DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s argument and amendment received on 07/21/2025 has been considered. It is noted that claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 7 and 9 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,5,6,8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barak (US 2019/0318582) in view of Trepp et al (US 2020/0126363).
Regarding claims 1,5,6, and 10-12: Barak discloses a system for wagering on a path of a player or object in a field of play during an action of a live event, comprising: a wagering network that hosts in-play wagering on live sporting events (see paragraphs [0094], [0112], showing the wagering process on a live event); at least one of a virtual reality or augmented reality device (see paragraphs [0034], [0089], [0100], showing game play using virtual or augmented reality devices for the wagering game); a live sporting event, wherein the live sporting event is displayed through the at least one virtual reality or augmented reality device (see paragraphs [0062], [0094], showing the game utilized augmented reality device); an available initial wager provided by the wagering network for an action in the live event, wherein display of the available initial wager is based on a point of view of the at least one virtual reality or augmented reality device and one or more elements in the live event (see paragraph [0082], [0088], showing gaming server using virtual reality for viewing, tracking, placing, and managing wagers); a selection of an initial wager through the at least one virtual reality or augmented reality device (see paragraph [0082], [0088], showing gaming server using virtual reality for viewing, tracking, placing, and managing wagers); and at least one additional wager is displayed following the selection of the initial wager, wherein the additional wager is related to the selected initial wager and one or more actions of one or more elements in the live event (see paragraph [0004], showing an additional wager opportunity is provided to the user in addition to the initial wager).
In an analogous invention, Trepp et al teaches one or more sensors at the live sporting event, wherein the one or more sensors collect sensor data, with game action generated based on the sensor data from the live event, (see paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Barak’s wagering game as taught by Trepp’s game of chance for the purpose of improving the data gathering process of the game system. This yields the expected result of increasing the player’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the game play.
Regarding claim 2: Barak discloses wherein the one or more elements comprise one or more players participating in the live event, or one or more objects used to participate in the live event (see paragraph [0080], showing multiple users participating simultaneously).
Regarding claim 8: Barak discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one of a motion sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an optical sensor, a microphone, a radio receiver, a thermal imager, a tracking device, an accelerometer, a radar device, a LIDAR device, and/or an ultrasound device (see paragraph [0020], showing placing location based wagers with tracking being used during the game).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barak (US 2019/0318582) in view of Trepp et al (US 2020/0126363) and Nelson et al (US 2021/0074126).
Regarding claim 3: Barak discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Barak does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one additional wager is a parlay related to the selected initial wager.
In an analogous invention, Nelson et al teaches wherein the at least one additional wager is a parlay related to the selected initial wager (see paragraphs [0025], [0141], showing initial wagers, additional wagers parlay wagers, over/under wagers).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Barak’s wagering game as taught by Trepp’s game of chance and Nelson’s wager type for the purpose of increasing the player’s chances and opportunity in the game play. This yields the expected result of increasing the player’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the game play.
Regarding claim 4: Barak discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Barak does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one additional wager is an over/under wager.
In an analogous invention, Nelson et al teaches wherein the at least one additional wager is an over/under wager (see paragraphs [0025], [0141], showing initial wagers, additional wagers parlay wagers, over/under wagers).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Barak’s wagering game as taught by Nelson’s wager type for the purpose of increasing the player’s chances and opportunity in the game play. This yields the expected result of increasing the player’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the game play.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6,8, and 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715