeavor, Vaidya discloses a hash function (a hash can be generated by applying an “XOR” or “CRC” (Cyclic Redundancy Check) function to selected packet attributes such as the source address, the destination address, [0006]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of correlating “XOR” with a hash function as disclosed by Vaidya into the method comprising CRC scrambling in which XOR operations are performed as disclosed by Li and Hyun in order to improve the system and flexibly modify/scramble CRC such as via a hash function that uses XOR.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits Li fails to disclose or suggest “to combine the CRC bits with source information and destination information associated with transmission of the payload to generate a modified CRC” and that Li does not disclose a combination of CRC bits with source information and destination information to generate a modified CRC” (remarks page 9-10). Examiner however respectfully disagrees as Li discloses
“the CRC bits of the…data packet, (the part of) source identity and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit and a first part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) source identity may perform XOR operation per bit, and a second part of the CRC bits of the…data packet and (the part of) destination identity may perform XOR operation per bit”( [0521]-[0524] and figure 29 and [0384] and [0386] and [0388]). It is known that data can be combined using XOR and that XOR is used to combine two inputs. Furthermore dependent claim 3 recites “the modified CRC is generated based on an exclusive-OR (XOR) operation between the CRC bits corresponding to the payload and the source information and the destination information”. Thus examiner believes Li to disclose the subject matter of “combine the CRC bits with source information and destination information associated with transmission of the payload to generate a modified CRC” as Li clearly discloses of the use of “XOR operation”. Applicant further submits that Hyun is improper as Hyun is completely silent regarding CRC. Examiner however does not rely upon Hyun for the subject matter of CRC but for the known concept of interchangeably using the term payload and/or data packet ([0047] and [0050]). Thus examiner believes Li et al. (US 2020/0084783), in view of Hyun et al. (US 2020/0322841) to disclose the subject matter of the independent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN H NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 2473