DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 21, 23, 24, 25 and 26-31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18, 21, 23 and 25 recite a “powerpack or power pack”. It is not known what is meant or encompassed by this term or phrase. In the specification, a powerpack is defined as “a rail car that is not intended for occupancy by passengers but includes essential power supply components”. Yet, the specification later discloses that the power pack may have a “central aisle” in which “passengiers may be able to stand, walk or stay in the area of the powerpack”. So, the specification does not make clear (and even confuses) what elements are required to define a powerpack for the purposes of applying prior art. This makes the metes and bounds of claims containing this term or phrase indefinite.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the second power supply unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the second power supply unit" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the powerpack" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the DC-Bus" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the powerpack" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, 28 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN106828126 issued to Wang.
With respect to claims 16, 17 and 18, Wang discloses a rail vehicle (tram: A tram (or streetcar/trolley) is an electric public transport vehicle that runs on rails) (Google AI Overview) comprising a first power supply unit 100 that has fuel cells (011, 012, 013, 014) at least one fuel storage (battery 021); fuel cell inverters (111, 121, 131, 141 are unidirectional isolated type direct converters); wherein the DC/DC converter(s) are connected in parallel (Fig. 1, wherein inverters 111, 141 are connected in parallel); wherein the first power supply unit 100 is arranged in a power pack (the tram as best understood in view of the 112 rejection above).
With respect to claims 19, 20, 21 and 24, Wang discloses a second power system (super-capacitor power supply system 003 or weak power supply 005) with a DC/DC converter connected in parallel (see rejection of claims 16-18 as well as Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 22 and 25, Wang discloses fuel cell power converter (111, 121, 131, 141) are connected to a DC bus 003.
With respect to claim 28, Wang discloses a breaking resistor 008.
With respect to claims 32-34, Wang discloses the method of operation using the elements that were previously recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in further view of 5161468 issued to Weeger. Wang discloses a rail vehicle as discussed with respect to claim 16. Wang does not disclose a rail vehicle including a power supply located within the tram (powerpack). However, there is no discussion of a bogie. Weeger discloses a bogie for railed vehicles including trams with the bogies being non-driven (col. 3, ll. 49-51). At the time of the invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the rail vehicle of Wang with the bogies of Weeger. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a tram with a bogie which is capable of being used on rails having path curvatures of any acceptable radius (col 1, ll. 49-52).
Claim(s) 26, 27, 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of CN215204856 issued to Cao. Wang discloses a rail vehicle as described in the rejection of claim 16. However, Wang does not disclose the details of claim 26, 27, 29 and 31, including a rail car having a traction power converter, a traction motor and DC-Bus connecting device wherein the powerpack has no passenger seats. Cao discloses such features. Specifically, Cao discloses a passenger car Fig. 1 having a traction power converter 21, a traction motor (unnumbered but discussed throughout the English translation of the spec), and a DC-Bus connector 51 as well as the fact that the rail car which includes a passenger compartment 43 without seats. The suggestion/motivation for providing the rail car of Wang with the features of Cao would have been to provide a rail car with zero emissions which in turn reduces pollution as well as loud noise.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
TROY CHAMBERS
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641