Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
2. Claims 1-2, 14-16 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the original disclosure does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of “a paper utensil molded from liquid paper pulp,” as recited. The specification merely describes utensils formed or molded from pulp or paper generally, but does not describe molding from liquid paper pulp specifically. The distinction is material, and no explicit or implicit support for “liquid paper pulp” is present in the original disclosure. Similarly, with respect to claims 14–15, the specification fails to disclose that specific utensil components --such as a knife blade, fork root and tines, and a spoon bowl-- are individually molded from liquid paper pulp. The disclosure only refers broadly to utensils formed from pulp, without identifying these subcomponents as being molded from liquid paper pulp. For example, paragraph [0029] discusses properties of hemp paper, including recyclability, stretchability, and resistance to cracking, but does not describe molding from liquid pulp or forming discrete utensil features from such material. Thus, the originally filed specification does not provide adequate written description support for these limitations.
Regarding claim 1, the original disclosure also does not disclose that the paper utensil is dipped in a bath of waterproofing composition. Rather, the generally states that the paper is dipped in a waterproofing composition. It is noted that “dipping” may be carried out using various techniques or processes, and the specification does not define or limit the dipping step to immersion in a bath. Accordingly, the disclosure does not expressly support the limitation of dipping the paper utensil in a bath of waterproofing composition.
Claim 1 also recites that rice-bran wax forms “at least 95.0%” of the waterproofing composition. However, the original specification discloses a specific composition: 95% rice-bran wax, 4.6% sugarcane wax, and 0.4% calcium stearate (paragraph [0095]). The phrase “at least 95.0%” encompasses embodiments where rice-bran wax exceeds 95%, which would necessarily reduce the proportion of the other components below the disclosed values. The specification does not describe or suggest such variability, nor does it provide support for compositions in which rice-bran wax exceeds 95%.Accordingly, the claimed range introduces subject matter that was not originally disclosed and therefore lacks adequate written description support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4. Claims 1, 14-16, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (2020/0318288 A1), hereinafter Lewis, in view of Segal (2019/0249369 A1). Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Lewis teaches a biodegradable article comprising a substrate formed from molded paper pulp. In particular, Lewis discloses pulp-molded articles formed from a paper pulp slurry and shaped into food-contact items, including eating utensils (paragraph [0009]). Thus, Lewis teaches a paper utensil formed from paper pulp. Lewis further teaches that such molded pulp articles include a coating configured to impart water and/or grease resistance to the article. The coating in Lewis is applied to the surface of the molded pulp article to improve durability when exposed to moisture or food.
However, Lewis does not explicitly disclose that the coating comprises a waterproofing composition consisting essentially of at least one plant-derived wax forming at least 95% of the composition, such as rice bran wax, in combination with a surfactant.
Segal teaches a waterproofing composition for paper-based food-contact articles comprising at least one plant-derived wax, including rice bran wax, present in an amount of at least 95% of the composition, along with a surfactant such as calcium stearate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coating of Lewis to include the plant-derived wax composition of Segal in order to provide an environmentally friendly, biodegradable, and water-resistant coating suitable for food-contact applications, since both references are directed to improving moisture resistance in biodegradable paper-based articles.
With respect to the limitation that the paper utensil is “molded from liquid paper pulp,” Lewis teaches forming articles from a paper pulp slurry, which inherently constitutes a liquid or semi-liquid paper pulp during the molding process. See paragraphs [0033-0038] in Lewis. Therefore, this limitation is met by Lewis.
With respect to the limitation that the coating is applied by “dipping the paper utensil in a bath of waterproofing composition,” neither Lewis nor Segal explicitly discloses dipping in a bath. However, the specific method of applying the coating, including dipping, spraying, or otherwise, constitutes a process limitation related to the method of manufacture rather than the structure of the claimed article. The claimed article does not structurally differ based on the particular coating method used. Accordingly, this limitation is not afforded patentable weight in determining the patentability of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, it is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to apply coatings using various conventional techniques, including dipping in a bath, as an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Lewis, as modified by Segal, teaches everything noted above including that the paper utensil includes a knife blade molded from the liquid paper pulp. It should be noted that Lewis teaches molded paper pulp articles, including utensils, wherein the molded utensil may take the form of a knife. The knife blade is formed from the same pulp-molding process as the remainder of the utensil.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Lewis, as modified by Segal, Segal, teaches everything noted above including that the paper utensil includes a root and a tine extending from the root, said root and the tine being molded from the liquid paper pulp. It should be noted that Lewis teaches molded paper pulp utensils including forks, wherein the tines and root are formed from the same pulp molding process.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Lewis, as modified by Segal, teaches everything noted above including that the paper utensil includes a bowl of a spoon, said bowl being from liquid paper pulp. It should be noted that Lewis teaches molded paper pulp utensils, including spoons with a bowl portion, formed from paper pulp slurry.
Regarding claim 23, Lewis, as modified by Segal, teaches everything noted above including that the waterproofing composition includes up to 4.6% by weight of sugarcane wax (preferred embodiment set forth in paragraph [0105]); and said rice-bran wax and said sugarcane wax total no more than 99.6% of said waterproofing composition. See paragraph [0105]) in Segal.
Regarding claim 24, Lewis, as modified by Segal, teaches everything noted above including that the waterproofing composition includes sugarcane wax.
5. Claim 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis in view of Segal and in further view of Aritaka et al. (EP 3085637 A1), hereinafter Aritaka. Regarding claim 2, Lewis teaches a paper utensil molded from pulp and coated for water resistance. Segal teaches a plant-derived wax coating, including rice bran wax and a surfactant, which could be applied to Lewis’s utensil to provide moisture resistance. Lewis and Segal do not explicitly teach that the paper utensil is vulcanized. Aritaka teaches paper or paper-based cutting tools formed from vulcanized paper (see third paragraph of page 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form Lewis’s paper utensil as vulcanized paper as taught by Aritaka in order to improve hardness and water resistance.
6. Claims 1, 14-16, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segal in view of Lewis. Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Segal teaches a biodegradable cup comprising a paper molded from paper pulp (defined by the composition for the paper cup), and a coating of (by spraying a coating on the paper) a waterproofing composition (defined by the composition for the paper cup) being disposed on the paper (forming the cup); and the waterproofing composition consisting essentially of: at least one plant-derived was forming 99.6% od said waterproofing composition, said at least one plant-derived was including rice-bran wax (95% of the composition by volume; preferred embodiment set forth in paragraph [0105]), said rice-bran wax forming at least 95.0% of said waterproofing composition; and a surfactant (defined by calcium stearate which forms .04% of the composition; paragraph [0105] and claim 8). It should be noted that Segal teaches that the paper is shaped like a cup (which is made from cellulosic material such as paper or cardboard) being treated with said waterproofing composition.
It should also be noted that Segal teaches that the paper of the biodegradable cup is molded from paper pulp. For example, Segal discloses, “Paper board 14 is made from various materials such as wood chips and plants, which have been mashed into pulp, which is then extruded as the paper board 14.” See paragraph [0012] in Segal. Segal does not explicitly teach that the paper is molded from liquid paper pulp. Segal also does not explicitly teach that the coating of waterproofing composition is disposed on the paper by the process of dipping the paper in a bath of the waterproofing composition. However, molding process of the paper and the process of coating the waterproofing composition have nothing to do with the patentability of the eating utensil as an apparatus. Accordingly, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, such limitations are not afforded patentable weight. See MPEP section 2113.
Segal does not explicitly teach that the paper could be shaped in a utensil or the paper is a utensil paper. However, Lewis teaches a biodegradable article comprising a substrate formed from molded paper pulp. In particular, Lewis discloses pulp-molded articles formed from a paper pulp slurry and shaped into food-contact items, including utensils (paragraph [0009]). Thus, Lewis teaches a paper utensil formed from paper pulp. Lewis further teaches that such molded pulp articles include a coating configured to impart water and/or grease resistance to the article. The coating in Lewis is applied to the surface of the molded pulp article to improve durability when exposed to moisture or food. With respect to the limitation that the paper utensil is “molded from liquid paper pulp,” Lewis teaches forming articles from a paper pulp slurry, which inherently constitutes a liquid or semi-liquid paper pulp during the molding process. See paragraphs [0033-0038] in Lewis. Therefore, this limitation is met by Lewis. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form Segal’s paper pulp as molded paper utensil, at taught by Lewis, in order to extend the benefits of Segal’s waterproof coatings to utensils.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Segal, as modified by Lewis, teaches everything noted above including that the paper utensil includes a knife blade molded from the liquid paper pulp. It should be noted that Lewis teaches molded paper pulp articles, including utensils, wherein the molded utensil may take the form of a knife. The knife blade is formed from the same pulp-molding process as the remainder of the utensil.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Segal, as modified by Lewis, teaches everything noted above including that the paper utensil includes a root and a tine extending from the root, said root and the tine being molded from the liquid paper pulp. It should be noted that Lewis teaches molded paper pulp utensils including forks, wherein the tines and root are formed from the same pulp molding process.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Segal, as modified by Lewis, teaches everything noted above including that the paper utensil includes a bowl of a spoon, said bowl being from liquid paper pulp. It should be noted that Lewis teaches molded paper pulp utensils, including spoons with a bowl portion, formed from paper pulp slurry.
Regarding claim 23, Segal teaches everything noted above including that the waterproofing composition includes up to 4.6% by weight of sugarcane wax (preferred embodiment set forth in paragraph [0105]); and said rice-bran wax and said sugarcane wax total no more than 99.6% of said waterproofing composition.
Regarding claim 24, Segal teaches everything noted above including that the waterproofing composition includes sugarcane wax.
7. Claim 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segal in view Lewis and in further view of Aritaka. Regarding claim 2, Segal does not explicitly teach that the utensil is vulcanized. However, Aritaka teaches blade or a cutting tool which is formed from vulcanized paper. See third paragraph of page 15 in Aritaka. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the paper of Segal’s treated paper, as modified by Lewis, as vulcanized paper, as taught by Aritaka, in order to harden the paper and improves its resistance to water.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s argument that Segal does not disclose the paper utensil molded from liquid paper pulp, and the process of dipping the paper utensil in a bath of the waterproofing composition is not persuasive. As stated above, molding process of the paper and the process of coating the waterproofing composition have nothing to do with the patentability of the eating utensil as an apparatus. Accordingly, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, such limitations are not afforded patentable weight. See MPEP section 2113.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 March 17, 2026