DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Acharya et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0052896).
Consider claim 1; Acharya discloses an apparatus associated with a device, comprising:
at least one memory (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4), the at least one processor is configured to (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4):
transmit (par. 63, lines 1-6), for a location server (par. 63, lines 1-6), a location request including a first state token associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6), wherein the location request does not include an identifier associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6); and
receive (par. 44, lines 2-8), from the location server (e.g. controlled resource server) based on the location request (par. 44, lines 2-5), a location response including a second state token associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-8, 40-42), wherein the first state token and the second state token respectively comprise a randomly generated single-use state identifier (ID) that is configured to be changed per each location request [e.g. each token is unique (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 1-8, 20-22; par. 63, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 2; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 3; Acharya discloses the second state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-5), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 4; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises a first state ID (par. 63, lines 1-6), and wherein the first state ID is based on a prior location response before the location response (par. 63, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 5; Acharya discloses transmit (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6), for the location server (e.g. controlled resource server) (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6), a second location request including the second state token associated with the device (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6); and receive (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 2-8, 20-22), from the location server (e.g. controlled resource server) based on the second location request (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6), a second location response including a third state token associated with the device (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 2-8, 20-22), the third state token (e.g. a token is generated each time) comprising a third state ID [e.g. location (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 1-8, 20-22)].
Consider claim 6; Acharya discloses the identifier is a value that allows the location server to identify and associate more than one location requests with the device (par. 26, lines 26-36; par. 30).
Consider claim 7; Acharya discloses the first state token does not comprise information regarding: a most recent location associated with the device, a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device (par. 41, lines 17-20).
Consider claim 8; Acharya discloses at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4), wherein to transmit the location request (par. 63, lines 1-6), the at least one processor is configured to transmit the location request via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4).
Consider claim 9; Acharya discloses an apparatus at a location server, comprising:
at least one memory (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4), the at least one processor is configured to (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4):
receive a location request including a first state token associated with a device (par. 63, lines 1-6), wherein the location request does not include an identifier associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6); and
transmit (par. 44, lines 2-8), based on the location request (par. 63, lines 1-6), a location response including a second state token associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-8, 40-42), wherein the first state token and the second state token respectively comprise a randomly generated single-use state identifier (ID) that is configured to be changed per each location request [e.g. each token is unique (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 1-8, 20-22; par. 63, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 10; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 11; Acharya discloses the second state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-5), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 12; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises a first state ID (par. 63, lines 1-6), and wherein the first state ID is based on a prior location response before the location response (par. 63, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 13; Acharya discloses generate the second state token comprising a second state ID (par. 26, lines 3-5, 26-36); maintain the second state ID and the second state token before transmission of the location response (par. 26, lines 3-5, 26-36); and delete the first state ID after generation of the second state ID [e.g. via an update (par. 25, lines 1-8)].
Consider claim 14; Acharya discloses the identifier is a value that allows the location server to identify and associate more than one location requests with the device (par. 26, lines 26-36; par. 30).
Consider claim 15; Acharya discloses at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4), wherein to receive the location request (par. 63, lines 1-6), the at least one processor is configured to receive the location request via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (par. 47, line 1 – par. 48, line 4).
Consider claim 16; Acharya discloses a method performed by an apparatus associated with a device, comprising:
transmitting (par. 63, lines 1-6), for a location server (par. 63, lines 1-6), a location request including a first state token associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6), wherein the location request does not include an identifier associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6); and
receiving (par. 44, lines 2-8), from the location server (e.g. controlled resource server) based on the location request (par. 44, lines 2-5), a location response including a second state token associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-8, 40-42), wherein the first state token and the second state token respectively comprise a randomly generated single-use state identifier (ID) that is configured to be changed per each location request [e.g. each token is unique (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 1-8, 20-22; par. 63, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 17; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 18; Acharya discloses the second state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-5), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 19; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises a first state ID (par. 63, lines 1-6), and wherein the first state ID is based on a prior location response before the location response (par. 63, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 20; Acharya discloses transmit (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6), for the location server (e.g. controlled resource server) (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6), a second location request including the second state token associated with the device (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6); and receive (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 2-8, 20-22), from the location server (e.g. controlled resource server) based on the second location request (par. 27; par. 63, lines 1-6), a second location response including a third state token associated with the device (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 2-8, 20-22), the third state token (e.g. a token is generated each time) comprising a third state ID [e.g. location (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 1-8, 20-22)].
Consider claim 21; Acharya discloses the identifier is a value that allows the location server to identify and associate more than one location requests with the device (par. 26, lines 26-36; par. 30).
Consider claim 22; Acharya discloses the first state token does not comprise information regarding: a most recent location associated with the device, a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device (par. 41, lines 17-20).
Consider claim 23; Acharya discloses a method performed by a location server, comprising:
receiving, from a device, a location request including a first state token associated with a device (par. 63, lines 1-6), wherein the location request does not include an identifier associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6); and
transmit (par. 44, lines 2-8), based on the location request (par. 63, lines 1-6), a location response including a second state token associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-8, 40-42), wherein the first state token and the second state token respectively comprise a randomly generated single-use state identifier (ID) that is configured to be changed per each location request [e.g. each token is unique (par. 26, lines 3-5, 12-14, 26-36; par. 44, lines 1-8, 20-22; par. 63, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 24; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 63, lines 1-6), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 25; Acharya discloses the second state token comprises information regarding one or more of: a most recent location associated with the device (par. 44, lines 2-5), a most recent serving cell associated with the device, an observation variance associated with the device, a location history associated with the device, one or more uncertainties associated with a calculated location, one or more confidence metrics associated with the calculated location, historical location related measurements associated with the device, or one or more state machine values associated with the device.
Consider claim 26; Acharya discloses the first state token comprises a first state ID (par. 63, lines 1-6), and wherein the first state ID is based on a prior location response before the location response (par. 63, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 27; Acharya discloses generate the second state token comprising a second state ID (par. 26, lines 3-5, 26-36); maintain the second state ID and the second state token before transmission of the location response (par. 26, lines 3-5, 26-36); and delete the first state ID after generation of the second state ID [e.g. via an update (par. 25, lines 1-8)].
Consider claim 28; Acharya discloses the identifier is a value that allows the location server to identify and associate more than one location requests with the device (par. 26, lines 26-36; par. 30).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646